DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wei et al. (Pub. No. US 2025/0310881).
Regarding claim 1. Wei teaches a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (Wei, the Abstract), the UE comprising:
a transceiver configured to receive, from a base station (BS), system information (SI) (Wei, pp [85], [88]: UE communicates with network device and receives system information); and
a processor operably coupled to the transceiver (Wei, Fig. 3, pp [60]-[61]: UE’s processor), the processor configured to:
identify, based on the SI, time occasions to monitor a low power-wake-up signal (LP-WUS) from a plurality of LP-WUSs (Wei, Figs. 5A and 5B, pp [92]-[94]: a UE utilizes a LP-WUR for monitoring LP-WUS signals);
monitor, based on the time occasions, the LP-WUS associated with a serving cell (Wei, Fig. 9, pp [108]-[109]: a UE monitors for LP-WUS from a current serving cell);
determine whether the LP-WUS is detected in the time occasions (Wei, pp [100]-[101]: LP-WUS is detected); and
monitor, based on the determination that the LP-WUS is detected, at least one of a paging early indicator (PEI) and a paging message (Wei, Fig. 8B, pp [101]; Fig. 9, pp [108]-[109], [124], [160]: the UE monitors for PEI and paging message when LP-WUS is detected).
Regarding claim 9. Wei teaches a method of a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (Wei, the Abstract), the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station (BS), system information (SI) (Wei, pp [85], [88]: UE communicates with network device and receives system information);
identifying, based on the SI, time occasions to monitor a low power-wake-up signal (LP-WUS) from a plurality of LP-WUSs (Wei, Figs. 5A and 5B, pp [92]-[94]: a UE utilizes a LP-WUR for monitoring LP-WUS signals);
monitoring, based on the time occasions, the LP-WUS associated with a serving cell (Wei, Fig. 9, pp [108]-[109]: a UE monitors for LP-WUS from a current serving cell);
determining whether the LP-WUS is detected in the time occasions (Wei, pp [100]-[101]: LP-WUS is detected); and
monitoring, based on the determination that the LP-WUS is detected, at least one of a paging early indicator (PEI) and a paging message (Wei, Fig. 8B, pp [101]; Fig. 9, pp [108]-[109], [124], [160]: the UE monitors for PEI and paging message when LP-WUS is detected).
Regarding claim 17. Wei teaches a base station (BS) in a wireless communication system (Wei, the Abstract), the BS comprising:
a processor configured to generate system information (SI) including time occasions for a low power-wake-up signal (LP-WUS); and
a transceiver operably coupled to the transceiver, the transceiver configured to transmit, to a user equipment (UE), the SI (Wei, pp [85], [88]: UE communicates with network device and receives system information), wherein:
the LP-WUS associated with a serving cell is monitored from a plurality of LP-WUSs based on the time occasions (Wei, Figs. 5A and 5B, pp [92]-[94]: a UE utilizes a LP-WUR for monitoring LP-WUS signals), and
at least one of a paging early indicator (PEI) and a paging message is monitored based on a detectability of the LP-WUS (Wei, Fig. 8B, pp [101]; Fig. 9, pp [108]-[109], [124], [160]: the UE monitors for PEI and paging message when LP-WUS is detected).
Regarding claim 2. Wei teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to determine whether the LP-WUS includes an indication for the UE to wake up (Wei, pp [101]).
Regarding claim 3. Wei teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the SI includes at least one of a threshold and an offset (Wei, pp [89]).
Regarding claim 4. Wei teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to:
determine whether to monitor the PEI (Wei, pp [132]-[133]);
identify the time occasions before monitoring the PEI when the UE is configured to monitor the PEI (Wei, pp [101]); or
identify the time occasions before monitoring the paging message when the UE is not configured to monitor the PEI (Wei, pp [100]).
Regarding claim 5. Wei teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein:
the transceiver is further configured to receive, from the BS, a synchronization signal/physical broadcasting channel block (SSB) (Wei, pp [63], [83]-[85], [94]);
the processor is further configured to activate, a synchronization and measurement operation, based on the SSB (Wei, pp [82]-[85], [94]); and
the synchronization and measurement operation is activated after LP-WUS is detected in the time occasions (Wei, pp [82]-[85], [94]).
Regarding claim 6. Wei teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to:
determine whether the SI including PEI configuration information is received based on a determination that the SI including the PEI configuration information is received (Wei, pp [97]-[100]) and the UE is capable of supporting a PEI reception, start monitoring the PEI (Wei, pp [100]-[101]); and
based on a determination that the SI including the PEI configuration information is not received or the UE is not capable of supporting the PEI reception, start monitoring the paging message (Wei, pp [108]-[111]).
Regarding claim 7. Wei teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to:
determine whether the SI including PEI configuration information comprises sub-grouping information (Wei, pp [96]-[100]);
based on a determination that the PEI configuration information includes sub-grouping information and the UE is capable of supporting a PEI reception, start monitoring the PEI (Wei, pp [96]-[101]); and
based on a determination that the PEI configuration information does not include the sub-grouping information or the UE is not capable of supporting the PEI reception, start monitoring the paging message (Wei, pp [96]-[101]).
Regarding claim 8. Wei teaches the UE of claim 7, wherein the processor is further configured to identify the sub-grouping information based on at least one of a subgroup number per paging occasion (subgroupsNumberPerPO) and a subgroup number for UE identification (subgroupsNumberForUEID) (Wei, pp [97]-[98], [102], [112]).
Regarding claim 10. Wei teaches the method of claim 9, further comprising determining whether the LP-WUS includes an indication for the UE to wake up (Wei, pp [101]).
Regarding claim 11. Wei teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the SI includes at least one of a threshold and an offset (Wei, pp [89]).
Regarding claim 12. Wei teaches the method of claim 9, further comprising:
determining whether to monitor the PEI (Wei, pp [132]-[133]);
identifying the time occasions before monitoring the PEI when the UE is configured to monitor the PEI (Wei, pp [100]-[101]); or
identifying the time occasions before monitoring the paging message when the UE is not configured to monitor the PEI (Wei, pp [100]-[101]).
Regarding claim 13. Wei teaches the method of claim 9, further comprising:
receiving, from the BS, a synchronization signal/physical broadcasting channel block (SSB) (Wei, pp [63], [83]-[85], [94]); and
activating, based on the SSB, a synchronization and measurement operation (Wei, pp [63], [83]-[85], [94]),
wherein the synchronization and measurement operation is activated after LP-WUS is detected in the time occasions (Wei, pp [63], [83]-[85], [94]).
Regarding claim 14. Wei teaches the method of claim 9, further comprising:
determining whether the SI including PEI configuration information is received (Wei, pp [97]-[100]);
based on a determination that the SI including the PEI configuration information is received and the UE is capable of supporting a PEI reception, starting monitoring the PEI (Wei, pp [100]-[101]); and
based on a determination that the SI including the PEI configuration information is not received or the UE is not capable of supporting the PEI reception, starting monitoring the paging message (Wei, pp [108]-[111]).
Regarding claim 15. Wei teaches the method of claim 9, further comprising:
determining whether the SI including PEI configuration information comprises sub-grouping information (Wei, pp [97]-[100]);
when the PEI configuration information includes sub-grouping information and the UE is capable of supporting a PEI reception, starting monitoring the PEI (Wei, pp [96]-[101]); and
when the PEI configuration information does not include sub-grouping information or the UE is not capable of supporting the PEI reception, starting monitoring the paging message (Wei, pp [96]-[101]).
Regarding claim 16. Wei teaches the method of claim 15, further comprising identifying the sub-grouping information based on at least one of a subgroup number per paging occasion (subgroupsNumberPerPO) and a subgroup number for UE identification (subgroupsNumberForUEID) (Wei, pp [97]-[98], [102], [112]).
Regarding claim 18. Wei teaches the BS of claim 17, wherein the SI includes at least one of a threshold and an offset (Wei, pp [89]).
Regarding claim 19. Wei teaches the BS of claim 17, wherein whether to monitor the PEI is determined, and wherein:
the time occasions are identified before the PEI is monitored when the UE is configured to monitor the PEI (Wei, pp [100]-[101]); or
the time occasions are identified before the paging message is monitored when the UE is not configured to monitor the PEI (Wei, pp [100]-[101]).
Regarding claim 20. Wei teaches the BS of claim 17, wherein the transceiver is further configured to transmit, to the UE, a synchronization signal/physical broadcasting channel block (SSB), and wherein:
a synchronization and measurement operation is activated based on the SSB (Wei, pp [63], [83]-[85], [94]); and
the synchronization and measurement operation is activated after LP-WUS is detected in the time occasions (Wei, pp [63], [83]-[85], [94]).
References related but not used in the rejection
Cheng et al. (Pub. No. US 2024/0155491), teaches various solutions for low-power wake-up signal (LP-WUS) monitoring with respect to user equipment and network node in mobile communications are described. An apparatus may receive a configuration from a network node. The apparatus comprises a main radio (MR) and a lower-power wake-up radio (LP-WUR). The apparatus may determine whether to activate or deactivate a low-power wake-up signal (LP-WUS) monitoring by the LP-WUR according to at least one pre-configured condition in the configuration. The apparatus may receive an LP-WUS from the network node via the LP-WUR in an event that the LP-WUS monitoring is activated.
Elkotby et al. (Pub. No. US 2024/0284456), teaches procedures, methods, architectures, apparatuses, systems, devices, and computer program products related to a Wireless Transmit-Receive Unit (WTRU) operating in a network, for supporting paging using an Ultra-Low Power (ULP) receiver, are disclosed. A WTRU may receive a ULP-specific configuration, and may activate the ULP receiver, and inactivate the Uu receiver, when support of ULP paging operation, by the network, is determined. The ULP receiver may detect a Low-Power Wake-Up Signal (LP-WUS) and may activate the Uu receiver and perform PDCCH monitoring. Under condition that the WTRU detects, in the channel monitoring, its identifier in a paging message received via the Uu receiver, the WTRU initiates a connection establishment or a connection resume procedure.
Jan (Pub. No. US 2025/0344155), teaches a method of low power wake up signal (LP-WUS) procedure includes waking up a main radio of the UE, by a low power wake up receiver (LP-WUR) of a user equipment (UE), using a LP-WUS, wherein a signal design of the LP-WUS comprises a sequence based signal design with a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) and/or a UE specific/UEs group specific based signal design of the LP-WUS.
Li et al. (Pub. No. US 2025/0220582) teaches techniques related to a main receiver of a user equipment (UE) and a wake-up receiver (WUR) of the UE. The WUR receives a low-power wake-up signal (LP-WUS) from a base station. Based on the LP-WUS, the WUR may be configured to wake-up the main receiver of the UE, wherein the UE identifies received configuration information including duty cycle parameters and detects the LP-WUS based on the configuration information, and wherein the UE sets a state of the wake-up receiver based on an RRC state of the main receiver.
Sjoland et al. (Pub. No. US 2022/0030518), teaches a wireless device features a low-power, limited-functionality, narrowband, homodyne wakeup receiver with a free running local oscillator. This enables a very attractive combination of low power consumption and high selectivity. The network supports these receivers by adopting a wakeup message structure that supports oscillator frequency calibration, and that tolerates loss of parts of the signal spectrum. Wakeup signals are transmitted frequently to allow the wakeup receivers (whether targeted by a wakeup signal or not) to calibrate their LO frequencies. The frequencies of the wakeup signals can be constant, or follow a hopping pattern for increased immunity to interference. The wakeup signals can use multiple carriers to increase robustness to loss of parts of the signal spectrum, particularly near the LO frequency in a homodyne receiver. The carriers use amplitude modulation (OOK), with either different or equal sequences. Having equal sequences provides an opportunity for increased sensitivity by mixing all carriers to the same frequency before amplitude detection and correlation.;
Conclusion
/HUY C HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644