Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 7/14/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20160243254 to Artzi (IDS filed 12/10/2021). Artzi discloses theranostic nanoprobes comprising gold nanoparticles functionalized with a monolayer of thio-PEG-OH, corresponding to applicant’s formula (1) (a nanoparticle comprising a metal surface pre-functionalized using a self-assembled protective monolayer formed by a matrix of molecules); HS-C2H4-CONH-PEG-O-C3H6-COOH (3500 Da), corresponding to applicant’s formula (7) SHCH2CH2(CH2CH2O)qOqO--F, where F is C3H6-COOH and q is 41; and a thiol-DNA-hairpin (a biomolecule comprising a thiol function), corresponding to the thiolated molecule of instant claim 3 (abstract; paragraphs 9-13; 44-71, and 112). The PEG spacer imparts stability to the theranostic nanoprobes, ensures facile functionalization of the gold nanoparticle with the DNA-hairpins, anchors, including DNA-oligonucleotides, and ensures a desirable distribution of DNA-hairpins on the surfaces of the gold nanoparticles (paragraph 446) The gold nanoparticles are functionalized with an amount of spacer molecules sufficient to cover from about 5% to about 50% of the surface area of the gold nanoparticles (paragraph 65). In another embodiment, the gold nanoparticles are functionalized with an amount of spacer molecules sufficient to cover from about 10% to about 50% of the surface area of the gold nanoparticles (a covareage rate of between 1.5% and 99%; a coverage rate of at least 1%; a coverage rate which is at least 10%). In a further embodiment, the gold nanoparticles are functionalized with an amount of spacer molecules sufficient to cover from about 20% to about 40% of the surface area of the gold nanoparticles (a coverage rate of between 1.5% and 99%; a coverage rate of at least 1%; a coverage rate which is at least 10%). (paragraph 64). In a particular embodiment, the gold nanoparticles are functionalized with an amount of spacer molecules sufficient to cover about 30% of the surface area of the gold nanoparticles (a coverage rate of between 1.5% and 99%; a coverage rate of at least 1%; a coverage rate which is at least 10%). (paragraph 64). The gold nanoparticles of the theranostic nanoprobes provided herein may be selected from those that are commercially available, or made by techniques known in the art, such as the citrate reduction method (paragraph 44). It is well-known, for example, that a thiol functional group can undergo an exchange with a citrate group on the surface of a gold nanoparticle (paragraph 44). The gold nanoparticles, in some embodiments, include citrate groups on their surfaces, and these citrate groups may be contacted with a thiol-DNA-hairpin to bond a thio-DNA-hairpin to the surface of a gold nanoparticle. In one embodiment, DNA-hairpin includes a thio-DNA hairpin (paragraph 53). The spacer (linker), in embodiments, comprises polyethylene glycol (PEG) and a functional group capable of covalently bonding the linker to a gold nanoparticle. Such a spacer is referred to herein as a "PEG spacer." (paragraph 64). A PEG linker may include a thiol group that reacts with a citrate group on the surface of a gold nanoparticle in order to bond a thio-PEG spacer to the surface of the gold nanoparticle (paragraph 64). A variety of functional group anchors are envisioned, which correspond to applicant’s F (paragraphs 66-70). The anchor may be a thiol-DNA-oligonucleotide (a biomolecule comprising a thiol function).
Artzi fails to teach instant n is equal to or greater than 3 and equal to or less than 11, and further fails to teach that instant m is equal to or greater than 1 and equal to or less than 12.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the instant invention was filed to optimize the number of PEG units in the linker of Artzi to improve the nanoparticle for theranostic nanoproble applications in cancer multidrug resistance. In this way, one would find n is i is equal to or greater than 3 and equal to or less than 11, and further fails to teach that instant m is equal to or greater than 1 and equal to or less than 12 through routine experimentation. “‘[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.’ In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)” MPEP § 2144.05, II. A prima facie case of obviousness is proper when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. "An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties." In rePayne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979). See In rePapesch, 315 F.2d 381, 137 USPQ 43 (CCPA 1963). MPEP 2144.09, I. As in the present invention, Artzi discloses theranostic nanoprobes comprising gold nanoparticles functionalized with a monolayer of thio-PEG-OH, corresponding to applicant’s formula (1) (a nanoparticle comprising a metal surface pre-functionalized using a self-assembled protective monolayer formed by a matrix of molecules); HS-C2H4-CONH-PEG-O-C3H6-COOH (3500 Da), corresponding to applicant’s formula (7) SHCH2CH2(CH2CH2O)qOqO--F, where F is C3H6-COOH and q is 41; and a thiol-DNA-hairpin (a biomolecule comprising a thiol function), corresponding to the thiolated molecule of instant claim 3 (abstract; paragraphs 9-13; 44-71, and 112). The PEG spacer imparts stability to the theranostic nanoprobes, ensures facile functionalization of the gold nanoparticle with the DNA-hairpins, anchors, including DNA-oligonucleotides, and ensures a desirable distribution of DNA-hairpins on the surfaces of the gold nanoparticles (paragraph 446). It would have been obvious to optimize the number of PEG units in the linker of Artzi to improve the nanoparticle for theranostic nanoprobe applications in cancer multidrug resistance. In this way, one would find n is equal to or greater than 3 and equal to or less than 11, and further fails to teach that instant m is equal to or greater than 1 and equal to or less than 12 through routine experimentation. Compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) or homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In reWilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See also In reMay, 574 F.2d 1082, 197 USPQ 601 (CCPA 1978) (stereoisomers prima facie obvious); Aventis Pharma Deutschland v. Lupin Ltd., 499 F.3d 1293, 84 USPQ2d 1197 (Fed. Cir. 2007) (5(S) stereoisomer of ramipril obvious over prior art mixture of stereoisomers of ramipril.). MPEP 2144.09, II.
Double Patenting
Claims 11-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 11925692. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because patent claim 1 is directed to a nanoparticle comprising a metal surface pre-functionalized with a self-assembled protective monolayer formed by a matrix of molecules M of formula (1): HS(CH2)n (OCH2CH2)m OH, in which: n represents the number of CH2, where 3≤n≤11; and m represents the number of ethylene glycol, where 1≤m≤12; the molecules bearing a thiol function at one end thereof, the other end thereof being inert; wherein a coverage rate of the monolayer is between 1.5% and 99%, and the nanoparticle is further functionalized with at least one L-PEG molecule of formula (7): SH—CH2CH2(CH2CH2O)qO—F, in which: q represents the number of ethylene glycol, where 20≤q≤500; and F represents a functional group selected from among CH3, OH, COOH or NH2, a coverage rate of the L-PEG molecule being at least 1%, and patent claim 2 is directed to wherein the nanoparticle is further functionalized with at least one thiolated molecule, the thiolated molecule being either: a PEG-F linker molecule of formula (8): HS(CH2)r (OCH2CH2)p O—F, in which: r represents the number of CH2 and is a whole number greater than or equal to 3; p represents the number of ethylene glycol, where 2≤p≤12; and F represents a functional group selected from among CH3, COOH or NH2, the linker molecule bearing a thiol function at one end thereof and bearing an active or reactive group that is capable of interacting with a biomolecule at the other end thereof; or a biomolecule comprising a thiol function, and further patent claim 3 is directed to wherein the thiolated molecule is a the PEG-F linker molecule, and wherein F is COOH, and a coverage rate of which is at least 1%, and further patent claim 4 is directed to wherein the nanoparticle is further functionalized with at least one biomolecule bound to the linker molecule, and further claim 5 is directed to wherein the thiolated biomolecule is a thiolated DNA, a coverage rate of which is at least 10%, which anticipates present claims 11-21.
Conclusion
/PAUL W DICKINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618
October 16, 2025