DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 3, 17-22, 30 and 37-42 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Species II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 03/02/2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 recite the limitation "the phase signal generating circuit" in “line 5”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-16, 23-24, 26-29, 31-36 and 43-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Tzeng (US 11,362,607 B1).
Examiner’s Note: Tzeng’s Fig.4 is reproduced below for applicant’s convenience.
As to Claim 1, Tzeng in its teachings as shown in Fig.1-5 disclose a motor unit (10) comprising:
a motor (M), wherein the motor comprises a rotor (100) and a symmetrical silicon steel plate (110); and
a motor controller (11) , wherein the motor controller comprises a switch circuit (150), a control circuit (160), and the phase signal generating circuit (170), the motor controller is used for driving the motor, the switch circuit is configured to supply a motor current to the motor, the control circuit generates a plurality of control signals (C1, C2, C3, C4) to control the switch circuit, the phase signal generating circuit receives an input phase signal (Vh), so as to generate an output phase signal (Vp) to the control circuit, the control circuit switches motor phases according to the output phase signal (The phase signal generating unit 170 generates a phase signal Vp to the control unit 160, so as to inform the control unit 160 to switch phase- see Col.3, Line 44-59), the control circuit (160) firstly enables the output phase signal to maintain a first digital level (see Fig.4 Vp from T0 until T1 with a first digital level) to drive the motor during a first time duration (see Fig.4, T0-T1), such that the rotor escapes from a dead zone (intended use), then the control circuit enables the output phase signal to maintain a second digital level (see Fig.4 Vp from until T1- T2 with a second digital level) to drive the motor during a second time duration (see Fig.4, T1-T2), such that the rotor escapes from the dead zone (intended use), and the first digital level is different from the second digital level (see Fig.4 where the first digital level is different from the second digital level).
As to Claim 27, Tzeng in its teachings as shown in Fig.1-5 disclose a motor controller (11) used for driving a motor (M), and the motor controller comprising:
a switch circuit (150), configured to supply a motor current to the motor;
a control circuit (160), configured to generate a plurality of control signals (C1, C2, C3, C4) to control the switch circuit; and
a phase signal generating circuit (170), configured to receive an input phase signal (Vh) for generating an output phase signal (Vp) to the control circuit, wherein the control circuit switches motor phases according to the output phase signal, the control circuit firstly enables the output phase signal to maintain a first digital level (see Fig.4 Vp from T0 until T1 with a first digital level) to drive the motor during a first time duration (see Fig.4, T0-T1), such that a rotor escapes from a dead zone, then the control circuit enables the output phase signal to maintain a second digital level (see Fig.4 Vp from until T1- T2 with a second digital level) to drive the motor during a second time duration (see Fig.4, T1-T2), such that the rotor escapes from the dead zone (intended use), the first digital level is different from the second digital level (see Fig.4 where the first digital level is different from the second digital level), and after a time point (see Fig.4, after T2), the control circuit enables a waveform of the output phase signal to be synchronous and the same to a waveform of the input phase signal (see Fig.4 where a waveform of the output phase signal T2-T4 to be synchronous and the same to a waveform of the input phase signal as the waveform from T0-T2).
As to Claim 2, Tzeng disclose the motor unit of claim 1, wherein the control circuit stores an initial level of the input phase signal, and the first digital level is inverted to the initial level (see Fig.3, inverter 171 and also Col.4, line 22- Col.5, Line 19).
As to Claim 4, Tzeng disclose the motor unit of claim 1, wherein the motor unit further comprises a Hall sensor (140), and the Hall sensor detects a position of the rotor and generates a first voltage signal and a second voltage signal (see Col.3, Line 1-Col.4, Line 21).
As to Claim 5, Tzeng disclose the motor unit of claim 4, wherein the motor unit further comprises a comparator (180), the comparator generates the input phase signal to the phase signal generating circuit based on the first voltage signal and the second voltage signal (see Col.3, Line 1-Col.4, Line 21).
As to Claim 6, Tzeng disclose the motor unit of claim 1, wherein the rotor is divided into 2M north magnetic poles and 2M south magnetic poles to switch motor phases, M is a positive integer, and M is equal to or greater than 1 (see Col.3, Line 1-19).
As to Claim 7, Tzeng disclose the motor unit of claim 6, wherein an interface between the north magnetic pole N and the south magnetic pole S is located in a position with respect to a zero position of a mechanism in a still state (see Col.3, Line 1-19).
As to Claim 8, Tzeng disclose the motor unit of claim 6, wherein the motor unit further comprises a Hall sensor, and the Hall sensor is installed in a position with respect to a zero position of a mechanism (see Col.3, Line 1-19).
As to Claim 9, Tzeng disclose the motor unit of claim 1, wherein the motor unit enables the rotor to at least escape from the dead zone twice or more to operate in a start-up mode (see Col.3, Line 60- Col.4, Line 21).
As to Claim 10, Tzeng disclose the motor unit of claim 1, wherein the motor unit enables the rotor to at least escape from the dead zone twice or more to execute a forward and reverse rotation function (see Col.3, Line 1-Col.4, Line 21).
As to Claim 11, Tzeng disclose the motor unit of claim 1, wherein the control circuit enables the output phase signal to be asynchronous to the input phase signal during the first time duration and the second time duration (see Col.4, line 22- Col.5, Line 19).
As to Claim 12, Tzeng disclose the motor unit of claim 1, wherein after a time point, the control circuit enables a waveform of the output phase signal to be synchronous and the same to a waveform of the input phase signal (see Fig.4 where a waveform of the output phase signal T2-T4 to be synchronous and the same to a waveform of the input phase signal as the waveform from T0-T2).
As to Claim 13, Tzeng disclose the motor unit of claim 12, wherein before the time point, the control circuit enables a waveform of the output phase signal to be asynchronous to a waveform of the input phase signal (see Fig.3, inverter 171 and also Col.4, line 22- Col.5, Line 19).
As to Claim 14, Tzeng disclose the motor unit of claim 1, wherein the motor further comprises a first terminal and a second terminal, the first terminal has a first signal, the second terminal has a second signal, and a waveform of the first signal is synchronous and inverted to a waveform of the output phase signal (see Fig.3, inverter 171 and also Col.4, line 22- Col.5, Line 19).
As to Claim 15, Tzeng disclose the motor unit of claim 14, wherein a waveform of the second signal is synchronous and the same to a waveform of the output phase signal (see Col.4, line 22- Col.5, Line 19).
As to Claim 16, Tzeng disclose the motor unit of claim 1, wherein the first time duration is a first predetermined value, and the second time duration is a second predetermined value (see Col.4, line 22- Col.5, Line 19).
As to Claim 23, Tzeng disclose the motor unit of claim 1, wherein the motor unit enables the motor to switch phases smoothly in a steady rotation state (normal operation state and see Col.5, Line 6-19).
As to Claim 24, Tzeng disclose the motor unit of claim 1, wherein the motor unit enables the motor to reduce noise in a steady rotation state (normal operation state and see Col.5, Line 6-19).
As to Claim 26, Tzeng disclose the motor unit of claim 1, wherein the motor is a single-phase motor (M and see also Col.5, Line 6-19).
As to Claim 28, Tzeng disclose the motor controller of claim 27, wherein before the time point, the control circuit enables a waveform of the output phase signal to be asynchronous to a waveform of the input phase signal (see Col.4, line 22- Col.5, Line 19).
As to Claim 29, Tzeng disclose the motor controller of claim 27, wherein the control circuit stores an initial level of the input phase signal, and the first digital level is inverted to the initial level (see Fig.3, inverter 171 and also Col.4, line 22- Col.5, Line 19).
As to Claim 31, Tzeng disclose the motor controller of claim 27, wherein the motor controller enables the rotor to at least escape from the dead zone twice or more to operate in a start-up mode (see Col.3, Line 60- Col.4, Line 21).
As to Claim 32, Tzeng disclose the motor controller of claim 27, wherein the motor controller enables the rotor to at least escape from the dead zone twice or more to execute a forward and reverse rotation function (see Col.3, Line 60- Col.4, Line 21).
As to Claim 33, Tzeng disclose the motor controller of claim 27, wherein the control circuit enables the output phase signal to be asynchronous to the input phase signal during the first time duration and the second time duration (see Col.4, line 22- Col.5, Line 19).
As to Claim 34, Tzeng disclose the motor controller of claim 27, wherein the motor further comprises a first terminal and a second terminal, the first terminal has a first signal, the second terminal has a second signal, and a waveform of the first signal is synchronous and inverted to a waveform of the output phase signal (see Fig.3, inverter 171 and also Col.4, line 22- Col.5, Line 19).
As to Claim 35, Tzeng disclose the motor controller of claim 34, wherein a waveform of the second signal is synchronous and the same to a waveform of the output phase signal (see Col.4, line 22- Col.5, Line 19).
As to Claim 36, Tzeng disclose the motor controller of claim 27, wherein the first time duration is a first predetermined value, and the second time duration is a second predetermined value (see Fig.4, T0-T4).
As to Claim 43, Tzeng disclose the motor controller of claim 27, wherein the motor controller enables the motor to switch phases smoothly in a steady rotation state (normal operation state and see Col.5, Line 6-19).
As to Claim 44, Tzeng disclose the motor controller of claim 27, wherein the motor controller enables the motor to reduce noise in a steady rotation state (normal operation state and see Col.5, Line 6-19).
As to Claim 45, Tzeng disclose the motor controller of claim 27, wherein the motor is a single-phase motor (M and see also Col.5, Line 6-19).
As to Claim 46, Tzeng disclose the motor controller of claim 27, wherein the motor controller is applied to a symmetrical silicon steel plate mechanism (110 and see Col.3, Line 1-19).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tzeng in view of Kamatani (US 2015/0256328 A1).
As to Claim 25, Tzeng disclose the motor unit of claim 1, wherein the symmetrical silicon steel plate is applied to a stator mechanism of a single-phase motor (see also Col.3, Line 1-19), however, it doesn’t explicitly disclose:
a three-phase motor
Nonethless, Kamatani in its teachings as best illustrated by Fig.1 disclose the motor M1 is, e.g., a brushless DC motor, and the sensor circuit 2 is disposed around a rotor of the motor M1. The sensor circuit 2 includes sensors S1, S2, and S3 to detect rotation angles of U phase, V phase, and W phase, respectively. The sensors S1 to S3 is, e.g., a magnetic sensor including a hall device and detects magnetic flux density varying with the rotation of the motor M1. The sensor circuit 2 outputs sensor signals U1, V1, and W1 of detection results of the sensors S1 to S3 to the crossing-point phase detection circuit 10, the signal selection circuit 20, and the crossing-point level detection circuit 50 of the phase detector 1 (see [0036])
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to apply the symmetrical silicon steel plate to a stator mechanism of a three-phase motor as thought by Kamatani within the teachings of Tzeng in order to allow the stator to carry more magnetic flux for a given magnetizing current to produce torque efficiently.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure (US 2012/0242264 A1: A driving device capable of driving a motor more efficiently is provided. A zero-crossing detection comparator 10 compares a pair of Hall signals H+ and H- having reverse phases and representing a rotor position of a fan motor 6, and generates a level-shifted zero-crossing detection signal S1 at each zero-crossing timing when the Hall signals cross each other. A control circuit 20 receives the zero-crossing detection signal S1, switches a driving phase at each zero-crossing timing to rotationally drive the motor, and regeneratively controls the motor during a duration from a first time point ahead of each zero-crossing timing by a first time to a second time point behind each zero-crossing timing by a second time width shorter than the first time width - see [Abstract])
/GABRIEL AGARED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2846