DETAILED ACTION
1. It is hereby acknowledged that 18/434912 the following papers have been received and placed of record in the file: Remark date 02/07/24.
2. The present application, file on or after March 16, 2013, is being examiner under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Objections
4. Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1, 11 disclose … in a case that a first target condition is met, receiving and demodulating…..
The use of phrase in a case, may be considered as the associated limitation does not necessarily need to occur.
The specification paragraph [0068] discloses, Optionally, the first target condition may include that a frequency domain resource occupied by the first target CORESET exceeds a target bandwidth, where the target bandwidth includes a bandwidth of a frequency domain unit currently deployed in a communication system and/or a maximum bandwidth supported by a terminal, and the frequency domain unit includes one of the following: cell, carrier, frequency band, and BWP.
The claims 1, 5 and 11 discloses physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) on a resource corresponding to the first target CORESET.
This phrase is also vague and unclear as to how the PDCCH is corresponding to the coreset. Does it mean the PDCCH belongs to coreset or does it mean something else?
The specification does not seem to provide further explanation.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claim(s) 1, 5, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Boroujeni (US 2020/0021419 A1), .
Regarding claim 1, Boroujeni teaches a physical downlink control channel reception method, comprising: obtaining, by a terminal, a control channel element (CCE)-resource element group (REG) mapping type of a first target control resource set (CORESET), wherein the CCE-REG mapping type comprises: a non-interleaved mapping type; (see Boroujeni Figs.1A-D, 9 paragraph [0082] explains…. The WTRU may receive the CCE-to-REG mapping that indicates a REG bundle corresponding to the CCE and use the CCE-to-REG mapping to identify the REGs for the WTRU. Depending on whether the CCE-to-REG mapping is interleaving or noninterleaving, the CCE-to-REG mapping may be based on different parameters. ….) and in a case that a first target condition is met, receiving and demodulating, by the terminal based on the CCE-REG mapping type being a non-interleaved mapping type, a first target physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmitted on a resource corresponding to the first target CORESET. (see Boroujeni paragraph [0082], explains… The WTRU may receive the CCE-to-REG mapping that indicates a REG bundle corresponding to the CCE and use the CCE-to-REG mapping to identify the REGs for the WTRU…. A REG bundle may be numbered based on the number of REG bundles in the control resource set, N.sub.bundle, (e.g., from 0 to N.sub.bundle−1). A CCE may be numbered based on the number of CCEs in the control resource set, N.sub.CCE, (e.g., from 0 to N.sub.CCE−1)…. Paragraph [0119] PDCCH candidates may be mapped to CCEs and/or REGs such that the REGs included in a PDCCH candidate may be associated with a same OFDM symbol. For example, a PDCCH candidate may only include REGs on the same OFDM symbol. A WTRU may receive information about the OFDM symbol corresponding to a PDCCH associated with the WTRU, and may search for the PDCCH based on the received information. If the WTRU receives information about the OFDM symbol corresponding to a PDCCH associated with the WTRU, the WTRU may reduce effective search space for the WTRU (e.g., by so doing, the WTRU may reduce complexity of blind detection of the PDCCH). This information may be communicated using common physical control channel (e.g., common PDCCH) and/or other mechanisms.)
Regarding claim 5, Boroujeni teaches a physical downlink control channel transmission method, comprising: obtaining, by a network-side device, a control channel element (CCE)-resource element group (REG) mapping type of a first target control resource set (CORESET), wherein the CCE-REG mapping type is a non-interleaved mapping type(see Boroujeni Figs.1A-D, 9 paragraph [0082] explains…. The WTRU may receive the CCE-to-REG mapping that indicates a REG bundle corresponding to the CCE and use the CCE-to-REG mapping to identify the REGs for the WTRU. Depending on whether the CCE-to-REG mapping is interleaving or noninterleaving, the CCE-to-REG mapping may be based on different parameters. ….) ; and transmitting, by the network-side device based on the CCE-REG mapping type being a non-interleaved mapping type, a first target physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) on a resource corresponding to the first target CORESET. (see Boroujeni paragraph [0082], explains The WTRU may receive the CCE-to-REG mapping that indicates a REG bundle corresponding to the CCE and use the CCE-to-REG mapping to identify the REGs for the WTRU…. A REG bundle may be numbered based on the number of REG bundles in the control resource set, N.sub.bundle, (e.g., from 0 to N.sub.bundle−1). A CCE may be numbered based on the number of CCEs in the control resource set, N.sub.CCE, (e.g., from 0 to N.sub.CCE−1)…. Paragraph [0119] PDCCH candidates may be mapped to CCEs and/or REGs such that the REGs included in a PDCCH candidate may be associated with a same OFDM symbol. For example, a PDCCH candidate may only include REGs on the same OFDM symbol. A WTRU may receive information about the OFDM symbol corresponding to a PDCCH associated with the WTRU, and may search for the PDCCH based on the received information. If the WTRU receives information about the OFDM symbol corresponding to a PDCCH associated with the WTRU, the WTRU may reduce effective search space for the WTRU (e.g., by so doing, the WTRU may reduce complexity of blind detection of the PDCCH). This information may be communicated using common physical control channel (e.g., common PDCCH) and/or other mechanisms.)
Regarding claim 11, Boroujeni teaches a terminal, comprising a processor, a memory, and a program or instructions stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein the program or the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the terminal to perform: obtaining a control channel element (CCE)-resource element group (REG) mapping type of a first target control resource set (CORESET), wherein the CCE-REG mapping type comprises: a non-interleaved mapping type; (see Boroujeni Figs.1A-D, 9 paragraph [0082] explains…. The WTRU may receive the CCE-to-REG mapping that indicates a REG bundle corresponding to the CCE and use the CCE-to-REG mapping to identify the REGs for the WTRU. Depending on whether the CCE-to-REG mapping is interleaving or noninterleaving, the CCE-to-REG mapping may be based on different parameters. ….) and in a case that a first target condition is met, receiving and demodulating, based on the CCE-REG mapping type being a non-interleaved mapping type, a first target physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmitted on a resource corresponding to the first target CORESET. (see Boroujeni paragraph [0082], explains The WTRU may receive the CCE-to-REG mapping that indicates a REG bundle corresponding to the CCE and use the CCE-to-REG mapping to identify the REGs for the WTRU…. A REG bundle may be numbered based on the number of REG bundles in the control resource set, N.sub.bundle, (e.g., from 0 to N.sub.bundle−1). A CCE may be numbered based on the number of CCEs in the control resource set, N.sub.CCE, (e.g., from 0 to N.sub.CCE−1)…. Paragraph [0119] PDCCH candidates may be mapped to CCEs and/or REGs such that the REGs included in a PDCCH candidate may be associated with a same OFDM symbol. For example, a PDCCH candidate may only include REGs on the same OFDM symbol. A WTRU may receive information about the OFDM symbol corresponding to a PDCCH associated with the WTRU, and may search for the PDCCH based on the received information. If the WTRU receives information about the OFDM symbol corresponding to a PDCCH associated with the WTRU, the WTRU may reduce effective search space for the WTRU (e.g., by so doing, the WTRU may reduce complexity of blind detection of the PDCCH). This information may be communicated using common physical control channel (e.g., common PDCCH) and/or other mechanisms.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained through the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
8. Claim 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Boroujeni (US 2020/021419 A1) in view of WEI (WO2021/018277A1)
Regarding claim 2, Boroujeni taught the method according to claim 1, as described above. Boroujeni alone does not explicitly disclose these limitations however combined with Wei teaches wherein the first target condition comprises: that a frequency domain resource occupied by the first target CORESET exceeds a target bandwidth, wherein the target bandwidth comprises a bandwidth of a frequency domain unit currently deployed in a communication system and/or a maximum bandwidth supported by a terminal, and the frequency domain unit comprises one of the following: cell, carrier, frequency band, and bandwidth part (BWP). (see Wei paragraph [0095] explains…Wireless communication systems may use control information to monitor, configure, control, or otherwise manage various aspects of wireless communications between base station 205 and 210. The control information may be communicated on the control channel (e.g., PDCCH) and may generally provide grants (e.g., uplink grants and/or downlink grants) , configuration information, etc., for such wireless communications and/or for synchronization/reference signals associated with such communications. The control information may be conveyed in a downlink control information (DCI) of the PDCCH configured to convey the relevant control information. In some wireless communication systems, the control information may be communicated in the first one, two, or three symbols of a slot and using one or more of the channels, subbands, frequencies, etc., in the slot….paragraph [0096]… UE 210 generally monitors for control information based on a configured control resource set (which may also be referred to as a CORESET) , which may broadly include a set of time and/or frequency resources in which control information is conveyed. For example, the control resource set in some wireless communication systems is defined by a set of frequency and/or time domain resources, e.g., N .sub.RB resource blocks (RBs) in the frequency domain and N .sub.symb {1, 2, 3} symbols in the time domain. The PDCCH may include one or more CCEs, and each CCE may include six REGs, where a REG equals one RB during one symbol)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to control or support resource set design for bandwidth reduced low-tier user equipment (See background )
Regarding claim 12, Boroujeni taught the terminal according to claim 11, as described above. Boroujeni alone does not explicitly disclose these limitations however combined with Wei teaches wherein the first target condition comprises: that a frequency domain resource occupied by the first target CORESET exceeds a target bandwidth, wherein the target bandwidth comprises a bandwidth of a frequency domain unit currently deployed in a communication system and/or a maximum bandwidth supported by a terminal, and the frequency domain unit comprises one of the following: cell, carrier, frequency band, and bandwidth part (BWP). (see Wei paragraph [0095] explains…Wireless communication systems may use control information to monitor, configure, control, or otherwise manage various aspects of wireless communications between base station 205 and 210. The control information may be communicated on the control channel (e.g., PDCCH) and may generally provide grants (e.g., uplink grants and/or downlink grants) , configuration information, etc., for such wireless communications and/or for synchronization/reference signals associated with such communications. The control information may be conveyed in a downlink control information (DCI) of the PDCCH configured to convey the relevant control information. In some wireless communication systems, the control information may be communicated in the first one, two, or three symbols of a slot and using one or more of the channels, subbands, frequencies, etc., in the slot….paragraph [0096]… UE 210 generally monitors for control information based on a configured control resource set (which may also be referred to as a CORESET) , which may broadly include a set of time and/or frequency resources in which control information is conveyed. For example, the control resource set in some wireless communication systems is defined by a set of frequency and/or time domain resources, e.g., N .sub.RB resource blocks (RBs) in the frequency domain and N .sub.symb {1, 2, 3} symbols in the time domain. The PDCCH may include one or more CCEs, and each CCE may include six REGs, where a REG equals one RB during one symbol)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to control or support resource set design for bandwidth reduced low-tier user equipment (See background )
9. Claims 3, 6, 10, 13, 15, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Boroujeni (US 2020/021419 A1) in view of HWANG et al(US 11804933 B2)
Regarding claim 3, Boroujeni taught the method according to claim 1, as described above. Boroujeni alone does not explicitly disclose these limitations however combined with Hwang teaches wherein the first target CORESET is located on an initial bandwidth part (BWP) of the terminal. (see Hwang column 23-line 41 to column 24- line 18 explains…. The PDCCH is transmitted in a control resource set (CORESET). A CORESET is defined as a set of REGs with a given numerology (e.g., an SCS, a CP length, or the like). A plurality of CORESETs for one UE may overlap with each other in the time/frequency domain…also see claim 1)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to further improve access to a remote equipment as well as improving latency and error (See background )
Regarding claim 6, Boroujeni taught the method according to claim 5, as described above. Boroujeni alone does not explicitly disclose these limitations however combined with Hwang teaches wherein the first target CORESET is associated with at least one of the following search space SS sets: type-0 PDCCH common search space (CSS) set; type-0A PDCCH CSS set; type-1 PDCCH CSS set; type-2 PDCCH CSS set; type-3 PDCCH CSS set; or UE specific search space (USS) set. (see Hwang column 23-line 41 to column 24- line 18 explains…. The PDCCH is transmitted in a control resource set (CORESET). A CORESET is defined as a set of REGs with a given numerology (e.g., an SCS, a CP length, or the like). A plurality of CORESETs for one UE may overlap with each other in the time/frequency domain…also see claim 1)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to further improve access to a remote location as well as improving latency and error (See background )
Regarding claim 10, Boroujeni taught the method according to claim 5, as described above. Boroujeni alone does not explicitly disclose these limitations however combined with Hwang teaches wherein the first target CORESET is located on an initial bandwidth part (BWP) of a terminal. (see Hwang column 23-line 41 to column 24- line 18 explains…. The PDCCH is transmitted in a control resource set (CORESET). A CORESET is defined as a set of REGs with a given numerology (e.g., an SCS, a CP length, or the like). A plurality of CORESETs for one UE may overlap with each other in the time/frequency domain…also see claim 1)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to further improve access to a remote equipment as well as improving latency and error (See background )
Regarding claim 13, Boroujeni taught the terminal according to claim 11, as described above. Boroujeni alone does not explicitly disclose these limitations however combined with Hwang teaches wherein the first target CORESET is located on an initial bandwidth part (BWP) of the terminal. (see Hwang column 23-line 41 to column 24- line 18 explains…. The PDCCH is transmitted in a control resource set (CORESET). A CORESET is defined as a set of REGs with a given numerology (e.g., an SCS, a CP length, or the like). A plurality of CORESETs for one UE may overlap with each other in the time/frequency domain…also see claim 1)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to further improve access to a remote equipment as well as improving latency and error (See background )
Regarding claim 15, Boroujeni alone does not explicitly disclose these limitations however combined with Hwang teaches a network-side device, comprising a processor, a memory, and a program or instructions stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein when the program or the instructions are executed by the processor, the steps of the physical downlink control channel transmission method according to claim 5 are implemented. (see Hwang column 23-line 41 to column 24- line 18 explains…. The PDCCH is transmitted in a control resource set (CORESET). A CORESET is defined as a set of REGs with a given numerology (e.g., an SCS, a CP length, or the like). A plurality of CORESETs for one UE may overlap with each other in the time/frequency domain…also see claim 1)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to further improve access to a remote location as well as improving latency and error (See background )
Regarding claim 16, the modified Boroujeni taught the network-side device according to claim 15,as described above. The modified Boroujeni further teaches wherein the first target CORESET is associated with at least one of the following search space SS sets: type-0 PDCCH common search space (CSS) set; type-0A PDCCH CSS set; type-1 PDCCH CSS set; type-2 PDCCH CSS set; type-3 PDCCH CSS set; or UE specific search space (USS) set. (see Hwang column 23-line 41 to column 24- line 18 explains…. The PDCCH is transmitted in a control resource set (CORESET). A CORESET is defined as a set of REGs with a given numerology (e.g., an SCS, a CP length, or the like). A plurality of CORESETs for one UE may overlap with each other in the time/frequency domain…also see claim 1)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to further improve access to a remote location as well as improving latency and error (See background )
10. Claims 4, 7, 9, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Boroujeni (US 2020/021419 A1) in view of Seo et al(US 2020/0162954A1)
Regarding claim 4, Boroujeni taught the method according to claim 1, as described above. Boroujeni alone does not explicitly disclose these limitations however combined with Seo further teaches wherein the CCE-REG mapping type of the first target CORESET is configured by a network-side device or specified by a protocol. (see Seo paragraphs [0037],[0039]-[0040] explains …. A control resource set (CORESET) and a search space (SS) are briefly described now. The CORESET may be a set of resources for control signal transmission and the search space may be aggregation of control channel candidates for perform blind detection….An eNB may signal information regarding a CORESET to a UE. For example, a CORESET configuration for each CORESET may be signaled to the UE, and the CORESET configuration may be signaled in time duration (e.g., 1/2/3 symbol) of the corresponding CORESET, a frequency domain resource of the corresponding CORESET, precoder granularity, an REG-to-CCE mapping type (e.g., interleaved/non-Interleaved), a REG bundling size and an interleaver size in the case of an interleaved REG-to-CCE mapping type, and so on)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to provide support for measurement and reporting beams for PDCCH (See background )
Regarding claim 7, Boroujeni taught the method according to claim 5, as described above. Boroujeni alone does not explicitly disclose these limitations however combined with Seo further teaches wherein in a case that a first target condition is met, the CCE-REG mapping type of the first target CORESET is a non-interleaved mapping type. (see Seo paragraphs [0037],[0039]-[0040] explains …. A control resource set (CORESET) and a search space (SS) are briefly described now. The CORESET may be a set of resources for control signal transmission and the search space may be aggregation of control channel candidates for perform blind detection….An eNB may signal information regarding a CORESET to a UE. For example, a CORESET configuration for each CORESET may be signaled to the UE, and the CORESET configuration may be signaled in time duration (e.g., 1/2/3 symbol) of the corresponding CORESET, a frequency domain resource of the corresponding CORESET, precoder granularity, an REG-to-CCE mapping type (e.g., interleaved/non-Interleaved), a REG bundling size and an interleaver size in the case of an interleaved REG-to-CCE mapping type, and so on)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to provide support for measurement and reporting beams for PDCCH (See background )
Regarding claim 9, Boroujeni taught the method according to claim 5, as described above. Boroujeni alone does not explicitly disclose these limitations however combined with Seo further teaches wherein a time domain resource occupied by the first target CORESET comprises three orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols, or the time domain resource occupied by the first target CORESET comprises six OFDM symbols. (see Seo paragraphs [0037],[0039]-[0040] explains …. A control resource set (CORESET) and a search space (SS) are briefly described now. The CORESET may be a set of resources for control signal transmission and the search space may be aggregation of control channel candidates for perform blind detection….An eNB may signal information regarding a CORESET to a UE. For example, a CORESET configuration for each CORESET may be signaled to the UE, and the CORESET configuration may be signaled in time duration (e.g., 1/2/3 symbol) of the corresponding CORESET, a frequency domain resource of the corresponding CORESET, precoder granularity, an REG-to-CCE mapping type (e.g., interleaved/non-Interleaved), a REG bundling size and an interleaver size in the case of an interleaved REG-to-CCE mapping type, and so on)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to provide support for measurement and reporting beams for PDCCH (See background )
Regarding claim 14, Boroujeni taught the terminal according to claim 11, as described above. Boroujeni alone does not explicitly disclose these limitations however combined with Seo further teaches wherein the CCE-REG mapping type of the first target CORESET is configured by a network-side device or specified by a protocol. (see Seo paragraphs [0037],[0039]-[0040] explains …. A control resource set (CORESET) and a search space (SS) are briefly described now. The CORESET may be a set of resources for control signal transmission and the search space may be aggregation of control channel candidates for perform blind detection….An eNB may signal information regarding a CORESET to a UE. For example, a CORESET configuration for each CORESET may be signaled to the UE, and the CORESET configuration may be signaled in time duration (e.g., 1/2/3 symbol) of the corresponding CORESET, a frequency domain resource of the corresponding CORESET, precoder granularity, an REG-to-CCE mapping type (e.g., interleaved/non-Interleaved), a REG bundling size and an interleaver size in the case of an interleaved REG-to-CCE mapping type, and so on)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to provide support for measurement and reporting beams for PDCCH (See background )
11. Claim 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Boroujeni (US 2020/021419 A1) in view of Seo et al(US 2020/0162954A1) in further view of WEI (WO2021/018277A1)
Regarding claim 8, the modified Boroujeni taught the method according to claim 7, as described above. Boroujeni alone does not explicitly disclose these limitations however combined with WEI further teaches wherein the first target condition comprises: that a frequency domain resource occupied by the first target CORESET exceeds a target bandwidth, wherein the target bandwidth comprises a bandwidth of a frequency domain unit currently deployed in a communication system and/or a maximum bandwidth supported by a terminal, and the frequency domain unit comprises one of the following: cell, carrier, frequency band, and bandwidth part (BWP). (see Wei paragraph [0095] explains…Wireless communication systems may use control information to monitor, configure, control, or otherwise manage various aspects of wireless communications between base station 205 and 210. The control information may be communicated on the control channel (e.g., PDCCH) and may generally provide grants (e.g., uplink grants and/or downlink grants) , configuration information, etc., for such wireless communications and/or for synchronization/reference signals associated with such communications. The control information may be conveyed in a downlink control information (DCI) of the PDCCH configured to convey the relevant control information. In some wireless communication systems, the control information may be communicated in the first one, two, or three symbols of a slot and using one or more of the channels, subbands, frequencies, etc., in the slot….paragraph [0096]… UE 210 generally monitors for control information based on a configured control resource set (which may also be referred to as a CORESET) , which may broadly include a set of time and/or frequency resources in which control information is conveyed. For example, the control resource set in some wireless communication systems is defined by a set of frequency and/or time domain resources, e.g., N .sub.RB resource blocks (RBs) in the frequency domain and N .sub.symb {1, 2, 3} symbols in the time domain. The PDCCH may include one or more CCEs, and each CCE may include six REGs, where a REG equals one RB during one symbol)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to control or support resource set design for bandwidth reduced low-tier user equipment (See background )
12. Claims 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Boroujeni (US 2020/021419 A1) in view of HWANG et al(US 11804933 B2) in further view of Seo et al(US 2020/0162954A1)
Regarding claim 17, the modified Boroujeni taught the network-side device according to claim 15, as described above. Boroujeni alone does not explicitly disclose these limitations however combined with Seo further teaches wherein in a case that a first target condition is met, the CCE-REG mapping type of the first target CORESET is a non-interleaved mapping type. (see Seo paragraphs [0037],[0039]-[0040] explains …. A control resource set (CORESET) and a search space (SS) are briefly described now. The CORESET may be a set of resources for control signal transmission and the search space may be aggregation of control channel candidates for perform blind detection….An eNB may signal information regarding a CORESET to a UE. For example, a CORESET configuration for each CORESET may be signaled to the UE, and the CORESET configuration may be signaled in time duration (e.g., 1/2/3 symbol) of the corresponding CORESET, a frequency domain resource of the corresponding CORESET, precoder granularity, an REG-to-CCE mapping type (e.g., interleaved/non-Interleaved), a REG bundling size and an interleaver size in the case of an interleaved REG-to-CCE mapping type, and so on)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to provide support for measurement and reporting beamms for PDCCH (See background )
Regarding claim 19, the modified Boroujeni taught the network-side device according to claim 15, as described above. Boroujeni alone does not explicitly disclose these limitations however combined with Seo further teaches wherein a time domain resource occupied by the first target CORESET comprises three orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols, or the time domain resource occupied by the first target CORESET comprises six OFDM symbols. (see Seo paragraphs [0037],[0039]-[0040] explains …. A control resource set (CORESET) and a search space (SS) are briefly described now. The CORESET may be a set of resources for control signal transmission and the search space may be aggregation of control channel candidates for perform blind detection….An eNB may signal information regarding a CORESET to a UE. For example, a CORESET configuration for each CORESET may be signaled to the UE, and the CORESET configuration may be signaled in time duration (e.g., 1/2/3 symbol) of the corresponding CORESET, a frequency domain resource of the corresponding CORESET, precoder granularity, an REG-to-CCE mapping type (e.g., interleaved/non-Interleaved), a REG bundling size and an interleaver size in the case of an interleaved REG-to-CCE mapping type, and so on)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to provide support for measurement and reporting beams for PDCCH (See background )
13. Claims 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Boroujeni (US 2020/021419 A1) in view of HWANG et al(US 11804933 B2) in further view of Seo et al(US 2020/0162954A1) in further view of WEI (WO2021/018277A1)
Regarding claim 18, the modified Boroujeni taught the network-side device according to claim 17, as described above. Boroujeni alone does not explicitly disclose these limitations however combined with Wei further teaches wherein the first target condition comprises: that a frequency domain resource occupied by the first target CORESET exceeds a target bandwidth, wherein the target bandwidth comprises a bandwidth of a frequency domain unit currently deployed in a communication system and/or a maximum bandwidth supported by a terminal, and the frequency domain unit comprises one of the following: cell, carrier, frequency band, and bandwidth part (BWP). (see Wei paragraph [0095] explains…Wireless communication systems may use control information to monitor, configure, control, or otherwise manage various aspects of wireless communications between base station 205 and 210. The control information may be communicated on the control channel (e.g., PDCCH) and may generally provide grants (e.g., uplink grants and/or downlink grants) , configuration information, etc., for such wireless communications and/or for synchronization/reference signals associated with such communications. The control information may be conveyed in a downlink control information (DCI) of the PDCCH configured to convey the relevant control information. In some wireless communication systems, the control information may be communicated in the first one, two, or three symbols of a slot and using one or more of the channels, subbands, frequencies, etc., in the slot….paragraph [0096]… UE 210 generally monitors for control information based on a configured control resource set (which may also be referred to as a CORESET) , which may broadly include a set of time and/or frequency resources in which control information is conveyed. For example, the control resource set in some wireless communication systems is defined by a set of frequency and/or time domain resources, e.g., N .sub.RB resource blocks (RBs) in the frequency domain and N .sub.symb {1, 2, 3} symbols in the time domain. The PDCCH may include one or more CCEs, and each CCE may include six REGs, where a REG equals one RB during one symbol)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to control or support resource set design for bandwidth reduced low-tier user equipment (See background )
14. Claims 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Boroujeni (US 2020/021419 A1) in view of HWANG et al(US 11804933 B2) in further view of WEI (WO2021/018277A1)
Regarding claim 20, the modified Boroujeni taught the network-side device according to claim 15, as described above. Boroujeni alone does not explicitly disclose these limitations however combined with Wei further teaches wherein the first target CORESET is located on an initial bandwidth part (BWP) of a terminal. (see Wei paragraph [0095] explains…Wireless communication systems may use control information to monitor, configure, control, or otherwise manage various aspects of wireless communications between base station 205 and 210. The control information may be communicated on the control channel (e.g., PDCCH) and may generally provide grants (e.g., uplink grants and/or downlink grants) , configuration information, etc., for such wireless communications and/or for synchronization/reference signals associated with such communications. The control information may be conveyed in a downlink control information (DCI) of the PDCCH configured to convey the relevant control information. In some wireless communication systems, the control information may be communicated in the first one, two, or three symbols of a slot and using one or more of the channels, subbands, frequencies, etc., in the slot….paragraph [0096]… UE 210 generally monitors for control information based on a configured control resource set (which may also be referred to as a CORESET) , which may broadly include a set of time and/or frequency resources in which control information is conveyed. For example, the control resource set in some wireless communication systems is defined by a set of frequency and/or time domain resources, e.g., N .sub.RB resource blocks (RBs) in the frequency domain and N .sub.symb {1, 2, 3} symbols in the time domain. The PDCCH may include one or more CCEs, and each CCE may include six REGs, where a REG equals one RB during one symbol)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to control or support resource set design for bandwidth reduced low-tier user equipment (See background )
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Gerald Smarth whose telephone number is (571) 270-1923. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Thursday 6am-4:30pm ET. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Joseph Avellino can be reached on 571-272-3905. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/GERALD A SMARTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478