DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 6, 8 – 16 and 17 – 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ahmed et al. (US PGPUB 2016/0367187).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Ahmed discloses a system and a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by a system including one or more sensors (e.g. 602), one or more input devices (e.g. ¶ 214), one or more output devices (e.g. ¶ 214), memory (e.g. 610), and one or more processors (e.g. 608), causes the system to perform a method, the method comprising:
sensing, using the one or more sensors, physiological data of a user of the system (e.g. ¶ 37) and a current location of the system (e.g. ¶ 77 and 226); in accordance with a calculation based on the physiological data and the current location of the system indicating that a likelihood of the user of the system experiencing a health event is above a threshold value (e.g. ¶ 96 – 100);
outputting, using the one or more output devices, a request for user feedback indicating whether or not the health event occurred;
receiving, via the one or more input devices, the user feedback indicating whether or not the health event occurred (e.g. ¶ 149); and
updating the calculation for future use based on the user feedback (e.g. ¶ 149).
Regarding claims 2 and 12¸Ahmend discloses sensing, using one or more second sensors, environmental data of a physical environment of the system, wherein the calculation is further based on the environmental data (e.g. ¶ 62).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Ahmed discloses the calculation is based on an association of the current location of the system with the health event (e.g. ¶ 77 and 226).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Ahmed discloses the calculation is based on an association of the current location of the system and a current time with the health event (e.g. ¶ 62, 77).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Ahmed discloses the calculation is based on health data associated with the user of the system (e.g. ¶ 62).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Ahmed discloses performing the calculation with the system without performing the calculation with another system (e.g. ABSTRACT, Fig. 1; the calculations are done by the processor on board the watch. The sensing is also done by the watch. Therefore, there is not a second system used for performing the calculations).
Regarding claims 8, 9, 18, and 19, Ahmed discloses using at continuous user feedback to update the calculation for future use (e.g. ¶ 149; the user inputs information throughout that is compared to intensity scores).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Ahmed discloses playing a content item using the one or more output devices; in accordance with a determination that an upcoming portion of the content item has a characteristic associated with an increased likelihood of the user of the system experiencing the health event: modifying a characteristic of an environment of the user using the one or more output devices in accordance with the characteristic associated with the increased likelihood of the user of the system experiencing the health event (e.g. ¶ 153).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahmed et al. in view of Reykhert (US PGPUB 2021/0241900).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Ahmed discloses the invention as previously described, but fails to teach in accordance with the calculation based on the physiological data and the current location of the system indicating that the likelihood of the user of the system experiencing the health event is above the threshold value, transmitting a notification to a second system associated with a second user different from the user of the system.
Reykhert teaches it is known to track health data and alert a second user at a remote location (e.g. ¶ 67 – 68). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention as taught by Ahmed with alerting a second user as taught by Reykhert, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of quickly alerting a second user in case the wearer is not able to respond because of the health event.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH M DIETRICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796