DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 65, 66, and 67 objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claims 55, 56, and 57, respectfully. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 55, 56, 58, 62, 64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dai et al. US 6,723,746.
Regarding claim 55, Dai teaches a system comprising (See Figure 1):
a) An adsorber 16 configured to contain an exhaust stream from a wood drying process (through line 21) and a sorbent 18 suitable for capturing volatile compounds within the exhaust stream (column 3 lines 1-6);
b) A desorber 12 fluidically connected to the adsorber 16 (through conduit 23) wherein the desorber is configured to accept loaded sorbent from the adsorber, then release the VOCs from the sorbent (column 3 lines 10-14); and
c) A reactivator (cooling system in column 4 line 37) that in in fluid communication with the desorber as it accepts the side stream desorbed material through output manifold 52. Here, the VOCs present in the sorbent are distilled to recover terpine VOC from the sorbent, thereby reactivating the sorbent.
Regarding claim 56, the adsorber may be a fluidized bed comprising the sorbent (column 3 line 2).
Regarding claim 58, Dai teaches that the spent sorbent is cooled in the reactivation stage, thus it is taken that the sorbent is thermally treated.
Regarding claim 62, Dai teaches the adsorber is directly coupled to the desorber via line 23 or line 25 (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 64, the VOCs in the exhaust comprises methanol, formaldehyde, and terpines (column 1 line 23).
Regarding claim 65, Dai teaches a system comprising (See Figure 1):
a) An adsorber 16 configured to contain an exhaust stream from a wood drying process (through line 21) and a sorbent 18 suitable for capturing volatile compounds within the exhaust stream (column 3 lines 1-6);
b) A desorber 12 fluidically connected to the adsorber 16 (through conduit 23) wherein the desorber is configured to accept loaded sorbent from the adsorber, then release the VOCs from the sorbent (column 3 lines 10-14); and
c) A reactivator (cooling system in column 4 line 37) that in in fluid communication with the desorber as it accepts the side stream desorbed material through output manifold 52. Here, the VOCs present in the sorbent are distilled to recover terpine VOC from the sorbent, thereby reactivating the sorbent.
Regarding claim 66, the adsorber may be a fluidized bed comprising the sorbent (column 3 line 2).
Regarding claim 69, Dai teaches the two adsorbers are arranged in series (column 3 line 1 and Figure 1).
Regarding claim 73, Dai implies that further fractionation and distillation devices can be implemented downstream from the desorber in order to condense out sorbent from terpines (column 4 line 36).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 57, 59-61, 63 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious by Dai et al. US 6,723,746.
Regarding claim 57, Dai does not explicitly teach the adsorber is configured to house two or more fluidized beds in series or parallel. Dai however does teach that the two fluidized bed desorbers may be arranged serially (Figures 1-3). Thus, it would have been within ordinary skill in the art to repeat the adsorber beds since the modification would be a mere repetition of parts. One would be motivated and find it obvious to have two adsorbers because it would provide the benefit of having different conditions for the adsorbers or have one operating while the other undergoes maintenance.
Regarding claims 59 and 60, Dai does not explicitly teach a hopper inlet for introducing the sorbent into the adsorber chamber 16. However, Dai does teach that the sorbent comprises resin beads which typically can be introduced by a hopper including air. Thus, it would have been obvious to use known inlet methods to introduce sorbent into the adsorber.
Regarding claim 61, Dai teaches the regeneration stage is a condenser (column 4 line 27). Though Dai is not explicit to excluding thermal oxidizers, Dai does strongly imply that thermal oxidizers are not used for distillation and it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that a simple condensation process would not have oxidizers.
Regarding claim 63, Dai implies that the desorber is directly coupled to the reactivation since the desorbed media is sent there from the desorber. Dai does not explicitly teach that the reactivation is directly coupled to the adsorber, however does teach that terpines are separated from sorbent, thus leaving a reactivated sorbent (column 4 lines 35-40). It would be obvious to send this recovered sorbent directly to the adsorber in order to save on resources and costs. Thus, Dai implicitly teaches or makes it obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to directly connect the reactivation stage with the adsorber in order to transport regenerated sorbent.
Regarding claims 67 and 68, Dai does not explicitly teach the adsorber is configured to house two or more fluidized beds in series or parallel. Dai however does teach that the two fluidized bed desorbers may be arranged serially (Figures 1-3). Thus, it would have been within ordinary skill in the art to repeat the adsorber beds since the modification would be a mere repetition of parts. One would be motivated and find it obvious to have two adsorbers because it would provide the benefit of having different conditions for the adsorbers or have one operating while the other undergoes maintenance.
Regarding claim 70, Dai does not explicitly teach the reactivators two or more fluidized reactivators in series or parallel. Dai however does teach that the two fluidized bed desorbers may be arranged serially (Figures 1-3). Thus, it would have been within ordinary skill in the art to repeat the reactivators since the modification would be a mere repetition of parts. One would be motivated and find it obvious to have two reactivators because it would provide the benefit of having different conditions for the adsorbers or have one operating while the other undergoes maintenance.
Claims 71 and 72 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious by Dai et al. US 6,723,746 in view of Ackerson US Patent 5,603,751.
Regarding claims 71 and 72, Dai does not explicitly teach a separator upstream from the absorbers, wherein the separator comprises wet electrostatic precipitators, dry electrostatic precipitators, cyclones, bag filters, mist eliminators, wet venture scrubbers, mesh screens, perforated plate or cyclonic separators.
However, Ackerson teaches a system for removing particulates from a wood drying exhaust that comprises cyclonic separators (Figure 1) for the benefit of removing particle fines from the exhaust (column 1 lines 15-30). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to implement a cyclonic separator upstream from the absorber to remove particle fines which would otherwise damage the absorbers.
Double Patenting
Claims 55-73 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-26 of U.S. Patent No. 11,890,573.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the Applicant’s instant claim 55 (and 65) recite the same combination of elements: A system for treating an exhaust stream from a wood drying process, comprising: an adsorber configured to contain an exhaust stream derived from a wood drying process and a sorbent suitable for capturing one or more chemical compounds within the exhaust stream; a desorber in fluid communication with the adsorber, the desorber configured to release at least one of the one or more captured chemical compounds from the sorbent; and a reactivator in fluid communication with the absorber, the desorber, or both the adsorber and the desorber, the reactivator configured to receive and contain a side stream of the sorbent and reactivate the sorbent within the side stream.
Patent ‘573 discloses a system for controlling emissions from a wood drying process, comprising: an exhaust stream from a wood drying process, the exhaust stream comprising one or more of particulate wood matters, terpenes, formaldehyde, methanol, acetic acid, acetone, or fatty acids; and an adsorber, coupled to the exhaust stream, the adsorber configured to contain a sorbent for capturing the one or more of particulate wood matters terpenes, formaldehyde, methanol, acetic acid, acetone, or fatty acids from the exhaust stream to generate a purified air stream containing less than 10 wt % of the one or more of particulate wood matters terpenes, formaldehyde, methanol, acetic acid, acetone, or fatty acids in the exhaust stream; a desorber coupled to the adsorber and configured to desorb the one or more particulate wood matters, terpenes, formaldehyde, methanol, acetic acid, acetone, or fatty acids captured by the sorbent; and a side stream reactivator configured to reactivate a portion of spent sorbent within the system, the side stream reactivator coupled to the desorber, the adsorber or both the adsorber and the desorber.
The differences between the claimed system and the patented system of 11,890,573 are matters of phrasing and do not patentably distinguish the claimed subject matter since both claims recites the same system components (adsorber, desorber, and reactivator) arranged in the same layout and relationship, and configured to perform the same process.
Conclusion
/SHARON PREGLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1772