Detailed Action1
America Invents Act Status
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of an informality: the phrase “is in an” should be changed to “is an”. Claim 11 is objected to because of an informality: the word “and” should be inserted before “an environmental parameter”. Appropriate correction is required.
Rejections under 35 USC 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 4, 6 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112 (b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites a position read by the reader in line 3. In light of Applicant’s disclosure, it is unclear if this position refers to one or both of the two spaced positions read by the reader in lines 1-2 of claim 3. Or, if another position is being introduced. Based on Applicant’s disclosure, the examiner believes this claim should recite something similar to: wherein the reader is configured to read a position on respective spaced copies of the digital scale and determine based on a comparison of the two positions whether the positions read by the reader are ambiguous due to a transition in the positioning code.
Claim 6 recites recite limitations beginning with the word preferably. It is unclear if these limitations are required for infringement or are optional. For purposes of examination, these limitations will be interpreted as optional.
Claim 9 recites an automatic machine including the tool change system of claim 1 comprising … . It is unclear if the limitations after "comprising" are referring to the tool change system or the automatic machine. For purposes of examination, this claim will be interpreted as: An automatic machine, comprising: the tool change system of claim 1; a reference table … .
Regarding claim 10, it is unclear if the station must comprise the digital scale and thus also the linear guide. The digital scale appears to be a positively recited element. However, the claim is directed to a station configured to connect onto the linear guide—suggesting that the linear guide and thus the digital scale are not positively recited elements.
Claim 11 recites the position communication interface. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation. Is this referring to the digital communication interface?
Rejections under 35 USC 1032
Claims 1, 3, 7-8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO-2008113511-A1-(“Carl”) in view of USPGPub No. 2023/0405752 (“Akiyama”).
Claim 1 recites tool change system (3/4/5/6/15) for an automatic machine comprising a control unit (10) and a positioning platform (2) connectable to a plurality of tools (figs. 1 & 5, pages 1-2, 10-11 & 14, wherein all references to the Carl specification refer to the machine translation submitted with the Office action mailed on May 28, 2026), the tool change system having a linear guide (fig. 5, page 14 i.e. horizontal beam wherein holders 53-55 can be moved relative to each other along the guide/horizontal beam), one tool station or more than one tool stations (elements 53-55) connected to the linear guide for receiving and/or providing at least one of said plurality of tools (70/71) in an operating volume of the positioning platform (fig. 5, page 14).
Carl fails to explicitly teach a digital scale running along an axis of the linear guide, and the tool station or at least one of the tool stations has a reader configured to read a position from the scale, and a data interface configured to transmit the position to the control unit. However, this would have been obvious in view of Akiyama.
Akiyama is also directed to a machine for performing a processing step on a workpiece placed on a platform/table 23 (fig. 1, ¶ [0025] & [0036]). Akiyama teaches the controller capable of determining the linear position of table 23 with respect to linear guide 21, and to determine element 13 on linear guide 11 (¶ [0041] & [0049]-[0053]). The position sensor 31X includes a digital scale 31a on one of the components 21 or 23, and 11 or 13, and a reader 31b on the other one of components 21 or 23, and 11 or 13 (fig. 2, ¶ [0050]-[0052]). Information provided by position sensor 31X is used to determine the position and shape of workpiece 103 via touch sensor/stylus 33 (¶ [0057]-[0070]).
In this case, each of Carl and Akiyama are directed to a machine that is configured to determine the position of an element to therefore allow a touch sensor/stylus to contact the element. In an embodiment of Carl, the processor determines the shape, location, and arrangement of the holder 15, and if the holder has movable stations, Carl teaches using a camera to determine the initial position of the station. However, one of skill in the art appreciates that there are a variety of ways of determining a position of an object. Akiyama teaches another known way to determine the initial position of an object along a linear guide as explained above. Thus, it would be obvious to substitute one known position sensing means (i.e. camera) with the position sensing means of Akiyama wherein the linear guide of Carl has a digital scale extending along a length thereof and each station has a reader to send signals to the controller regarding its location on the digital scale. Since Carl teaches to determine the arrangement of the holder, information regarding the location of the stations with respect to the holder will predictably allow the controller of Carl to determine the position of the stations in the operating volume.
Regarding claim 3, Carl et al. further teaches the digital scale carries a positioning code or an absolute positioning code (¶ [0052] of Akiyama), defined by a pattern of variations of a quantity that is readable by the reader of the tool station, said quantity being one of: an electrical conductivity readable by sliding contacts or by a contactless sensor in the reader, a magnetization, a magnetic reluctance, an optical reflectivity or an optical transmissivity (¶ [0050] of Akiyama).
Claim 7 recites the tool stations and/or the tool change system have: reference elements that can be positioned in the operating volume by a coordinate measuring probe mounted on the positioning platform, by a camera, and/or by a touch feeler configured to detect a contact with the positioning platform. Carl teaches the stations having a references elements 22c-22e that can be positioned in the operating volume via a camera and/or touch feeler 26 (figs. 2 & 5, pages 12 & 14-15).
Regarding claim 8, Carl further teaches the linear guide is in an elongated beam horizontally supported by at least one upright, or by two uprights (fig. 5).
Regarding claim 10, Carl teaches a station (53-55) for holding a probe for an automatic machine (3-6) (fig. 5, pages 10 & 14), comprising: a … connector configured to connect the station onto a linear guide (page 14, wherein stations 53-55 “are attached to a frame 57, but can be moved in the horizontal direction of the frame 57 and replaced with other holders”).
Carl fails to explicitly teach a digital scale running along an axis of the linear guide, a reader configured for reading a position from the digital scale, and a digital communication interface configured to transmit the position to a digital controller. However, this would have been obvious in view of Akiyama for the same reasons detailed in the rejection to claim 1, above. Specifically, the holder has a linear encoder, wherein stations 53-55 have a reader that determines a position of the stations with respect to the digital scale of the linear guide, and transmits the position of the station with respect to the linear guide to a controller via a digital communication interface.
Carl fails to explicitly teach the connector being a mechanical connector. However, the examiner is taking Official Notice that mechanical connections between movable and removable parts is well known (including fasteners, clips, clamps, form-fit connections, etc.). Thus, it would be predictable and obvious to removably attach the stations 53-55 of the holder of Carl via a mechanical connection.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carl in view of Akiyama as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Encoder resolution, accuracy and repeatability: What's the difference?, RLS, Published July 28, 2019, available at https://www.rls.si/eng/encoder-handbook/resolution-accuracy-repeatability (“NPL”).
Regarding claim 6, Carl fails to explicitly teach the digital scale and/or the reader have a resolution in the determination of the position along the linear guide better than 5 mm, preferably better than 3 mm, preferably better than 1 mm, or better than 0.3 percent of a length of the linear guide, or preferably better than 0.1 percent of a length of the linear guide. However, this would have been obvious in view of NPL.
NPL is directed to encoder resolution and accuracy (page 3, wherein all references to NPL refer to the document submitted with the Office action mailed on May 28, 2026). NPL teaches that it is known for high resolution linear encoders to have a resolution below 100 nm, medium resolution to be between 200 nm -10 µm, and low resolution encoders to be above 50 µm (page 4).
In this case, Carl et al teaches a linear encoder to determine the position of the stations on the linear guide. NPL teaches that even low resolution linear encoders have resolutions well below 5mm. Thus, it would be obvious for the linear encoder of Carl et al. (including the position transducer/reader) to have a resolution better than 5 mm.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carl in view of Akiyama and Akey.
Regarding claim 9, Carl in view of Akiyama teaches an automatic machine including the tool change system of claim 1 (see rejection to claim 1 above) comprising a reference table (2) for supporting workpieces in the operating volume (fig. 1, pages 10-11 of Carl), the tool change system having two uprights (fig. 5 of Carl).
Carl et al. fails to explicitly teach the uprights have each a base with a fastener and the table has a lattice of holes at predetermined positions compatible with the fasteners of the bases of the uprights. However, this would have been obvious in view of Akey.
Akey is directed to an automated system for carrying out a manufacturing process (fig. 1, ¶ [0107]-[0108]). Akey teaches that the platform/surface can have an array or lattice of holes that are compatible with fasteners in a base of tools/objects that are placed and secured on the platform (fig. 1 & 4, ¶ [0113]). This allows objects to be placed on the table in a variety of locations (see figs. 1, 4, & 16).
In this case, each of Carl and Akey are directed to a platform/surface used to place apparatuses and machines of an automated system for carrying out a manufacturing process. Akey teaches that it is known for the platform to have a lattice of holes so that bases of the machines/apparatuses can be fixed to the holes via fasteners in the bases. Thus, in order to attach the machines/apparatuses of Carl et al. to the platform at many locations it would be obvious to provide the uprights with bases having fasteners therein that are compatible with a lattice of holes within the platform.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carl et al. as applied to claim 10, and further in view of USPGPub No. 2013/0203572 (“Denkmeier”).
Claim 11 recites the position communication interface is configured to transmit to the controller also one or more of: an identification code designating a type of the station, a unique identifier of the station, an occupancy signal indicating a tool loaded in the station, an identification code designating a type of a tool loaded in the station, a unique identifier of a tool loaded in the station provided by a sensor of the station, tool health and/or operational data of a tool loaded in the station, an environmental parameter. This would have been obvious in view of Denkmeier.
Denkmeier teaches a tool rack/magazine having individual holders 2 for holding respective tools (fig. 1, ¶ [0032]). Each individual holder 2 having a sensor 35 therein to determine information about a tool (such as tool identification and tool data) inserted into the holder and send the information to the controller (fig. 1, ¶ [0049]).
In this case, each of Carl et al. and Denkmeier are each directed to a tool rack/magazine having individual holders 2 for holding respective tools. Carl teaches the controller knowing the type of tool in the station/holder (i.e. measuring sensor) (see page 14). Denkmeier teaches that information about a tool, whether a tool is placed within the holder, and tool data can be automatically transferred to the controller via a sensor in the individual holders. Thus, in order to ensure the right tool is used and for the system to know other data about the tool that can aid in a manufacturing process, it would be obvious and predictable for the sensor in each station of Carl et al. to comprise a second sensor that can identify a tool placed in the station, read data regarding the tool, and to transfer this information to the controller (e.g. via binary code, i.e. identification code/unique identifier).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 25, 2026 (“the remarks”) have been fully considered. Each of applicant’s remarks is set forth, followed by examiner’s response.
On pages 8-10 of the remarks, Applicant argues that it is not obvious to substitute the camera of Carl with the linear encoder of Akiyama because I) the encoder of Akiyama is more precise than the camera of Carl, II) the elements of Akiyama are motor driven whereas the tool holders of Carl are manually moved, III) that the camera of Carl is optional, IV) that the substitution would destroy Carl’s functions since the substitution would eliminate the only means by which the probe is directed to the identification body to perform the identification scan, V) the structure of Carl would require a complete redesign to add the linear scale to the frame and a reader to the holder, and VI) there is not a reasonable expectation of success since Carl’s holders are clipped to the frame and don’t have a precision linear bearing.
With respect to I), the examiner believes that the digital scale of Akiyama being more precise than the camera is a reason/motivation to substitute the digital scale of Akiyama for the camera of Carl. Making sensors more precise is generally viewed as a good thing and an improvement. In this case, making the initial location detection of the tool holders of Carl more precise could make the probe scanning step quicker and more efficient.
With respect to II), one of skill in the art appreciates that the digital scale/reader can be used with elements that are manually moved rather than moved via motors. Thus, the examiner is not persuaded by this argument.
With respect to III), it is unclear how the camera being optional makes the modification unobvious. Carl teaches a reason why the system can have means to detect an initial start position of the tool holders. Thus, the examiner still believes it would be obvious to substitute this means with another known means.
With respect to IV), the modification does not destroy any of Carl’s functions. The modification replaces the means that Carl teaches is used to direct the probe to the identification body to perform the identification scan with another means (i.e. the digital scale and reader). The digital scale and reader perform the same role (but possibly better) as the camera of Carl, i.e. determining an initial location of tool holder (and specifically surface 22 of the tool holder) in order to direct the probe to scan the surface 22.
With respect to V), the examiner disagrees that a complete redesign in necessary. The structure/operation of the probe remains the same, and the general structure of the frame and tool holders remain the same. All that is done is a digital scale is attached to the frame and a reader is attached to the tool holders. Further, it is not complicated to have the readers in communication with a controller instead of the camera of Carl in communication with a controller. Having sensors in communication with and configured to send data to a controller is a relatively simple and straight forward process for one of skill in the art.
With respect to VI), the examiner first notes that Akiyama does not teach that the reader must maintain precise alignment with the scale in order to read the scale. Nor does Akiyama state the rollers 27 (which is assumed to be what Applicant refers to as “linear bearing”) are “precision”. In addition, Carl does not state that clips are used to attach the tool holders to the frame, and does not state that the tool holder are “loosely-positioned” on the frame. Based on the drawings of Carl, and that Carl teaches the tool holders “fastened to a frame 57”, one would reasonably infer that the tool holders are not “loose” and have a somewhat constant fastening position (i.e. cannot deviate too far in the two axes orthogonal to the longitudinal direction of the digital scale). Thus, it would be predictable to make the digital scale and reader of a size to allow minor deviations in the positions between the frame and tool holders (in the directions orthogonal to the longitudinal axis of the digital scale) while still allowing the reader to detect the digital scale. A linear bearing between the tool holders and frame is not needed in Carl since the tool holders do not slide on the frame via a motor.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KYLE A COOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722
1 The following conventions are used in this office action. All direct quotations from claims are presented in italics. All information within non-italicized parentheses and presented with claim language are from or refer to the cited prior art reference unless explicitly stated otherwise.
2 In 103 rejections, when the primary reference is followed by “et al.”, “et al.” refers to the secondary references. For example, if Jones was modified by Smith and Johnson, subsequent recitations of “Jones et al.” mean “Jones in view of Smith and Johnson”.
3 Hereafter all uses of the word “obvious” should be construed to mean “obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.”