DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Choi et al. (11,589,339).
For claims 1, 14, 20, Choi teaches (abstract) a user equipment (UE) (col. 32, lines 15-35; terminal), comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code (col. 4, line 65 – col. 5, line 45) ; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code (col. 5, line 45 – col. 6, line 45) to cause the UE (background, summary and claims) to:
receive a control message indicating a configuration (col. 7, line 60 – col. 8, line 60) for uplink control information that supports an indication of hybrid automatic repeat request feedback (col. 6, line 55 – col. 7, line 5; HARQ), an indication of a scheduling request (col. 8, lines 60-67), an indication of channel state information (col. 7, line 65 – col. 18, line 35), and an indication of additional information (col. 8, lines 40-60), the indication of the additional information being associated with a plurality of uplink resources configured for the UE (col. 16, line 50 – col. 17, line 5); and
transmit the uplink control information via a physical uplink control channel in accordance with the configuration (col. 8, lines 40-60),
wherein the uplink control information comprises at least one of the indication of the hybrid automatic repeat request feedback (col. 7, lines 55-65), the indication of the scheduling request (col. 9, line 35 – col. 10, line 10), the indication of the channel state information (col. 17, line 65 – col. 18, line 35), or the indication of the additional information (col. 8, lines 40-60).
For claims 2, 15, Choi teaches that the physical uplink control channel is configured as physical uplink control channel format 0 (col. 8, lines 15-25), and the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
determine a cyclic shift from a plurality of cyclic shifts associated with the uplink control information based at least in part on whether the uplink control information comprises the indication of the hybrid automatic repeat request feedback, the indication of the scheduling request, the indication of the additional information, or a combination thereof (col. 17, line 10 – col. 18, line 5),
wherein the uplink control information is transmitted via the physical uplink control channel based at least in part on the cyclic shift being applied to a base sequence (col. 19, line 45 – col. 20, line 5).
For claims 3, 19, Choi teaches that the cyclic shift comprises an initial cyclic shift value based at least in part on the uplink control information comprising only the indication of the additional information (col. 17, line 10 – col. 18, line 5).
For claim 4, Choi teaches that the cyclic shift comprises a first cyclic shift value based at least in part on the uplink control information comprising only the indication of the additional information, the first cyclic shift value being offset from an initial cyclic shift value (col. 19, line 45 – col. 20, line 5).
For claim 5, Choi teaches that the cyclic shift comprises a second cyclic shift value based at least in part on the uplink control information comprising only the indication of the hybrid automatic repeat request feedback,
the second cyclic shift value being offset from an initial cyclic shift value by a first value in accordance with the hybrid automatic repeat request feedback comprising a negative acknowledgment (col. 6, line 55 – col. 7, line 5; NACK), or
the second cyclic shift value being offset from the initial cyclic shift value by a second value different from the first value in accordance with the hybrid automatic repeat request feedback comprising an acknowledgment (col. 19, line 45 – col. 20, line 5).
For claim 6, the cyclic shift comprises an initial cyclic shift value based at least in part on the uplink control information comprising only the indication of the scheduling request (col. 17, lines 10-40).
For claims 7, 16, Choi teaches that the physical uplink control channel is configured as physical uplink control channel format 1 (col. 8, lines 15-25), and the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
select at least one of a modulation scheme or an uplink resource for transmitting at least the indication of the additional information (col. 8, line 30-35),
wherein the uplink control information is transmitted via the physical uplink control channel based at least in part on at least one of the modulation scheme or the uplink resource (col. 16, lines 50-67).
For claim 8, Choi teaches that the uplink control information comprises only the indication of the additional information; and the additional information is indicated using the modulation scheme based at least in part on a quantity of bits associated with the indication of the additional information (col. 17, lines 5-20).
For claim 9, Choi teaches wherein
the uplink control information comprises the indication of the additional information and the indication of the hybrid automatic repeat request feedback (col. 7, lines 55-65);
the indication of the additional information and the indication of the hybrid automatic repeat request feedback is transmitted via the uplink resource, the uplink resource being allocated for the indication of the additional information (col. 16, lines 50-67); and
the indication of the hybrid automatic repeat request feedback transmitted via the uplink resource comprises the indication of the additional information based at least in part on the indication of the additional information comprising one bit (col. 17, lines 5-20).
For claim 11, Choi teaches wherein:
the uplink control information comprises the indication of the additional information and the indication of the scheduling request (col. 9, line 35 – col. 10, line 10);
the indication of the additional information and the indication of the scheduling request is transmitted via the uplink resource, the uplink resource comprising either a first uplink resource allocated for the indication of the additional information or a second uplink resource allocated for the indication of the scheduling request (col. 16, lines 50-67); and
the indication of the additional information comprises one bit (col. 17, lines 5-20).
For claim 12, 17, Choi teaches that the physical uplink control channel is configured as physical uplink control channel format 2 (col. 19, lines 45-65), and the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
transmit, as part of the uplink control information, at least one of the indication of the additional information (col. 16, lines 50-67), the indication of the hybrid automatic repeat request feedback (col. 7, lines 55-65), or the indication of the channel state information (col. 17, line 65 – col. 18, line 35),
wherein one or more bits associated with the indication of the additional information are multiplexed with at least one of one or more bits associated with the indication of the hybrid automatic repeat request feedback or one or more bits associated with the indication of the channel state information (col. 11, lines 40-55).
For claim 13, 18, Choi teaches that the physical uplink control channel is configured as physical uplink control channel format 3 (col. 9, line 55 – col. 10, line 10) or physical uplink control channel format 4 (col. 17, lines 1-10), and the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
transmit, as part of the uplink control information, at least one of the indication of the additional information (col. 16, lines 50-67), the indication of the hybrid automatic repeat request feedback (col. 7, lines 55-65), or the indication of the channel state information (col. 17, line 65 – col. 18, line 35),
wherein one or more bits associated with the indication of the additional information are multiplexed and jointly encoded (col. 20, lines 20-55) with at least one of one or more bits associated with the indication of the hybrid automatic repeat request feedback, or one or more bits associated with the indication of the channel state information (col. 11, lines 40-55).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ahn et al. (10,284,351).
For claim 10, Choi does not expressly disclose the limitations. Ahn teaches a method and system (abstract) in the relevant art (background, summary and claims) the uplink control information comprises the indication of the additional information and the indication of the hybrid automatic repeat request feedback;
the indication of the additional information and the indication of the hybrid automatic repeat request feedback is transmitted using the modulation scheme, the modulation scheme comprising a quadrature phase shift keying modulation scheme (col. 4, lines 40-45); and
the indication of the additional information comprises one bit (col. 4, lines 38-41).
At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill in the art would have added Ahn in order to provide improvements to the sending of UCI information (background).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/MELVIN H POLLACK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2445