DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species III (Claims 53-75) in the reply filed on 9/15/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that:
New independent claim 76 links the groups/species by reciting broader ranges that encompass the narrower ranges of Species II and Species III (e.g., average deformation pressure of 1 MPa to 30 MPa and active material mass ratio of 7:93 to 98:2). Thus, Species II should be merged with Species III for examination on the merits; and
Examining Species II and Species III alongside generic claim 76 does not place a serious burden on the Office under MPEP 803.
This is not found persuasive because:
First, Species II and Species III are patentably distinct, mutually exclusive species. As claimed:
Species II (claims 28–52) requires a silicon-dominant active material blend where the Si-comprising active material to graphite active material mass ratio is about 60:40 to about 98:2, and an average deformation pressure of about 1 MPa to about 18 MPa.
Species III (claims 53–75) requires a graphite-dominant active material blend where the Si-comprising active material to graphite active material mass ratio is about 7:93 to about 40:60, and an average deformation pressure of about 20 MPa to about 30 MPa.
These two species represent distinct physical and chemical compositions requiring separate searches in different subclasses and art fields (e.g., highly compliant graphite in high-silicon anode blends versus rigid, compression-resistant graphite in graphite-dominant anode blends). That independent claim 76 broadly covers both embodiments does not negate the mutually exclusive nature of the individual species under MPEP 806.04(f).
Second, under MPEP 809.02(a), the presence of a generic or linking claim does not compel withdrawal of an otherwise proper restriction requirement between distinct species. Rather, the examiner is only required to examine the generic claim alongside the elected species. If the generic claim is not allowable, the restriction requirement between the species is sustained and maintained.
Generic claim 76 has been examined on the merits alongside elected Species III (claims 53–75) and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 (see below). Because generic claim 76 is not allowable, the restriction between Species I, Species II, and Species III is sustained under MPEP 809.02(a).
Applicant's remarks regarding rejoinder under MPEP 821.04 are noted; however, rejoinder is contingent upon the allowance of a linking claim. Because generic claim 76 is unpatentable over the prior art, claims directed to non-elected species are not eligible for rejoinder at this time.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/24/25 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 2/6/24. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 53-56, 67-68, and 75-76 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0013496 A1 (US'496) in view of Tselios et al., "Extracellular electron uptake from carbon-based ϖ electron surface-donors: oxidation of graphite sheets by Sulfobacillus thermosulfidooxidans probed by Raman and FTIR spectroscopies", (hereinafter Tselios) and US 2022/0102700 A1 (US'700).
As to Claim 76:
US'496 discloses a battery anode (US'496, Abstract; [0005], [0021]–[0022], Claim 1), comprising: a binder (US'496, [0022], [0044]–[0045]; Example 1, [0052], [0054]); an active material blend comprising silicon (Si)-comprising active material particles and graphite active material particles (US'496, Abstract; [0005], [0023]; Example 1, [0052], Claim 1), wherein: a mass fraction of the Si in the Si-comprising active material particles is in a range of about 20 wt. % to about 80 wt. % (US'496 discloses that the silicon-based active material is
SiO
x
(
0.5
≤
x
≤
1.6
), wherein Si fine particles are dispersed in an amorphous
SiO
2
matrix ([0027]), and Example 1 explicitly utilizes
SiO
0.94
([0052]), which corresponds to an elemental silicon mass fraction of ~65.1 wt. % within the silicon-based active particles, falling within the range of about 20 wt. % to about 80 wt. %); a mass ratio of the Si-comprising active material particles to the graphite active material particles is in a range of about 7:93 to about 98:2 (US'496 discloses mixing graphite (carbon-based active material A) and
SiO
x
at a mass ratio of 88:9, establishing a Si-active material to graphite mass ratio of 9:88 (~9.3:90.7) (Example 1, [0052]), and discloses that the silicon-based active material content may range from 4% to 20% by mass with carbon-to-silicon mixing ratios from 1:99 to 20:80 ([0029]), both falling within the range of about 7:93 to about 98:2); at least a subset of the graphite active material particles is characterized by a Raman spectrum in which a D/G peak intensity ratio, defined as an intensity of a D peak divided by an intensity of a G peak, is in a range from about 0.02 to about 1.12 (US'496 evaluates the Raman spectrum of the graphite active particles and discloses a D-band to G-band peak intensity ratio (
R
-value,
I
D
/
I
G
) of 0.05 to 0.2 for graphite A and 0.1 to 2.0 for graphite B ([0035]–[0036]), and reports measured
R
-values of 0.092, 0.120, 0.386, 0.473, and 0.532 in Table 1, falling within the range of about 0.02 to about 1.12); and an average pressure (Cx) required to deform the at least the subset of the graphite active material particles by 10% during a micro-compression hardness test ranges from about 1 MPa to about 30 MPa (US'496 discloses measuring the 10% compressive strength, which is the pressure when a particle close to
D
50
is compressed by 10% on a volume basis, using a Shimadzu MCT-211 micro compression tester ([0031]–[0032], [0062]–[0063]), and reports measured 10% compressive strengths of 2.1 MPa for graphite A, and 5.7 MPa, 6.6 MPa, and 27 MPa for graphite B in Table 1, each falling within the range of about 1 MPa to about 30 MPa).
However, US'496 does not explicitly disclose adding an independent conductive additive to the negative electrode mixture layer (US'496 only teaches adding acetylene black to the positive electrode ([0019]) and fixing a conductive filler like carbon black to the surface of the silicon-based particles ([0028]), while Example 1 forms the negative electrode slurry using only the active materials, CMC, and SBR ([0052], [0054])), nor does US'496 explicitly disclose that the Raman spectrum of the graphite active material particles has a full-width half-maximum (FWHM) of a D band in a range of about 30 cm-1 to about 90 cm-1, a FWHM of a G band in a range from about 5 cm-1 to about 105 cm-1, and a FWHM of a 2D1 band in a range from about 30 cm-1 to about 110 cm-1.
US'700 discloses that a negative electrode film of a secondary battery comprises a conductive agent (conductive additive) mixed into the negative slurry with the negative active material, binder, and thickener (US'700, [0095], [0226]), wherein the conductive agent is selected from Super P, carbon black, acetylene black, Ketjen black, carbon dots, carbon nanotubes, graphene, and carbon nanofibers (US'700, [0095]). Furthermore, Tselios discloses Raman spectroscopic deconvolution of crystalline graphite sheets (Tselios, Pgs. 19122–19123, Table 1), wherein the Raman spectrum of the graphite active material particles is characterized by: a full-width half-maximum (FWHM) of a D band of 35 cm⁻¹ (pristine graphite) and 36 cm⁻¹ (treated graphite MG C) (Tselios, Pg. 19123, Table 1), which falls within the range of about 30 cm-1 to about 90 cm-1; a FWHM of a G band ranging from 19 cm⁻¹ to 36 cm⁻¹ (Tselios, Pg. 19123, Table 1), which falls within the range of about 5 cm-1 to about 105 cm-1; a FWHM of a 2D1 band ranging from 30 cm⁻¹ to 33 cm⁻¹ (Tselios, Pg. 19123, Table 1), which falls within the range of about 30 cm-1 to about 110 cm-1; and a D/G peak intensity ratio (
I
D
/
I
G
) ranging from 0.07 to 0.30 (Tselios, Pg. 19123, Table 1), which falls within the range of about 0.02 to about 1.12.
US'496, US'700, and Tselios are analogous arts because each reference is from the same field of endeavor of energy storage devices, battery electrodes, and carbon/graphite materials, and each is reasonably pertinent to the problem of optimizing conductive networks, mechanical integrity, and crystallographic defect properties of graphite active materials used in battery electrodes.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the conductive agent (conductive additive) taught by US'700 ([0095], [0226]) directly into the negative electrode mixture slurry of US'496 ([0052]), in order to enhance active ion and electron transportation performance across the active material blend and prevent electrical conduction path cut-off during silicon active material volume changes as taught by US'496 ([0004], [0009]) and US'700 ([0025], [0051]), and to analyze and select crystalline graphite particles exhibiting the inherent Raman vibrational band widths (FWHM of the D, G, and 2D₁ bands) taught by Tselios (Pgs. 19122–19123, Table 1) when performing the Raman structural evaluation of graphite directed by US'496 ([0035]–[0036]) to verify carbon lattice ordering and defect content.
As to Claim 53:
See the rejection of claim 76 regarding the battery anode comprising a binder, a conductive additive, and an active material blend comprising silicon (Si)-comprising active material particles and graphite active material particles, wherein a mass fraction of the Si in the Si-comprising active material particles is in a range of about 20 wt. % to about 80 wt. %, a mass ratio of the Si-comprising active material particles to the graphite active material particles is in a range of about 7:93 to about 98:2, the Raman spectrum parameters of the graphite active material particles, and an average pressure (Cx) required to deform the graphite active material particles by 10% during a micro-compression hardness test ranging from about 1 MPa to about 30 MPa; US'496 discloses the mass ratio of the Si-comprising active material particles to the graphite active material particles is in a range of about 7:93 to about 40:60 (US'496 discloses mixing graphite (carbon-based active material A) and SiOx at a mass ratio of 88:9, providing a Si-active material to graphite mass ratio of 9:88 (~9.3:90.7) (US'496, [0052]), and discloses that the content of the silicon-based active material in the mix layer ranges from 4% to 20% by mass with carbon-to-silicon mixing ratios from 1:99 to 20:80 (US'496, [0029]), each falling within the range of about 7:93 to about 40:60); and the average pressure ranges from about 20 MPa to about 30 MPa (US'496 discloses that graphite active material B has a 10% compressive deformation strength of 27 MPa measured using a Shimadzu MCT-211 micro compression tester (US'496, [0076], Table 1), which falls squarely within the range of about 20 MPa to about 30 MPa).
As to Claim 54:
See the rejection of claim 53 regarding the battery anode of claim 76 wherein the mass ratio of the Si-comprising active material particles to the graphite active material particles is in a range of about 7:93 to about 40:60 and the average pressure ranges from about 20 MPa to about 30 MPa (US'496, Abstract; [0005], [0021]–[0023], [0027], [0029], [0031]–[0032], [0044]–[0045], [0052], [0062]–[0063], [0076], Table 1, Claim 1); US'496 discloses that the mass ratio of the Si-comprising active material particles to the graphite active material particles is in a range of about 10:90 to about 30:70 (US'496 discloses mixing graphite (carbon-based active material A) and SiOx at a mass ratio of 88:9, providing a Si-active material to graphite mass ratio of 9:88 (~9.3:90.7) (US'496, [0052]), and discloses that the content of the silicon-based active material in the mix layer ranges from 4% to 20% by mass, with carbon-to-silicon mixing ratios from 1:99 to 20:80 (US'496, [0029]), wherein a 20:80 mixing ratio represents a 20:80 mass ratio of silicon active material to graphite active material).
As to Claim 55:
US'496 discloses the battery anode of claim 53 (see the rejection of claim 53 regarding the battery anode of claim 76 wherein the mass ratio of the Si-comprising active material particles to the graphite active material particles is in a range of about 7:93 to about 40:60 and the average pressure ranges from about 20 MPa to about 30 MPa (US'496, Abstract; [0005], [0021]–[0023], [0027], [0029], [0031]–[0032], [0044]–[0045], [0052], [0062]–[0063], [0076], Table 1, Claim 1)); and the average pressure ranges from about 24 MPa to about 30 MPa (US'496 discloses that graphite active material B has a 10% compressive deformation strength of 27 MPa as measured using a Shimadzu MCT-211 micro compression tester (US'496, [0076], Table 1), which falls squarely within the claimed range of about 24 MPa to about 30 MPa).
As to Claim 56:
US'496 discloses the battery anode of claim 53 (see the rejection of claim 53 regarding the battery anode of claim 76 wherein the mass ratio of the Si-comprising active material particles to the graphite active material particles is in a range of about 7:93 to about 40:60 and the average pressure ranges from about 20 MPa to about 30 MPa (US'496, Abstract; [0005], [0021]–[0023], [0027], [0029], [0031]–[0032], [0044]–[0045], [0052], [0062]–[0063], [0076], Table 1, Claim 1)); and wherein the D/G peak intensity ratio is in a range from about 0.08 to about 0.30 (US'496 evaluates the Raman spectrum of the graphite active material particles and discloses that the peak intensity ratio of the D-band (~1350 cm⁻¹) to the G-band (~1590 cm⁻¹) (
R
-value,
I
D
/
I
G
) of carbon-based active material A is preferably 0.05 to 0.2 (US'496, [0035]–[0036]), and reports measured
R
-values of 0.092 for carbon-based active material A and 0.120 for Comparative Example 4 graphite active material B in Table 1 (US'496, Table 1), each of which falls squarely within the claimed range of about 0.08 to about 0.30).
As to Claim 67:
US'496 discloses the battery anode of claim 53 (see the rejection of claim 53 regarding the battery anode of claim 76 wherein the mass ratio of the Si-comprising active material particles to the graphite active material particles is in a range of about 7:93 to about 40:60 and the average pressure ranges from about 20 MPa to about 30 MPa (US'496, Abstract; [0005], [0021]–[0023], [0027], [0029], [0031]–[0032], [0044]–[0045], [0052], [0062]–[0063], [0076], Table 1, Claim 1)); and a Brunauer-Emmett-Teller (BET) specific surface area (SSA) of the at least the subset of the graphite active material particles ranges from about 0.450 m2/g to about 450 m2/g (US'496 explicitly measures the BET specific surface area of the graphite active material particles using a Tristar instrument produced by Micromeritics (US'496, [0068]–[0069]), and reports measured BET specific surface areas of 4.0 m²/g for graphite active material A, 4.4 m²/g for graphite active material B of Example 1 and Example 2, 3.0 m²/g for graphite active material B of Example 3, and 0.9 m²/g for graphite active material B of Comparative Example 4 in Table 1 (US'496, [0075]–[0076], Table 1), each of which falls squarely within the claimed range of about 0.450 m²/g to about 450 m²/g).
As to Claim 68:
US'496 discloses the battery anode of claim 67 (see the rejection of claim 67 regarding the battery anode of claim 53 wherein the BET specific surface area of the at least the subset of the graphite active material particles ranges from about 0.450 m2/g to about 450 m2/g (US'496, Abstract; [0005], [0021]–[0023], [0027], [0029], [0031]–[0032], [0044]–[0045], [0052], [0062]–[0063], [0068]–[0069], [0075]–[0076], Table 1, Claim 1)); and wherein the BET-SSA ranges from about 1 m2/g to about 5 m2/g (US'496 explicitly measures the BET specific surface area of the graphite active material particles using a Tristar instrument produced by Micromeritics (US'496, [0068]–[0069]), and in Table 1 explicitly reports measured BET specific surface areas of 4.0 m²/g for graphite active material A, 4.4 m²/g for graphite active material B of Example 1 and Example 2, and 3.0 m²/g for graphite active material B of Example 3 (US'496, [0075]–[0076], Table 1), each of which falls squarely within the claimed range of about 1 m²/g to about 5 m²/g).
As to Claim 75:
US'496 discloses a lithium-ion battery comprising the battery anode of claim 53 (see the rejection of claim 53 regarding the battery anode of claim 76 wherein the mass ratio of the Si-comprising active material particles to the graphite active material particles is in a range of about 7:93 to about 40:60 and the average pressure ranges from about 20 MPa to about 30 MPa (US'496, Abstract; [0005], [0021]–[0023], [0027], [0029], [0031]–[0032], [0044]–[0045], [0052], [0062]–[0063], [0076], Table 1, Claim 1)); a cathode (US'496 discloses positive electrode 11 comprising a positive electrode current collector and a positive electrode mix layer formed on the current collector, comprising a lithium transition metal oxide active material, conductive agent, and binder (US'496, Abstract; [0005], [0016]–[0019], [0046]–[0049], [0056])); a separator (US'496 discloses separator 13 interposed between positive electrode 11 and negative electrode 12, comprising a porous sheet of polyolefin such as polyethylene or polypropylene (US'496, Abstract; [0016], [0017], [0050], [0056])); and an electrolyte (US'496 discloses a non-aqueous electrolyte comprising a non-aqueous solvent such as cyclic and chain carbonates and an electrolyte salt such as
LiPF
6
(US'496, Abstract; [0005], [0016], [0017], [0051], [0056])).
Claim 57-64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0013496 A1 (US'496) in view of Tselios et al., "Extracellular electron uptake from carbon-based ϖ electron surface-donors: oxidation of graphite sheets by Sulfobacillus thermosulfidooxidans probed by Raman and FTIR spectroscopies", (hereinafter Tselios) and US 2022/0102700 A1 (US'700), as applied to Claim 53 above, and further in view of US 2021/0057730 A1 (US’730).
As to Claim 57:
US'496 discloses the battery anode of claim 53 (see the rejection of claim 53 regarding the battery anode of claim 76 wherein the mass ratio of the Si-comprising active material particles to the graphite active material particles is in a range of about 7:93 to about 40:60 and the average pressure ranges from about 20 MPa to about 30 MPa (US'496, Abstract; [0005], [0021]–[0023], [0027], [0029], [0031]–[0032], [0044]–[0045], [0052], [0062]–[0063], [0076], Table 1, Claim 1)).
However, US'496 does not explicitly disclose that a tap density of the at least the subset of the graphite active material particles ranges from about 0.10 g/cc to about 1.25 g/cc.
US'730 discloses that a negative electrode material comprises carbonaceous particles (graphite active material particles) and silicon oxide particles (US'730, [0018], [0023], [0032]), wherein a tap density of the carbonaceous particles (graphite active material particles) ranges from about 0.10 g/cc to about 1.25 g/cc (US'730 discloses that the tap density of the carbonaceous particles (A) is commonly 0.7 g/cm³ or more, preferably 0.75 g/cm³ or more, more preferably 0.8 g/cm³ or more, up to 1.3 g/cm³ or less, more preferably 1.2 g/cm³ or less, and further preferably 1.1 g/cm³ or less (US'730, [0066]), and in Table 1 explicitly reports measured tap densities of 0.88 g/cm³ for spherical graphite A2, 0.95 g/cm³ for granular artificial graphite A3, 0.99 g/cm³ for spherical natural graphite A1, and 1.14 g/cm³ for multilayer carbon a1 (US'730, Table 1), each of which falls within the claimed range of about 0.10 g/cc to about 1.25 g/cc (US'730, [0022], [0098], [0157]–[0159])).
US'496, US'700, Tselios, and US'730 are analogous arts because each reference is from the same field of endeavor of energy storage devices, secondary battery negative electrodes, and carbon/graphite active materials, and each is reasonably pertinent to the problem of optimizing active material blend compositions, tap density and packing properties, conductive networks, mechanical compression deformation, and structural lattice characterization in negative electrodes.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to select graphite active material particles having the tap density ranging from about 0.10 g/cc to about 1.25 g/cc (such as 0.75 to 1.2 g/cm³, 0.88, 0.95, 0.99, or 1.14 g/cm³) as taught by US'730 ([0066], Table 1) for the negative electrode blend of US'496 in order to enhance slurry coating productivity, eliminate coating streaks, improve calendering rollability to form high-density negative electrode sheets.
As to Claim 58:
US'496 discloses the battery anode of claim 53 (see the rejection of claim 53 regarding the battery anode of claim 76 wherein the mass ratio of the Si-comprising active material particles to the graphite active material particles is in a range of about 7:93 to about 40:60 and the average pressure ranges from about 20 MPa to about 30 MPa (US'496, Abstract; [0005], [0021]–[0023], [0027], [0029], [0031]–[0032], [0044]–[0045], [0052], [0062]–[0063], [0076], Table 1, Claim 1)).
However, US'496 does not explicitly disclose that the tap density of the at least the subset of the graphite active material particles ranges from about 0.90 g/cc to about 1.20 g/cc.
US'730 discloses that a negative electrode material comprises carbonaceous particles (graphite active material particles) and silicon oxide particles (US'730, [0018], [0023], [0032]), wherein the tap density of the graphite active material particles ranges from about 0.90 g/cc to about 1.20 g/cc (US'730 explicitly recites that the tap density of the carbonaceous particles is "further particularly preferably 0.9 g/cm.sup.3 or more" and "more preferably 1.2 g/cm.sup.3 or less" (US'730, [0066]), and in Table 1 explicitly reports measured tap densities of 0.95 g/cm³ for granular artificial graphite A3, 0.99 g/cm³ for spherical natural graphite A1, and 1.14 g/cm³ for multilayer carbon a1 (US'730, Table 1), each of which falls squarely within the claimed range of about 0.90 g/cc to about 1.20 g/cc; US'730 also discloses mixing 10 parts by weight silicon oxide particles with 90 parts by weight graphite particles to provide a mass ratio of 10:90, falling within about 7:93 to about 40:60 (US'730, [0022], [0098], [0157]–[0159])).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to select graphite active material particles having the tap density ranging from about 0.90 g/cc to about 1.20 g/cc (such as the 0.90 to 1.20 g/cm³ range and measured values of 0.95, 0.99, or 1.14 g/cm³) as taught by US'730 ([0066], Table 1) and US'700 ([0018], [0078], [0079]) for the negative electrode blend of US'496 in order to improve slurry coating productivity, eliminate coating streaks, enhance calendering rollability to form high-density negative electrode sheets without excessive intra-particle densification, and improve quick charge-discharge characteristics as taught by US'730 ([0067]) and US'700 ([0017], [0023]).
As to Claim 59:
US'496 discloses the battery anode of claim 53 (see the rejection of claim 53 regarding the battery anode of claim 76 wherein the mass ratio of the Si-comprising active material particles to the graphite active material particles is in a range of about 7:93 to about 40:60 and the average pressure ranges from about 20 MPa to about 30 MPa (US'496, Abstract; [0005], [0021]–[0023], [0027], [0029], [0031]–[0032], [0044]–[0045], [0052], [0062]–[0063], [0076], Table 1, Claim 1)).
However, US'496 does not explicitly disclose that a tap density of the at least the subset of the graphite active material particles ranges from about 0.90 g/cc to about 1.10 g/cc.
US'730 discloses that a negative electrode material comprises carbonaceous particles (graphite active material particles) and silicon oxide particles (US'730, [0018], [0023], [0032]), wherein the tap density of the graphite active material particles ranges from about 0.90 g/cc to about 1.10 g/cc (US'730 explicitly recites that the tap density of the carbonaceous particles is "further particularly preferably 0.9 g/cm.sup.3 or more" and "further preferably 1.1 g/cm.sup.3 or less" (US'730, [0066]), and in Table 1 explicitly reports measured tap densities of 0.95 g/cm³ for granular artificial graphite A3 and 0.99 g/cm³ for spherical natural graphite A1 (US'730, Table 1), each of which falls squarely within the claimed range of about 0.90 g/cc to about 1.10 g/cc; US'730 also discloses mixing 10 parts by weight silicon oxide particles with 90 parts by weight graphite particles to provide a mass ratio of 10:90, falling within about 7:93 to about 40:60 (US'730, [0022], [0098], [0157]–[0159])). US'700 also discloses that the tap density of artificial graphite is optionally from 1.05 g/cm³ to 1.15 g/cm³ (US'700, [0018], [0078]) and the tap density of natural graphite is from 0.90 g/cm³ to 1.18 g/cm³ (optionally 0.93 to 1.13 g/cm³) (US'700, [0018], [0079]), which directly overlap with the claimed range of about 0.90 g/cc to about 1.10 g/cc, and further discloses that a negative electrode film comprises a conductive agent (conductive additive) such as Super P or carbon black mixed into the negative slurry with the negative active material, binder, and thickener (US'700, [0095], [0226]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to select graphite active material particles having the tap density ranging from about 0.90 g/cc to about 1.10 g/cc (such as the 0.90 to 1.10 g/cm³ range and measured values of 0.95 and 0.99 g/cm³) as taught by US'730 ([0066], Table 1) and US'700 ([0018], [0078], [0079]) for the negative electrode blend of US'496 in order to improve slurry coating productivity, eliminate coating streaks, enhance calendering rollability to form high-density negative electrode sheets without excessive intra-particle densification, and improve quick charge-discharge characteristics as taught by US'730 ([0067]) and US'700 ([0017], [0023]).
As to Claim 60:
US'496 discloses the battery anode of claim 53 (see the rejection of claim 53 regarding the battery anode of claim 76 wherein the mass ratio of the Si-comprising active material particles to the graphite active material particles is in a range of about 7:93 to about 40:60 and the average pressure ranges from about 20 MPa to about 30 MPa (US'496, Abstract; [0005], [0021]–[0023], [0027], [0029], [0031]–[0032], [0044]–[0045], [0052], [0062]–[0063], [0076], Table 1, Claim 1)); and a fiftieth-percentile volume-weighted particle size parameter (D50) of the at least the subset of the graphite active material particles ranges from about 2 µm to about 22 µm (US'496 discloses that the median diameter on a volume basis (D50) of each of carbon-based active materials A and B (graphite) is, for example, 5 µm to 30 µm (US'496, [0030]), which overlaps the claimed range of about 2 µm to about 22 µm).
However, US'496 does not explicitly recite the specific range of about 2 µm to about 22 µm for the D50 of the graphite active material particles (as US'496 discloses a broad range of 5 µm to 30 µm that partially extends above 22 µm).
US'700 discloses that the volume average particle size Dv50 of artificial graphite is from 10.0 µm to 14.5 µm (optionally from 11.0 µm to 13.5 µm, or from 10.0 µm to 19.0 µm) and the volume average particle size Dv50 of natural graphite is from 7.0 µm to 14.0 µm (optionally from 7.0 µm to 13.0 µm, or from 7.0 µm to 20.0 µm) (US'700, [0009], [0062]–[0063], Claim 4), and explicitly reports measured negative active material Dv50 values of 8.0 µm to 15.0 µm in Table 3 (US'700, Table 3), falling squarely within the claimed range of about 2 µm to about 22 µm. US'700 further discloses that a negative electrode film of a secondary battery comprises a conductive agent (conductive additive) such as Super P, carbon black, acetylene black, carbon nanotubes, or graphene mixed into the negative slurry with the negative active material, binder, and thickener (US'700, [0095], [0226]). US'730 discloses that the median diameter (D50) of carbonaceous particles (graphite) is preferably 3 µm to 30 µm, more preferably 5 µm to 25 µm, particularly preferably 20 µm or less, and most preferably 17 µm or less (US'730, [0061]–[0062]), and explicitly reports measured D50 values of 11.6 µm for spherical graphite A2, 15.5 µm for multilayer carbon a1, 16.3 µm for spherical natural graphite A1, 18.4 µm for MCMB a2, and 20.1 µm for granular artificial graphite A3 (US'730, Table 1), each falling squarely within the claimed range of about 2 µm to about 22 µm.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to to select graphite active material particles having a D50 within the range of about 2 µm to about 22 µm (such as 10.0 to 14.5 µm, 7.0 to 14.0 µm, or 8.0 to 15.0 µm as taught by US'700 ([0009], Table 3), or 3 to 20 µm, 11.6 µm, 15.5 µm, 16.3 µm, or 20.1 µm as taught by US'730 ([0061]–[0062], Table 1)) for the blended negative electrode of US'496 in order to eliminate slurry coating streaks, prevent particle over-sizing that causes local stress concentration and cycle expansion, and avoid excessive fineness that accelerates electrolyte side reactions and capacity fading as taught by US'700 ([0052], [0063], [0112]) and US'730 ([0063]–[0064]).
As to Claim 61:
US'496 discloses the battery anode of claim 60 (see the rejection of claim 60 regarding the battery anode of claim 53 wherein a fiftieth-percentile volume-weighted particle size parameter (D50) of the at least the subset of the graphite active material particles ranges from about 2 µm to about 22 µm (US'496, Abstract; [0005], [0021]–[0023], [0027], [0029], [0030], [0031]–[0032], [0044]–[0045], [0052], [0062]–[0063], [0076], Table 1, Claim 1)); and wherein the D50 ranges from about 11 µm to about 17 µm (US'496 discloses that the median diameter on a volume basis (D50) of each of the carbon-based active materials A and B (graphite) is, for example, 5 µm to 30 µm (US'496, [0030]), which overlaps the claimed range of about 11 µm to about 17 µm).
However, US'496 does not explicitly recite that the D50 of the graphite active material particles specifically ranges from about 11 µm to about 17 µm (US'496 discloses a broad range of 5 µm to 30 µm).
US'700 discloses that the volume average particle size Dv50 of the artificial graphite is from 10.0 µm to 14.5 µm (optionally from 11.0 µm to 13.5 µm, or from 13.0 µm to 17.0 µm) and the volume average particle size Dv50 of the natural graphite is from 7.0 µm to 14.0 µm (optionally from 11.0 µm to 13.0 µm) (US'700, [0009], [0062]–[0063], [0113], Claim 4), and explicitly reports measured negative active material Dv50 values of 12.1 µm, 12.7 µm, 13.0 µm, 13.5 µm, 13.8 µm, 14.0 µm, 14.9 µm, 15.0 µm, 15.6 µm, 15.8 µm, 16.1 µm, and 16.7 µm in Table 3 and Table 4 (US'700, Table 3, Table 4), each falling squarely within the claimed range of about 11 µm to about 17 µm. US'700 further discloses that a negative electrode film of a secondary battery comprises a conductive agent (conductive additive) such as Super P, carbon black, acetylene black, carbon nanotubes, or graphene mixed into the negative slurry with the negative active material, binder, and thickener (US'700, [0095], [0226]). US'730 discloses that the median diameter (D50) of the carbonaceous particles (graphite) is "further particularly preferably 12 µm or more, and is most preferably 17 µm or less" (defining a range of 12 µm to 17 µm) (US'730, [0061]–[0062]), and explicitly reports measured D50 values of 11.6 µm for spherical graphite A2, 15.5 µm for multilayer carbon a1, and 16.3 µm for spherical natural graphite A1 in Table 1 (US'730, Table 1), each falling squarely within the claimed range of about 11 µm to about 17 µm.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to select graphite active material particles having a D50 within the range of about 11 µm to about 17 µm (such as 11.0 to 13.5 µm, 13.0 to 17.0 µm, or the exemplary values of 12.1 to 16.7 µm as taught by US'700 ([0009], [0062], Table 3, Table 4), or 12 to 17 µm, 11.6 µm, 15.5 µm, or 16.3 µm as taught by US'730 ([0061]–[0062], Table 1)) for the blended negative electrode of US'496 in order to eliminate slurry coating streaks, prevent particle over-sizing that causes local stress concentration and cycle expansion, and avoid excessive fineness that accelerates electrolyte side reactions and capacity fading as taught by US'700 ([0052], [0063], [0112]) and US'730 ([0063]–[0064]).
As to Claim 62:
US'496 discloses the battery anode of claim 61 (see the rejection of claim 61 regarding the battery anode of claim 60 wherein the D50 of the at least the subset of the graphite active material particles ranges from about 11 µm to about 17 µm (US'496, Abstract; [0005], [0021]–[0023], [0027], [0029], [0030], [0031]–[0032], [0044]–[0045], [0052], [0062]–[0063], [0076], Table 1, Claim 1)); and wherein the D50 ranges from about 12 µm to about 17 µm (US'496 discloses that the median diameter on a volume basis (D50) of each of the carbon-based active materials A and B (graphite) is, for example, 5 µm to 30 µm (US'496, [0030]), which overlaps the claimed range of about 12 µm to about 17 µm).
However, US'496 does not explicitly recite that the D50 of the graphite active material particles specifically ranges from about 12 µm to about 17 µm (US'496 discloses a broad range of 5 µm to 30 µm).
US'700 discloses that the volume average particle size Dv50 of artificial graphite is from 12.0 µm to 18.0 µm and from 13.0 µm to 17.0 µm (US'700, [0062]), and explicitly reports measured negative active material Dv50 values of 12.1 µm, 12.4 µm, 12.7 µm, 12.8 µm, 13.0 µm, 13.5 µm, 13.8 µm, 14.0 µm, 14.9 µm, 15.0 µm, 15.6 µm, 15.8 µm, 16.1 µm, and 16.7 µm in Table 3 and Table 4 (US'700, Table 3, Table 4), each falling squarely within the claimed range of about 12 µm to about 17 µm. US'700 further discloses that a negative electrode film of a secondary battery comprises a conductive agent (conductive additive) such as Super P, carbon black, acetylene black, carbon nanotubes, or graphene mixed into the negative slurry with the negative active material, binder, and thickener (US'700, [0095], [0226]). US'730 discloses that the median diameter (D50) of the carbonaceous particles (graphite) is "further particularly preferably 12 µm or more, and is most preferably 17 µm or less" (explicitly establishing a range of 12 µm to 17 µm) (US'730, [0061]–[0062]), and in Table 1 explicitly reports measured D50 values of 15.5 µm for multilayer carbon a1 and 16.3 µm for spherical natural graphite A1 (US'730, Table 1), each falling squarely within the claimed range of about 12 µm to about 17 µm.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to select graphite active material particles having a D50 within the range of about 12 µm to about 17 µm (such as 12.0 to 18.0 µm, 13.0 to 17.0 µm, or the exemplary values of 12.1 to 16.7 µm as taught by US'700 ([0062], Table 3, Table 4), or 12 to 17 µm, 15.5 µm, or 16.3 µm as taught by US'730 ([0061]–[0062], Table 1)) for the blended negative electrode of US'496 in order to eliminate slurry coating streaks, prevent particle over-sizing that causes local stress concentration and cycle expansion, and avoid excessive fineness that accelerates electrolyte side reactions and capacity fading as taught by US'700 ([0052], [0063], [0112]) and US'730 ([0063]–[0064]).
As to Claim 63:
US'496 discloses the battery anode of claim 53 (see the rejection of claim 53 regarding the battery anode of claim 76 wherein the mass ratio of the Si-comprising active material particles to the graphite active material particles is in a range of about 7:93 to about 40:60 and the average pressure ranges from about 20 MPa to about 30 MPa (US'496, Abstract; [0005], [0021]–[0023], [0027], [0029], [0031]–[0032], [0044]–[0045], [0052], [0062]–[0063], [0076], Table 1, Claim 1)).
However, US'496 does not explicitly disclose that a ninetieth-percentile volume-weighted particle size parameter (D90) of the at least the subset of the graphite active material particles ranges from about 4 µm to about 30 µm (US'496 discloses that the median diameter on a volume basis (D50) of each of carbon-based active materials A and B (graphite) is, for example, 5 µm to 30 µm (US'496, [0030]), but does not explicitly disclose the D90 of the graphite active material particles).
US'700 discloses that a ninetieth-percentile volume-weighted particle size parameter (D90) of the graphite active material particles ranges from about 4 µm to about 30 µm (US'700 discloses that the volume particle size distribution Dv90 of artificial graphite is from 23.0 µm to 30.0 µm, optionally from 25.0 µm to 29.0 µm (US'700, [0011], [0065], Claim 5), the volume particle size distribution Dv90 of natural graphite is from 15.0 µm to 23.0 µm, optionally from 18.0 µm to 21.0 µm (US'700, [0011], [0066], Claim 5), the volume particle size distribution Dv90 of the negative active material is from 16.0 µm to 25.0 µm, optionally from 20.0 µm to 25.0 µm (US'700, [0010], [0115], Claim 5), or from 16.0 µm to 33.0 µm (US'700, [0064]), and in Table 3 and Table 4 explicitly reports measured Dv90 values of 16.5 µm, 17.1 µm, 18.1 µm, 20.4 µm, 21.2 µm, 22.6 µm, 23.3 µm, 24.6 µm, 28.1 µm, 28.6 µm, and 29.5 µm (US'700, Table 3, Table 4), each falling within the claimed range of about 4 µm to about 30 µm).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to select graphite active material particles having a D90 within the range of about 4 µm to about 30 µm (such as 15.0 to 23.0 µm, 23.0 to 30.0 µm, 16.0 to 25.0 µm, or the exemplary values of 16.5 to 29.5 µm as taught by US'700 ([0010], [0011], [0065], [0066], Table 3, Table 4)) for the blended negative electrode of US'496 in order to ensure uniform particle packing, avoid coarse particles that cause local stress concentration and high cyclic expansion, and balance dynamic high-temperature cycle performance and safety as taught by US'700 ([0010], [0011], [0052], [0115]).
As to Claim 64:
US'496 discloses the battery anode of claim 63 (see the rejection of claim 63 regarding the battery anode of claim 53 wherein a ninetieth-percentile volume-weighted particle size parameter (D90) of the at least the subset of the graphite active material particles ranges from about 4 µm to about 30 µm (US'496, Abstract; [0005], [0021]–[0023], [0027], [0029], [0031]–[0032], [0044]–[0045], [0052], [0062]–[0063], [0076], Table 1, Claim 1)).
However, US'496 does not explicitly disclose that the D90 of the at least the subset of the graphite active material particles ranges from about 19 µm to about 30 µm (US'496 discloses that the median diameter on a volume basis (D50) of each of carbon-based active materials A and B (graphite) is, for example, 5 µm to 30 µm (US'496, [0030]), but does not explicitly disclose the D90 of the graphite active material particles).
US'700 discloses that a ninetieth-percentile volume-weighted particle size parameter (D90) of the graphite active material particles ranges from about 19 µm to about 30 µm (US'700 discloses that the volume particle size distribution Dv90 of artificial graphite is from 23.0 µm to 30.0 µm, and optionally from 25.0 µm to 29.0 µm (US'700, [0011], [0065], Claim 5), the volume particle size distribution Dv90 of the negative active material is optionally from 20.0 µm to 25.0 µm (US'700, [0010], [0115], Claim 5), and in Table 3 and Table 4 explicitly reports measured Dv90 values of 20.4 µm, 21.2 µm, 22.6 µm, 23.3 µm, 24.6 µm, 28.1 µm, 28.6 µm, and 29.5 µm (US'700, Table 3, Table 4), each falling squarely within the claimed range of about 19 µm to about 30 µm).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to select graphite active material particles having a D90 within the range of about 19 µm to about 30 µm (such as 23.0 to 30.0 µm, 25.0 to 29.0 µm, 20.0 to 25.0 µm, or the exemplary values of 20.4 to 29.5 µm as taught by US'700 ([0010], [0011], [0065], Table 3, Table 4)) for the blended negative electrode of US'496 in order to ensure optimal particle packing, prevent the presence of excessively oversized coarse particles that cause local stress concentration, contact detachment, and high cycle expansion, and balance dynamic high-temperature cycle performance and safety as taught by US'700 ([0010], [0011], [0052], [0115]).
Claims 65-66 and 69 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0013496 A1 (US'496) in view of Tselios et al., "Extracellular electron uptake from carbon-based ϖ electron surface-donors: oxidation of graphite sheets by Sulfobacillus thermosulfidooxidans probed by Raman and FTIR spectroscopies", (hereinafter Tselios) and US 2022/0102700 A1 (US'700), and further in view of US 2022/0006087 A1 (US’087).
As to Claim 65:
US'496 discloses the battery anode of claim 53 (see the rejection of claim 53 regarding the battery anode of claim 76 wherein the mass ratio of the Si-comprising active material particles to the graphite active material particles is in a range of about 7:93 to about 40:60 and the average pressure ranges from about 20 MPa to about 30 MPa (US'496, Abstract; [0005], [0021]–[0023], [0027], [0029], [0031]–[0032], [0044]–[0045], [0052], [0062]–[0063], [0076], Table 1, Claim 1)).
However, US'496 does not explicitly disclose that a tenth-percentile volume-weighted particle size parameter (D10) of the at least the subset of the graphite active material particles ranges from about 0.5 µm to about 15 µm (US'496 discloses that the median diameter on a volume basis (D50) of each of carbon-based active materials A and B (graphite) is, for example, 5 µm to 30 µm (US'496, [0030]), but does not explicitly disclose the D10 of the graphite active material particles).
US’087 discloses a negative electrode active material comprising graphite active material particles (natural graphite) for a secondary battery (US'087, [0015], [0028]), wherein a tenth-percentile volume-weighted particle size parameter (D10) of the graphite active material particles ranges from about 0.5 µm to about 15 µm (US'087 explicitly recites that "The D.sub.10 of the negative electrode active material may be 5 µm to 9 µm, preferably 6 µm to 8 µm, more preferably 6.5 µm to 7.5 µm" (US'087, [0045]), and in Table 1 explicitly reports measured D10 values of 6.2 µm (Comparative Example 4), 6.3 µm (Example 1, Comparative Example 3), 6.7 µm (Comparative Example 2), 7.0 µm (Comparative Example 1), and 7.3 µm (Example 2) (US'087, Table 1), each falling squarely within the claimed range of about 0.5 µm to about 15 µm).
US'496, US'700, Tselios, and US'087 are analogous arts because each reference is from the same field of endeavor of energy storage devices, secondary battery negative electrodes, and carbon/graphite active materials, and each is reasonably pertinent to the problem of optimizing active material particle size distribution, conductive networks, mechanical compression deformation, and structural lattice characterization in negative electrodes.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to select graphite active material particles having a D10 within the range of about 0.5 µm to about 15 µm (specifically 5 µm to 9 µm, 6.2 µm, 6.3 µm, 6.7 µm, 7.0 µm, or 7.3 µm) as taught by US'087 ([0045], Table 1) for the blended negative electrode of US'496 in order to eliminate excessively fine sub-micron particles that increase active material specific surface area, suppress undesirable electrolyte solution side reactions, improve packing degree among active particles, and effectively prevent thickness expansion and cycle swelling during charging and discharging as taught by US'087 ([0019], [0029], [0038], [0041]–[0045]).
As to Claim 66:
US'496 discloses the battery anode of claim 65 (see the rejection of claim 65 regarding the battery anode of claim 53 wherein a tenth-percentile volume-weighted particle size parameter (D10) of the at least the subset of the graphite active material particles ranges from about 0.5 µm to about 15 µm (US'496, Abstract; [0005], [0021]–[0023], [0027], [0029], [0030], [0031]–[0032], [0044]–[0045], [0052], [0062]–[0063], [0076], Table 1, Claim 1)).
However, US'496 does not explicitly disclose that the D10 ranges from about 5 µm to about 11 µm (US'496 discloses that the median diameter on a volume basis (D50) of each of carbon-based active materials A and B (graphite) is, for example, 5 µm to 30 µm (US'496, [0030]), but does not explicitly disclose the D10 of the graphite active material particles).
US’087 discloses a negative electrode active material comprising graphite active material particles (natural graphite) for a secondary battery (US'087, [0015], [0028]), wherein the D10 ranges from about 5 µm to about 11 µm (US'087 explicitly recites that "The D.sub.10 of the negative electrode active material may be 5 µm to 9 µm, preferably 6 µm to 8 µm, more preferably 6.5 µm to 7.5 µm" (US'087, [0045]), and in Table 1 explicitly reports measured D10 values of 6.2 µm (Comparative Example 4), 6.3 µm (Example 1, Comparative Example 3), 6.7 µm (Comparative Example 2), 7.0 µm (Comparative Example 1), and 7.3 µm (Example 2) (US'087, Table 1), each falling squarely within the claimed range of about 5 µm to about 11 µm).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to select graphite active material particles having a D10 within the range of about 5 µm to about 11 µm (specifically 5 µm to 9 µm, 6 µm to 8 µm, 6.2 µm, 6.3 µm, 6.7 µm, 7.0 µm, or 7.3 µm) as taught by US'087 ([0045], Table 1) for the blended negative electrode of US'496 in order to eliminate excessively fine sub-micron particles that increase active material specific surface area, suppress undesirable electrolyte solution side reactions, improve packing degree among active particles, and effectively prevent thickness expansion and cycle swelling during charging and discharging as taught by US'087 ([0019], [0029], [0038], [0041]–[0045]).
As to Claim 69:
US'496 discloses the battery anode of claim 68 (see the rejection of claim 68 regarding the battery anode of claim 67 wherein the BET specific surface area of the at least the subset of the graphite active material particles ranges from about 1 m2/g to about 5 m2/g (US'496, Abstract; [0005], [0021]–[0023], [0027], [0029], [0031]–[0032], [0044]–[0045], [0052], [0062]–[0063], [0068]–[0069], [0075]–[0076], Table 1, Claim 1)); and wherein the BET-SSA ranges from about 1 m2/g to about 3 m2/g (US'496 explicitly measures the BET specific surface area of the graphite active material particles using a Tristar instrument produced by Micromeritics (US'496, [0068]–[0069]), and in Table 1 explicitly reports a measured BET specific surface area of 3.0 m²/g for graphite active material B of Example 3 (US'496, [0076], Table 1), which satisfies the upper boundary of the claimed range of about 1 m²/g to about 3 m²/g).
However, to the extent applicant contends that US'496's exemplary disclosure of 3.0 m²/g represents an endpoint value and does not explicitly teach a range of about 1 m²/g to about 3 m²/g, US'496 does not explicitly recite the specific range of about 1 m²/g to about 3 m²/g.
US’087 discloses that a negative electrode active material comprising natural graphite has a BET specific surface area of 2.2 m²/g or less, preferably 1.5 m²/g to 2.2 m²/g, and more preferably 1.7 m²/g to 2.15 m²/g (US'087, [0015], [0028], [0048]), and in Table 1 explicitly reports measured BET specific surface areas of 2.0 m²/g (Example 2), 2.1 m²/g (Example 1), 2.4 m²/g (Comparative Examples 1 and 2), and 2.9 m²/g (Comparative Example 4) (US'087, Table 1), each falling squarely within the claimed range of about 1 m²/g to about 3 m²/g.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to select graphite active material particles having a BET specific surface area within the range of about 1 m²/g to about 3 m²/g (such as 3.0 m²/g as taught by US'496 ([0076], Table 1), or 1.5 m²/g to 2.2 m²/g, 1.7 m²/g to 2.15 m²/g, 2.0 m²/g, 2.1 m²/g, or 2.4 m²/g as taught by US'087 ([0048], Table 1)) for the blended negative electrode of US'496 in order to maintain sufficient reaction interface area for active ion entry and exit while suppressing excessive side reactions with the electrolyte solution and preventing swelling and cycle expansion problems without deteriorating rate performance as taught by US'087 ([0019], [0046]–[0049]).
Claims 70-74 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0013496 A1 (US'496) in view of Tselios et al., "Extracellular electron uptake from carbon-based ϖ electron surface-donors: oxidation of graphite sheets by Sulfobacillus thermosulfidooxidans probed by Raman and FTIR spectroscopies", (hereinafter Tselios) and US 2022/0102700 A1 (US'700), and further in view of US 2021/0313617 A1 (US’617).
As to Claim 70:
US'496 discloses the battery anode of claim 53 (see the rejection of claim 53 regarding the battery anode of claim 76 wherein the mass ratio of the Si-comprising active material particles to the graphite active material particles is in a range of about 7:93 to about 40:60 and the average pressure ranges from about 20 MPa to about 30 MPa (US'496, Abstract; [0005], [0021]–[0023], [0027], [0029], [0031]–[0032], [0044]–[0045], [0052], [0062]–[0063], [0076], Table 1, Claim 1)).
However, US'496 does not disclose that the Si-comprising active material particles comprise oxygen (O) atoms at about 5 wt. % or less of a total mass of the Si-comprising active material particles (US'496 utilizes carbon-coated
SiO
0.94
as the silicon-based active material particles ([0027], [0052]), which contains approximately 35 wt. % oxygen, well above 5 wt. %).
US'617 discloses a lithium-ion battery anode comprising a blend of conversion-type Si-comprising active material particles and graphite active material particles (US'617, [0007], [0058], [0061], [0173], Claim 1), wherein the Si-comprising active material particles comprise oxygen (O) atoms at about 5 wt. % or less of a total mass of the Si-comprising active material particles (US'617 explicitly recites that the Si-comprising conversion-type active material particles comprise "less than about 2 wt.% oxygen (O)" (US'617, [0017], [0174], [0181], Claim 11), and less than about 1–5 wt.% oxygen as a fraction of all elements within the particles (US'617, [0070], [0073], [0076]), each falling squarely within the claimed range of about 5 wt. % or less; US'617 also discloses that conversion-type particles comprise from about 40 wt.% to about 60 wt.% Si (Claim 2; [0008]), and exemplifies a blended anode slurry comprising ~19.2 wt.% Si-comprising particles and ~81.8 wt.% graphite particles to provide a mass ratio of ~19.2:81.8 (US'617, [0173]), falling squarely within the range of about 7:93 to about 40:60).
US'496, US'700, Tselios, and US'617 are analogous arts because each reference is from the same field of endeavor of energy storage devices, secondary battery negative electrodes, and carbon/graphite active materials, and each is reasonably pertinent to the problem of optimizing silicon-graphite active material blend compositions, mitigating parasitic side reactions and capacity losses, providing conductive networks, and controlling active material structural and mechanical properties in negative electrodes.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to select silicon-comprising active material particles having an oxygen content of about 5 wt. % or less (specifically less than about 2 wt.% or 1–5 wt.%) as taught by US'617 ([0017], [0070], [0076], [0174], [0181], Claim 11) for the silicon-containing active material particles of US'496 ([0027], [0052]) in order to minimize irreversible lithium trapping caused by high oxygen electronegativity, drastically reduce first cycle irreversible capacity loss, and enhance Coulombic efficiency as taught by US'617 ([0004], [0007], [0081], [0181]).
As to Claim 71:
US'496 discloses the battery anode of claim 53 (see the rejection of claim 53 regarding the battery anode of claim 76 wherein the mass ratio of the Si-comprising active material particles to the graphite active material particles is in a range of about 7:93 to about 40:60 and the average pressure ranges from about 20 MPa to about 30 MPa (US'496, Abstract; [0005], [0021]–[0023], [0027], [0029], [0031]–[0032], [0044]–[0045], [0052], [0062]–[0063], [0076], Table 1, Claim 1)).
However, US'496 does not disclose that the Si-comprising active material particles comprise silicon (Si) atoms and carbon (C) atoms, in aggregate, in a range of about 80 wt. % to about 100 wt. % of a total mass of the Si-comprising active material particles (US'496 utilizes carbon-coated
SiO
0.94
as the silicon-based active material particles (US'496, [0027], [0052]), which contains approximately 35 wt. % oxygen, such that Si and C atoms in aggregate do not reach 80 wt. %).
US'617 discloses a lithium-ion battery anode comprising a blend of conversion-type Si-comprising active material particles and graphite active material particles (US'617, [0007], [0058], [0061], [0173], Claim 1), wherein the Si-comprising active material particles comprise silicon (Si) atoms and carbon (C) atoms, in aggregate, in a range of about 80 wt. % to about 100 wt. % of a total mass of the Si-comprising active material particles (US'617 discloses that the conversion-type Si-comprising active material particles comprise from about 40 wt.% to about 60 wt.% Si (Claim 2; [0008]), from about 6 wt.% to about 60 wt.% carbon (C) (Claim 13; [0019]), less than about 2 wt.% oxygen (O) (Claim 11; [0017]), and less than about 0.5 wt.% hydrogen (H) (Claim 12; [0018]); paragraph [0181] explicitly recites that the Si-C nanocomposite active material particles comprise 40–60 wt.% Si and 6–60 wt.% C, with < 2 wt.% O and < 0.5 wt.% H, establishing an aggregate Si and C mass fraction of ~97.5 wt.% to ~99 wt.% of the total mass, which falls squarely within the claimed range of about 80 wt. % to about 100 wt. %; US'617 also discloses blending these Si-C active particles with graphite particles in an aqueous slurry at ~19.2 wt.% Si-C particles to ~81.8 wt.% graphite particles to provide a mass ratio of ~19.2:81.8 (US'617, [0173]), falling squarely within the range of about 7:93 to about 40:60).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to configure the silicon-comprising active material particles of US'496 ([0027], [0052]) to comprise silicon (Si) and carbon (C) atoms in aggregate from about 80 wt. % to about 100 wt. % (specifically ~97.5 wt.% to ~99 wt.%, comprising 40–60 wt.% Si and 6–60 wt.% C with low oxygen < 2 wt.%) as taught by US'617 ([0008], [0017], [0019], [0181], Claims 2, 11, 13) in order to maximize reversible electrochemical capacity, eliminate parasitic lithium-oxygen trapping reactions, reduce first-cycle irreversible capacity loss, and provide an electrically conductive carbon matrix that buffers silicon volume changes during cycling as taught by US'617 ([0004], [0007], [0057], [0181]).
As to Claim 72:
US'496 discloses the battery anode of claim 71 (see the rejection of claim 71 regarding the battery anode of claim 53 wherein the Si-comprising active material particles comprise silicon (Si) atoms and carbon (C) atoms, in aggregate, in a range of about 80 wt. % to about 100 wt. % of a total mass of the Si-comprising active material particles (US'496, Abstract; [0005], [0021]–[0023], [0027], [0029], [0031]–[0032], [0044]–[0045], [0052], [0062]–[0063], [0076], Table 1, Claim 1)).
However, US'496 does not disclose that the Si-comprising active material particles comprise Si-C nanocomposite particles (US'496 utilizes carbon-coated
SiO
0.94
particles wherein fine Si particles are dispersed in an amorphous
SiO
2
matrix rather than a Si-C nanocomposite (US'496, [0027], [0052])).
US'617 discloses that the Si-comprising active material particles comprise Si-C nanocomposite particles (US'617 explicitly recites that the Si-comprising active material particles comprise core-shell Si-C nanocomposite particles comprising Si nanoparticles having a volume-averaged size in the range from about 2 nm to about 40 nm distributed in carbon (US'617, [0009], [0016], [0174], [0181], Claim 3, Claim 10); US'617 also discloses that the Si-C nanocomposite particles comprise from about 40 wt.% to about 60 wt.% Si (Claim 2; [0008]) and from about 6 wt.% to about 60 wt.% carbon (C) (Claim 13; [0019]) with oxygen less than 2 wt.% (Claim 11; [0017]), establishing an aggregate Si and C mass fraction of ~97.5 wt.% to ~99 wt.% ([0181]), and exemplifies blending these Si-C nanocomposite particles with graphite in an aqueous slurry at a mass ratio of ~19.2:81.8 (US'617, [0173]), falling squarely within the range of about 7:93 to about 40:60).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to configure the Si-C nanocomposite particles with aggregate Si and C atoms in a range of about 80 wt. % to about 100 wt. % (specifically ~97.5 wt.% to ~99 wt.%) as taught by US'617 ([0008], [0017], [0019], [0181]) to maximize reversible capacity while eliminating irreversible oxygen trapping; to formulate the active material blend of US'496 at the mass ratio of silicon active material to graphite active material within the range of about 7:93 to about 40:60 (such as 9:88 (~9.3:90.7) or 4% to 20% by mass as taught by US'496 ([0029], [0052]), or ~19.2:81.8 as taught by US'617 ([0173])) to achieve high capacity while maintaining cycle retention.
As to Claim 73:
US'496 discloses the battery anode of claim 53 (see the rejection of claim 53 regarding the battery anode of claim 76 wherein the mass ratio of the Si-comprising active material particles to the graphite active material particles is in a range of about 7:93 to about 40:60 and the average pressure ranges from about 20 MPa to about 30 MPa (US'496, Abstract; [0005], [0021]–[0023], [0027], [0029], [0031]–[0032], [0044]–[0045], [0052], [0062]–[0063], [0076], Table 1, Claim 1)).
However, US'496 does not explicitly disclose that the at least the subset of the graphite active material particles exhibits a specific capacity in a range of about 320 mAh/g to about 372 mAh/g (US'496 discloses that the carbon-based active material includes graphite (US'496, [0026]), but does not explicitly recite a numerical value for the specific reversible capacity of the graphite active material particles).
US'617 discloses a lithium-ion battery anode comprising a blend of conversion-type Si-comprising active material particles and graphite active material particles (US'617, [0007], [0058], [0061], [0173], Claim 1), wherein the graphite active material particles exhibit a specific capacity in a range of about 320 mAh/g to about 372 mAh/g (US'617 explicitly recites that the intercalation-type carbonaceous powders (such as graphite) exhibit a reversible capacity in a range from about 300 mAh/g to about 380 mAh/g, and specifically in ranges from about 340 mAh/g to about 350 mAh/g, from about 350 mAh/g to about 360 mAh/g, and from about 360 mAh/g to about 380 mAh/g (US'617, [0085]), and in paragraph [0173] explicitly discloses artificial graphite particles exhibiting a reversible capacity of up to 340 mAh/g, each falling squarely within the claimed range of about 320 mAh/g to about 372 mAh/g; US'617 also exemplifies a blended anode slurry comprising ~19.2 wt.% Si-comprising active particles and ~81.8 wt.% graphite active particles to provide a mass ratio of ~19.2:81.8 (US'617, [0173]), falling squarely within the range of about 7:93 to about 40:60).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to select graphite active material particles exhibiting a specific reversible capacity in the range of about 320 mAh/g to about 372 mAh/g (such as up to 340 mAh/g, 340 to 350 mAh/g, 350 to 360 mAh/g, or 360 to 380 mAh/g within 300 to 380 mAh/g) as taught by US'617 ([0085], [0173]) for the blended negative electrode of US'496 in order to provide high volumetric and gravimetric energy density, high initial Coulombic efficiency, and reversible lithium intercalation/de-intercalation approaching the theoretical limit of graphite while ensuring stable cyclability as taught by US'617 ([0006], [0056], [0085], [0086]).
As to Claim 74:
US'496 discloses the battery anode of claim 53 (see the rejection of claim 53 regarding the battery anode of claim 76 wherein the mass ratio of the Si-comprising active material particles to the graphite active material particles is in a range of about 7:93 to about 40:60 and the average pressure ranges from about 20 MPa to about 30 MPa (US'496, Abstract; [0005], [0021]–[0023], [0027], [0029], [0031]–[0032], [0044]–[0045], [0052], [0062]–[0063], [0076], Table 1, Claim 1)).
However, US'496 does not explicitly disclose that the battery anode has a reversible capacity loading in a range of about 2 mAh/cm2 to about 16 mAh/cm2 (US'496 discloses applying a negative electrode mix layer to both surfaces of a copper foil current collector so that the mass per unit area after drying is 100 g/m² (50 g/m² per surface) (US'496, [0052]), but does not explicitly disclose the reversible areal capacity loading in mAh/cm²).
US'617 discloses a lithium-ion battery anode comprising a blend of conversion-type Si-comprising active material particles and graphite active material particles (US'617, [0007], [0058], [0061], [0173], Claim 1), wherein the battery anode has a reversible capacity loading in a range of about 2 mAh/cm2 to about 16 mAh/cm2 (US'617 explicitly recites that the anode electrode exhibits a reversible areal capacity in the range from about 3 to about 4.5 mAh/cm² or from about 4.5 to about 8 mAh/cm² (US'617, [0022], [0182], Claim 17), an areal reversible capacity loading in the range from about 3 mAh/cm² to about 6.5 mAh/cm² (US'617, [0184]), moderate capacity loadings of 3 to 3.5 mAh/cm² reversible (US'617, [0177]), high areal capacity loadings ranging from about 4.0 to about 20.0 mAh/cm² (specifically from about 4.0 to about 7.0 mAh/cm² or from about 7.0 to about 10.0 mAh/cm²) and medium areal capacity loadings from about 1.0 to about 4.0 mAh/cm² (US'617, [0061]), each falling squarely within the claimed range of about 2 mAh/cm² to about 16 mAh/cm²; US'617 also exemplifies a blended anode slurry comprising ~19.2 wt.% Si-comprising active particles and ~81.8 wt.% graphite active particles to provide a mass ratio of ~19.2:81.8 (US'617, [0173]), falling squarely within the range of about 7:93 to about 40:60).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to formulate and coat the battery anode of US'496 to have a reversible capacity loading within the range of about 2 mAh/cm2 to about 16 mAh/cm2 (such as 3 to 4.5 mAh/cm², 4.5 to 8 mAh/cm², 3 to 6.5 mAh/cm², or 4 to 7 mAh/cm² as taught by US'617 ([0022], [0061], [0182], [0184], Claim 17)) in order to reduce the relative fraction of inactive cell components such as current collector foils and separators, thereby increasing volumetric and gravimetric energy density while maintaining high charging rate characteristics as taught by US'617 ([0004], [0061]).
Conclusion
/JIMMY VO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1723
/JIMMY VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723