Response to Amendment
The previous made 112 rejections and objections to the Specification and Figures has been withdrawn in view of the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xu et al. US 2023/0231409.
Xu teaches:
1, 19. A transfer switch (100, FIG1) for transferring power to a building (load D4), the transfer switch comprising:
a switch detection unit including at least one sensor (sensor 40, FIG1) configured to monitor a utility power supply from a power grid (read on by said sensor state information, see Specification @ [0024]); and
a switch processor (controller 50, FIG1) communicatively coupled to the switch detection unit, wherein the switch processor is configured to:
determine that a power supply communication between the transfer switch and a vehicle is established (read on by said state information port parameters [0024]);
determine that a first predefined condition is met based on inputs associated with the utility power supply obtained from the switch detection unit (see [0024] ; and
enable the vehicle to supply power to the building responsive to a determination that the first predefined condition is met (as determined by the states associated with on-grid (FIG4) vs. off-grid (FIG5) mode).
2, 20. The transfer switch of claim 1/19, wherein the first predefined condition is met when the utility power supply is interrupted (see off-grid mode, FIG5).
4. The transfer switch of claim 1, wherein the switch processor is further configured to: determine that a second predefined condition is met based on the inputs obtained from the switch detection unit, and wherein the second predefined condition is met when the utility power supply is restored and stabilized (read on by said state data [0024]); and enable the power grid to supply power to the building (ie as with the case of switching back from off-grid (FIG5) to grid-connected (FIG4) modes).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. US 2023/0231409 in view of Lin et al. US 2023/0029931.
Xu fails to teach:
7. The transfer switch of claim 1, wherein the switch processor is further configured to: transmit a wakeup signal to the vehicle; and enable the vehicle to supply power to the building responsive to transmitting the wakeup signal.
Lin teaches wherein a processor is further configured to: transmit a wakeup signal to the vehicle (see Spec @ [0070]); and enable the vehicle to supply power to the building responsive to transmitting the wakeup signal (See [0078] and FIG5 step S204-S205).
It would have been obvious to incorporate the processor wake-up functionality as taught by Lin to transmit a wakeup signal to the vehicle responsive to a determination that the first predefined condition is met; and enable the vehicle to supply power to the building responsive to transmitting the wakeup signal into the system of Xu responsive to the first predetermination condition is met, as taught by Xu with the motivation of providing battery power supply conditioning before actual power supply to preserve the battery and increase battery efficiency.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. US 2023/0231409 in view of Lin et al. US 2023/0029931.
Xu teaches a transfer switch however fails to teach where said transfer switch is installed including:
8. The transfer switch of claim 1, wherein the transfer switch is installed at the building.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to install the switch at the building, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. The motivation would have been to provide a safe and secure location for said switch while minimizing wiring cost and installation via minimizing distance between the switch and building.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 3, 5, 6 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Salter US 2023/0415602; and
Lu US 12,240,347.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL CAVALLARI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836