Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed July 1, 2026 have been fully considered.
With respect to the 112(b) rejections the claims have been amended to overcome
the rejections.
Examiner indicates the arguments presented regarding 103 rejections address newly amended claims and not the claims previously presented and examined in the Non-Final Office Action. To address the amended claims, new grounds of rejection have been made, as described below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6, 8-13, 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding independent claims 1, 12, and 15, each of these claims recites wherein the first transfer module is restricted from entering the second region. This limitation is nowhere disclosed in the original specification. Note that amendments to either broaden or narrow the scope of claim limitations, beyond what is disclosed by the original specification, do not comply with the written description requirement (see MPEP 2163.05).
Claims 2-6, 8-11, 13, 16-20 are rejected as being dependent on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8-13, 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rangarajan (US20210323119) in view of Novak (US 20050197045).
Regarding claim 1, Rangarajan discloses a substrate polishing device, comprising:
a first polishing module disposed in a first region and including a plurality of first polishing units having a plurality of first polishing pads (first polishing module defined as first polishing units 100a-d disposed in a first region defined as the space taken up by 100a-d as shown in Fig 4 below, each of 100a-d having a first polishing pad 152 as shown in Fig 1A below [0067], [0106]-[0107]);
a second polishing module disposed in a second region and including at least one second polishing unit having a second polishing pad (second polishing module defined as second polishing units 100e-f disposed in a second region defined as the space taken up by 100e-f as shown in Fig 4, each of 100e-f having a second polishing pad [0106]-[0107]); and
a transfer module configured to transfer a substrate between the first polishing module and the second polishing module (transfer module defined as robots 226, 314 and 414 as well as transfer stations 316 and 416 [0090], [0107] Examiner notes that transfer station 316 as shown in Fig 4 is discussed as transfer station 216 in [0107]),
wherein the second region is disposed adjacent to or within the first region (as shown below they are adjacent regions),
wherein the transfer module comprises a first transfer module configured to transfer the substrate within the first region, and a second transfer module configured to transfer the substrate from the first region to the second region and to transfer the substrate within the second region (first transfer module defined as 314 which transfer substrates within the first region, and second transfer module defined as 414 which is configured to transfer the substrate from the first to the second region and within the second region), and
the second transfer module is configured to receive the substrate from the first transfer module at a boundary between the first and second regions and transfer the substrate within the second region (the second transfer module as defined above is capable of receiving a substrate from 314 at a boundary between the first two regions defined as 416, [0107] explains 416 is disposed between the robots 314 and 414 and therefore is capable of being anywhere between them, and the second robot 414 can transfer the substrate within the second region as defined above).
Rangarajan also discloses one or more location specific polishing (LSP) modules 230 that polish a portion of the substrate surface using a polishing member that has a surface area that is less than the surface area of a to-be-polished substrate [0091]. Rangarajan further discloses that one or more LSP modules 230 may be disposed in any other desired arrangement within the modular polishing systems disclosed [0092] and therefore could be disposed in second polishing units 100e-f.
Although, Rangarajan does not explicitly disclose the shape of the polishing member is circular, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the polishing members to be circular as is known in the art and as is demonstrated by Novak. Therefore, because the polishing member of 230 is disclosed to have a smaller surface area than the substrate and because the first polishing pad 152 is illustrated above to have a diameter greater than the substrate, the diameter of the second polishing pad is smaller than the diameter of each of the first polishing pads.
Rangarajan also discloses that robot 314 is configured to transport substrates between polishing units 100a-d and transfer stations 316 and 416 [0100], [0107]. Robot 414 is configured to transport substrates between polishing units 100e-f and transfer station 416. One of ordinary skill in the art would not find it obvious for robot 314 to be configured to extend beyond the region it is disclosed to cover because transport in that region is already covered by robot 414, and would instead find it obvious to restrict robot 314’s movement to the area of intended use (exclusively within the first region as defined above).
Regarding claim 2, Rangarajan, as modified above, discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses the area of the second region is less than 70% of the area of the first region (as shown in Fig 4 above, the region of the second region as defined above is less than 70% the area of the first region, as defined above as the second region is approximately half the size of the first region due to fewer polishing units).
Regarding claim 3, Rangarajan, as modified above, discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses the number of the plurality of first polishing units is greater than the number of the at least one second polishing unit (there are four first polishing units 100a-d and only 2 second polishing units 100e-f).
Regarding claim 4, Rangarajan, as modified above, discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses the transfer module is a robot equipped with an articulated arm (as shown in annotated Fig 4 below, robots 314 and 414 have an articulated arm with at least one shown joint).
Regarding claim 8, Rangarajan, as modified above, discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses each of the plurality of first polishing units comprises:
a chamber in which a first polishing process is performed (chamber defined as modular frame 110 [0061] Fig 1A);
a first supporting member configured to rotate within the chamber around a first axis extending in a first direction vertical to the substrate, a corresponding first polishing pad of the plurality of first polishing pads being disposed on an upper surface of the first supporting member to polish the substrate (first supporting member defined as platen 151 which rotates within 110 around a first axis D which is vertical to substrate 180, pad 152 disposed on an upper surface of 151 [0075] Fig 1A); and
a first head portion including a substrate supporter that is disposed on a lower surface of the first head portion and supports the substrate (defined as carrier head 131, substrate supporter being where 131 holds the substrate as shown in Fig 1A), and
the first head portion is configured to:
rotate around a second axis extending in the first direction; move in the first direction (131 rotates around second axis B which extends in the first direction, [0071] explains that 131 define chambers within with flexible components in them that can be pressurized and vacuumized and therefore a component of 131 moves in the first direction); and
press the substrate toward the corresponding first polishing pad of the plurality of first polishing pads (the pressurization of the chamber as described above and in [0071] is capable of pressing the substrate toward the first polishing pad 152).
Regarding claim 9, Rangarajan, as modified above, discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses a diameter of at least one of the second polishing pad and an upper surface of a second supporting member disposed below the second polishing pad is less than 1.2 times the diameter of the substrate (as explained above, the diameter of the second polishing pad is less than the diameter of the substrate and so it is less than 1.2 times the diameter of the substrate).
Regarding claim 10, Rangarajan, as modified above, discloses the limitations of claim 8, as described above, and further discloses each of the plurality of first polishing units includes:
a first holder disposed adjacent to the corresponding first polishing pad within the chamber and configured to hold the substrate before loading the substrate on the corresponding first polishing pad or after unloading the substrate from the corresponding first polishing pad (first holder defined as 140 which holds the substrate before loading and after unloaded [0072] Fig 1A); and
a substrate transfer portion configured to transfer the substrate between the first holder and the corresponding first polishing pad (substrate transfer portion defined as actuator 143 and lift member 142 which work alongside of the rotating carrier platform 123 to transfer substrates between the first holder and pad 152 [0065] Fig 1A).
Regarding claim 11, Rangarajan, as modified above, discloses the limitations of claim 8, as described above, and further discloses a second holder for placing the substrate is disposed in the second region (second holders defined as 140 but specifically of second polishing units 100e and 100f).
Regarding claim 12, Rangarajan discloses a substrate processing system, comprising:
a substrate polishing device including a first polishing module including a plurality of first polishing units having a plurality of first polishing pads, and a second polishing module including at least one second polishing unit having a second polishing pad (first polishing module defined as first polishing units 100a-f, each of 100a-d having a first polishing pad 152 as shown in Fig 1A above, and second polishing module defined as second polishing units 100e-f, each of 100e-f having a second polishing pad [0067], [0106]-[0107],
a cleaning module disposed adjacent to the substrate polishing device to perform a cleaning process (cleaning module defined as first portion 420 which includes spray boxes 234 and drying units 236 [0093] [0106], Fig 2A shown above); and
a transfer module configured to transfer a substrate from the substrate polishing device and the cleaning module (transfer module defined as robots 226, 314 and 414 as well as transfer stations 316 and 416, the robots transport substrates from the polishing device and cleaning module [0090], [0107] Examiner notes that transfer station 316 as shown in Fig 4 is discussed as transfer station 216 in [0107]),
wherein the transfer module comprises:
a first transfer module disposed in a first region and configured to transfer the substrate within the first region (first transfer module defined as 314 which transfer substrates within the first region defined as the space taken up by 100a-d as shown above in Fig 4);
a second transfer module disposed in a second region and configured to transfer the substrate from the first region to the second region and to transfer the substrate within the second region (second transfer module defined as 414 which is configured to transfer the substrate from the first to the second region and within the second region which is defined as the space taken up by 100e-f); and
a third transfer module configured to transfer the substrate within the cleaning module, and the second transfer module is configured to receive the substrate from the first transfer module at a boundary between the first and second regions and transfer the substrate within the second region (third transfer module defined as robot 226 which transfers substrates through the cleaning module [0091], the second transfer module as defined above is capable of receiving a substrate from 314 at a boundary between the first two regions defined as 416, [0107] explains 416 is disposed between the robots 314 and 414 and therefore is capable of being anywhere between them, and the second robot 414 can transfer the substrate within the second region as defined above), and
wherein the second polishing module is disposed within the first polishing module (as explained above, the second polishing module (100e and 100f) is disposed within the first polishing module (100a-100f)).
Rangarajan also discloses one or more location specific polishing (LSP) modules 230 that polish a portion of the substrate surface using a polishing member that has a surface area that is less than the surface area of a to-be-polished substrate [0091]. Rangarajan further discloses that one or more LSP modules 230 may be disposed in any other desired arrangement within the modular polishing systems disclosed [0092] and therefore could be disposed in second polishing units 100e-f.
Although, Rangarajan does not explicitly disclose the shape of the polishing member is circular, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the polishing members to be circular as is known in the art and as is demonstrated by Novak. Therefore, because the polishing member of 230 is disclosed to have a smaller surface area than the substrate and because the first polishing pad 152 is illustrated above to have a diameter greater than the substrate, the diameter of the second polishing pad is smaller than the diameter of each of the first polishing pads.
Rangarajan also discloses that robot 314 is configured to transport substrates between polishing units 100a-d and transfer stations 316 and 416 [0100], [0107]. Robot 414 is configured to transport substrates between polishing units 100e-f and transfer station 416. One of ordinary skill in the art would not find it obvious for robot 314 to be configured to extend beyond the region it is disclosed to cover because transport in that region is already covered by robot 414, and would instead find it obvious to restrict robot 314’s movement to the area of intended use (exclusively within the first region as defined above).
Regarding claim 13, Rangarajan, as modified above, discloses the limitations of claim 12, as described above, and further discloses the first polishing module includes at least four first polishing units, and the second polishing module is disposed between a plurality of chambers provided in the first polishing module (the first polishing module includes four first polishing units 100a-d, the second polishing module (100e and 100f) is disposed between a plurality of chambers provided in the first polishing module, the chambers defined as the chambers described in [0070] that reside in carrier head 131, see Fig 1A above, the general position of the carrier head 131 and therefore the chamber within it is represented by axis G as shown in Fig 4 above and the second polishing module has geometry that resides between the respective axis G and therefore the second polishing module is disposed between a plurality of chambers in the first polishing module).
Regarding claim 15, Rangarajan discloses a substrate polishing method, comprising: performing a first polishing process in a first polishing module including a first polishing unit (first polishing module defined as 100a-f as shown in Fig 4 above, [0122]-[0123] explain a first polishing process in the first polishing module including a first polishing unit, i.e. 100a);
performing a second polishing process during at least one of before and after the first polishing process in a second polishing module including a second polishing unit ([0092] explains that LSP modules 230 may be disposed in any desired arrangement within the polishing system, such as between polishing modules 100a-f and therefore can be disposed between 100e and 100f; the second polishing module is defined as 100e and 100f, the second polishing process is defined as the polishing that occurs at the second polishing unit defined as 230, [0091] explains that 230 are often used after a substrate has been polished); and
transferring a substrate from the first polishing module to the second polishing module or from the second polishing module to the first polishing module using a transfer module (transfer module defined as robots 226, 314 and 414 as well as transfer stations 316 and 416, the robots transport substrates from the polishing device and cleaning module [0090], [0107] Examiner notes that transfer station 316 as shown in Fig 4 is discussed as transfer station 216 in [0107]),
wherein a first region where the first polishing module is disposed is disposed adjacent to a second region where the second polishing module is disposed, or the second region is disposed within the first region (the second polishing module, and therefore the second region, is disposed within a first region where the first polishing module is disposed),
wherein the transfer module comprises a first transfer module and a second transfer module (first transfer module defined as 314 and second transfer module defined as 414),
wherein the first transfer module is configured to transfer the substrate within the first region, and the second transfer module is configured to transfer the substrate from the first region to the second region and to transfer the substrate within the second region (314 transfers substrates within the first region [0101], 414 is functionally the same as 314 but is located in the second region and therefore one of ordinary skill would understand that it is configured for transfer in the second region),
wherein the second transfer module receives the substrate from the first transfer module at a boundary between the first and second regions and transfers the substrate within the second region (414 receives a substrate from 314 at a boundary between the first two regions defined as second transfer station 416, [0107] explains 416 is disposed between the robots 314 and 414 and therefore is capable of being anywhere between them, and the second robot 414 can transfer the substrate within the second region as defined above).
Rangarajan also discloses one or more location specific polishing (LSP) modules 230 that polish a portion of the substrate surface using a polishing member that has a surface area that is less than the surface area of a to-be-polished substrate [0091]. Rangarajan further discloses that one or more LSP modules 230 may be disposed in any other desired arrangement within the modular polishing systems disclosed [0092] and therefore could be disposed in second polishing units 100e-f.
Although, Rangarajan does not explicitly disclose the shape of the polishing member is circular, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the polishing members to be circular as is known in the art and as is demonstrated by Novak. Therefore, because the polishing member of 230 is disclosed to have a smaller surface area than the substrate and because the first polishing pad 152 is illustrated above to have a diameter greater than the substrate, the diameter of the second polishing pad is smaller than the diameter of each of the first polishing pads.
Rangarajan also discloses that robot 314 is configured to transport substrates between polishing units 100a-d and transfer stations 316 and 416 [0100], [0107]. Robot 414 is configured to transport substrates between polishing units 100e-f and transfer station 416. One of ordinary skill in the art would not find it obvious for robot 314 to be configured to extend beyond the region it is disclosed to cover because transport in that region is already covered by robot 414, and would instead find it obvious to restrict robot 314’s movement to the area of intended use (exclusively within the first region as defined above).
Regarding claim 16, Rangarajan, as modified above, discloses the limitations of claim 15, as described above, and further discloses in the transferring of the substrate,
the first transfer module transfers the substrate unloaded from the first polishing pad and placed in a first holder from the first region to a position adjacent to the second region, and the second transfer module receives the substrate and places the substrate in a second holder disposed in the second region, and then loads the substrate onto the second polishing pad (314 transfers a substrate 180 unloaded from the first polishing pad 152 and placed in a first holder 140 (of a respective first polishing unit) and places it at second transfer station 416 adjacent to the second region, and 414 receives the substrate 180 and places it in a second holder 140 (of 100e or 100f which are disposed in the second region), [0073] explains that first/second holders 140 can be configured as metrology or defect inspection stations and that the substrate 180 may be directed to a different substrate processing module or station such as second polishing unit 230).
Regarding claim 17, Rangarajan, as modified above, discloses the limitations of claim 15, as described above, and further discloses the second polishing process is a process in which at least one of polishing time and polishing amount is low compared to the first polishing process (230 polishes only a portion of a substrate surface and therefore the polishing amount is low compared to the first polishing process in which the pad polishes the entire substrate surface [0091] Fig 1A above).
Regarding claim 18, Rangarajan, as modified above, discloses the limitations of claim 15, as described above, and further discloses the second polishing process is a process in which roughness of the substrate is removed by buffing before the first polishing process (second polishing process reinterpreted as the stated buff platen processing capabilities of 140 as explained in [0073]).
Regarding claim 19, Rangarajan, as modified above, discloses the limitations of claim 15, as described above, and further discloses the second polishing process is a process in which a protective agent is fed to the substrate before the first polishing process (second polishing process reinterpreted as when fluid dispense arm 153 dispenses protective agent, interpreted as deionized water or polishing fluid, to the pad which would contact the substrate prior to when the polishing process begins, as the substrate would contact the protective agent from the pad before rotation begins).
Regarding claim 20, Rangarajan, as modified above, discloses the limitations of claim 15, as described above, and further discloses the second polishing process is at least one of edge polishing and bevel etching (second polishing process reinterpreted as the stated edge correction capabilities of 140 as explained in [0073] because material is removed proximate to the circumferential edge of the substrate, edge polishing is occurring).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rangarajan (US20210323119) in view of Novak (US 20050197045) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Faubel (US 3992822).
Regarding claim 5, Rangarajan, as modified above, discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above. However, Rangarajan fails to disclose the transfer module is a turret in which a plurality of arms rotate around an axis vertical to the substrate.
Faubel is also concerned with polishing devices and teaches a turret in which a plurality of arms rotate around a vertical axis (pivoting arms 14 of turret 1 rotate about the vertical axis of rotation 3, col. 4 lines 8-21 Fig 1 shown below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the substrate transfer robot of Rangarajan to include the turret and rotatable arms of Faubel in order to increase the efficiency of the device as multiple substrates can now be transferred simultaneously.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rangarajan (US20210323119) in view of Novak (US 20050197045) and Faubel (US 3992822) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Kashiwagi (US 20250050462).
Regarding claim 6, Rangarajan, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 5, as described above. However, Rangarajan fails to disclose the transfer module is equipped with a distance detection sensor.
Kashiwagi is also concerned with substrate polishing devices and teaches a distance detection sensor ([0013]-[0014] explain that the detection sensor is configured to measure a movement distance of the moveable shaft when the moveable shaft moves with respect to a reference shaft).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the transfer module of Rangarajan to include a distance detection sensor to help ensure that the robot arms are within their predetermined paths and not at risk of damaging the substrates or other pieces of the polishing device.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.M.L./ Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/BRIAN D KELLER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723