DETAILED ACTION
Following prior arts are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20090195334 A1 (Goi)
US 20130043954 A1 (Chow)
US 20200058706 A1 (Fig.2A, Fig.2B)
US 20210203372 A1 (Fig.3)
Claim Objection (Allowable Subject Matter)
Claims 4, 6, 11, 13, 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to prior art rejection have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for following reason.
Re: Prior art rejection of independent claims
Applicant’s published specification para 23 describes what can be considered as disposed on a surface. Interpreting the amended claim in light of the specification Goi teaches the amended claim. Because the filters 12 and 13 are disposed to the offsite surface of Power amplifier 11 (para 35, Fig. 1 & 4) in the multilayered substrate.
Therefore, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive
Re: Prior art rejection of dependent claims
Applicant has presented no additional argument, other than arguments already presented with respect to independent claims. Therefore, the arguments are similarly not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-10, 12, 14-16, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goi in view of Chow.
Regarding Claim 1. Goi teaches a radio-frequency module [(para 47, 41, Fig.2)] comprising: a module substrate including a first major surface [(Bottom layer)] opposite to a second major surface [((top surface Fig.2B)] ): a plurality of electronic components including at least one passive component or at least one active component disposed at the first major surface and including at least one passive component or at least one active component disposed at the second major surface: [(Applicant’s published specification para 23 describes what can be considered as disposed on a surface. Interpreting the amended claim in light of the specification Goi teaches the amended claim. Because the filters 12 and 13 are disposed to the offsite surface of Power amplifier 11 (para 35, Fig. 1 & 4) in the multilayered substrate. )] and an external connection terminal for power supply (#30 connected to VCC1 and VCC2) disposed at the second major surface, wherein the plurality of electronic components include a first electronic component disposed at the second major surface, the first electronic component including an active circuit (#11) coupled to the external connection terminal for power supply, and a second electronic component (Capacitor 15) disposed at the second major surface [(“power amplifier IC 11, a chip inductor 14 and chip capacitors 15a to 15d mounted on the upper surface of the multilayered substrate 10”, par 47)] , the second electronic component including a capacitor coupled between a path connecting the external connection terminal for power supply to the active circuit and ground [(Fig.3; C24 is connecting the VCC terminal to the active circuit and ground. C24 is 15C or 15d)] , and the first electronic component is disposed closer to the second electronic component disposed at the second major surface. [(Fig.2B)]
Goi does not explicitly show that first electronic component is disposed closer to the second electronic component than any other electronic component
However, given that in Fig.3 C24 is directly connected to the amplifier, it would make reasonable design choice to lay it out as the closest, additionally, in the same/related field of endeavor, Chow teaches such capacitor is closest to the amplifier [(para 6 & Fig.3)]
Therefore, in light of above discussion it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of the prior arts because such combination would provide predictable result with no change of their respective functionalities.
Claim 2. The radio-frequency module according to claim 1, wherein the second electronic component is disposed closer to the first electronic component than any other electronic component disposed at the second major surface. [(Chow para 6 & Fig.3)]
Claim 3. The radio-frequency module according to claim 1, wherein the active circuit is a control circuit configured to control a power amplifier. [(Goi teaches power amplifier, control circuit is implied)]
Claim 5. The radio-frequency module according to claim 1, wherein the active circuit is a low-noise amplifier. [(while Goi or Chow does not explicitly shows LNA amplifier, examiner takes official notice that on it is well known the on the Rx side such as Fig.5 of Goi low noise amplifier is used, and such amplifier have a close capacitor as well)]
Claim 7. The radio-frequency module according to claim 1, wherein the active circuit is a power amplifier. [(Goi teaches power amplifier)]
Claim 8. The radio-frequency module according to claim 1, wherein the second electronic component is a semiconductor component. [(Goi teaches semiconductor capacitor)]
Claim 9-10, 12,14-15. See analyses of claims 1-3, 5 & 7-8
Claim 16, 19: See analysis of claims 1 & 8 and note a third electronic component such as inductor (Goi Fig.2B #14 L12 of Fig.3) and consider Chow showed the capacitor being the closest.
Claim 20. The radio-frequency module according to claim 16, wherein the module substrate is a multi-layer substrate. [(Goi Fig.2)]
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAHAN UR RAHAMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426