DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Priority
2. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The Information Disclosure Statements dated 11/14/2024, 01/29/2025 and 05/12/2025 are acknowledged by the Examiner.
Specification
4. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claim(s) 6, 8, 16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CATT et al., "Update on 1-SMF selection per DNAI," SA WG2 Meeting #S2-145E, S2-2104290, Elbonia, May 17-28, 2021, 4 pages (as cited in the IDS dated 11/14/2024) hereafter S2-2104290.
As for claim 6, S2-2104290 discloses:
A communication method, wherein the method comprises:
receiving first information from a first session management function network element, wherein the first information indicates to remove an intermediate session management function network element serving a current session (S2-2104290, section 5.34.3, paragraphs 1-4, Receiving from the SMF the target DNAI information at the AMF for triggering I-SMF (re)selection. The AMF removes the I-SMF upon detecting that an I-SMF is no longer needed); and
sending second information to the first session management function network element based on the first information, wherein the second information indicates to establish a session management context or update a session management context (S2-2104290, section 5.34.3, #1-#5, Sending the Nsmf_PDUSessionCreateSMContext Request, to the SMF from the AMF, wherein the Nsmf_PDUSessionCreateSMContext Request is an indication to establish a session management context or update a session management context).
As for claim 8, S2-2104290 discloses the method is performed by the first session management function network element (S2-2104290, section 5.34.3, paragraphs 1-4, The SMF performs the receiving/sending).
As for claim 16, S2-2104290 discloses:
An apparatus (S2-2104290, section 5.34.3, paragraphs 1-4, The SMF), comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memories coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to:
receiving first information from a first session management function network element, wherein the first information indicates to remove an intermediate session management function network element serving a current session (S2-2104290, section 5.34.3, paragraphs 1-4, Receiving from the SMF the target DNAI information at the AMF for triggering I-SMF (re)selection. The AMF removes the I-SMF upon detecting that an I-SMF is no longer needed); and
sending second information to the first session management function network element based on the first information, wherein the second information indicates to establish a session management context or update a session management context (S2-2104290, section 5.34.3, #1-#5, Sending the Nsmf_PDUSessionCreateSMContext Request, to the SMF from the AMF, wherein the Nsmf_PDUSessionCreateSMContext Request is an indication to establish a session management context or update a session management context).
As for claim 18, S2-2104290 discloses the method is performed by the first session management function network element (S2-2104290, section 5.34.3, paragraphs 1-4, The SMF performs the receiving/sending).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 7 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over S2-2104290 in view of Zong et al. US 2020/0344827 hereafter Zong.
As for claims 7 and 17, S2-2104290 does not explicitly disclose sending third information to the intermediate session management function network element when the intermediate session management function network element exists in the current session, wherein the third information indicates to release a session resource in the intermediate session management function network element.
However, Zong discloses sending third information to the intermediate session management function network element when the intermediate session management function network element exists in the current session, wherein the third information indicates to release a session resource in the intermediate session management function network element (Zong, [0244]-[0245], if the source I-SMF (namely, a case in which the A-SMF and an I-SMF form a combination) exists, the AMF sends a session release request to the source I-SMF, and the source I-SMF releases a related resource on a source UPF and deletes a session context).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of S2-2104290 with sending third information to the intermediate session management function network element when the intermediate session management function network element exists in the current session, wherein the third information indicates to release a session resource in the intermediate session management function network element as taught by Zong to provide improved performance (Zong, [0013]).
6. Claim(s) 9-10 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over S2-2104290 in view of Kim et al, US 2019/0313477 hereafter Kim.
As for claims 9 and 19, S2-2104290 does not explicitly disclose the first information is target DNAI information that does not comprise a target DNAI.
However, Kim discloses the first information is target DNAI information that does not comprise a target DNAI (Kim, [0014], receiving, by the AMF, a second message from the SMF in response to the first message, and the second message may include a PDU session release command message and the access type).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of S2-2104290 with the first information is target DNAI information that does not comprise a target DNAI as taught by Kim to provide improved traffic flow (Kim, [0004]).
As for claims 10 and 20, S2-2104290 does not explicitly disclose the target DNAI information comprises a session management function selection type.
However, Kim discloses the target DNAI information comprises a session management function selection type (Kim, [0014], receiving, by the AMF, a second message from the SMF in response to the first message, and the second message may include a PDU session release command message and the access type).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of S2-2104290 with the target DNAI information comprises a session management function selection type as taught by Kim to provide improved traffic flow (Kim, [0004]).
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claims 1-5 and 11-15 are allowed.
Reasons for Allowance
8. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:.
Claims 1-5 and 11-15 are allowable over prior art since the prior art taken individually or in combination fails to particularly disclose, fairly suggests, or render obvious the following italic limitations:
In claim 1,… in response to determining that a first session management function network element is able to serve a first data network access identifier (DNAI), sending first information to a first access and mobility management function network element, wherein the first information indicates to remove an intermediate session management function network element serving a current session…in combination with other limitations recited as specified in claim 1.
In claim 11,… in response to determining that a first session management function network element is able to serve a first data network access identifier (DNAI), send first information to a first access and mobility management function network element, wherein the first information indicates to remove an intermediate session management function network element serving a current session…in combination with other limitations recited as specified in claim 11.
The first closest prior art of record CATT et al., "Update on 1-SMF selection per DNAI," SA WG2 Meeting #S2-145E, S2-2104290, Elbonia, May 17-28, 2021, 4 pages (as cited in the IDS dated 11/14/2024) hereafter S2-2104290 discloses wherein the first information indicates to remove an intermediate session management function network element serving a current session (S2-2104290, section 5.34.3, paragraphs 1-4, The SMF sends to the target DNAI information to the AMF for triggering I-SMF (re)selection. The AMF removes the I-SMF upon detecting that an I-SMF is no more needed); and
receiving second information from the first access and mobility management function network element, wherein the second information indicates to establish a session management context or update a session management context (S2-2104290, section 5.34.3, #1-#5, Receiving the Nsmf_PDUSessionCreateSMContext Request from the AMF, wherein the Nsmf_PDUSessionCreateSMContext Request is an indication to establish a session management context or update a session management context).
S2-2104290 does not explicitly disclose in response to determining that a first session management function network element is able to serve a first data network access identifier (DNAI), send first information to a first access and mobility management function network element, wherein the first information indicates to remove an intermediate session management function network element serving a current session (as disclosed in claims 1 and 11).
The second closest prior art of record Lu et al, US 2023/0388268 hereafter Lu discloses remove an intermediate session management function network element serving a current session (Lu, [0060]-[0061], The AMF is responsible of detecting when to add or to remove an I-SMF for a PDU Session. If the AMF detects that an I-SMF is no more needed (as the service area of the SMF includes the new UE location) it removes the I-SMF and interfaces directly with the SMF of the PDU Session)
Lu does not explicitly disclose in response to determining that a first session management function network element is able to serve a first data network access identifier (DNAI), send first information to a first access and mobility management function network element, wherein the first information indicates to remove an intermediate session management function network element serving a current session (as disclosed in claims 1 and 11).
The third closest prior art of record Zhang et al, US 2024/0195846 hereafter Zhang discloses determining that a first session management function network element is able to serve a first data network access identifier (DNAI) (Zhang, [0072]-[0073], selecting the second SMF to serve the session of the UE)…remove an intermediate session management function network element serving a current session (Zhang, [0005], the AMF is responsible of detecting when to add or to remove an I-SMF (Intermediate SMF) or a V-SMF (visited) for a PDU Session).
Zhang does not explicitly disclose in response to determining that a first session management function network element is able to serve a first data network access identifier (DNAI), send first information to a first access and mobility management function network element, wherein the first information indicates to remove an intermediate session management function network element serving a current session (as disclosed in claims 1 and 11).
Conclusion
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Matolia et al, US 2021/0360509 discloses [0062] In 620, the AMF 230 selects the new SMF (e.g. SMF 415) based on the information received from the SMF 235. In some embodiments, the SMF 235 may automatically release the session and transfer the context to the new SMF 415 via the AMF 230.
JENEE HOLLAND
Examiner
Art Unit 2469
/JENEE HOLLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469