DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: The “acquisition unit”, “identification unit”, “setting unit”, “correction unit”, and “printing control unit” in claims 1-8 and 10.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The “acquisition unit”, “identification unit”, “setting unit”, “correction unit”, and “printing control unit” are being interpreted to cover the corresponding processor 31a described in the specification (par. 50-59) as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kanno (US 20210004186 A1).
Referring to claims 1, 5, 6, and 8:
Kanno discloses a printing control apparatus (par. 67-69: printing device 105, comprising a main board 301 and processor 306 running a printing control program, print driver OS 422, to control operations) comprising:
an acquisition unit configured to acquire a printing job from an external computer (par. 81: the printer device OS 422 examines whether or not a print job has been received from the terminal apparatus 104);
an identification unit configured to identify a type of program, i.e., the OS, operating in the external computer (par. 94, 111-113: printer device configuration generation unit 426 identifies the type of the OS 412 operating on the terminal apparatus 104);
a setting unit configured to cause a browser of the external computer to display a setting screen corresponding to the identified type , and receive setting of a user via the setting screen (par. 150: printer device configuration generation unit 426 returns the inquired attribute values to the terminal apparatus 104 to display the print setting menu in a browser as shown in Figs. 8-9);
a correction unit configured to correct the printing job according to the received setting (par. 125: printer driver 416 generates print data (job for printing) from the data created by the application software 415 based on print setting details displayed or set in the print setting menu); and
a printing control unit configured to cause a printer to execute printing based on the corrected printing job (par. 85, 127: software 417 transmits the print data generated by the printer driver 416 to the printer device 105 as a print job, and printing unit 424 generates a print image based on the print image information to be printer by printing unit 315).
Referring to claim 7:
Kanno discloses the identification unit also identifies a type of the printing job, and the setting unit causes the setting screen also corresponding to the type of the printing job to be displayed (par. 83: printer device OS 422 analyzes the received print job to separate the print job into option control information and print image information, and printer driver 416 determines whether or not an extended print setting, which is detailed print setting information, is to be displayed in accordance with the received operation instruction, as “OTHER SETTINGS” illustrated in FIG. 8 and FIG. 9).
Referring to claim 9:
This claim is the method for performing the corresponding functions of the apparatus as set forth in claim 1 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons as presented above.
Referring to claim 10:
This claim is the product or article of manufacture (i.e., a non-transitory computer readable storage medium) storing a printer control program for causing a computer to function as the apparatus as set forth in claim 1. Kanno discloses such a product for this purpose (par. 204). Therefore, this claim is rejected for the same reasons as presented above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanno as applied to claim1 above, and further in view of Igawa (US 20140132978 A1).
Referring to claim 2:
While not disclosed by Kanno, identifying the type of the program based on access information from a browser of the external computer is taught for example by Igawa (par.64-65). It would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kanno in view of Igawa whereby the identification unit identifies the type of the program based on access information from a browser of the external computer in order to determine the display mode for the print setting screen.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanno as applied to claim1 above, and further in view of Kolhi et al (US 20160380900 A1).
Referring to claim 3:
While not disclosed by Kanno, issuing a network search packet and identifying the type of the program or OS based on a response to the network search packet is taught for example by Kolhi et al (par. 56: active OS fingerprinting). It would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kanno in view of Kolhi et al whereby the identification unit issues a network search packet, and identifies the type of the program based on a response to the network search packet in order to provide an accurate and rapid method of determining an OS running on a networked computer that is both flexible and comprehensive.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanno as applied to claim1 above, and further in view of Minakawa et al (US 20190196761 A1).
Referring to claim 4:
While not disclosed by Kanno, identifying the type of the program or OS based on an option selected by the user is taught for example by Minakawa et al (par. 67). It would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kanno in view of Minakawa et al whereby the identification unit presents the user with a plurality of options corresponding to the type of the program, and identifies the type of the program based on an option selected by the user in order to acquire program information not otherwise identified and thereby provide accurate information for the print setting screen.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed (i.e., a descriptive title that distinguishes the invention and is not a generic or general description). The new title should take into account any amendments to the claims to best indicate the claimed invention.
The title must be as short and specific as possible (see 37 CFR 1.72(a)). Applicant should distill a description of the claimed invention into as few words as possible to capture the essence of the claimed invention. Rather than reciting statutory categories (apparatus, method, product) and some generic descriptor (e.g., information processing), a title that is specific, but characterizes the essence or key aspect(s) of the claimed invention, should be submitted.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07 February 2024 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98. Accordingly, the IDS has been considered by the examiner.
Applicant has provided an explanation of relevance of cited document US 202110334048 A1 (corresponds to JP 2021174196 A) on page 1 of the specification.
Cited Art
The prior art and other references made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Morooka et al (US 7102783 B2) disclose a client computer has a group printer driver which provides an interface as one printer driver by comprehensively managing a plurality of registered member printer drivers. This group printer driver provides a setting user interface for comprehensively setting setting items in the printer drivers, and a designating user interface for designating a desired one of these printer drivers. When a member printer driver is designated on the designating user interface, the individual user interface of the designated member printer driver is presented to make it possible to set individual items. This provides a user interface capable of efficiently and easily setting functions of a plurality of printers.
Kimura et al (US 7619765 B2) disclose a client server system which enables the user of a client computer to obtain the optimum printing result only by designating desired print settings, and to perform printing according to common print settings even if printers are modified or a new printer is added on a network. A favorite display module displays a print setting designating screen relating a printer. A data sending and receiving module transmits the print settings designated on the print setting designating screen by a user and an ID of a client computer to a server. A data sending and receiving module receives a printer driver adapted to the printer and print setting information from the server. A favorite setting changing module changes print settings of the printer driver according to the print setting information sent from the server. A favorite setting completion display module indicates that the changing of the print settings has been completed.
Kobayashi (US 10394503 B2) disclose an information processing device for controlling an output device capable of communication, the information processing device includes: circuitry configured to: receive an output setting of the output device including a combination of set values for a plurality of setting items; record, in response to determination of the output setting, the determined output setting including the combination of the set values for the setting items in a storage area; and present one or more output settings acquired from the storage area as a candidate to be reused.
Hirano (US 12026414 B2) discloses a printing system includes a printing device that returns, using IPP, a response to an inquiry of its printing capability to an information processing device, inclusive of information such that a printing settings screen is displayed on information processing device (see Fig. 5).
Mizoguchi (US 20060158674 A1) disclose a printer driver including: a user interface acquisition section for acquiring from an external print control device a user interface for allowing a user to make provisional print settings; a set value transmission section for transmitting to the print control device the provisional print settings using the user interface; and a print data generation section for acquiring ultimate print settings prepared on the basis of the provisional print settings transmitted to and in the print control device and for generating print data on the basis of the acquired ultimate print settings to transmit the print data to the print control device.
Hosomizo (US 20240402957 A1) discloses a computer-readable storage medium that stores computer-readable instructions supporting a general-purpose print program incorporated in an operating system of an information processing device. The instructions, when executed by a computer of the information processing device, cause the information processing device to obtain specific information to identify a selected printing device, obtain capability information indicating capabilities of the selected printing device, determine, in response to receiving a processing request from the general-purpose print program, whether the selected printing device is a virtual printer of a server on a network, based on the specific information, display a first print setting screen configured to accept print settings based on the capability information when the selected printing device is not the virtual printer, and display a second print setting screen configured to accept print settings based on common capabilities of printing devices connectable with the server when the selected printing device is the virtual printer.
Hirose (JP 2025-151911 A), by the assignee and not prior art, discloses a printing unit that performs printing in accordance with an instruction of an external computer. An acquisition unit acquires setting information of the external computer through communication with the external computer. A storage unit stores the setting information. An output unit outputs the setting information and performs processing for causing the external computer to perform setting using the setting information.
/Scott A Rogers/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683
07 February 2026