DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant's communication filed 06 February 2024. In view of this communication, claims 1-14 are now pending in the application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) or (f), 365(a) or (b), or 386(a), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) submitted on 06 February 2024 was/were filed before mailing of the first action on the merits. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Disclosure
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-10, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Suzuki et al. (US 2004/0021393 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Suzuki”.
Regarding claim 1, Suzuki discloses an electric tool comprising:
a motor [1] (fig. 1-3; ¶ 0025) including:
a stator core [4] (fig. 1-3; ¶ 0025-0026); and
a rotor [15] having an output shaft and configured to rotate with respect to the stator core [4] (fig. 1; ¶ 0001, 0025; the disclosure of an “inner rotor type brushless motor” implies the presence of a shaft, not shown, to transmit torque from the rotor),
the stator core [4] including:
an inner cylindrical portion [12b] which has a circular cylindrical shape and in which the rotor [15] is arranged (fig. 1-2; ¶ 0026-0027); and
a plurality of teeth [12a] (fig. 2-3; ¶ 0027), each of the plurality of teeth [12a] including:
a body portion [12a] protruding outward from the inner cylindrical portion [12b] along a radius of the inner cylindrical portion [12b] and having a tip part [12e] located outward from the inner cylindrical portion [12b] (fig. 2-3; ¶ 0027); and
a tip piece [12f] extending, from the tip part [12e] of the body portion [12a], in a direction intersecting with a direction in which the body portion [12a] protrudes (¶ 0033),
an outer cylindrical portion [11] having a circular cylindrical shape and mounted on the plurality of teeth [12a] to surround the plurality of teeth [12a] (fig. 2-3; ¶ 0026-0027).
the outer cylindrical portion [11] including a plurality of fitting portions [11b] that correspond one to one to the plurality of teeth [12a] (fig. 2-3; ¶ 0027-0028), and
each of the plurality of fitting portions [11b] and one tooth [12a], corresponding to the fitting portion [11b], out of the plurality of teeth [12a] are fitted into each other when at least one of the fitting portion [11b] or the tooth [12a] is caused to move along the radius (fig. 2-3; ¶ 0027-0028; note that the limitation of being “caused to move along the radius” is a statement of the intended use of the components of the stator core, which does not imply any additional structure).
Regarding claim 2, Suzuki discloses the electric tool of claim 1, as stated above, further comprising a coil bobbin [5] having electrical insulation properties and at least partially covering at least one of the plurality of teeth [12a] (fig. 3, 5; ¶ 0036).
Regarding claim 3, Suzuki discloses the electric tool of claim 2, as stated above, wherein the coil bobbin [5] includes two members [5a] arranged along an axis of the inner cylindrical portion [12b], and the two members [5a] are formed separately from each other (fig. 3, 5; ¶ 0036; the bobbin includes “two parts, which are formed by resin molding and are attached to the inner core 12 from both axial ends”).
Regarding claim 5, Suzuki discloses the electric tool of claim 1, as stated above, wherein the tip piece [12f] of each of the plurality of teeth [12a] includes two tip pieces [12f] (fig. 3; ¶ 0033), and
the two tip pieces [12f] are provided, in the tip part [12e] of the body portion [12a], on both sides along a circumference of the inner cylindrical portion [12b] (fig. 3; ¶ 0033).
Regarding claim 6, Suzuki discloses the electric tool of claim 1, as stated above, wherein a surface, located at an outer end along the radius, of the tip piece [12f] includes a curvilinear surface (fig. 3; the outer radial surface of the tip pieces are curved to reverse direction before aligning with the radially aligned side surfaces of the teeth).
Regarding claim 7, Suzuki discloses the electric tool of claim 1, as stated above, wherein the tip piece [12f] includes, in its part connected to the body portion [12a], a curved portion (fig. 3; the outer radial surface of the tip pieces are curved to reverse direction before aligning with the radially aligned side surfaces of the teeth),
the curved portion being curved such that as a distance to an outer edge of the tip piece [12f] decreases along the radius, a distance from the body portion [12a] increases along a circumference of the inner cylindrical portion [12b] (fig. 3).
Regarding claim 8, Suzuki discloses the electric tool of claim 1, wherein the inner cylindrical portion [12b] including a high magnetic resistance portion [12d] (fig. 3; ¶ 0027),
the high magnetic resistance portion [12d] having higher magnetic resistance than parts, surrounding the high magnetic resistance portion [12d], of the inner cylindrical portion [12b] (¶ 0027; each “portion 12d increases the magnetic resistance to reduce leakage flux between the adjacent teeth 12a”),
Regarding claim 9, Suzuki discloses the electric tool of claim 8, as stated above, wherein the inner cylindrical portion [12b] is continuous along a circumference thereof (fig. 2-3).
Regarding claim 10, Suzuki discloses the electric tool of claim 8, as stated above, wherein the high magnetic resistance portion [12d] includes a thinned portion [12d] (fig. 2; ¶ 0027), and the thinned portion [12d] has a shorter dimension as measured along an axis of the inner cylindrical portion [12b] than parts, surrounding the thinned portion [12d], of the inner cylindrical portion [12b] (fig. 2; ¶ 0027; the thinned portions have a smaller axial dimension than the surrounding parts of the laminations).
Regarding claim 12, Suzuki discloses a motor [1] (fig. 1-3; ¶ 0025) comprising:
a stator core [4] (fig. 1-3; ¶ 0025-0026); and
a rotor [15] having an output shaft and configured to rotate with respect to the stator core [4] (fig. 1; ¶ 0001, 0025; the disclosure of an “inner rotor type brushless motor” implies the presence of a shaft, not shown, to transmit torque from the rotor),
the stator core [4] including:
an inner cylindrical portion [12b] which has a circular cylindrical shape and in which the rotor [15] is arranged (fig. 1-2; ¶ 0026-0027); and
a plurality of teeth [12a] (fig. 2-3; ¶ 0027), each of the plurality of teeth [12a] including:
a body portion [12a] protruding outward from the inner cylindrical portion [12b] along a radius of the inner cylindrical portion [12b] and having a tip part [12e] located outward from the inner cylindrical portion [12b] (fig. 2-3; ¶ 0027); and
a tip piece [12f] extending, from the tip part [12e] of the body portion [12a], in a direction intersecting with a direction in which the body portion [12a] protrudes (¶ 0033),
an outer cylindrical portion [11] having a circular cylindrical shape and mounted on the plurality of teeth [12a] to surround the plurality of teeth [12a] (fig. 2-3; ¶ 0026-0027).
the outer cylindrical portion [11] including a plurality of fitting portions [11b] that correspond one to one to the plurality of teeth [12a] (fig. 2-3; ¶ 0027-0028), and
each of the plurality of fitting portions [11b] and one tooth [12a], corresponding to the fitting portion [11b], out of the plurality of teeth [12a] are fitted into each other when at least one of the fitting portion [11b] or the tooth [12a] is caused to move along the radius (fig. 2-3; ¶ 0027-0028; note that the limitation of being “caused to move along the radius” is a statement of the intended use of the components of the stator core, which does not imply any additional structure).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki in view of Tsuiki (US 2012/0286619 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Tsuiki”.
Regarding claim 4, Suzuki discloses the electric tool of claim 3, as stated above.
Suzuki does not explicitly disclose that the two members [5a] are out of contact with each other along the axis.
Tsuiki discloses a stator comprising a coil bobbin [20] including two members, wherein the two members are out of contact with each other along the axis (fig. 3, 5; ¶ 0031-0035 and 0036-0038).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the two members of Suzuki separately and out of contact from one another in the axial direction as taught by Tsuiki, in order to reduce the size of the coil bobbins thereby reducing their overall costs.
Further, it has been held that making a component separable, in this case for the purpose of reducing costs, instead of the integral structure disclosed in the prior art would have been a matter of obvious engineering choice. In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki in view of Chen (CN 103051079 A), hereinafter referred to as “Chen”.
Regarding claim 11, Suzuki discloses the electric tool of claim 8, as stated above, wherein the stator core [4] is formed by stacking a plurality of steel plates [10] one on top of another in a thickness direction (fig. 2; ¶ 0026), and
the high magnetic resistance portion [12d] being provided for each of two or more steel plates [10] selected from the plurality of steel plates [10] (fig. 2; ¶ 0027; every lamination has thin portions between the teeth).
Suzuki does not disclose that the two or more steel plates [10] are stacked one on top of another such that the respective high magnetic resistance portions [12d] of mutually adjacent steel plates [10] do not overlap with each other in the thickness direction.
Chen discloses a stator [100] formed of steel plates [10]and comprising an inner cylindrical portion [11] including a high magnetic resistance portion [30] (fig. 1-5; ¶ 0016-0018),
wherein the two or more steel plates [10] are stacked one on top of another such that the respective high magnetic resistance portions [30] of mutually adjacent steel plates [10] do not overlap with each other in the thickness direction (fig. 2; ¶ 0018-0020).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the high magnetic resistance portions of Suzuki so that respective high magnetic resistance portions of adjacent steel plates do not overlap one another in the axial direction as taught by Chen, in order to increase torque and reduce pulsation of the motor thereby improving working performance of the whole motor (¶ 0021 of Chen).
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki in view of Yamagishi et al. (US 2014/0077655 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Yamagishi”.
Regarding claim 13, Suzuki discloses a method for manufacturing an electric tool, comprising:
a motor [1] (fig. 1-3; ¶ 0025) including:
a stator core [4] (fig. 1-3; ¶ 0025-0026); and
a rotor [15] having an output shaft and configured to rotate with respect to the stator core [4] (fig. 1; ¶ 0001, 0025; the disclosure of an “inner rotor type brushless motor” implies the presence of a shaft, not shown, to transmit torque from the rotor),
the stator core [4] including:
an inner cylindrical portion [12b] which has a circular cylindrical shape and in which the rotor [15] is arranged (fig. 1-2; ¶ 0026-0027); and
a plurality of teeth [12a] (fig. 2-3; ¶ 0027), each of the plurality of teeth [12a] including:
a body portion [12a] protruding outward from the inner cylindrical portion [12b] along a radius of the inner cylindrical portion [12b] and having a tip part [12e] located outward from the inner cylindrical portion [12b] (fig. 2-3; ¶ 0027); and
a tip piece [12f] extending, from the tip part [12e] of the body portion [12a], in a direction intersecting with a direction in which the body portion [12a] protrudes (¶ 0033),
an outer cylindrical portion [11] having a circular cylindrical shape and mounted on the plurality of teeth [12a] to surround the plurality of teeth [12a] (fig. 2-3; ¶ 0026-0027).
the outer cylindrical portion [11] including a plurality of fitting portions [11b] that correspond one to one to the plurality of teeth [12a] (fig. 2-3; ¶ 0027-0028), and
the method comprising fitting each of the plurality of fitting portions [11b] and one tooth [12a], corresponding to the fitting portion [11b], out of the plurality of teeth [12a] are fitted into each other (fig. 2-3; ¶ 0027-0028).
Suzuki does not disclose the method including at least one of the fitting portion [11b] or the tooth [12a] being caused to move along the radius (i.e. a method of heating/cooling one component thereby expanding/contracting it to create a clearance, then returning the component to its original temperature to create a tight fit, also known as “shrink-fitting”).
Yamagishi discloses a motor comprising a stator core [4] including an inner cylindrical portion [8] having a cylindrical shape and a plurality of teeth [10], and an outer cylindrical portion [7] with fitting portions [7b] surrounding the plurality of teeth [10] (fig. 1-3; ¶ 0018-0024);
wherein the method of manufacturing the motor includes the step of fitting each of the plurality of fitting portions [7b] and one tooth [10], corresponding to the fitting portion [7b], out of the plurality of teeth [10] into each other by causing at least one of the fitting portion [7b] or the tooth [10] to move along the radius (fig. 3-4; ¶ 0022-0025; “shrink-fitting” is used to create a radial gap between the outer ends of the teeth and the inner surface of the fitting portions, then the components are assembled and the gap is closed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to manufacture the stator of Suzuki using the method of shrink-fitting as taught by Yamagishi, in order to prevent interference between the outer cylindrical portion and the coil bobbin (¶ 0023-0024 of Yamagishi) thereby preventing damage to the bobbin and coil that might occur during assembly.
Regarding claim 14, Suzuki discloses a method for manufacturing a motor [1] (fig. 1-3; ¶ 0025), comprising:
a stator core [4] (fig. 1-3; ¶ 0025-0026); and
a rotor [15] having an output shaft and configured to rotate with respect to the stator core [4] (fig. 1; ¶ 0001, 0025; the disclosure of an “inner rotor type brushless motor” implies the presence of a shaft, not shown, to transmit torque from the rotor),
the stator core [4] including:
an inner cylindrical portion [12b] which has a circular cylindrical shape and in which the rotor [15] is arranged (fig. 1-2; ¶ 0026-0027); and
a plurality of teeth [12a] (fig. 2-3; ¶ 0027), each of the plurality of teeth [12a] including:
a body portion [12a] protruding outward from the inner cylindrical portion [12b] along a radius of the inner cylindrical portion [12b] and having a tip part [12e] located outward from the inner cylindrical portion [12b] (fig. 2-3; ¶ 0027); and
a tip piece [12f] extending, from the tip part [12e] of the body portion [12a], in a direction intersecting with a direction in which the body portion [12a] protrudes (¶ 0033),
an outer cylindrical portion [11] having a circular cylindrical shape and mounted on the plurality of teeth [12a] to surround the plurality of teeth [12a] (fig. 2-3; ¶ 0026-0027).
the outer cylindrical portion [11] including a plurality of fitting portions [11b] that correspond one to one to the plurality of teeth [12a] (fig. 2-3; ¶ 0027-0028), and
the method comprising fitting each of the plurality of fitting portions [11b] and one tooth [12a], corresponding to the fitting portion [11b], out of the plurality of teeth [12a] are fitted into each other (fig. 2-3; ¶ 0027-0028).
Suzuki does not disclose the method including at least one of the fitting portion [11b] or the tooth [12a] being caused to move along the radius (i.e. a method of heating/cooling one component thereby expanding/contracting it to create a clearance, then returning the component to its original temperature to create a tight fit, also known as “shrink-fitting”).
Yamagishi discloses a motor comprising a stator core [4] including an inner cylindrical portion [8] having a cylindrical shape and a plurality of teeth [10], and an outer cylindrical portion [7] with fitting portions [7b] surrounding the plurality of teeth [10] (fig. 1-3; ¶ 0018-0024);
wherein the method of manufacturing the motor includes the step of fitting each of the plurality of fitting portions [7b] and one tooth [10], corresponding to the fitting portion [7b], out of the plurality of teeth [10] into each other by causing at least one of the fitting portion [7b] or the tooth [10] to move along the radius (fig. 3-4; ¶ 0022-0025; “shrink-fitting” is used to create a radial gap between the outer ends of the teeth and the inner surface of the fitting portions, then the components are assembled and the gap is closed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to manufacture the stator of Suzuki using the method of shrink-fitting as taught by Yamagishi, in order to prevent interference between the outer cylindrical portion and the coil bobbin (¶ 0023-0024 of Yamagishi) thereby preventing damage to the bobbin and coil that might occur during assembly.
Citation of Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Prior art:
Brohm et al. (US 2017/0324285 A1) discloses a motor comprising a stator with an inner cylindrical portion having radially extending teeth and an outer cylindrical portion with fitting portions; wherein the inner and outer portions of the stator are assembled by means of pressing or shrink-fitting.
Conclusion
/Michael Andrews/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834