Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
Claims 1-5, 7, 9-14, and 16-23 are currently pending and are presented for examination on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-5, 7, 9-14, and 16-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101, because they recite non-patentable subject matter under MPEP § 2106, e.g., the 2019 PEG, October update. The claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (e.g., an abstract idea, etc.) without practical application or significantly more.
More particularly, when considering subject matter eligibility under 35 U.S.C. 101, it must be determined whether the claim is directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention, i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. If the claim does fall within one of the statutory categories, it must then be determined whether the claim is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., law of nature, natural phenomenon, and abstract idea), and if so, it must additionally be determined whether the claim is a patent-eligible application of the exception. If an abstract idea is present in the claim, any element or combination of elements in the claim must be sufficient to ensure that the claim amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Broad categories of abstract ideas include fundamental economic practices, certain methods of organizing human activities, an idea itself, and mathematical relationships/formulas. See, generally Alice Corporation Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank International, et al., 573 U.S. __ (2014) (citing Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Labs., Inc.,132 S. Ct. 1289, 1294, 1297-98 (2012)); Federal Register notice titled 2014 Interim Guidance on Patent Subject Matter Eligibility (79 FR 74618), which is found at: http:// www. gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/FR-2014-12-16/pdf/2014-29414.pdf; 2015 Update to the Interim Guidance; the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, Fed. Reg., Vol. 84, No. 4, January 7, 2019; and associated Office memoranda.
Under MPEP § 2106, Step 2a-prong 1, Claims 1-5, 7, 9-14, and 16-23 recite a judicial exception(s), including a method of organizing human activity (e.g. fundamental economic principle). More particularly, the entirety of the method steps is directed towards a method of securing a barcode for scanning, deterring tampering/theft of a transaction card, and provisioning a credit/gift card with tamper-proof packaging. These are long-standing commercial practices previously performed by humans (e.g., consumers, merchants, etc.) manually and via generic computing. As such, the inventions include an abstract idea under § 2106, and Alice Corporation. Under step 2a-prong 2, the claims fail to recite a practical application of the exception, because the extraneous limitations (e.g., a prepaid card assembly comprising an adhesive label, at least partially removing the card’s barcode, including a hologram, etc.) merely add insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.05(g), generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP 2106.05(h)) and/or generally instruct an artisan to apply it (the method) across generic computing technology. That is to say, they fail to offer an innovative concept based on the state of the art at the time of filing. A claim does not cease to be abstract for section 101 purposes simply because the claim confines the abstract idea to a particular technological environment in order to effectuate a real-world benefit. See Alice, 573 U.S. at 222; BSG Tech LLC v. BuySeasons, Inc., 899 F.3d 1281, 1287 (Fed. Cir. 2018); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1353 (Fed. Cir. 2014). That is to say, the claims are not directed to a new software or computer, but rather employs pre-existing software to do what’s been previously done, albeit less efficiently or slower. “[I]t is not enough, however, to merely improve a fundamental practice or abstract process by invoking a computer merely as a tool.” Customedia Techs., LLC v. Dish Network Corp., 951 F.3d 1359, 1364 (Fed. Cir. 2020) (citations omitted). More particularly, the claims fail to recite an improvement to the functioning of a computer or technology (under MPEP § 2106.05(a)), the use of a particular machine (under § 2106.05(b)), effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article (§ 2106.05(c)), or apply the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment (§ 2106.05(e)).
Under part 2b, the additional elements offered by the dependent claims either further delineate the abstract idea, add further abstract idea(s), adds insignificant extra-solution activity, or further instruct the artisan to apply it (the abstract idea(s)) across generic computing technology. The claims as a whole, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. This is because no one claim effects an improvement to another technology or technical field, an improvement to the functioning of a computer itself, or move beyond a general link of the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Viewing the limitations as an ordered combination does not add anything further than looking at the limitations individually. Under Alice, merely applying or executing the abstract idea on one or more generic computer system (e.g., a computer system comprising a generic database; a generic element (NIC) for providing website access, etc.; a generic element for receiving user input; and a generic display on the computer, in any of their forms) to carry out the abstract idea more efficiently fails to cure patent ineligibility. See, e.g., Content Extraction, 776 F.3d at 1347 (claims reciting a “scanner” are nevertheless directed to an abstract idea); Mortg. Grader, Inc. v. First Choice Loan Serv. Inc., 811 F.3d 1314, 1324–25 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (claims reciting an “interface,” “network,” and a “database” are nevertheless directed to an abstract idea).
Courts have recognized the following computer functions to be well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner: performing repetitive calculations, receiving, processing, and storing data, electronically scanning or extracting data from a physical document, electronic recordkeeping, automating mental tasks, and receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, MPEP 2106.05(d), wherein the italicized tasks are particularly germane to the instant invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, 9-14, and 16-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0243098 to Pascua et al. (Pascua), in view of US 2017/0323191 to Pascua et al (Pascua ‘191)
With respect to Claim 1, Pascua teaches a prepaid card assembly (FIGS. 1-15), comprising: packaging (FIG. 13-15, carrier); and a prepaid card at least partially enclosed within the packaging, wherein the prepaid card includes a barcode (FIGS. 13-15;[0055]) printed on the prepaid card ([0046];[0055], “such as a barcode . . . on . . . the card”); FIGS. 13-15), and an adhesive label disposed between the packaging and the prepaid card to couple the prepaid card to the packaging ([0040]), wherein the prepaid card is coupled to the packaging such that, upon removal of the prepaid card from the packaging, a first portion of the barcode remains coupled to the packaging with the adhesive label ([0073];[0040], line or dots of adhesive would result in this) and a second portion of the barcode separates from the prepaid card, forming a gap in the barcode that renders the barcode unscannable (FIG. 13-15; Abstract; [0071-74], teaching “a portion of the label may be deliberately chosen to remain on the card or carrier . . .” [0073], and that label may have “activation indicia 100, such as a bar-code” [0074]).
Pascua fails to expressly teach, but Pascua ‘191 teaches a portion of the barcode separating from the card and forming a gap in the barcode that renders the barcode unscannable. ([0002]; [0057]; FIGS. 6-9). Pascua ‘191 discusses the need to prevent various types of fraud relating to stored value cards that is effective, and inexpensive. [0006-12]. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Pascua to include destroying the barcode upon tampering, so as to prevent fraud as discussed in Pascua ‘191.
With respect to Claim 2, Pascua teaches wherein the packaging defines a cutout, and the barcode of the prepaid card is visible through the cutout when the prepaid card is coupled to the packaging (FIGS. 1-15).
With respect to Claim 3, Pascua teaches wherein the packaging includes a warning label located adjacent to the barcode of the prepaid card when the prepaid card is coupled to the packaging, and the warning label includes reference information about the barcode of the prepaid card to identify counterfeit or tampered with packaging. (FIG. 9)
With respect to Claim 4, Pascua teaches wherein the prepaid card includes a hologram disposed on the barcode of the prepaid card, and the barcode of the prepaid card is configured to be scanned through the hologram. ([0059-63];[0073];[0082])
With respect to Claim 5, Pascua teaches wherein the barcode of the prepaid card includes a color gradient to vary colors of the barcode. ([0082], iridescence, hue)
With respect to Claim 7, Pascua teaches wherein the adhesive label is coupled to the prepaid card over at least a portion of the barcode of the prepaid card. ([0014])
With respect to Claim 9, Pascua teaches wherein the adhesive label includes an adhesive pattern located between packaging adhering regions of the adhesive label, the adhesive pattern is coupled to the prepaid card over at least a portion of the barcode of the prepaid card, and the packaging adhering regions are coupled to the packaging. [0040]
With respect to Claim 10, Pascua teaches wherein the packaging adhering regions are free of the adhesive pattern. ([0014];[0040], adhesive throughout)
With respect to Claim 11, Pascua teaches wherein the packaging adhering regions and the adhesive pattern are separated by cut lines of the adhesive label. ([0043], fold lines)
With respect to Claim 12, Pascua teaches a prepaid card assembly (FIG. 13), comprising: packaging that includes a first panel and a second panel (FIGS. 1-15); a prepaid card at least partially located between the first panel and the second panel, wherein the prepaid card includes a barcode ([0071];[0055]); and an adhesive label disposed between the prepaid card and the first panel to couple the prepaid card to the packaging, wherein upon removal of the prepaid card from the packaging, the adhesive label is configured to remain coupled to the first panel and a portion of the barcode of the prepaid card is configured to remain coupled to the adhesive label such that the barcode of the prepaid card is unscannable. (FIGS. 1-15) Pascua teaches wherein the adhesive label has an adhesive strength between the adhesive label and the packaging is greater than an adhesive strength between the adhesive label and the prepaid card such that, when the prepaid card is removed from the packaging, the adhesive label remains coupled to the packaging. ([0014], release layer, breakaway coating layer)
Pascua fails to expressly teach, but Pascua ‘191 teaches a portion of the barcode separating from the card and forming a gap in the barcode that renders the barcode unscannable. ([0002]; [0057]; FIGS. 6-9). Pascua ‘191 discusses the need to prevent various types of fraud relating to stored value cards that is effective, and inexpensive. [0006-12]. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Pascua to include destroying the barcode upon tampering, so as to prevent fraud as discussed in Pascua ‘191.
With respect to Claim 13, Pascua teaches wherein the packaging defines a cutout, the barcode of the prepaid card is visible through the cutout when the prepaid card is coupled to the packaging, and a portion of the adhesive label is located between the barcode of the prepaid card and the cutout. FIGS. 1, 3, 13
With respect to Claim 14, Pascua teaches wherein the prepaid card includes a hologram disposed on the barcode of the prepaid card, and the adhesive label is coupled to the prepaid card over at least a portion of the barcode of the prepaid card and the hologram. ([0059-63];[0082])
With respect to Claim 16, Pascua teaches wherein upon removal of the prepaid card from the packaging, the portion of the barcode of the prepaid card is configured to remain coupled to the adhesive label such that the portion of the barcode is visible through the cutout. (Abstract)
With respect to Claim 17, Pascua teaches wherein the packaging includes reference information about the barcode of the prepaid card and that is located adjacent to the barcode of the prepaid card when the prepaid card is coupled to the packaging, and the reference information is configured to identify counterfeit or tampered with packaging based upon one or more features of the barcode of the prepaid card. FIG. 9
With respect to Claim 18, Pascua teaches wherein the one or more features of the barcode of the prepaid card includes a color of the barcode of the prepaid card, a design of a hologram disposed over the barcode of the prepaid card, or both. ([0082], iridescence, hue)
With respect to Claim 19, Pascua teaches a prepaid card assembly (FIGS. 1-15), comprising: packaging that defines a cutout (FIGS. 1-15); a prepaid card at least partially enclosed within and coupled to the packaging (FIGS. 1-15; Abstract), wherein the prepaid card includes a barcode, a hologram is disposed over at least a portion of the barcode (see barcode, and hologram throughout), and the hologram and the barcode are visible through the cutout when the prepaid card is coupled to the packaging (FIG. 13); and an adhesive label disposed between the packaging and the prepaid card to couple the prepaid card to the packaging, wherein the adhesive label is coupled to at least a portion of the barcode of the prepaid card such that, upon removal of the prepaid card from the packaging, the portion of the barcode of the prepaid card is removed from the prepaid card and remains coupled to the packaging. ([0073]; see adhesive throughout)
Pascua fails to expressly teach, but Pascua ‘191 teaches the adhesive label having a first side and a second side opposing the first side, the first side including packaging adhering regions configured to couple the adhesive label to the packaging, and the second side including an adhesive pattern configured to couple to the prepaid card. ([0002];[0057];FIGS. 6-9) Under the same rationale as Claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Pascua to include this limitation taught by Pascua ‘191.
With respect to Claim 20, Pascua teaches wherein upon removal of the prepaid card from the packaging, the portion of the barcode of the prepaid card remains visible through the cutout. [0073]
With respect to Claim 21, Pascua teaches wherein the adhesive label is transparent or semi-transparent such that the barcode of the prepaid card is visible through the adhesive label when the prepaid card is coupled to the packaging. [0068]
With respect to Claim 22, Pascua teaches wherein the adhesive label includes a first side and a second side opposing the first side, the second side including an adhesive pattern configured to couple to the prepaid card, and the first side including packaging adhering regions configured to couple the adhesive label to the packaging. ([0040], lines or dots)
With respect to Claim 23, Pascua teaches wherein the packaging further includes a cutout pane disposed within a cutout defined by the packaging, the cutout pane being transparent or semi-transparent such that the barcode of the prepaid card is visible and scannable through the cutout and the cutout pane when the prepaid card is coupled to the packaging. (FIG. 14: 1204)
Response to remarks
Applicant’s remarks submitted on 4/28/2026 have been fully considered, but are not persuasive where objections/rejections are maintained. As per the § 101 rejection, the rejection is maintained because the invention includes abstract idea (i.e., fundamental economic activity), in that tamper prevention of payment cards are a long-standing and wide-spread commercial practice. The results of an updated search shows that the limitations added by the instant amendment (relating to the barcode being unscannable) is not novel. As such, it fails the claims fail to offer an innovative concept. Tamper prevention has long included rendering a product inoperable upon unauthorized or improper removal from packaging. At least Pascua ‘191 shows that the solution was previously offered by another. As per the prior art rejections, Pascua ‘191 has been added to further teach the limitations of the instant invention, both Pascua and Pascua ‘191 teach wherein the label may be partially left on the packaging, and that the label may include a barcode. Please note that the applied reference(s) need not use the same terminology, or disclose the limitation verbatim, and also that the entirety of a prior art reference is to be applied to the respective claim(s), such that the pinpoint citations above are exemplary and provided for Applicant’s benefit; other locations within the applied reference(s) may further support the rejection. MPEP 2141.02(VI).
Conclusion
/WILLIAM J JACOB/Examiner, Art Unit 3696