Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The examiner note that the additional features of adding Resnet blocks is disclosed by Kim and newly cited Lee US 20240119282 A1 in combination with Meng.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1- 14, 16-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meng et al “On Distillation of Guided Diffusion Models” arXiv:2210.03142 April 12 2023 in view of Bo-Kyeong Kim et al On Architectural Compression of Text-to-Image Diffusion Models arXiv:2305.15798v1 May 25 2023. In further view of Lee US 20240119282 A1.
Re claim 1 Meng discloses:
accessing a first latent diffusion machine learning model,(see section 3.2 note that the first model corresponds to the teacher models, see section 2 last paragraph note that the models used are latent diffusion models ) the first latent diffusion machine learning model trained to perform a first number of denoising steps (see section 3.2 note that the student network is a version of the teacher model with fewer steps that the teacher see caption of figure 4 note that the steps are denoising steps see section 2 last paragraph note that the models have latent spaces).
accessing a second latent diffusion machine learning model (see section 3.2 note that the first model corresponds to the teacher models, see section 2 last paragraph note that the models have latent spaces ) that was derived from the first latent diffusion machine learning model, the second latent diffusion machine learning model trained to perform a second number of denoising steps (see section 3.2 note that the student network is a version of the teacher model with fewer steps that the teacher see caption of figure 4 note that the steps are denoising steps.);
generating noise data; (see section B2 and B3 note that during training a noise element N(0,I) is used)
processing the noise (see section B2 and B3 note that during training a noise element N(0,I) is used) data via the first latent diffusion machine learning model to generate one or more first images (see section 3.3 and algorithm 2 note during training that the output of the teacher model is differenced from that of the student, and the network trained such that the outputs match, The examiner further notes that the output of the networks are images see figure 4 8 and 9 );
processing the noise data (see section B2 and B3 note that during training a noise element N(0,I) is used) via the second latent diffusion machine learning model to generate one or more second images; (see section 3.3 and algorithm 2 note that the output of the teacher model is differenced from that of the student, and the network trained such that the outputs match, The examiner further notes that the output of the networks are images see figure 4 8 and 9 );
and modifying a parameter of the second latent diffusion machine learning model based on a comparison of the one or more first images with the one or more second images. (see section 3.3 and algorithm 2 note that the output of the teacher model is differenced from that of the student, and the network trained such that the outputs match, The examiner further notes that the output of the networks are images see figure 4 8 and 9);
Meng does not expressly disclose the second latent diffusion machine learning model derived from the first latent diffusion machine learning model by adding a particular ResNet block to an existing layer within the second latent diffusion machine learning model, wherein each of the first denoising steps execute a first number of ResNet blocks, and each of the second denoising steps execute a second number of ResNet blocks, the second number being smaller than the first number.
Kim discloses the second latent diffusion machine learning model derived from the first latent diffusion machine learning model by removing a particular ResNet block to an existing layer within the second latent diffusion machine learning model, wherein each of the first denoising steps execute a first number of ResNet blocks, and each of the second denoising steps execute a second number of ResNet blocks, the second number being smaller than the first number (see section 3.1.1 “In the original U-Net, each stage with a common spatial size consists of multiple blocks, and most stages contain pairs of residual (R) [12] and cross-attention (A) [65, 20] blocks. We hypothesize the existence of some unnecessary pairs and use the following removal strategies, as shown in Figure 3” see also section 3 “ We reduce this per-step computation, leading to Block-removed Knowledge-distilled SDMs “ the examiner notes that blocks are removed on a per-step basis i.e each steps will have few blocks in the reduced method);
The motivation to combine is “improved computational efficiency and initializes the compact model with the original weights by benefiting from the shared dimensionality. In the original U-Net, each stage with a common spatial size consists of multiple blocks, and most stages contain pairs of residual (R) [12] and cross-attention (A) [65, 20] blocks” see section 3.1.1. One of ordinary skill in the art could have used a U-NET with a reduced number of blocks as in Kim in the method of Meng to reach the aforementioned advantage. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Meng Kim to reach the aforementioned advantage.
Meng and Kim do not expressly disclose adding a particular block.
Lee discloses (see abstract of see paragraph 52 “generating an alternative block by sampling subnetworks compatible with replaceable blocks” note that blocks may be removed and replaced by alternative blocks replacing the block corresponds to adding a new block in place of a removed block). One of ordinary skill in the art could have modified the combination of Kim and Meng further replace the removed resnet blocks with alternate blocks as described in Lee. The motivation to combine is “a light-weight model, which has been optimized for each target device/runtime environment at a low cost” (see paragraph 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Lee with Meng and Kim to reach the aforementioned advantage.
While the examiner believes it is clearly implicit that Meng and Kim are intended to operate on a computer. Meng does not expressly disclose a system comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory component storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform operations. Lee discloses A system comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory component storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform operations (see paragraph 103 and 104 note that a similar system which is implemented with a processor and a memory) The motivation to combine is “these computer program instructions may be mounted on the processor of a general purpose computer, a special purpose computer, or other programmable data processing equipment, so that the instructions executed by the processor of the computer or other programmable data processing equipment create means for executing the functions specified in the flowchart block(s) (see paragraph 113). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Meng Kim and Lee to reach the aforementioned advantage.
Re claim 2 Meng discloses wherein the operations further comprise:
restructuring the first latent diffusion machine learning model to perform a third number of denoising steps, the first number of denoising steps being larger than the third number of denoising steps; (see section 3.3 note that after a first distillation step with 2N steps at the teacher, in the next step a Network with N steps is used as the teacher)
and restructuring the second latent diffusion machine learning model to perform a fourth number of denoising steps, the second number of denoising steps being larger than the fourth number of denoising steps, (see section 3.3 note that after a first distillation step with N steps at the student, in the next step a Network with N/2 steps is used as the student)
wherein processing the noise data via the first latent diffusion machine learning model comprises processing the noise data via the restructured first latent diffusion machine learning model (see section 3.2 note that training processing is performed again using the new teacher to further distill the network), (see section B2 and B3 note that during training a noise element N(0,I) is used).
and wherein processing the noise data via the second latent diffusion machine learning model comprises processing the noise data via the restructured second latent diffusion machine learning model. (see section 3.2 note that training processing is performed again using the new student to further distill the network), (see section B2 and B3 note that during training a noise element N(0,I) is used).
Re claim 3 Meng further discloses wherein the third number of denoising steps is half the first number of denoising steps (see section 3.2 note that the third number is N and the first number is 2N)
Re claim 4 Meng further discloses wherein the second number of denoising steps is double the fourth number of denoising steps (see section 3.2 note that the fourth number is N/2 and the second number is N).
Re claim 5 Meng further discloses wherein the fourth number of denoising steps is half the third number of denoising steps. (See section 3.2 note that the third number is N and the fourth number is N/2).
Re claim 6 Meng further discloses wherein the first and second latent diffusion machine learning models are stable diffusion models (see abstract note that the latent diffusion models are “stable diffusion models” )
Meng does not clearly disclose including cross-attention blocks and ResNet blocks. Kim discloses diffusion network including cross-attention blocks and ResNet blocks (see figure 3 note that Kim uses using several residual blocks and cross attention blocks). The examiner notes that Meng discloses using a U-Net architecture (see section 3.1 last paragraph). Kim discloses a similar U-net architecture. The motivation to combine is “improved computational efficiency and initializes the compact model with the original weights by benefiting from the shared dimensionality. In the original U-Net, each stage with a common spatial size consists of multiple blocks, and most stages contain pairs of residual (R) [12] and cross-attention (A) [65, 20] blocks” see section 3.1.1. One of ordinary skill in the art could have used a U-NET with a reduced number of blocks as in Kim in the method of Meng to reach the aforementioned advantage. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Meng Lee and Kim to reach the aforementioned advantage.
Re claim 7 Meng further discloses wherein the second latent diffusion machine learning model is derived from the first latent diffusion machine learning model by restructuring a UNet architecture of the first latent diffusion machine learning model ( see section 3.1 last paragraph “The model architecture we use is a U-Net model similar to the ones used in [6] for pixel-space diffusion models and [1, 28] for latent-space diffusion models,” See section 3.1 and 3.2 note that the model is restructured using a teacher student model ) the restructuring of the UNet architecture changing the first number of denoising steps for the first latent diffusion machine learning model. (see section 3.3 note that after a first distillation step with 2N steps at the teacher, in the next step a Network with N steps is used as the teacher).
Re claim 8 Meng does not expressly disclose wherein restructuring of the UNet architecture includes changing the architecture of cross attention. Kim further disclose wherein restructuring of the UNet architecture includes changing the architecture of cross attention and ResNet blocks (see section 3.1.1 “. In the original U-Net, each stage with a common spatial size consists of multiple blocks, and most stages contain pairs of residual (R) [12] and cross-attention (A) [65, 20] blocks. We hypothesize the existence of some unnecessary pairs and use the following removal strategies, as shown in Figure 3” ).
The motivation to combine is “improved computational efficiency and initializes the compact model with the original weights by benefiting from the shared dimensionality. In the original U-Net, each stage with a common spatial size consists of multiple blocks, and most stages contain pairs of residual (R) [12] and cross-attention (A) [65, 20] blocks” see section 3.1.1. One of ordinary skill in the art could have used a U-NET with a reduced number of blocks as in Kim in the method of Meng to reach the aforementioned advantage. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Meng Lee and Kim to reach the aforementioned advantage.
Re claim 9 Meng further discloses wherein the first latent diffusion machine learning model includes a denoising architecture, and wherein the first number of denoising steps include a number of iterations for transmitting the output of a prior iteration as input to a current iteration of the denoising architecture (see section 2 second paragraph equation 2 note that the output of the pervious step is used to calculate the next portion for N number of sampling steps corresponding to the number of iterations).
Re claim 10 Meng discloses wherein processing the noise data via the first latent diffusion machine learning model to generate one or more first images includes iteratively processing the noise data via the denoising architecture for the first number of denoising step(see section 3.2 note that the student network is a version of the teacher model with fewer steps that the teacher see caption of figure 4 note that the steps are denoising steps see section 2 last paragraph note that the models have latent spaces) generate the one or more first images (see section 3.3 The examiner further notes that the output of the networks are images see figure 4 8 and 9 );
Meng does not expressly disclose processing the noise data via the denoising architecture for the first number of denoising steps to generate first latent features, and processing the generated first latent features via a decoder of the first latent diffusion machine learning model to generate the one or more first images.
Kim discloses processing the noise data via the denoising architecture for the first number of denoising steps to generate first latent features (see section 3 first paragraph “Conditioned on the text and time-step embeddings, the U-Net performs multiple denoising steps on latent representations. At each denoising step, the U-Net produces the noise residual to compute the latent for the next step (see the top part of Figure 3).” Note that denoising steps are performed for latent representations), and processing the generated first latent features via a decoder of the first latent diffusion machine learning model to generate the one or more first images ( see section 1 second paragraph “Within a SDM, a U-Net [50, 6] conducts an iterative sampling procedure to gradually eliminate noise from random latents and is assisted by a text encoder [43] and an image decoder [9, 64] to produce text-aligned images” note that the latent data are processed by an image decoder to produce the image).
The motivation to combine is “improved computational efficiency and initializes the compact model with the original weights by benefiting from the shared dimensionality. In the original U-Net, each stage with a common spatial size consists of multiple blocks, and most stages contain pairs of residual (R) [12] and cross-attention (A) [65, 20] blocks” see section 3.1.1. One of ordinary skill in the art could have used a U-NET with a reduced number of blocks and encoding and decoding method as described in Kim in the method of Meng to produce the image to reach the aforementioned advantage. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Meng Lee and Kim to reach the aforementioned advantage.
Re claim 11 Meng discloses wherein processing the noise data via the second latent diffusion machine learning model to generate one or more second images includes iteratively processing the noise data via the denoising architecture for a third number of denoising steps to generate the one or more first images (see section 3.2 note that the student network is a version of the teacher model with fewer steps that the teacher see caption of figure 4 note that the steps are denoising steps see section 2 last paragraph note that the models have latent spaces, note that multiple iterations of this are performed) generate the one or more first images (see section 3.3 The examiner further notes that the output of the networks are images see figure 4 8 and 9 );
Meng does not expressly disclose processing the noise data via the denoising architecture to generate second latent features, and processing the generated second latent features via the decoder of the second latent diffusion machine learning model to generate the one or more first images.
Kim discloses processing the noise data via the denoising architecture to generate second latent features (see section 3 first paragraph “Conditioned on the text and time-step embeddings, the U-Net performs multiple denoising steps on latent representations. At each denoising step, the U-Net produces the noise residual to compute the latent for the next step (see the top part of Figure 3), and processing the generated second latent features via the decoder of the second latent diffusion machine learning model to generate the one or more first images. (see section 1 second paragraph “Within a SDM, a U-Net [50, 6] conducts an iterative sampling procedure to gradually eliminate noise from random latents and is assisted by a text encoder [43] and an image decoder [9, 64] to produce text-aligned images” note that the latent data are processed by an image decoder to produce the image).
The motivation to combine is “improved computational efficiency and initializes the compact model with the original weights by benefiting from the shared dimensionality. In the original U-Net, each stage with a common spatial size consists of multiple blocks, and most stages contain pairs of residual (R) [12] and cross-attention (A) [65, 20] blocks” see section 3.1.1 One of ordinary skill in the art could have used a U-NET with a reduced number of blocks and encoding and decoding method as described in Kim in the method of Meng to produce the image to reach the aforementioned advantage. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Meng Lee and Kim to reach the aforementioned advantage.
Re claim 12 Kim further discloses wherein the decoder of the second latent diffusion machine learning model is the same as the decoder of the first latent diffusion machine learning model (see section 1 second paragraph “Within a SDM, a U-Net [50, 6] conducts an iterative sampling procedure to gradually eliminate noise from random latents and is assisted by a text encoder [43] and an image decoder [9, 64] to produce text-aligned images” note that the latent data are processed by an image decoder to produce the image). Further in section 3 first paragraph and figure 3 first paragraph, the examiner notes that the in the teacher student model only the U-net is distilled reduced which is not part of the decoder, the decoder network would be the same for the student and the teacher. See also section 1 last paragraph “We compress SDMs by removing architectural blocks from the U-Net, achieving up to 51% reduction in model size and 43% improvement in latency on CPU and GPU. We also introduce an interesting finding on the minor role of innermost blocks.”
Re claim 13 Meng discloses wherein the comparison of the one or more first images with the one or more second images is based on a mean squared error between the images (see algorithm 2 section be note that the loss function includes a mean square error between the output of teacher and student model see also section 3.2 note that the student is trained to match the output of the teacher see also section 2 first paragraph note that the notation in a loss function ∥* ∥ 2 2 corresponds to the means square error).
Re claim 14 Meng discloses wherein the parameter is changed based on the value of the mean squared error. (see algorithm 2 section be note that the loss function includes a mean square error between the output of teacher and student model see also section 3.2 note that the student is trained to match the output of the teacher see also section 2 first paragraph note that the notation in a loss function ∥* ∥ 2 2 corresponds to the means square error).
Re claim 16 Meng discloses receiving a prompt for image generated from a user; and processing the prompt via the second latent diffusion machine learning model with the modified parameter to generate one or more user-requested images (see for example figure 13 and associated caption note that the output images are generated from the distilled model (corresponding to the trained second diffusion model) from a text prompt to generate the requested images).
Re claim 17 Meng further discloses wherein the output of the second latent diffusion machine learning model is processed through a decoder to generate the output image of the current iteration. (See for example section 4.3 note that that the diffusion model may contain an encoder or decoder.)
Re claim 18 Meng discloses A method comprising:
accessing a first latent diffusion machine learning model,(see section 3.2 note that the first model corresponds to the teacher models, see section 2 last paragraph note that the models used are latent diffusion models ) the first latent diffusion machine learning model trained to perform a first number of denoising steps (see section 3.2 note that the student network is a version of the teacher model with fewer steps that the teacher see caption of figure 4 note that the steps are denoising steps see section 2 last paragraph note that the models have latent spaces).
accessing a second latent diffusion machine learning model (see section 3.2 note that the first model corresponds to the teacher models, see section 2 last paragraph note that the models have latent spaces ) that was derived from the first latent diffusion machine learning model, the second latent diffusion machine learning model trained to perform a second number of denoising steps (see section 3.2 note that the student network is a version of the teacher model with fewer steps that the teacher see caption of figure 4 note that the steps are denoising steps.);
generating noise data; (see section B2 and B3 note that during training a noise element N(0,I) is used)
processing the noise (see section B2 and B3 note that during training a noise element N(0,I) is used) data via the first latent diffusion machine learning model to generate one or more first images (see section 3.3 and algorithm 2 note during training that the output of the teacher model is differenced from that of the student, and the network trained such that the outputs match, The examiner further notes that the output of the networks are images see figure 4 8 and 9 );
processing the noise data (see section B2 and B3 note that during training a noise element N(0,I) is used) via the second latent diffusion machine learning model to generate one or more second images; (see section 3.3 and algorithm 2 note that the output of the teacher model is differenced from that of the student, and the network trained such that the outputs match, The examiner further notes that the output of the networks are images see figure 4 8 and 9);
and modifying a parameter of the second latent diffusion machine learning model based on a comparison of the one or more first images with the one or more second images. (see section 3.3 and algorithm 2 note that the output of the teacher model is differenced from that of the student, and the network trained such that the outputs match, The examiner further notes that the output of the networks are images see figure 4 8 and 9);
Meng does not expressly disclose the second latent diffusion machine learning model derived from the first latent diffusion machine learning model by adding a particular ResNet block to an existing layer within the second latent diffusion machine learning model, wherein each of the first denoising steps execute a first number of ResNet blocks, and each of the second denoising steps execute a second number of ResNet blocks, the second number being smaller than the first number.
Kim discloses the second latent diffusion machine learning model derived from the first latent diffusion machine learning model by removing a particular ResNet block to an existing layer within the second latent diffusion machine learning model, wherein each of the first denoising steps execute a first number of ResNet blocks, and each of the second denoising steps execute a second number of ResNet blocks, the second number being smaller than the first number (see section 3.1.1 “. In the original U-Net, each stage with a common spatial size consists of multiple blocks, and most stages contain pairs of residual (R) [12] and cross-attention (A) [65, 20] blocks. We hypothesize the existence of some unnecessary pairs and use the following removal strategies, as shown in Figure 3” see also section 3 “We reduce this per-step computation, leading to Block-removed Knowledge-distilled SDMs“ the examiner notes that blocks are removed on a per-step basis i.e each steps will have few blocks in the reduced method);
The motivation to combine is “improved computational efficiency and initializes the compact model with the original weights by benefiting from the shared dimensionality. In the original U-Net, each stage with a common spatial size consists of multiple blocks, and most stages contain pairs of residual (R) [12] and cross-attention (A) [65, 20] blocks” see section 3.1.1. One of ordinary skill in the art could have used a U-NET with a reduced number of blocks as in Kim in the method of Meng to reach the aforementioned advantage. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Meng Kim to reach the aforementioned advantage.
Meng and Kim do not expressly disclose adding a particular block.
Lee discloses (see abstract of see paragraph 52 “generating an alternative block by sampling subnetworks compatible with replaceable blocks” note that blocks may be removed and replaced by alternative blocks replacing the block corresponds to adding a new block in place of a removed block). One of ordinary skill in the art could have modified the combination of Kim and Meng further replace the removed resnet blocks with alternate blocks to generate a distilled lightweight model as described in Lee. The motivation to combine is “a light-weight model, which has been optimized for each target device/runtime environment at a low cost” (see paragraph 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Lee with Meng and Kim to reach the aforementioned advantage.
Re claim 20 Meng discloses:
accessing a first latent diffusion machine learning model,(see section 3.2 note that the first model corresponds to the teacher models, see section 2 last paragraph note that the models used are latent diffusion models ) the first latent diffusion machine learning model trained to perform a first number of denoising steps (see section 3.2 note that the student network is a version of the teacher model with fewer steps that the teacher see caption of figure 4 note that the steps are denoising steps see section 2 last paragraph note that the models have latent spaces).
accessing a second latent diffusion machine learning model (see section 3.2 note that the first model corresponds to the teacher models, see section 2 last paragraph note that the models have latent spaces ) that was derived from the first latent diffusion machine learning model, the second latent diffusion machine learning model trained to perform a second number of denoising steps (see section 3.2 note that the student network is a version of the teacher model with fewer steps that the teacher see caption of figure 4 note that the steps are denoising steps.);
generating noise data; (see section B2 and B3 note that during training a noise element N(0,I) is used)
processing the noise (see section B2 and B3 note that during training a noise element N(0,I) is used) data via the first latent diffusion machine learning model to generate one or more first images (see section 3.3 and algorithm 2 note during training that the output of the teacher model is differenced from that of the student, and the network trained such that the outputs match, The examiner further notes that the output of the networks are images see figure 4 8 and 9 );
processing the noise data (see section B2 and B3 note that during training a noise element N(0,I) is used) via the second latent diffusion machine learning model to generate one or more second images; (see section 3.3 and algorithm 2 note that the output of the teacher model is differenced from that of the student, and the network trained such that the outputs match, The examiner further notes that the output of the networks are images see figure 4 8 and 9 );
and modifying a parameter of the second latent diffusion machine learning model based on a comparison of the one or more first images with the one or more second images. (see section 3.3 and algorithm 2 note that the output of the teacher model is differenced from that of the student, and the network trained such that the outputs match, The examiner further notes that the output of the networks are images see figure 4 8 and 9);
Meng does not expressly disclose the second latent diffusion machine learning model derived from the first latent diffusion machine learning model by adding a particular ResNet block to an existing layer within the second latent diffusion machine learning model, wherein each of the first denoising steps execute a first number of ResNet blocks, and each of the second denoising steps execute a second number of ResNet blocks, the second number being smaller than the first number.
Kim discloses the second latent diffusion machine learning model derived from the first latent diffusion machine learning model by removing a particular ResNet block to an existing layer within the second latent diffusion machine learning model, wherein each of the first denoising steps execute a first number of ResNet blocks, and each of the second denoising steps execute a second number of ResNet blocks, the second number being smaller than the first number (see section 3.1.1 “In the original U-Net, each stage with a common spatial size consists of multiple blocks, and most stages contain pairs of residual (R) [12] and cross-attention (A) [65, 20] blocks. We hypothesize the existence of some unnecessary pairs and use the following removal strategies, as shown in Figure 3” see also section 3 “ We reduce this per-step computation, leading to Block-removed Knowledge-distilledSDMs “ the examiner notes that blocks are removed on a per-step basis i.e each steps will have few blocks in the reduced method);
The motivation to combine is “improved computational efficiency and initializes the compact model with the original weights by benefiting from the shared dimensionality. In the original U-Net, each stage with a common spatial size consists of multiple blocks, and most stages contain pairs of residual (R) [12] and cross-attention (A) [65, 20] blocks” see section 3.1.1. One of ordinary skill in the art could have used a U-NET with a reduced number of blocks as in Kim in the method of Meng to reach the aforementioned advantage. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Meng Kim to reach the aforementioned advantage.
Meng and Kim do not expressly disclose adding a particular block.
Lee discloses (see abstract of see paragraph 52 “generating an alternative block by sampling subnetworks compatible with replaceable blocks” note that blocks may be removed and replaced by alternative blocks replacing the block corresponds to adding a new block in place of a removed block). One of ordinary skill in the art could have modified the combination of Kim and Meng further replace the removed resnet blocks with alternate blocks as described in Lee. The motivation to combine is “a light-weight model, which has been optimized for each target device/runtime environment at a low cost” (see paragraph 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Lee with Meng and Kim to reach the aforementioned advantage.
While the examiner believes it is clearly implicit that Meng and Kim are intended to operate on a computer. Meng does not expressly disclose A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, the computer- readable storage medium including instructions that when executed by a computer, cause the computer to. Lee discloses A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, the computer- readable storage medium including instructions that when executed by a computer, cause the computer to (see paragraph 103 and 104 note that a similar system which is implemented with a processor and a memory) The motivation to combine is “these computer program instructions may be mounted on the processor of a general purpose computer, a special purpose computer, or other programmable data processing equipment, so that the instructions executed by the processor of the computer or other programmable data processing equipment create means for executing the functions specified in the flowchart block(s) (see paragraph 113). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Meng Kim and Lee to reach the aforementioned advantage.
Claim(s) 15 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meng et al “On Distillation of Guided Diffusion Models” arXiv:2210.03142 April 12 2023 in view of Bo-Kyeong Kim et al On Architectural Compression of Text-to-Image Diffusion Models arXiv:2305.15798v1 May 25 2023, and Lee US 20240119282 A1 in further view of Zheng US 2024/0169500.
Re claim 15 Meng, Kim and Lee does not expressly disclose wherein processing the noise data via the first latent diffusion machine learning model includes adding random noise and an output image generated during a previous iteration to the first latent diffusion machine learning model causing the generation of the output image of the current iteration. Zheng discloses herein processing the noise data via the first latent diffusion machine learning model includes adding random noise and an output image generated during a previous iteration to the first latent diffusion machine learning model causing the generation of the output image of the current iteration (see paragraph 25 “In some examples, a diffusion model takes a noisy image (x.sub.t) and predicts the noise corresponding to the noisy image. During reverse diffusion, the diffusion model denoises the noisy image at each step and generates a less noisy image (x.sub.t−1). Instead of predicting the random noise, embodiments of the present disclosure predict an estimated clean image or x.sub.0 and then add noise back to the estimated clean image to obtain a noisy output image. Then the diffusion model generates x.sub.t−1 based on the noisy output image. At the next iteration, the diffusion model takes noisy image x.sub.t−1 as input, predicts a new estimated clean image, and repeats the same operation for the subsequent iterations. The new estimated clean image is better than the estimated clean image previously generated (e.g., the new estimated clean image has higher image quality and is less blurry). Accordingly, at each denoising step, the diffusion model is configured to predict an estimated clean image and adds noise back to the estimated clean image.”) The motivation to combine to improve the quality of the image see paragraph 25. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Meng Kim and Lee with Zheng to reach the aforementioned advantage.
Re claim 19 Meng, Kim and Lee does not expressly disclose wherein processing the noise data via the first latent diffusion machine learning model includes adding random noise and an output image generated during a previous iteration to the first latent diffusion machine learning model causing the generation of the output image of the current iteration. Zheng discloses herein processing the noise data via the first latent diffusion machine learning model includes adding random noise and an output image generated during a previous iteration to the first latent diffusion machine learning model causing the generation of the output image of the current iteration (see paragraph 25 “In some examples, a diffusion model takes a noisy image (x.sub.t) and predicts the noise corresponding to the noisy image. During reverse diffusion, the diffusion model denoises the noisy image at each step and generates a less noisy image (x.sub.t−1). Instead of predicting the random noise, embodiments of the present disclosure predict an estimated clean image or x.sub.0 and then add noise back to the estimated clean image to obtain a noisy output image. Then the diffusion model generates x.sub.t−1 based on the noisy output image. At the next iteration, the diffusion model takes noisy image x.sub.t−1 as input, predicts a new estimated clean image, and repeats the same operation for the subsequent iterations. The new estimated clean image is better than the estimated clean image previously generated (e.g., the new estimated clean image has higher image quality and is less blurry). Accordingly, at each denoising step, the diffusion model is configured to predict an estimated clean image and adds noise back to the estimated clean image.”) The motivation to combine to improve the quality of the image see paragraph 25. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Meng Kim and Lee with Zheng to reach the aforementioned advantage.
Conclusion
/SEAN T MOTSINGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2673