DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Howell et. al. (US 7,438,410 B1) in view of Trail (US 10,061,352 B1)
Regarding claim 1 Howell teaches (figs. 1, 2C, and 6) a split-type smart glasses, comprising a smart glasses body (272; col.6, lines 27-31) for human-computer interaction a wearable division containing battery (280; col. 6, lines 27-38; col. 11, lines 24-31),
and a connection device for automatically attracting and connecting the power supply of smart glasses body and wearable division and/or data transmission lines (col. 6, lines 27-38);
an eyeglass strap for connecting the two glasses legs are provided between two glasses legs of the smart glasses body (276; col. 6, lines 27-38);
an upper transmission line is hidden inside the eyeglass strap, and the upper transmission line leads out of the middle section of the eyeglass strap to connect to the connection device (col. 6, lines 27-38);
the wearable division is connected to the connection device via lower transmission line (col. 6, lines 27-38).
Howell does not teach that the smart glasses include an output display and where the connection device is an automatic magnetic connection device.
Trail teaches (fig. 1) that the smart glasses include an output display (col. 3, line 59 – col. 4, line 2) and an automatic magnetic connection device (col. 12, line 65 - col. 13, line 5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the Smart Glasses as taught by Howell with the VR system as taught by Trail for the benefit of adding an easy coupled AR experiences to the wearer.
Regarding claim 2 Howell as modified by Trail teaches (figs. 1, 2C, and 6) a split-type smart glasses, where said automatic magnetic connection device comprises an upper magnetic connector and a lower magnetic connector, said upper magnetic connector being connected to the glasses strap via the upper transmission line, said lower transmission line extending to the scruff of user's neck to connect to the lower magnetic connector (col. 9, lines 35-43).
Regarding claim 7 Howell teaches (figs. 1, 2C, and 6) a split-type smart glasses where the upper transmission line can be introduced into the eyeglass strap from one side of the glasses leg in a single bundle or in two bundles from both glasses legs (col. 4, lines 31-47).
Regarding claim 8 Howell teaches (figs. 1, 2C, and 6) a split-type smart glasses,
where said wearable division is a wearable computer mainframe division containing battery or an external battery division after the wearable computer mainframe has been separated (col. 5, line 57 – col. 6, line 13).
Regarding claim 9 Howell teaches (figs. 1, 2C, and 6) a split-type smart glasses, except where the outer surface of said wearable division is provided with magnetic charging transmitting coil for wireless charging for the wearable computer mainframe or other devices and socket for charging or powering itself or/and other devices.
Trail teaches where the outer surface of said wearable division is provided with magnetic charging transmitting coil for wireless charging for the wearable computer mainframe or other devices and socket for charging or powering itself or/and other devices (col. 7, lines 55-67).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the Smart Glasses as taught by Howell with the induction charging by Trail for the benefit of adding simple charging with the need for external plugs.
Claims 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Howell et. al. (US 7,438,410 B1) in view of Trail (US 10,061,352 B1) in further view of Schultz (US 2012/0021618 A1)
Regarding claim 3 Howell teaches (figs. 1, 2C, and 6) a split-type smart glasses, except where said lower magnetic connector is provided with a guiding block, which enables the lower magnetic connector to always face upwards, and at the same time enables the upper magnetic connector to be automatically attracted and guided by the lower magnetic connector until they are correctly aligned and attracted to each other.
Shultz teaches where said lower magnetic connector is provided with a guiding block (104), which enables the lower magnetic connector to always face upwards, and at the same time enables the upper magnetic connector to be automatically attracted and guided by the lower magnetic connector until they are correctly aligned and attracted to each other (para. 0049, 0051).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the connectors as taught by Howell with the magnetic couplers as taught by Shultz for the benefit of a greater more secure and faster connection.
Regarding claim 4 Howell teaches (figs. 1, 2C, and 6) a split-type smart glasses, where said lower magnetic connector is provided with a fixing member, which fixes the lower magnetic connector to the collar or wearing apparel in a position at the scruff of user's neck (col. 9, lines 35-43).
Regarding claim 5 Howell teaches (figs. 1, 2C, and 6) a split-type smart glasses, where the guiding block and the fixing member are provided with skin care protective layer of soft material on the surface facing the back of the user (col. 14, lines 32-51).
Regarding claim 6 Howell teaches (figs. 1, 2C, and 6) a split-type smart glasses, where said fixing member is elastic clip or the magic tape (col. 9, lines 35-43).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Further tethered smart glasses and magnetic connectors include Rye et. al. (US 2006/0177086 A1), Blum et. al. (US 7,023,594 B2), Wu (US 7,566,244 B2), Kall (US 2012/0252231 A1), Powers et. al. (US 2017/0093104 A1), and Yue (US 12,418,141 B1).
/Robert E. Tallman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872