Information Disclosure Statement
IDS(es) submitted on 2/6/2024 has/have been considered.
Oath/Declaration
Oath/Declaration filed on 2/6/2024 has been acknowledged.
Drawings
Drawing(s) submitted on 2/6/2024 have been acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tsai et al. (US 2023/0040421; hereinafter Tsai).
Regarding claims 1, 10 and 19, Tsai discloses a method for data transmission ([0214], [0215]; Fig. 6; [0239]: wherein the second transmission is a retransmission of the first transmission), comprising:
determining a target Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) ([0215]: determining the CG and SSB for retransmission); and
retransmitting first data to a network device using a Configured Grant (CG) resource associated with the target SSB ([0224]-[0227]: determining of SSB and corresponding CG for retransmission/second UL transmission).
Regarding claims 2, 11 and 20, Tsai discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
initially transmitting the first data using a first CG resource associated with a first SSB, wherein a Hybrid Automatic Repeat reQuest (HARQ) process corresponding to the first CG resource is a first HARQ process, wherein determining the target SSB comprises:
determining the first SSB as the target SSB ([0145]-[0147]: initiate first UL using determined SSB, CG configuration using first HARQ process).
Regarding claims 3 and 12, Tsai discloses the method of claim 1, wherein determining the target SSB comprises:
when second data is transmitted using a CG resource associated with a second SSB before determining the target SSB, determining the second SSB as the target SSB ([0224]-[0227]: determining of SSB and corresponding CG for retransmission/second UL transmission);
otherwise, determining a first SSB as the target SSB; or
determining whether a third SSB is present that exceeds a pre-configured threshold and is configured with a CG resource;
when the third SSB is present, determining the third SSB as the target SSB; and
when the third SSB is not present, determining a first SSB as the target SSB or initiating a random access procedure.
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Tsai discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising:
starting a first timer for the first HARQ process, wherein retransmitting the first data to the network device using the CG resource associated with the target SSB comprises:
retransmitting, during a running time of the first timer, the first data to the network
device using a second CG resource corresponding to the first HARQ process in CG resources associated with the target SSB ([0215]: Fig. 6 wherein the second transmission/ retransmission of the first transmission is allowed before the receiving a feedback/end of the timer).
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Tsai discloses the method of claim 4, wherein an occasion for starting the first timer comprises at least one of:
an occasion at a starting symbol of the second CG resource;
an occasion at an ending symbol of the second CG resource; or
an occasion at a first Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) for monitoring
after completing uplink data transmission using the second CG resource ([0210]: timer for monitoring PDCCH).
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Tsai discloses the method of claim 4, further comprising:
starting a second timer after completing an initial transmission of the first data using the first CG resource associated with the first SSB, and starting the second timer after completing each data transmission using the second CG resource associated with the target SSB, wherein retransmitting, during the running time of the first timer, the first data to the network device using the second CG resource corresponding to the first HARQ process in the CG resources associated with the target SSB comprises:
when the second timer expires during the running time of the first timer, retransmitting the first data to the network device using the second CG resource associated with the target SSB ([0212]: wherein the length of the timer is longer than the CG retransmission timer, and therefore the CG retransmission timer expires earlier allowing for retransmission before the first timer expires).
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Tsai discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
after a trigger condition for Small Data Transmission (SDT) is satisfied and a
transmission of a first message is completed, transmitting the first data to the network device using a first CG resource associated with a first SSB ([0090]-[0092]: performing SDT based on determined CG and SSB): .
Regarding claims 8, and 17 Tsai discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the first SSB refers to an SSB that exceeds a pre-configured threshold and is configured with a CG resource ([0092]: use of RSRP threshold for an SSB selection and association between the SSB and CG resource; [0259]).
Regarding claim 9, Tsai discloses the method of claim 7, further comprising:
determining that a first timer for a Hybrid Automatic Repeat reQuest (HARQ) process corresponding to the first CG resource associated with the first SSB expires or in a non-running state ([0244]-[0246]: HARQ timers).
Regarding claim 18, Tsai discloses the terminal device of claim 16, wherein the first message is transmitted using a CG resource or a dynamic resource scheduled by a network, and the first message comprises one or more of: a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message ([0231]: RRC), terminal data, or a Medium Access Control Control Element (MAC CE) ([0231]: MAC CE).
Conclusion
/CHUCK HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644