DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s Amendments and Arguments filed 02/13/2026 have been considered for examination.
With regard to the objections to Claims, Applicant’s arguments filed 02/13/2026 in view of the amendments have been fully considered and are persuasive. Thus, the objections to Claims have been withdrawn.
With regard to the 112(b) rejections, Applicant’s arguments filed 02/13/2026 in view of the amendments have been fully considered and are persuasive. Thus, the 112(b) rejections have been withdrawn.
With regard to the 103 rejections, Applicant’s arguments filed 02/13/2026 in view of the amendments have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments are not applied to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 9, 16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khat et al (US Publication No. 2016/0142198) in view of Konpang et al “Four-port diplexer for high Tx/Rx isolation for integrated transceivers”, IET Microwaves, Antennas and Propfagation, 2018, Vol. 2, Issue 6. pp. 1034-10401.
Regarding claim 1, Khat discloses, a duplexer system [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0034, RF duplexing device 10], comprising:
a first signal path from a transmit port to a receive port [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0034-0035, a signal direction 26 from the transmission port 24 to the receive port 20], the first signal path [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0034-0035, the signal direction 26 comprising:
a first transmit filter [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0036-0037, first RF filter 52 configured to pass the RF transmission band/transmit filter];
an antenna [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0038, antenna coupled to the antenna port 18]; and
a first receive filter [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0038, the third RF filter 50 is identical to the second RF filter 48; further see ¶0037, the second RF filter 48 is configured to pass the RF receive band/receive filter]; and
a second signal path from the transmit port to the receive port [FIG. 2; its related
descriptions; ¶0036-0037, a signal direction 28 from the transmission port 24 to the receive port 20], the second signal path [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0036-0037, the signal direction 28] comprising:
a second receive filter [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0037, the second RF filter 48 is configured to pass the RF receive band/receive filter];
a load [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0039-0040, tuning port 22 and tuner formed in a variable resistor/load]; and
a second transmit filter [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0039, fourth RF filter 52 identical to the first RF filter 40/first transmit filter],
wherein the first signal path is configured to receive a first input signal from the transmit port and output a first output signal at the antenna, a phase of the first input signal and a phase of the first output signal being same [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0026-027 and 0031-0032 and 0035-0037, a first signal path corresponding to the signal direction 26 is configured to receive a first input signal from the transmission port 24 and output a first output signal at the antenna port 18, a phase of the first input signal and a phase of the first output signal being same];
the second signal path is configured to receive a second input signal from the transmit port and output a second output signal at the receive port [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0026-027 and 0031-0032 and 0035-0037, a second signal path corresponding to the signal direction 28 is configured to receive a second input signal from the transmission port 24 and output a second output signal at the receive port 20].
Although Khat discloses, “the second signal path is configured to receive a second input signal from the transmit port and output a second output signal at the receive port” as set forth above, Khat does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized and bold limitations), the second receive filter or the second transmit filter is configured to change the phase of the second input signal to the phase of the second output signal being different; and the second receive filter or the second transmit filter is configured to change the phase of the second input signal to the phase of the second output signal.
However, Konpang discloses, the second signal path is configured to receive a second input signal from the transmit port and output a second output signal at the receive port [FIGS. 1 and 3; their related descriptions; sections 1-2; pp 1034-1035, right column, a path 2 is configured to receive a second signal (at terminal 3) from the Tx port and output a second output signal (at terminal 2/Rx port)], a phase of the second input signal and a phase of the second output signal being different [FIG. 3; its related descriptions; section 2; page 1035, right column, a phase of the second input signal and a phase of the second output signal have a phase difference of 180 degrees; see “[t]o investigate the signal from Tx to Rx, we consider two sinusoidal signals propagating in two paths: Path 1 and Path 2, as shown in Fig. 1. The superposition of these two sine waves with the same amplitude, A, but different phases between point 2 and point 4 can be expressed as Asin θ + Asin θ + ∅ , where θ is the phase of sinusoidal signals and ∅ is the phase difference between these two signals”]; and
the second receive filter or the second transmit filter is configured to change the phase of the second input signal to the phase of the second output signal [FIG. 1 with respect to FIG. 7; their related descriptions; section 2; page 1035, see changes of the phase responses S13 and S24, and the path of S24 includes a Tx filter and a 180 degrees phase shifter (i.e., phase shift of 180 degrees which are fixed). Thus, the Tx filter (including “combine resonators”; see FIG. 8a) is configured to change the phase of the signal at the terminal 4 to the phase of the signal at the terminal 2].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Konpang in the system of Khat in order to cause the system to be able to achieve high Tx/Rx isolation with relatively low degree filters.
Regarding claim 2, Khat in view of Konpang discloses, the duplexer system of claim 1.
Khat discloses, wherein an impedance of the load of the second signal path matches an impedance of the antenna of the first signal path [¶0045, being configured along with the tuner TUN to match an antenna impedance ZANT as seen from the antenna port 18 by the RF duplexing device 10(3) to the impedance seen by the antenna ANT into the RF duplexing device 10(3) at the antenna port 18].
Regarding claim 3, Khat in view of Konpang discloses, the duplexer system of claim 1 as set forth above.
Khat discloses, wherein the first transmit filter and the second transmit filter are electrically symmetrical [¶0039, the fourth RF filter 52 (i.e., second transmit filter) within the second duplexer 16(1) is identical (i.e., symmetrical) to the first RF filter 40 (i.e., first transmit filter) within the first duplexer 14(1); further see ¶0040, the first RF filter 40, the second RF filter 48, the third RF filter 50, and the fourth RF filter 52 are each symmetrical, and therefore have the same frequency response in the signal direction 26 and the signal direction 28].
Regarding claim 4, Khat in view of Konpang discloses, the duplexer system of claim 1 as set forth above.
Khat discloses, wherein the first receive filter and the second transmit filter are electrically symmetrical [¶0038, the third RF filter 50 (i.e., first receive filter) within the second duplexer 16(1) is identical (i.e., symmetrical) to the second RF filter 48 (i.e., second receive filter) within the first duplexer 14(1); further see ¶0040, the first RF filter 40, the second RF filter 48, the third RF filter 50, and the fourth RF filter 52 are each symmetrical, and therefore have the same frequency response in the signal direction 26 and the signal direction 28].
Regarding claim 5, Khat in view of Konpang discloses, the duplexer system of claim 1 as set forth above.
Khat discloses, wherein either the first receive filter and the second receive filter or the first transmit filter and the second transmit filter form a set of coupled resonator filters [¶0060, The first RF filter 40, the second RF filter 48, the third RF filter 50, and the fourth RF filter 52 may thus be first-order series-coupled resonators that define the notches of the curves 64, 66, 68, and 70].
Regarding claim 9, Khat in view of Konpang discloses, the duplexer system of claim 1 as set forth above.
Khat discloses, wherein each of the first transmit filter, the first receive filter, the second receive filter, and the second transmit filter are coupled resonator filters [¶0060, The first RF filter 40, the second RF filter 48, the third RF filter 50, and the fourth RF filter 52 may thus be first-order series-coupled resonators that define the notches of the curves 64, 66, 68, and 70].
Regarding claim 16, Khat in view of Konpang discloses, the duplexer system of claim 1 as set forth above.
Khat discloses, wherein the first signal path further comprises a first pair of mutually coupled inductors [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0036, the first transformer 36 of the direction 26 includes a a pair of windings 42 and 44 mutually coupled] and the second signal path further comprises a second pair of mutually coupled inductors [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0036, the second transformer 38 of the direction 28 includes a a pair of windings 46 and 47 mutually coupled] of opposite polarization than the first pair of mutually coupled inductors [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0034 and 0036, the transformer 38 is inverted in polarity with respect to the transformer 36].
Regarding claim 18, Khat in view of Konpang discloses, the duplexer system of claim 1 as set forth above.
Khat discloses, wherein the second receive filter is in electrical communication with the transmit port and an input of the first transmit filter [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0038, the receive RF filter 48 is in electrical communication with the transmission port 20 and the input of the transmit RF filter 52] and an input of the second transmit filter is in electrical communication with the receive port and an output of the first receive filter [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0038, the input of the transmit RF filter 52 is in electrical communication with the receive 24 and the output of the receive RF filter 50].
Regarding claim 19, Khat discloses, a duplexer system [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0034, RF duplexing device 10], comprising:
a first signal path from a transmit port to a receive port [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0034-0037, a signal direction 26 from the transmission port 24 to the receive port 20], the first signal path comprising an antenna configured to transmit a first signal from the transmit port [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0034-0037, a signal direction 28 from the transmission port 24 to the receive port 20, the signal direction 26 comprising antenna coupled to the antenna port 18 configured to transmit a signal from the transmission port 24 toward to the receive port 20]; and
a second signal path from the transmit port to the receive port [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0034-0037, a signal direction 28 from the transmission port 24 to the receive port 20], the second signal path comprising a component configured to generate a second signal by inverting the first signal such that the first signal and the second signal destructively interfere [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0034-0037, the signal direction 28 comprising a phase shifter configured to generate a signal such that the signal in the direction 26 and the signal in the direction 28 have a phase difference of 180 degrees which destructively interferences (further see ¶0027, “since the second phase shift provided by the second duplexer 16 is differential to the first phase shift provided by the first duplexer 14, signals traveling from the transmission port 24 in the signal direction 26 and out of the first duplexer 14 toward the receive port 20 are substantially cancelled by signals traveling from the transmission port 24 in the signal direction 28 and out of the second duplexer 16 toward the receive port 20)”].
Although Khat discloses, “the second signal path comprising a component configured to generate a second signal by inverting the first signal such that the first signal and the second signal destructively interfere” as set forth above, Khat does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized and bold limitations), the component is modified to be a “resonator filter”.
However, Konpang discloses, the second signal path comprising a resonator filter configured to generate a second signal by inverting the first signal [FIG. 1 with respect to FIG. 7; their related descriptions; section 2; page 1035, note that the path 2 comprising the resonator filter of Tx filter (including “combine resonators”; see FIG. 8a) in combination with the 180 degrees phase shifter is configured to generate the signal at the terminal 2 by inverting the signal at the signal at the terminal 3].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Konpang in the system of Khat for similar rationales set forth above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, Khat discloses, a method of improving isolation of a receive port from a transmit port in a duplexer [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0034 and 0040, a method of providing isolation of a receive port 20 from a transmission port 24 in a RF duplexing device 10], comprising:
transmitting a first signal and a second signal from the transmit port along a first signal path and a second path, respectively [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0034-0037, transmitting signals from the transmission port 24 to the receive port 20 along the direction 26 and the direction 28], the first signal path [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0034-0035, the signal direction 26] comprising:
a first transmit filter [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0036-0037, first RF filter configured to pass the RF transmission band/transmit filter];
an antenna [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0038, antenna coupled to the antenna port 18]; and
a first receive filter [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0038, the third RF filter 50 is identical to the second RF filter 48; further see ¶0037, the second RF filter 48 is configured to pass the RF receive band/receive filter];
the second signal path [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0036-0037, the signal direction 28] comprising:
a second receive filter [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0037, the second RF filter 48 is configured to pass the RF receive band/receive filter];
a load [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0039-0040, tuning port 22 and tuner formed in a variable resistor/load]; and
a second transmit filter [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0039, fourth RF filter 52 identical to the first RF filter 40/first transmit filter],
generating, by the first signal path, a first output signal having a first phase same as the phase of the first signal [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0026-027 and 0031-0032 and 0035-0037, a first signal path corresponding to the signal direction 26 is configured to receive a first input signal from the transmission port 24 and output a first output signal at the antenna port 18, a phase of the first input signal and a phase of the first output signal being same]; and
receiving the first output signal and the second output signal at the receive port [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0034-0037, receives the signals in the directions 26 and 28 at the receive port 20] wherein an amplitude of the first output signal is decreased by the second output signal due to destructive interference [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0034-0037, the signal received at the receive port 20 is reduced by cancellation interference due to the phase difference of 180 degrees between the signal in the direction 26 and the signal in the direction 28 (further see ¶0027, “since the second phase shift provided by the second duplexer 16 is differential to the first phase shift provided by the first duplexer 14, signals traveling from the transmission port 24 in the signal direction 26 and out of the first duplexer 14 toward the receive port 20 are substantially cancelled by signals traveling from the transmission port 24 in the signal direction 28 and out of the second duplexer 16 toward the receive port 20)”].
Khat does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Konpang discloses, generating, by the second signal path, a second output signal having a second phase different from the phase of the second signal [FIG. 3; its related descriptions; section 2; page 1035, right column, a phase of the second input signal and a phase of the second output signal have a phase difference of 180 degrees; see “[t]o investigate the signal from Tx to Rx, we consider two sinusoidal signals propagating in two paths: Path 1 and Path 2, as shown in Fig. 1. The superposition of these two sine waves with the same amplitude, A, but different phases between point 2 and point 4 can be expressed as Asin θ + Asin θ + ∅ , where θ is the phase of sinusoidal signals and ∅ is the phase difference between these two signals”], wherein the second receive filter or the second transmit filter is configured to change the phase of the second signal to the second phase [FIG. 1 with respect to FIG. 7; their related descriptions; section 2; page 1035, see changes of the phase responses S13 and S24, and the path of S24 includes a Tx filter and a 180 degrees phase shifter (i.e., phase shift of 180 degrees which are fixed). Thus, the Tx filter (including “combine resonators”; see FIG. 8a) is configured to change the phase of the signal at the terminal 4 to the phase of the signal at the terminal 2],
the first signal and the second signal having a same phase [FIG. 1; its related descriptions; section 1, note that the signal at the terminal 3 toward the path 1 and the signal at the terminal 3 toward the path 2 have the same phase].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Konpang in the system of Khat for similar rationales set forth above in claim 1.
Claims 6-7 and 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khat et al (US Publication No. 2016/0142198) in view of Konpang et al “Four-port diplexer for high Tx/Rx isolation for integrated transceivers”, IET Microwaves, Antennas and Propagation, 2018, Vol. 2, Issue 6. pp. 1034-1040 and further in view of Handtmann et al (US Publication No. 2008/0055020).
Regarding claim 6, Khat in view of Konpang discloses, the duplexer system of claim 5 as set forth above.
Khat in view of Konpang does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Handtmann discloses, wherein one coupled resonator filter of the set of coupled resonator filters includes a reverse polarization piezoelectric resonator [FIG. 3; its related descriptions; ¶0035, the nonlinear resonator 330 has two electrodes 332, 334 and a piezoelectric layer 336 with a piezo-orientation 336P. The nonlinear resonator 340 has two electrodes 342, 344 and a piezoelectric layer 346 with a piezo-orientation 346P. As depicted in FIG. 3, the piezo-orientations 336P and 346P have a reverse orientation with respect to their electrical connection].
It is noted that the above-mentioned feature is a known technique in the field Applicant's endeavor, e.g., telecommunication art.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the system of Khat in view of Konpang with "the above-mentioned known feature(s)" taught by Handtmann to reach the claimed invention as set forth above. Since one having ordinary skill in the art could have recognized that applying the known technique taught by Handtmann into the system of Khat in view of Konpang would have yield predictable results and/or resulted in the improved system, such as e.g., ensure to improve signal isolation and reduce interference between transmit and receive paths, enhancing filter performance, such a modification (or application) would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Regarding claim 7, Khat in view of Konpang discloses, the duplexer system of claim 5 as set forth above.
Khat in view of Konpang does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Handtmann discloses, wherein one coupled resonator filter of the set of coupled resonator filters is arranged with connection leads that are reversed relative to the other coupled resonator filter of the set of coupled resonator filters [FIG. 3; its related descriptions; ¶0035, see reference number 320 and 330, one nonlinear resonator 330 is arranged with electrodes 332 and 334 of which piezo-orientation 336P is reversed to piezo-orientation 346P of another nonlinear resonator 340; further see FIG. 6A and ¶0050].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Handtmann in the system of Khat in view of Konpang for similar rationales set forth above in claim 6.
Regarding claim 10, Khat in view of Konpang discloses, the duplexer system of claim 1 as set forth above.
Although Khat discloses “ither the first receive filter and the second receive filter or the first transmit filter and second transmit filter” as set forth above, Khat in view of Konpang does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Handtmann discloses, wherein either the first receive filter and the second receive filter or the first transmit filter and second transmit filter form a set of stacked crystal filters [FIG. 9A; its related descriptions; ¶0072, four series stacked crystal filter (SCF) resonators 910, 920, 930 and 940].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Handtmann in the system of Khat in view of Konpang in order to allow easier and faster production with reduced production costs in addition to a reduced cancellation of unwanted second harmonic in the output spectrum of the stacked crystal resonator [e.g., ¶0064 of Handtmann].
Regarding claim 11, Khat in view of Konpang and Handtmann discloses, the duplexer system of claim 10 as set forth above.
Khat in view of Konpang does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Handtmann discloses, wherein one of the stacked crystal filters of the set of stacked crystal filters includes a reverse polarization piezoelectric resonator [FIG. 9A; its related descriptions; ¶0072, one of the four series stacked crystal filter (SCF) resonators 910, 920, 930 and 940 each comprising piezoelectric layers 440 and 450 and electrodes 410 and 420; further see FIG. 6A and ¶0050, an electric field E is applied to the stacked crystal resonator, the piezoelectric orientation 450P of the second resonator would have the same orientation as the electric field E, wherein the first resonator would have a piezoelectric orientation 440P being opposite (i.e., reverse) to the orientation of the electric field E].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Handtmann in the system of Khat in view of Konpang for similar rationales set forth above in claim 6.
Regarding claim 12, Khat in view of Konpang discloses, the duplexer system of claim 1 as set forth above.
Although Khat discloses “either the first receive filter and the second receive filter or the first transmit filter and second transmit filter” as set forth above, Khat in view of Konpang does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Handtmann discloses, wherein either the first receive filter and the second receive filter or the first transmit filter and second transmit filter form a set of hybrid filters, each hybrid filter of the set of hybrid filters including a coupled resonator filter and one or more ladder filter sections [FIG. 9A; its related descriptions; ¶0072, four sections of hybrid filters formed in four series of SCF resonators and four shunt SCF resonators. Thus, each section comprising one shunt SCF resonator 950 and one series SCF resonator 910 coupled to the shunt SCF resonator which forms a ladder-type filter section].
It is noted that the above-mentioned feature is a known technique in the field Applicant's endeavor, e.g., telecommunication art.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the system of Khat in view of Konpang with "the above-mentioned known feature(s)" taught by Handtmann to reach the claimed invention as set forth above. Since one having ordinary skill in the art could have recognized that applying the known technique taught by Handtmann into the system of Khat in view of Konpang would have yield predictable results and/or resulted in the improved system, such as e.g., ensure to improve duplexer design and performance, such a modification (or application) would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Regarding claim 13, Khat in view of Konpang discloses, the duplexer system of claim 1 as set forth above.
Although Khat discloses “either the first receive filter and the second receive filter or the first transmit filter and second transmit filter” as set forth above, Khat in view of Konpang does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Handtmann discloses, wherein either the first transmit filter and the second transmit filter or the first receive filter and the second receive filter form a set of lattice filters [FIG. 11; its related descriptions; ¶0080, a latter-type filter structure with two lattice stages 1020 and 1040. The lattice stage 1020 comprises first and second series acoustic resonators 1022, 1024 and first and second shunt acoustic resonators 1032, 1034].
It is noted that the above-mentioned feature is a known technique in the field Applicant's endeavor, e.g., telecommunication art.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the system of Khat in view of Konpang with "the above-mentioned known feature(s)" taught by Handtmann to reach the claimed invention as set forth above. Since one having ordinary skill in the art could have recognized that applying the known technique taught by Handtmann into the system of Khat in view of Konpang would have yield predictable results and/or resulted in the improved system, such as e.g., enhance balance and symmetry, achieving improved isolation between transmit and receive paths, such a modification (or application) would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Regarding claim 14, Khat in view of Konpang and Handtmann discloses, the duplexer system of claim 13 as set forth above.
Khat in view of Konpang does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but the aspect of Handtmann with respect to FIG. 11 discloses, wherein one lattice filter of the set of lattice filters includes a pair of piezoelectric resonators [FIG. 11; its related descriptions; ¶0080, one of the lattice stages 1020 and 1040 includes a pair of pieozoelectric resonators (e.g., 1022 and 1006)].
Further, the aspect of Handtmann with respect to FIG. 11 does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but another aspect of Handtmann with respect to FIG. 3 discloses, wherein one filter includes a pair of reversed piezoelectric resonators relative to the other filter [FIG. 3; its related descriptions; ¶0035, resonator 320 includes a pair of reversed piezoelectric resonators relative to the other resonator].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Handtmann in the system of Khat in view of Konpang for similar rationales set forth above in claim 6.
Regarding claim 15, Khat in view of Konpang discloses, the duplexer system of claim 1 as set forth above
Although Khat discloses “either the first receive filter and the second receive filter or the first transmit filter and second transmit filter” as set forth above, Khat in view of Konpang does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but the aspect of Handtmann with respect to FIG. 11 discloses, wherein either the first transmit filter and second transmit filter or the first receive filter and second receive filter form a set of hybrid lattice filters, and wherein one hybrid lattice filter of the set of hybrid lattice filters includes a pair of piezoelectric resonators [FIG. 11; its related descriptions; ¶0080, one of the lattice stages 1020 and 1040 includes a pair of pieozoelectric resonators (e.g., 1022 and 1006); further see ¶0082, further alternative embodiments of filter structures may comprise any combination of ladder-type and lattice-type structures, for example a lattice-filter stage with a shunt ladder half stage; hybrid lattice filter].
Further, the aspect of Handtmann with respect to FIG. 11 does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but another aspect of Handtmann with respect to FIG. 3 discloses, wherein one filter includes a pair of reversed piezoelectric resonators relative to the other filter [FIG. 3; its related descriptions; ¶0035, resonator 320 includes a pair of reversed piezoelectric resonators relative to the other resonator].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Handtmann in the system of Khat in view of Konpang for similar rationales set forth above in claim 6.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khat et al (US Publication No. 2016/0142198) in view of Konpang et al “Four-port diplexer for high Tx/Rx isolation for integrated transceivers”, IET Microwaves, Antennas and Propagation, 2018, Vol. 2, Issue 6. pp. 1034-1040 and further in view of Handtmann et al (US Publication No. 2008/0055020) and further in view of Xu et al (US Publication No. 2024/0178816)2.
Regarding claim 8, Khat in view of Konpang and Handtmann discloses, the duplexer system of claim 7 as set forth above.
Khat in view of Konpang and Handtmann does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Xu discloses, wherein the second signal path further includes a capacitance to ground component corresponding to a difference in capacitance between the coupled resonator filter and the other coupled resonator filter of the set of coupled resonator filters [FIG. 3A; its related descriptions; ¶0078, the capacitance of the balancing capacitor Cb1 can be sufficient to compensate for a mismatch in parasitic capacitance between the common electrode for the first pair of BAW resonators S1A and S1B and the common electrode of the second pair of BAW resonators S1C and S1D. This mismatch in parasitic capacitance can be due to physical layout; further see ¶0007] see also e.g., page 8 (¶0040) of US Provisional App. No. 63/385,156.
It is noted that the above-mentioned feature is a known technique in the field Applicant's endeavor, e.g., telecommunication art.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the system of Khat in view of Konpang and Handtmann with "the above-mentioned known feature(s)" taught by Xu to reach the claimed invention as set forth above. Since one having ordinary skill in the art could have recognized that applying the known technique taught by Xu into the system of Khat in view of Konpang and Handtmann would have yield predictable results and/or resulted in the improved system, such as e.g., ensure to compensate for capacitance imbalance between two paths, improving isolation and frequency response in the duplexer, such a modification (or application) would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khat et al (US Publication No. 2016/0142198) in view of Konpang et al “Four-port diplexer for high Tx/Rx isolation for integrated transceivers”, IET Microwaves, Antennas and Propagation, 2018, Vol. 2, Issue 6. pp. 1034-1040 and further in view of Lee et al (US Publication No. 2011/0175789).
Regarding claim 17, Khat in view of Konpang discloses, the duplexer system of claim 1 as set forth above.
Khat discloses, wherein the second signal path further comprises a pair mutually coupled inductors with negative mutual coupling [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0036, the second transformer 38 of the direction 28 includes a a pair of windings 46 and 47 mutually coupled; further see, two “dots” of the windings 46 and 47 of FIG. 2 are positioned at opposite locations, which is considered as “negative mutual coupling”] and wherein the first signal path includes a plurality of inductors arranged [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0036, the first transformer 36 of the direction 26 includes a a pair of windings 42 and 44 mutually coupled].
Khat in view of Konpang does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Lee discloses, a plurality of inductors in a T network [¶0104, The phase shifter 2740 is realized by using a T network with two series inductors L1 and L2 and one shunt capacitor C1].
It is noted that the above-mentioned feature is a known technique in the field Applicant's endeavor, e.g., telecommunication art.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the system of Khat in view of Konpang with "the above-mentioned known feature(s)" taught by Lee to reach the claimed invention as set forth above. Since one having ordinary skill in the art could have recognized that applying the known technique taught by Lee into the system of Khat in view of Konpang would have yield predictable results and/or resulted in the improved system, such as e.g., ensure precise impedance matching and improved isolation, such a modification (or application) would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yusuf et al (US Publication No. 2021/0218386) [abstract]
Ishikawa et al (JP 2000252745) [claim 1]
Kloska et al (US Publication No. 2010/0045397) [¶0130 and ¶0038-0039]
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.f attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ian Moore can be reached on (571) 272-3085. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/SUN JONG KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469
1 Konpang was cited in an IDS by the applicant.
2 Xu claims priority of US Provisional Application No. 63/385,156 filed on 11/28/2022, thus Xu is qualified as a prior art under 102(a)(2) for the instant application with the effective filing date 02/14/2023.