DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claim 11 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/15/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 7, 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USPAP 2022/0338910 (Kucklick) in view of US 6,007,567 (Bonutti).
Regarding claim 1, Kucklick discloses a regenerative patch system for treating a tendon comprising a rollable scaffold (62) (see rolled configuration in Figure 3) comprising a first sheet (64) and a second sheet (65) opposing the first sheet (see Figures 23A-C), the second sheet (51) having a first surface and a second surface wherein the first surface includes microchannels (68) to flow fluid through the second surface and wherein the first sheet and the second sheet enclose the microchannels between the two sheets [0051].
Kucklick discloses the scaffold is attached to tissue with sutures, staples, etc. [0050; 0053], but fails to disclose details of a fastener having fluid channels and a suture securing the fastener to the rollable scaffold.
Bonutti discloses a suture (38) and anchor (20) combination for attaching to a tendon and/or an implant (col 7, lines 46-54), wherein the suture anchor (20) comprises a porous structure defining fluid channels that allows the material to absorb body liquid (abstract). The anchor expands as it absorbs fluid and improves the interlock with the surrounding tissue to withstand greater forces applied to the suture (col 2, lines 42-60; col 7, lines 46-54). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to combine the suture and suture anchor taught by Bonutti with the Kucklick scaffold, as the modification combines a known fastening structure to obtain a predictable result of securing an implantable scaffold to a patient’s tissue.
The language “the patch system adapted to flow fluid from the fastener via the suture, to the patch” is a functional recitation that is not given full patentable weight. The prior art is not required to explicitly disclose fluid flow but merely have the capability of performing the function. Kucklick discloses the microchannels of the sheet allow fluid flow through apertures (69) [0051; 0053] and Bonutti discloses that body fluid flows through the suture anchor. The suture, anchor and scaffold are coupled together such that surrounding body fluid is capable of flowing from the fastener via the suture to the patch.
In regard to claim 4, a suture monofilament suture is well known in the art.
Regarding claim 5, the phrase “scaffold is formed by electrospinning” is a product-by-process limitation that is not given patentable weight, as the method by which the product is made is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself.
In regard to claim 7 and 8, the fastener taught by Bonutti can be described as a tack or staple, since the claims do not specify any particular structural features.
In regard to claim 10, the second surface of the second sheet (65) further includes a reservoir capable of functioning to collect fluid (wherein a portion of frame 67 or inner members 68 defining channels can be considered a reservoir while another portion meets the requirement of microchannels of claim 1 [0051]).
Claim(s) 2, 3, 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kucklick in view of Bonutti, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of USPAP 2011/0087271 (Sargeant et al.).
Regarding claims 3 and 6, Kucklick states the scaffold may be made of bio-reabsorbable materials [0052] but fails to disclose specific materials of construction of the scaffold. Sargeant discloses another surgical patch and teaches that a suitable biodegradable material is poly(1-lactide-co-ε-caprolactone) [0038]. Since Sargeant is in the same field of endeavor of a surgical scaffold in the form of a sheet for wound repair, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to form the second sheet to comprise poly(1-lactide-co-ε-caprolactone), as the modification merely involves a combination of known biodegradable materials that achieves a predictable result of a surgical mesh with biodegradable properties. Additionally, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claims 2 and 9, Sargeant further teaches that it is known in the art for the surgical mesh to comprise collagen, hydrogel and/or hyaluronic acid [0053; 0041] to aid in the regeneration of tissue [0054]. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to form the modified Kucklick scaffold to comprise collagen, and/or hydrogel or hyaluronic acid, as taught by Sargeant, in order to promote regeneration of tissue and to achieve the desired therapeutic effect. Additionally, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. USPAP 2015/0250576 (Blackburn) discloses a rollable, multilayered surgical scaffold. USPAP 2014/0277133 and USPAP 2015/0173739 disclose suture anchors with a plurality of channels.
/SARAH W ALEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774