DETAILED ACTION
The Examiner acknowledges the amendments received 02 March 2026. Claims 3-4 are cancelled; claims 1-2 and 5-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see “Remarks”, filed 02 March 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under Hood have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Grace.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
In view of the amendments received 02 March 2026, the Examiner withdraws the rejection of claims 5-7 and 16-18 under 35 USC 112, second paragraph, or 35 USC 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-11 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Grace (U.S. 2015/0105796). Grace discloses (par. 0014) a proximal end; and a distal end having an elongated cutting portion, wherein the elongated cutting portion has an edge (sharpened for cutting extending a predetermined distance on a first side of the tool, around the distal end, and extending the predetermined distance on a second side of the tool, wherein the elongated cutting portion is wedge-shaped having a first flat surface on a first side of the tool, a second flat surface on a second side of the tool, wherein the second side is opposite of the first side, and wherein the first flat surface tapers to the second flat surface such that the first flat surface is wider than the second flat surface. (“a tubular outer member comprising a ramped surface at a distal end of a bore of the tubular outer member, the ramped surface tapering inwardly proceeding distally to constrict the bore of the tubular outer member; a tubular inner member carried within the bore of the tubular outer member, a distal end of the tubular inner member comprising a plurality of resiliently flexible blades, the tubular inner member being movable from a retracted position to an actuated position and vice versa relative to the tubular outer member, in the retracted position the resiliently flexible blades being disposed within the bore of the tubular outer member, and in the actuated position the resiliently flexible blades at least partially extending from the tubular outer member and the plurality of resiliently flexible blades engaging the ramped surface such that the plurality of resiliently flexible blades are deflected radially inwardly relative to the retracted position”).
Regarding claim 2, Grace discloses (par. 0014) the edge is a radial blade.
As to claims 1 and 5-7, the functional language and statement of intended use have been carefully considered but are not considered to impart any further structural limitations over the prior art. Since Grace utilizes a surgical tool including a cutting portion for removing an implant as claimed by the applicant, Grace is therefore capable of being used in removing a tibial implant while the tool is inserted in a knee. In addition nothing prevents Grace’s cutting tool from being used in the knee of a patient. Therefore, they are capable of used in this location.
Regarding claim 8, Grace discloses (par. 0014) the proximal end includes a connection interface (“an actuator operably connected to the tubular inner member, the actuator being actuatable to move the tubular inner member from the retracted position to the actuated position and vice versa.”).
Regarding claim 9, Grace discloses (par. 0140) a shaft between the distal end and the connection interface.
Regarding claim 10, Grace discloses (par. 0014) a height of the elongated cutting portion is shorter than a height of the shaft.
Regarding claim 11, Grace discloses (Figures 10A-10D) a proximal end; a distal end having an elongated cutting portion, wherein the elongated cutting portion has an edge sharpened for cutting extending a predetermined distance on a first side of the tool, around the distal end, and extending the predetermined distance on a second side of the tool; and a shaft between the proximal end and the distal end, wherein the elongated cutting portion is offset by an offset angle relative to the shaft (par. 0189).
Regarding claim 13, Grace discloses (par. 0014) the edge is a radial blade.
Regarding claim 14, Grace discloses (par. 0014) the elongated cutting portion has a first flat surface on a first side of the tool, a second flat surface on a second side of the tool, wherein the second side is opposite of the first side.
Regarding claim 15, Grace discloses (par. 0014) the first flat surface tapers to the second flat surface.
As to claims 11 and 16-18, the functional language and statement of intended use have been carefully considered but are not considered to impart any further structural limitations over the prior art. Since Grace utilizes a surgical tool including a cutting portion for removing an implant as claimed by the applicant, Grace is therefore capable of being used in removing a tibial implant while the tool is inserted in a knee. In addition nothing prevents Grace’s cutting tool from being used in the knee of a patient. Therefore, they are capable of used in this location.
Regarding claim 19, Grace discloses (par. 0140) a shaft between the distal end and the connection interface.
Regarding claim 20, Grace discloses (par. 0014) a height of the elongated cutting portion is shorter than a height of the shaft.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grace (U.S. 2015/0105796). Grace discloses the claimed invention except for the offset angle ranges from 35 degrees to 45 degrees. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide an offset angle of this range, since it has been held that discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEBORAH L MALAMUD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792