DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
1. Applicant’s arguments filed on 02/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the following reasons:
Applicant argues that Morton does not disclose “storing, in a data structure, a representation of the designated group of datasets as including the selected at least one dataset, the storing comprising storing, in the data structure, information about privileges of one or more users for accessing information about the designated group of datasets; means for storing representations of a plurality of groups of datasets in a data structure comprising information about privileges of one or more users for accessing information about the groups of datasets; and storing, in a data structure, a representation of the designated group as comprising the selected dataset and information about privileges of one or more users for accessing the designated group”. However, Morton discloses (on figs. 4A, 4B, 6B, [0031]-[0032], [0085]-[0086], [0089]) a graphical diagram illustrating a linked trading partner object map defining a plurality of dataset field names for dataset field values managed by the trading partner, remotely from the user that modeled the integration process, according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. As described herein, the object map graphical user interface 400 may be used to map relationships between different dataset field names for the same dataset field value. For example, a user may model an integration process to transmit a dataset field value having a field name “locale” at the user enterprise system/network to a trading partner, where the dataset field value may be stored under the dataset field name “location.” In such a scenario, an object map graphical user interface 400 in embodiments described herein may display a link 443 between the dataset 413 having a field name “locale” within the enterprise user object map 410 and the dataset 433 having a field name “location” within the trading partner object map 430. Such a link 443 may indicate the dataset field value associated with the field name “locale” at the user enterprise system/network may be stored, pursuant to the user-modeled integration process, with the dataset field name “location” at the trading partner.
In addition, Morton discloses such a mapping may be repeated for each dataset identified within the enterprise user object map 410 in an embodiment. For example, a link 442 may be formed between a dataset 412 having a field name “humidity” at the user enterprise system/network, and a dataset 432 having a field name “humidity” at the trading partner. As another example, a link 444 may be formed between a dataset 414 having a field name “name” at the user enterprise system/network, and a dataset 434 having a field name “device_name” at the trading partner. In yet another example, a link 445 may be formed between a dataset 415 having a field name “ambient_temperature_c” at the user enterprise system/network, and a dataset 435 having a field name “temperature_C” at the trading partner. In such a way, the enterprise user object map may include dataset field names for each dataset to be migrated between an enterprise user and a trading partner, according to a user-modeled integration process in an embodiment.
Lastly, Morton discloses each dataset may contain a user-defined or proprietary dataset field name, which may be associated with a dataset field value. In other words, datasets may be modeled using a fieldname:value pairing. For example, a dataset managed by the user enterprise system/network 514 may include a dataset having a dataset field name “locale.” In contrast, a trading partner receiving the dataset value associated with the dataset field name “locale” at the user enterprise system/network 514 may store such a dataset field value under the field name “location,” as described with reference to FIG. 4B. Thus, a single dataset field value may be described in a single integration process using a plurality of dataset field names (e.g., “locale”/“location,” “name”/“device_name,” “ambient_temperature_c”/“temperature_C,”), each adhering to the naming conventions set by databases, the APIs, applications, enterprises, or trading partners through or among which the dataset field value is programmed to integrate. The user enterprise object map 542 in an embodiment may map the various dataset field names that may be associated with a single dataset field value throughout the course of a modeled integration process, as described in greater detail with reference to FIG. 4B.
Applicant argues that Examiner is entitled to give claim limitations their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification. See MPEP 2111 [R-1 ]
Interpretation of Claims-Broadest Reasonable Interpretation
During patent examination, the pending claims must be ‘given the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification’. Applicant always has the opportunity to amend the claims during prosecussion and broad interpretation by the examiner reduces the possibility that the claim, once issued, will be interpreted more broadly than is justified. In re Prater, 162 USPW 541,550-51 (CCPA 1969).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 22-46 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Michael J. Morton (US-20220036437-A1).
As per claim 22, Morton teaches “a method for enabling efficient operation of a data processing system in an environment with multiple datasets by forming groups of datasets, the method comprising”:
“rendering a first user interface in which one or more datasets are identified, in association with a data processing operation, the first user interface comprising at least one user interface element configured to receive user input designating a group of datasets and selecting at least one of the identified datasets for inclusion in the designated group of datasets” ([0030]-[0032]);
“receiving user input through the at least one user interface element designating a group of datasets and selecting at least one of the identified datasets for inclusion in the designated group of datasets,” (fig. 4B, [0030]-[0032], [0044], [0085]); and
“storing, in a data structure, a representation of the designated group of datasets as including the selected at least one dataset, the storing comprising storing, in the data structure, information about privileges of one or more users for accessing information about the designated group of datasets,” (fig. 4B, [0030]-[0032], [0085]).
As per claim 23, Morton further shows “for each group of a the plurality of groups of datasets, storing, in the data structure, information regarding one or more users authorized to access the group,” ([0031]-[0032], [0085]-[0086], [0089]).
As per claim 24, Morton further shows “wherein the method further comprises: rendering a second user interface associated with user configuration of the data processing system to perform an operation related to data access, wherein the second user interface comprises a dataset selection portion,” ([0031]-[0032]); and
“rendering the second user interface comprises presenting a representation of one or more groups of a plurality of groups of datasets in the dataset selection portion,” ([0031]-[0032]).
As per claim 25, Morton further shows “wherein the method further comprises: selecting based on a persona of a user the one or more groups of the plurality of groups of datasets for presentation in the second user interface,” ([0031]-[0032]).
As per claim 26, Morton further shows “wherein: the second user interface comprises a user interface in a program development environment,” ([0031]-[0032]); and
“the operation related to data access comprises configuring a component in a program under development to access a dataset or a group of datasets,” ([0031]-[0032]).
As per claim 27, Morton further shows “wherein: the first user interface comprises a dataset search interface that displays results of a search operation,” ([0032]).
As per claim 28, Morton further shows “wherein: the dataset search interface comprises a faceted search interface,” ([0031]-[0032]).; and
“facets in the faceted search interface are based on values of metadata associated with the one or more datasets,” ([0031]-[0032])..
As per claim 29, Morton further shows “wherein: the first user interface comprises a user interface displaying lineage of a dataset,” ([0030]-[0032]).
As per claim 30, Morton further shows “ wherein: the first user interface comprises a user interface displaying metadata related to a dataset of the one or more datasets,” ([0030]-[0032]).
As per claim 31, Morton teaches “a data processing system operable in an environment with multiple datasets, the data processing system comprising”:
“means for storing representations of a plurality of groups of datasets in a data structure comprising information about privileges of one or more users for accessing information about the groups of datasets,” (fig. 4B, [0030]-[0032], [0085]);
“means for enabling a user to manage the plurality of groups of datasets, wherein the means for enabling is configured to manage the plurality of groups of datasets based on user input received through at least one user interface element,” (fig. 4B, [0030]-[0032], [0085]); and
means for rendering a first user interface in which:
“one or more datasets are identified in association with a data processing operation,” (fig. 4B, [0030]-[0032], [0085]); and
“the at least one user interface element is accessible to a user such that at least one of the identified datasets is selectable for inclusion in a group of datasets,” (fig. 4B, [0030]-[0032], [0085]).
As per claim 32, Morton further shows “means for rendering a second user interface associated with user configuration of the data processing system to perform an operation related to data access, wherein the second user interface comprises a dataset selection portion,” ([0031]-[0032]); and
“means for rendering the second user interface comprises presenting a representation of one or more groups of the plurality of groups of datasets in the dataset selection portion,” ([0031]-[0032]).
As per claim 33, Morton further shows “means for selecting based on a persona of a user the one or more groups of the plurality of groups of datasets for presentation in the second user interface,’ ([0031]-[0032]).
As per claim 34, Morton teaches “a method for creating dataset groups in a data processing system operable with a plurality of datasets, the method comprising, with at least one hardware processor”:
“identifying a set of datasets that are available for use in performing an operation by the data processing system, the operation relating to data access with the data processing system,” ([0030]-[0032]);
“presenting the identified set of datasets in a first user interface associated with the operation,” ([0030]-[0032]);
“presenting in connection with the first user interface at least one user interface element through which a dataset of the presented identified set of datasets is selectable for inclusion in a group of datasets,” (fig. 4B, [0030]-[0032], [0044], [0085]);
“receiving, via the at least one user interface element, a user designation of a group and a selection of a dataset from the presented identified set of datasets for inclusion in the designated group of datasets,” (fig. 4B, [0030]-[0032], [0044], [0085]);
“storing, in a data structure, a representation of the designated group as comprising the selected dataset and information about privileges of one or more users for accessing the designated group,” (fig. 4B, [0030]-[0032], [0085]).
As per claim 35, Morton further shows “wherein identifying the set of datasets that are available for use in performing an operation relating to data access with the data processing system comprises: receiving, via a second user interface, a search query specifying one or more values of facets that describe the plurality of datasets defined in the data processing system,” ([0031]-[0032]); and
“executing a search based on the search query to generate search results, the search results including the set of datasets that are available for use in performing the operation,” ([0031]-[0032]).
As per claim 36, Morton further shows “wherein the search query comprises a faceted search query, the faceted search query including one or more facets for filtering the search results,” ([[0031]-[0032]).
As per claim 37, Morton further shows “wherein the one or more facets comprises a facet indicating whether a dataset is registered in a catalog associating information for accessing a physical dataset to a logical dataset,” ([0035]-[0036]).
As per claim 38, Morton further shows “wherein: the user interface for receiving the search query comprises second user interface elements representing a plurality of fields for receiving user input identifying values for the one or more facets; and the plurality of fields comprise fields for receiving values of logical, physical and/or operational metadata associated with the plurality of datasets,” ([0035]-[0036]).
As per claim 39, Morton further shows “wherein the operation relating to data access comprises configuring components of an application executed by the data processing system,” ([0030]).
As per claim 40, Morton further shows “receiving, via a second user interface, a command to update the group, the command including a request to add one or more datasets to the group or a request to delete one or more datasets from the group,” ([0030]-[0031]).
As per claim 41, Morton further shows “presenting, via the first user interface, metadata regarding a dataset of the identified set of datasets in response to user input requesting metadata relating to the dataset,” ([0030]-[0031]).
As per claim 42, Morton further shows “wherein: the group is a second group,” ([0030-0031]); and
“receiving the user selection of the dataset comprises receiving a selection of a previously defined first group of datasets such that the second group comprises a hierarchical grouping of datasets,” ([0030-0031]).
As per claim 43, Morton further shows “wherein the information about privileges of one or more users for accessing the designated group indicates a scope for the group,” ([0030], [0085]-[0086], [0089]).
As per claim 44, Morton further shows “wherein the information about privileges comprises identification of the one or more users authorized to access the group,” ([0031]-[0032]).
As per claim 45, Morton further shows “determining whether to grant access to the designated group based on the scope for the group,” ([0031]-[0032], [0085]-[0086], [0089]).
As per claim 46, Morton further shows “rendering a second user interface associated with user configuration of the data processing system to perform the operation relating to data access, wherein the second user interface includes a dataset selection portion, and rendering the second user interface comprises presenting a representation of the designated group comprising the selected dataset in the dataset selection portion,” ([0030]-[0032]).
As per claim 47, Morton further shows “the user interface element includes a button selectable to add the at least one of the identified datasets to the designated group,” ([0030]-[0032], [0085]).
As per claim 48, Morton further shows “selection of the user interface element causes inclusion of the at least one or the identified datasets in an existing group of the plurality of groups of datasets or a new group,’ (fig. 4B, [0030]-[0032], [0085]).
Conclusion
4. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL, Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
Apr. 01, 2026
/KIM T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2153