CTNF 18/434,958 CTNF 100378 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/13/2024 is being considered by the examiner. Election/Restrictions Applicants’ election of invention I in the reply filed on 03/02/2026 is acknowledged. Applicant argues “Group II as being drawn to ‘a stretchable device with projecting pieces connected to coupling portion’ is erroneous as applied to independent claim 14”. In view of applicant’s argument restriction of claim 14 is withdrawn. 08-25-01 AIA Applicant’s election without traverse of species A1 in the reply filed on 03/02/2026 is acknowledged. Examiner will examine claims 1-7, 10, 11, 14, 16 and 17. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-7 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Saito et. al. (JP 2004033468 A) herein referred to as Saito . Regarding claim 1 Saito teaches: A stretchable device comprising ([0012]; Saito teaches a stretchable device) : a stretchable substrate that includes: a main body portion ([Figure 1]; Saito teaches upper portion of the device which is seen as the main body portion. Shown figure 1 below with the box) having a first main surface ([Figure 2, 0008]; Saito teaches non-mounting surface side (front of base (11)), which is seen as the first main surface) and a second main surface facing the first main surface ([Figure 2, 0008]; Saito teaches mounting surface side (back of base (11)), which is seen as the second main surface facing the first main surface) ; and a projecting piece portion connected to the main body portion ([Figure 1]; Saito teaches stretchable wiring (20) and electrode (30), which are seen as protruding piece portion) , the projecting piece portion ([Figure 1]; Saito teaches a side portion projecting normal to the main body portion which is seen as a projecting piece portion) having a third main surface continuous with the first main surface ([Figure 1]; Saito teaches the front of base (11) being continuous from the main body to the projecting piece, which is seen as a third main surface) and a fourth main surface continuous with the second main surface and facing the third main surface ([Figure 1]; Saito teaches base (11) being continuous from the main body to the projecting piece including the back of the base which is seen as a fourth main surface that is facing the third main surface) stretchable wiring ([Figure 2]; Stretchable wiring (23)) , wherein at least a part of the stretchable wiring is arranged on the first main surface of the main body portion of the stretchable substrate ([Figure 2]; Saito teaches part of wiring (23) being on base (11) which is seen as the first main surface) ; and a bioelectrode arranged on the third main surface of the projecting piece portion of the stretchable substrate ([Figure 1]; Saito teaches the electrode 30 which is on the third main surface of protruding portion) and electrically connected to the stretchable wiring. ([Figure 1]; Saito teaches electrode 30 attached to stretchable wires) [AltContent: textbox (Projecting piece )] [AltContent: textbox (Main Body)] [AltContent: arrow] [AltContent: oval] [AltContent: arrow] [AltContent: rect] PNG media_image1.png 402 251 media_image1.png Greyscale Regarding claim 2, Saito teaches: The stretchable device according to claim 1. Saito further teaches: wherein the main body portion extends in a first direction ([Figure 1]; Saito teaches a main body portion, as shown within the box in figure 1 above, extending in a first direction), and the projecting piece portion is connected to an end edge of the main body portion located at an end portion in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction of the main body portion. ([Figure 1]; Saito teaches a projecting pieces extending orthogonal to the main body and extending in a second direction as shown above highlighted with a circle) Regarding claim 3, Saito teaches: The stretchable device according to claim 1. Saito further teaches: wherein the projecting piece portion is bendable toward a side of the second main surface. ([Figure 9a]; Saito teaches the protrusion bending toward the main surface) Regarding claim 4, Saito teaches: The stretchable device according to claim 1. Saito further teaches: wherein the projecting piece portion is in a bent position toward a side of the second main surface. ([Figure 9]; Saito teaches the projecting piece in a bent position toward the second main surface) Regarding claim 5, Saito teaches: The stretchable device according to claim 4. Saito teaches: wherein the main body portion extends in a first direction ([Figure 1] Saito teaches the main body extending in a first direction) , and a center of the bioelectrode is arranged at a central portion in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction of the main body portion. ([Figure 1]; Protruding portion as shown by the circle in figure 1 above, includes bioelectrode 10 positioned in the center portion, the protrusion orthogonal to the first direction of the main body portion) Regarding claim 6, Saito teaches: The stretchable device according to claim 3. Saito further teaches: further comprising: an adhesive layer on the second main surface. ([0011]; Saito teaches adhesive 15 applied to the mounting surface, which is seen as the second main surface) Regarding claim 7, Saito teaches: The stretchable device according to claim 4. Saito further teaches: further comprising: an adhesive layer on the second main surface, wherein the projecting piece portion is fixed to the second main surface by the adhesive layer. ([0011]; Saito teaches the adhesive layer on the base which is attached to the back of the projecting piece, which is seen as the adhesive layer being fixed to the projecting piece) Regarding claim 14, Saito teaches: A stretchable device comprising ([0012]; Saito teaches a stretchable device) : a stretchable substrate that includes: a main body portion ([Figure 1]; Saito teaches upper portion of the device which is seen as the main body portion. Shown figure 1 above with the box) having a first main surface and a second main surface facing the first main surface ([Figure 2, 0008]; Saito teaches non-mounting surface side (front of base (11)), which is seen as the first main surface) ; and a projecting piece portion connected to the main body portion ([Figure 1]; Saito teaches stretchable wiring (20) and electrode (30), which are seen as protruding piece portion) , the projecting piece portion ([Figure 1]; Saito teaches a side portion projecting normal to the main body portion which is seen as a projecting piece portion) having a third main surface and a fourth main surface facing the third main surface ([Figure 1]; Saito teaches the front of base (11) being continuous from the main body to the projecting piece, which is seen as a third main surface) , and the projecting piece portion being arranged with respect to the main body portion such that the third main surface is along the first main surface and the fourth main surface is along the second main surface ([Figure 1]; Saito teaches base (11) being continuous from the main body to the projecting piece including the back of the base which is seen as a fourth main surface that is facing the third main surface) ; a stretchable wiring ([Figure 2]; Stretchable wiring (23)) , wherein at least a part of the stretchable wiring is arranged on the first main surface of the main body portion of the stretchable substrate ([Figure 2]; Saito teaches part of wiring (23) being on base (11) which is seen as the first main surface) ; and a bioelectrode arranged on the third main surface of the projecting piece portion of the stretchable substrate ([Figure 1]; Saito teaches the electrode 30 which is on the third main surface of protruding portion) and electrically connected to the stretchable wiring. ([Figure 1]; Saito teaches electrode 30 connected to the stretchable wires) Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-103 AIA The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 10 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito in view of Bambang et. al. (US 20200015746 A1) herein referred to as “Bambang” . Regarding claim 10, Saito discloses: The stretchable device according to claim 1. Saito further discloses: wherein the main body portion extends in a first direction and has a first end portion and a second end portion on both sides in the first direction ([Figure 1]; Saito discloses the main body portion containing a first and second end portion) , Saito does not explicitly disclose: the stretchable device further comprising: a connection terminal connected to the first end portion and connectable to the second end portion. However, Bambang discloses; the stretchable device further comprising: a connection terminal connected to the first end portion and connectable to the second end portion. ([Figure 6a]; Bambang discloses terminals 28 and 29 that are able to be connected) It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the stretchable device as disclosed by Saito with the terminal as disclosed by Bambang. The motivation being to secure the device and allow adjustability ([0037]). Regarding claim 16, Saito discloses: The stretchable device according to claim 14. Saito further discloses: wherein the main body portion extends in a first direction and has a first end portion and a second end portion on both sides thereof in the first direction ([Figure 1]; Saito discloses a main body portion with a first and second end in a first direction) , Saito does not explicitly disclose: the stretchable device further comprising: a connection terminal connected to the first end portion and connectable to the second end portion. However, Bambang discloses; the stretchable device further comprising: a connection terminal connected to the first end portion and connectable to the second end portion. ([Figure 6a]; Bambang discloses terminals 28 and 29 that are able to be connected) It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the stretchable device as disclosed by Saito with the terminal as disclosed by Bambang. The motivation being to secure the device and allow adjustability ([0037]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 11 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito . Regarding claim 11, Saito discloses: The stretchable device according to claim 1. Saito further discloses: wherein the stretchable device includes: a plurality of the stretchable wirings; ([Figure 2]; Saito discloses flexible wiring 23, which is seen as stretchable wiring, [Figure 1]; Saito discloses the wiring in both the projection and the main body which is seen as a plurality) a plurality of the projecting piece portions ([Figure 14]; Saito discloses a plurality of projecting piece portions) ; and a plurality of the bioelectrodes ([Figure 14]; Saito discloses the projection piece portions having electrode units (10)) , the main body portion extends in a first direction and has a first end portion and a second end portion on both sides thereof in the first direction ([Figure 1]; Saito discloses a main body with a first end portion and a second end portion) , each of the plurality of the stretchable wirings extends along the first direction from one end portion of the first end portion and the second end portion ([Figure 1]; Saito discloses wiring extending down the length of the main body which is seen as extending from one first end portion to a second first end portion) , each of the plurality of the bioelectrodes is electrically connected to the plurality of the stretchable wirings ([0007]; Saito discloses the electrode 10 being connected to the wires). Saito does not explicitly discloses: and in the plurality of the stretchable wirings, as a distance in the first direction from the one end portion to a portion connected to the bioelectrode increases, a width of the stretchable wiring increases. However, the relationship between distance and width of wire is well known as shown through the well-known equation R = ρ L A (Pouillets law) wherein R = total resistance ρ = intrinsic resistance L = distance of wire and A = cross sectional area. Any increase in length would proportionally increase the resistance and conversely any increase in width would decrease resistance. Therefore, it would be obvious to increase the width of wire to offset an increase in resistance caused by an increase in length of a wire. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the stretchable device as disclosed by Saito with the increasing wire thickness. The motivation being applying the known technique of increasing wire thickness as the wire length increase to provide the predictable result of keeping the resistance stable. Regarding claim 17, Saito discloses: The stretchable device according to claim 14. Saito further discloses: wherein the stretchable device includes: a plurality of the stretchable wirings; ([Figure 2]; Saito discloses flexible wiring 23, which is seen as stretchable wiring, [Figure 1]; Saito discloses the wiring in both the projection and the main body which is seen as a plurality) a plurality of the projecting piece portions ([Figure 14]; Saito discloses a plurality of projecting piece portions) ; and a plurality of the bioelectrodes ([Figure 14]; Saito discloses the projection piece portions having electrode units (10)) , the main body portion extends in a first direction and has a first end portion and a second end portion on both sides thereof in the first direction ([Figure 1]; Saito discloses a main body with a first end portion and a second end portion) , each of the plurality of the stretchable wirings extends along the first direction from one end portion of the first end portion and the second end portion ([Figure 1]; Saito discloses wiring extending down the length of the main body which is seen as extending from one first end portion to a second first end portion) , each of the plurality of the bioelectrodes is electrically connected to the plurality of the stretchable wirings ([0007]; Saito discloses the electrode 10 being connected to the wires). Saito does not explicitly discloses: and in the plurality of the stretchable wirings, as a distance in the first direction from the one end portion to a portion connected to the bioelectrode increases, a width of the stretchable wiring increases. However, the relationship between distance and width of wire is well known as shown through the well-known equation R = ρ L A (Pouillets law) wherein R = total resistance ρ = intrinsic resistance L = distance of wire and A = cross sectional area. Any increase in length would proportionally increase the resistance and conversely any increase in width would decrease resistance. Therefore, it would be obvious to increase the width of wire to offset an increase in resistance caused by an increase in length of a wire. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the stretchable device as disclosed by Saito with the increasing wire thickness. The motivation being applying the known technique of increasing wire thickness as the wire length increase to provide the predictable result of keeping the resistance stable. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CASEY GEORGE CHA whose telephone number is (571)272-0749. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 8:30-5:00. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Joanne Rodden can be reached at 3032974276. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /CASEY GEORGE CHA/Examiner, Art Unit 3794 /JOANNE M RODDEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3794 Application/Control Number: 18/434,958 Page 2 Art Unit: 3794 Application/Control Number: 18/434,958 Page 3 Art Unit: 3794 Application/Control Number: 18/434,958 Page 4 Art Unit: 3794 Application/Control Number: 18/434,958 Page 5 Art Unit: 3794 Application/Control Number: 18/434,958 Page 6 Art Unit: 3794 Application/Control Number: 18/434,958 Page 7 Art Unit: 3794 Application/Control Number: 18/434,958 Page 8 Art Unit: 3794 Application/Control Number: 18/434,958 Page 9 Art Unit: 3794 Application/Control Number: 18/434,958 Page 10 Art Unit: 3794 Application/Control Number: 18/434,958 Page 11 Art Unit: 3794 Application/Control Number: 18/434,958 Page 12 Art Unit: 3794