DETAILED ACTION
Status of claims
Claims 1-21 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 11-12, 16, 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
A comma should appear after “bent-plate” within claims 11 and 12.
Lines 21-23 of claim 16 should be corrected to read --connecting said first bracket to said second bracket by inserting a first fastener of said at least two fasteners through said first fastener opening in said first portion of said first bracket and inserting a second fastener of said at least two fasteners through said first fastener opening in said first portion of said second bracket-- to clearly indicate that the first and second fasteners recited in lines 21-22 are a part of the at least two fasteners of the gang clamp assembly defined in lines 9-10.
Claim 19 should be amended to read --wherein said offset portion of said first and said second brackets is disposed approximately perpendicularly to said first portion of said first and said second brackets, respectively-- to clearly indicate that for each bracket, the offset portion is perpendicular to its first portion.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15, 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 first recites of “A gang clamp assembly” as part of the intended use for access control devices within the preamble of claim 1. However, at least dependent claims 6 and 7 go on to positively recite features directed to the access control devices, for example, reciting “wherein said assembly encircles structural members of a first access control device and a second access control device” in claim 6, and “wherein the structural members of the first access control device and the second access control device are in physical contact with the inner surfaces of the first legs of said first bracket and said second bracket and the inner surfaces of said first offset and said second offset” in claim 7. It is therefore unclear from the language of the claims as to whether claim 1 and its dependents are to be directed towards the subcombination of the gang clamp assembly, or the combination of the gang clamp assembly and the access control devices. For the purpose of this action, Examiner will interpret that claim 1 and its dependents are directed to the combination of the gang clamp assembly and the access control devices and will therefore interpret the preamble of claim 1 as reading as: “A gang clamp assembly of access control devices”.
If it is Applicant’s intent for claim 1 and its dependents to be directed to the subcombination of the solely the gang clamp assembly, it is requested Applicant make such clear in their response, and amend dependent claims 6-7 using proper “configured to” language to indicate the intended use of the gang clamp assembly.
Claim 2 recites “wherein said inner surface of said first leg faces said inner surface of said second leg”. Claim 1 already defines that the first bracket and the second bracket each have first and second legs with inner surfaces. It is therefore unclear with respect to claim 2 if Applicant is intending to refer to only one of the first or second brackets, or if Applicant is referring to both brackets. It can be seen within Applicant’s figures that the inner surface (21d) of the first leg (21) of the first bracket (20) faces the inner surface (36d) of the second leg (36) of the second bracket (30) and that the inner surface (31d) of the first leg (31) of the second bracket (30) faces the inner surface (26d) of the second leg (26) of the first bracket (20). As such, for the purpose of this action, Examiner will interpret that the inner surface of the first leg of the first bracket faces the inner surface of the second leg of the second bracket and that the inner surface of the first leg of the second bracket faces the inner surface of the second leg of the first bracket. Thus, Examiner will interpret claim 2 as reading as: “wherein said inner surface of said first leg of said first bracket faces said inner surface of said second leg of said second bracket, and said inner surface of said first leg of said second bracket faces said inner surface of said second leg of said first bracket”.
Claim 3 recites “wherein said first offset and said second offset each have an inner surface and an outer surface, and said inner surfaces face each other”. It is unclear from the language of claim 3 which “inner surfaces face each other”, as it is also defined in claim 1 that the first and second brackets each have first and second legs with inner surfaces. Therefore, it is unclear if Applicant is referring to the inner surfaces of the first/second legs of the first/second brackets, or if they are referring to the inner surfaces of the first and second offsets defined in claim 3. For the purpose of this action, Examiner will interpret that said inner surfaces referenced in claim 3 are directed to the inner surfaces of the first and second offsets, and will interpret claim 3 as reading as: “wherein said first offset and said second offset each have an inner surface and an outer surface, and said inner surfaces of said first offset and said second offset face each other”.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “the inner surfaces of said first offset and said second offset”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitations “the inner surfaces”. While Examiner recognizes that inner surfaces of the first and second offsets have been defined within the scope of claim 3, they have not been defined within the scope of claim 7. As such, for the purpose of this action, Examiner will interpret claim 7 as reading as: “wherein the structural members of the first access control device and the second access control device are in physical contact with the inner surfaces of the said first legs of said first bracket and said second bracket and
Claim 10 first recites “A gang clamp assembly” as part of the intended use for “adjacent access control devices” within the preamble of claim 10. However, at least dependent claims 13 and 14 go on to positively recite features of the access control devices, specifically the “structural members” of the access control devices, which are defined within claim 10, and how positively recited features of the gang clamp are directly dependent upon features of said structural members. It is therefore unclear from the language of the claims as to whether claim 10 and its dependents are to be directed towards the subcombination of the gang clamp assembly, or the combination of the gang clamp assembly and the adjacent access control devices. For the purpose of this action, Examiner will interpret that claim 10 and its dependents are directed to the combination of the gang clamp assembly and the adjacent access control devices and will therefore interpret the preamble of claim 10 as reading as: “A gang clamp assembly
If it is Applicant’s intent for claim 10 and its dependents to be directed to the subcombination of the solely the gang clamp assembly, it is requested Applicant make such clear in their response, and amend dependent claims 13-14 using proper “configured to” language to indicate the intended use of the gang clamp assembly.
Claim 17 recites “wherein said at least one structural member is vertically-oriented”. Claim 16, of which claim 17 depends from, recites a first access control device that has at least one structural member and a second access control device that has at least one structural member. It is therefore unclear as to whether the at least one structural member in claim 17 is referring to the structural member of either the first or second access control devices, or the structural member of both the first and second access control devices. For the purpose of this action, Examiner will interpret that claim 17 is directed to the structural member of each the first and second access control devices and will interpret claim 17 as reading as: “wherein for each of the first access control device and the second access control device, said at least one structural member is vertically oriented”.
Claims 4-5, 8-9, 11-15, 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as they depend from a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gallenschütz (US 5,444,941) in view of Pingel et al. (US 2008/0038048; hereinafter Pingel) and Aldridge (US 2018/0155939).
Regarding claim 1, Gallenschütz (Fig. 8-12) discloses of access control devices (see first and second access control devices in Annotated Fig. 1 below) having vertically-oriented structural members (36, 36’, see Annotated Fig. 1, see vertical orientation in Fig. 8) that are secured together by a lock (36”).
Annotated Figure 1
However, Gallenschütz does not explicitly disclose of a gang clamp assembly of the access control devices comprising a first bracket having a first leg and a second leg separated from said first leg by a first offset, said first leg having an outer surface and an inner surface and said second leg having an outer surface and an inner surface; a second bracket having a first leg and a second leg separated from said first leg by a second offset, said first leg having an outer surface and an inner surface and said second leg having an outer surface and an inner surface; said first bracket having a first fastener opening in said first leg of said first bracket and a second fastener opening in said second leg of said first bracket; said second bracket having a first fastener opening in said first leg of said second bracket and a second fastener opening in said second leg of said second bracket; wherein when assembled for use, a first fastener extends through said first fastener opening of said first leg of said first bracket and through said second fastener opening of said second leg of said second bracket; and a second fastener extends through said first fastener opening of said first leg of said second bracket and through said second fastener opening of said second leg of said first bracket.
Pingel (Fig. 1-3) teaches of a clamp assembly (100) configured to be clamp together vertically-oriented structural members (58), wherein the clamp assembly comprises a first bracket (10) having a first leg and a second leg separated from said first leg by a first offset (see Annotated Fig. 2 below), said first leg having an outer surface and an inner surface and said second leg having an outer surface and an inner surface (see Annotated Fig. 2), a second bracket (12) having a first leg and a second leg separated from said first leg by a second offset (see Annotated Fig. 2), said first leg having an outer surface and an inner surface and said second leg having an outer surface and an inner surface (see Annotated Fig. 2); wherein said inner surface of said first leg of said first bracket faces said inner surface of said second leg of said second bracket (see Annotated Fig. 2), and said inner surface of said first leg of said second bracket faces said inner surface of said second leg of said first bracket (see Annotated Fig. 2), wherein said first offset and said second offset each have an inner surface and an outer surface (see Annotated Fig. 2), said inner surfaces of said first offset and said second offset face each other (see Annotated Fig. 2), wherein said first bracket has a fastener opening and said second bracket has a fastener opening configured to receive a fastener in the form of a bolt and a nut (see Fig. 1-2 showing bolt 20 passing through openings in the first and second brackets and the bolt received by nut 36), wherein when assembled for use, the first leg of the first bracket is parallel to the first leg of the second bracket (see Fig. 1-3, the first legs extend in directions parallel to one another), the second leg of the first bracket is parallel to the second leg of the second bracket (see Fig. 1-3, the second legs extend in directions parallel to one another), the fastener in the form of the bolt and nut extends through the fastener opening of the first bracket and the fastener opening of the second bracket (see Fig. 1-3), with the nut and bolt bearing against outer surfaces of the first and second brackets (see Fig. 1-3), the assembly encircles the structural members (58) and the inner surfaces of the first legs of the first and second bracket and the inner surfaces of the first and second offsets are in contact physical contact with said structural members (see Fig. 2-3, see claim 1), thereby providing a temporary and reusable clamp to hold structural members of sections together (see [0001]).
Annotated Figure 2
Being that the clamp assembly of Pingel is to be used to secure structural members of barriers together (see Abstract of Pingel), and the structural members (36, 36’, see Annotated Fig. 1) of Gallenschütz are a part of access control devices, that function as barriers, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Gallenschütz with the teachings of Pingel, to have the lock that secures the structural members of the first and second access control devices together be replaced with a clamp assembly as taught by Pingel, the clamp assembly comprising a first bracket having a first leg and a second leg separated from said first leg by a first offset, said first leg having an outer surface and an inner surface and said second leg having an outer surface and an inner surface, a second bracket having a first leg and a second leg separated from said first leg by a second offset, said first leg having an outer surface and an inner surface and said second leg having an outer surface and an inner surface, wherein said inner surface of said first leg of said first bracket faces said inner surface of said second leg of said second bracket, and said inner surface of said first leg of said second bracket faces said inner surface of said second leg of said first bracket, wherein said first offset and said second offset each have an inner surface and an outer surface, said inner surfaces of said first offset and said second offset face each other, wherein said first bracket has a fastener opening and said second bracket has a fastener opening configured to receive a fastener in the form of a bolt and a nut, wherein when assembled for use, the first leg of the first bracket is parallel to the first leg of the second bracket, the second leg of the first bracket is parallel to the second leg of the second bracket, the fastener in the form of the bolt and nut extends through the fastener opening of the first bracket and the fastener opening of the second bracket, with the nut and bolt bearing against outer surfaces of the first and second brackets, the assembly encircles the structural members and the inner surfaces of the first legs of the first and second bracket and the inner surfaces of the first and second offsets are in contact physical contact with said structural members, thereby providing a temporary and reusable clamp to hold and secure the structural members of the first and second access control devices together.
Aldridge (Fig. 1-3, Fig. 8) teaches of different embodiments of a clamp assembly comprising a first bracket (2, 23) and a second bracket (3, 24) that are configured to hold structural members (10, 11), wherein in a first embodiment (Fig. 1-3), the first and second brackets are secured together by a single fastener (4) extending through and securing the first and second brackets together (see Fig. 1-3), and wherein in a second embodiment (Fig. 8), the first and second brackets are secured together by first (25) and second fasteners (26) that extend through the first and second brackets at adjacent ends thereof (see Fig. 8).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gallenschütz with the teachings of Aldridge, such that the clamp assembly is secured together by first and second fasteners at adjacent ends thereof. By simply duplicating the fastener in the form of the bolt and nut, and arranging fastener openings in the ends of the first and second legs of the first and second brackets, such that the first fastener extends through said fastener opening of said first leg of said first bracket and through said fastener opening of said second leg of said second bracket, and the second fastener extends through said fastener opening of said first leg of said second bracket and said fastener opening of said second leg of said first bracket, such that the bolt of the first fastener bears against said outer surface of said first leg of said first bracket and said nut of the first fastener bears against said outer surface of said second leg of said second bracket, and the bolt of the second fastener bears against said outer surface of said first leg of said second bracket and the nut of the second fastener bears against said outer surface of said second leg of said first bracket, one would be able to provide a clamp having first and second fasteners extending through adjacent ends of the first and second brackets, and enhancing the securement between the first and second brackets. Further, in doing such, said first bracket will have a first fastener opening in said first leg of said first bracket and a second fastener opening in said second leg of said first bracket, and said second bracket will have a first fastener opening in said first leg of said second bracket and a second fastener opening in said second leg of said second bracket. The Applicant is reminded that mere duplication of parts (i.e. the fasteners and fastener openings) has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Gallenschütz, Pingel, and Aldridge further teach wherein said inner surface of said first leg of said first bracket faces said inner surface of said second leg of said second bracket, and said inner surface of said first leg of said second bracket faces said inner surface of said second leg of said first bracket (as taught in claim 1).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Gallenschütz, Pingel, and Aldridge further teach wherein said first offset and said second offset each have an inner surface and an outer surface, and said inner surfaces of said first offset and said second offset face each other (as taught in claim 1).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Gallenschütz, Pingel, and Aldridge further teach wherein when assembled for use, said first leg of said first bracket is parallel to said first leg of said second bracket (as taught in claim 1).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Gallenschütz, Pingel, and Aldridge further teach wherein when assembled for use, said second leg of said first bracket is parallel to said second leg of said second bracket (as taught in claim 1).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Gallenschütz, Pingel, and Aldridge further teach wherein said assembly encircles structural members of a first access control device and a second access control device (as taught in claim 1).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Gallenschütz, Pingel, and Aldridge further teach wherein the structural members of the first access control device and the second access control device are in physical contact with the inner surfaces of said first legs of said first bracket and said second bracket and inner surfaces of said first offset and said second offset (as taught in claim 1).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Gallenschütz, Pingel, and Aldridge further teach wherein said first fastener is a bolt and nut wherein said bolt bears against said outer surface of said first leg of said first bracket and wherein said nut bears against said outer surface of said second leg of said second bracket (as taught in claim 1).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Gallenschütz, Pingel, and Aldridge further teach wherein said second fastener is a bolt and nut wherein said bolt bears against said outer surface of said first leg of said second bracket and wherein said nut bears against said outer surface of said second leg of said first bracket (as taught in claim 1).
Regarding claim 10, Gallenschütz (Fig. 8-12) discloses of adjacent access control devices (see adjacent first and second access control devices in Annotated Fig. 1) having vertically-oriented structural members (36, 36’, see Annotated Fig. 1, see vertical orientation in Fig. 8) that are secured together by a lock (36”).
However, Gallenschütz does not explicitly disclose of a gang clamp assembly securing the adjacent access control devices comprising a first bracket having a first portion with a first fastener opening at a first end of said first portion, and a second portion with a second fastener opening at a second end of said second portion, said first bracket having a first offset separating said first portion from said second portion, said first portion being parallel to said second portion and; a second bracket having a first portion with a third fastener opening at a first end of said first portion, and a second portion with a fourth fastener opening at a second end of said second portion, said second bracket having a first offset separating said first portion from said second portion, said first portion being parallel to said second portion; wherein said first bracket and said second bracket are configured to envelop one or more structural members of the two adjacent access control devices such that said one or more structural members engage a surface of said first portion of said first bracket, a surface of said first portion of said second bracket, a surface of said first offset of said first bracket, and a surface of said first offset of said second bracket; wherein a first fastener connects said first end of said first portion of said first bracket to said second end of said second portion of said second bracket via said first fastener opening and said fourth fastener opening; and wherein a second fastener connects said first end of said first portion of said second bracket to said second end of said second portion of said first bracket via said second fastener opening and said third fastener opening.
Pingel (Fig. 1-3) teaches of a clamp assembly (100) configured to be clamp together vertically-oriented structural members (58), wherein the clamp assembly comprises a first bracket (10) having a first portion and a second portion separated from said first portion by a first offset (see Annotated Fig. 3 below), said first portion being parallel to said second portion (see Annotated Fig. 3, Fig. 1-2 showing the first and second portions extending parallel to one another), wherein said first bracket is a bent-plate (see bending within the plate form of the first bracket in Fig. 1-2), said first offset is approximately perpendicular to said first portion and said second portion of said first bracket (see Annotated Fig. 3), a second bracket having a first portion and a second portion separated from said first portion by a first offset (see Annotated Fig. 3), said first portion being parallel to said second portion (see Annotated Fig. 3, Fig. 1-2 showing the first and second portions extending parallel to one another), wherein said second bracket is a bent-plate (see bending within the plate form of the second bracket in Fig. 1-2), said first offset is approximately perpendicular to said first portion and said second portion of said second bracket (see Annotated Fig. 3), wherein said first bracket and said second bracket are configured to envelop one or more structural members (58), such that the structural members engage a surface of said first portion of said first bracket (see Fig. 2-3), a surface of said first portion of said second bracket (see Fig. 2-3), a surface of said first offset of said first bracket (see Fig. 2-3), and a surface of said first offset of said second bracket (see Fig. 2-3), wherein lengths of said first portion of said first bracket to said first offset and said first portion of said second bracket to said second offset correspond to dimensions of the structural members (see Fig. 2-3), wherein said first bracket has a fastener opening and said second bracket has a fastener opening configured to receive a fastener in the form of a bolt and a nut (see Fig. 1-2 showing bolt 20 passing through openings in the first and second brackets and the bolt received by nut 36), wherein when assembled for use, the fastener in the form of the bolt and nut extends through the fastener opening of the first bracket and the fastener opening of the second bracket (see Fig. 1-3) such that the assembly encircles the structural members, thereby providing a temporary and reusable clamp to hold structural members of sections together (see [0001]).
Annotated Figure 3
Being that the clamp assembly of Pingel is to be used to secure structural members of barriers together (see Abstract of Pingel), and the structural members (36, 36’, see Annotated Fig. 1) of Gallenschütz are a part of access control devices, that function as barriers, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Gallenschütz with the teachings of Pingel, to have the lock that secures the structural members of the first and second access control devices together be replaced with a clamp assembly as taught by Pingel, the clamp assembly comprising a first bracket having a first portion and a second portion separated from said first portion by a first offset, said first portion being parallel to said second portion, wherein said first bracket is a bent-plate, said first offset is approximately perpendicular to said first portion and said second portion of said first bracket, a second bracket having a first portion and a second portion separated from said first portion by a first offset, said first portion being parallel to said second portion, wherein said second bracket is a bent-plate, said first offset is approximately perpendicular to said first portion and said second portion of said second bracket, wherein said first bracket and said second bracket are configured to envelop one or more structural members, wherein said first bracket has a fastener opening and said second bracket has a fastener opening configured to receive a fastener in the form of a bolt and a nut, wherein when assembled for use, the fastener in the form of the bolt and nut extends through the fastener opening of the first bracket and the fastener opening of the second bracket such that the assembly encircles the structural members, thereby providing a temporary and reusable clamp to hold and secure the structural members of the first and second access control devices together. In doing such, the structural members will engage a surface of said first portion of said first bracket, a surface of said first portion of said second bracket, a surface of said first offset of said first bracket, and a surface of said first offset of said second bracket, wherein lengths of the first portions of the first and second brackets to the first and second offsets, respectively, will correspond to a first dimensions of the structural member of the first access control device and a second dimension of the structural member of the second access control device, respectively.
Aldridge (Fig. 1-3, Fig. 8) teaches of different embodiments of a clamp assembly comprising a first bracket (2, 23) and a second bracket (3, 24) that are configured to hold structural members (10, 11), wherein in a first embodiment (Fig. 1-3), the first and second brackets are secured together by a single fastener (4) extending through and securing the first and second brackets together (see Fig. 1-3), and wherein in a second embodiment (Fig. 8), the first and second brackets are secured together by first (25) and second fasteners (26) that extend through the first and second brackets at adjacent ends thereof (see Fig. 8).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gallenschütz with the teachings of Aldridge, such that the clamp assembly is secured together by first and second fasteners at adjacent ends thereof. By simply duplicating the fastener in the form of the bolt and nut, and arranging fastener openings in the ends of the first and second portions of the first and second brackets, such that the first fastener extends through said fastener opening of said first portion of said first bracket and through said fastener opening of said second portion of said second bracket, and the second fastener extends through said fastener opening of said first portion of said second bracket and said fastener opening of said second portion of said first bracket, one would be able to provide a clamp having first and second fasteners extending through adjacent ends of the first and second brackets, and enhancing the securement between the first and second brackets. Further, in doing such, said first bracket will have a first fastener opening in at a first end of said first portion of said first bracket and a second fastener opening in at a second end of said second portion of said first bracket, and said second bracket will have a third fastener opening at a first end of said first portion of said second bracket and a fourth fastener opening at a second end of said second portion of said second bracket. The Applicant is reminded that mere duplication of parts (i.e. the fasteners and fastener openings) has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Gallenschütz, Pingel, and Aldridge further teach wherein said first bracket is a bent-plate wherein said first offset is approximately perpendicular to said first portion and said second portion of said first bracket (as taught in claim 10).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Gallenschütz, Pingel, and Aldridge further teach wherein said second bracket is a bent-plate wherein said second offset is approximately perpendicular to said first portion and said second portion of said second bracket (as taught in claim 10).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Gallenschütz, Pingel, and Aldridge further teach wherein a length of said first portion of said first bracket to said first offset corresponds to a first dimension of said structural members (as taught in claim 10).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Gallenschütz, Pingel, and Aldridge further teach wherein a length of said first portion of said second bracket to said second offset corresponds to a second dimension of said structural members (as taught in claim 10).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Gallenschütz, Pingel, and Aldridge further teach wherein said first dimension and said second dimension are equal (being that structural members 36, 36’ of Gallenschütz are identical, see Fig. 8 of Gallenschütz and Annotated Fig. 1, the first and second dimensions will thereby be equal).
Regarding claim 16, Gallenschütz (Fig. 8-12) discloses of a method of coupling adjacent access control devices comprising the steps of:
providing a first access control device at a first site (see first access control device at a first site in Annotated Fig. 1), wherein the first access control device comprises at least one structural member configured to provide structural support for the first access control device (see structural member 36 of first access control device in Fig. 8 and Annotated Fig. 1, the structural member is capable of providing support to the first access control device);
providing a second access control device at a second site (see second access control device at a second site in Annotated Fig. 1), wherein the second access control device comprises at least one structural member configured to provide structural support for the second access control device (see structural member 36’ of second access control device in Fig. 8 and Annotated Fig. 1, the structural member is capable of providing support to the second access control device);
placing the second access control device adjacent to the first access control device (see Fig. 8 and Annotated Fig. 1) and securing the structural members of the first and second access control devices with a lock (36”).
Gallenschütz does not explicitly disclose of providing a gang clamp assembly comprising a first bracket, a second bracket, and at least two fasteners, wherein each of said first bracket and said second bracket further comprises (i) a first portion and a second portion separated by an offset portion, and (ii) a first fastener opening in said first portion and a second fastener opening in said second portion; placing said first bracket on an external surface of said at least one structural member of the first access control device such that said first portion of said first bracket contacts a first portion of the at least one structural member and such that said offset portion of said first bracket contacts a second portion of the at least one structural member; placing said second bracket on an external surface of said at least one structural member of the second access control device such that said first portion of said second bracket contacts a first portion of the at least one structural member and such that said offset portion of said second bracket contacts a second portion of the at least one structural member; connecting said first bracket to said second bracket by inserting a first fastener through said first fastener opening in said first portion of said first bracket and inserting a second fastener through said first fastener opening in said first portion of said second bracket; and tightening said first fastener and said second fastener, wherein tightening said first fastener and said second fastener brings said first bracket and said second bracket into tight contact with said structural members to thereby prevent differential movement between said two adjacent access control devices.
Pingel (Fig. 1-3) teaches of a clamp assembly (100) configured to be clamp together vertically-oriented structural members (58), wherein the clamp assembly comprises a first bracket (10) having a first portion and a second portion separated from said first portion by an offset portion (see Annotated Fig. 3, offset portion being first offset), said offset portion is approximately perpendicular to said first portion and said second portion of said first bracket (see Annotated Fig. 3), a second bracket having a first portion and a second portion separated from said first portion by an offset portion (see Annotated Fig. 3, offset portion being first offset), said offset portion is approximately perpendicular to said first portion and said second portion of said second bracket (see Annotated Fig. 3), wherein said first bracket and said second bracket are configured to envelop one or more structural members (58), such that the structural members engage a surface of said first portion of said first bracket (see Fig. 2-3), a surface of said first portion of said second bracket (see Fig. 2-3), a surface of said offset portion of said first bracket (see Fig. 2-3), and a surface of said offset portion of said second bracket (see Fig. 2-3), wherein said first bracket has a fastener opening and said second bracket has a fastener opening configured to receive a fastener in the form of a bolt and a nut sleeve (see Fig. 1-2 showing bolt 20 passing through openings in the first and second brackets and the bolt received by nut sleeve 36), wherein when assembled for use, the fastener in the form of the bolt and nut sleeve extends through the fastener opening of the first bracket and the fastener opening of the second bracket (see Fig. 1-3), and tightening the fastener to bring the first and second bracket into tight contact with said structural members to thereby prevent differential movement between said structural members (see [0005]), such that the assembly encircles the structural members, thereby providing a temporary and reusable clamp to hold structural members of sections together (see [0001]).
Being that the clamp assembly of Pingel is to be used to secure structural members of barriers together (see Abstract of Pingel), and the structural members (36, 36’, see Annotated Fig. 1) of Gallenschütz are a part of access control devices, that function as barriers, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Gallenschütz with the teachings of Pingel, to have the lock that secures the structural members of the first and second access control devices together be replaced with a clamp assembly as taught by Pingel, the clamp assembly comprising a first bracket having a first portion and a second portion separated from said first portion by an offset portion, said offset portion being approximately perpendicular to said first portion and said second portion of said first bracket, a second bracket having a first portion and a second portion separated from said first portion by an offset portion, said offset portion being approximately perpendicular to said first portion and said second portion of said second bracket, wherein said first bracket and said second bracket are configured to envelop one or more structural members, wherein said first bracket has a fastener opening and said second bracket has a fastener opening configured to receive a fastener in the form of a bolt and a nut sleeve, wherein when assembled for use, the fastener in the form of the bolt and nut sleeve extends through the fastener opening of the first bracket and the fastener opening of the second bracket such that the assembly encircles the structural members, and tightening the fastener to bring the first and second bracket into tight contact with said structural members to thereby prevent differential movement between said structural members, thereby providing a temporary and reusable clamp to hold and secure the structural members of the first and second access control devices together. In doing such, the structural members will engage a surface of said first portion of said first bracket, a surface of said first portion of said second bracket, and surfaces of said offset portions of said first and second brackets.
Aldridge (Fig. 1-3, Fig. 8) teaches of different embodiments of a clamp assembly comprising a first bracket (2, 23) and a second bracket (3, 24) that are configured to hold structural members (10, 11), wherein in a first embodiment (Fig. 1-3), the first and second brackets are secured together by a single fastener (4) extending through and securing the first and second brackets together (see Fig. 1-3), and wherein in a second embodiment (Fig. 8), the first and second brackets are secured together by first (25) and second fasteners (26) that extend through the first and second brackets at adjacent ends thereof (see Fig. 8).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gallenschütz with the teachings of Aldridge, such that the clamp assembly is secured together by first and second fasteners at adjacent ends thereof. By simply duplicating the fastener in the form of the bolt and nut sleeve, and arranging fastener openings in the first and second portions of each the first and second brackets, such that the first fastener extends through said fastener opening of said first portion of said first bracket and through said fastener opening of said second portion of said second bracket, and the second fastener extends through said fastener opening of said first portion of said second bracket and said fastener opening of said second portion of said first bracket, one would be able to provide a clamp having first and second fasteners extending through adjacent ends of the first and second brackets, and enhancing the securement between the first and second brackets. Applicant is reminded that mere duplication of parts (i.e. the fasteners and fastener openings) has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Further, in doing such, the combined teachings of Gallenschütz, Pingel, and Aldridge would thereby teach of placing said first bracket on an external surface of said at least one structural member of the first access control device such that said first portion of said first bracket contacts a first portion of the at least one structural member and such that said offset portion of said first bracket contacts a second portion of the at least one structural member; placing said second bracket on an external surface of said at least one structural member of the second access control device such that said first portion of said second bracket contacts a first portion of the at least one structural member and such that said offset portion of said second bracket contacts a second portion of the at least one structural member; connecting said first bracket to said second bracket by inserting a first fastener through said first fastener opening in said first portion of said first bracket and inserting a second fastener through said first fastener opening in said first portion of said second bracket; and tightening said first fastener and said second fastener, wherein tightening said first fastener and said second fastener brings said first bracket and said second bracket into tight contact with said structural members to thereby prevent differential movement between said two adjacent access control devices.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Gallenschütz, Pingel, and Aldridge further teach wherein for each of the first access control device and the second access control device, said at least one structural member is vertically-oriented (see Fig. 8 of Gallenschütz).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Gallenschütz, Pingel, and Aldridge further teach wherein said first fastener further includes a sleeve (each of the first and second fasteners have a bolt and a nut sleeve, as taught in claim 16).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Gallenschütz, Pingel, and Aldridge further teach wherein said offset portion of said first and said second brackets is disposed approximately perpendicularly to said first portion of said first and said second brackets (as taught in claim 16).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Gallenschütz, Pingel, and Aldridge further teach wherein a distance from an interior surface of said first portion of said first bracket to an interior surface of said first portion of said second bracket coincides with a first external surface dimension of said at least one structural member of said first and said second access control devices when said first and said second fasteners are fully tightened (being that interior surfaces of the first portions of the first and second brackets are in contact with external surfaces of the structural members as taught in claim 16, a distance between said interior surfaces of said first portions will correspond to a dimension of said external surface when the fasteners are fully tightened).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Gallenschütz, Pingel, and Aldridge further teach wherein a distance from an interior surface of said offset portion of said first bracket to an interior surface of said offset portion of said second bracket coincides with a second external surface dimension of said at least one structural member of said first and said second access control devices when said first and said second fasteners are fully tightened (being that interior surfaces of the offset portions of the first and second brackets are in contact with external surfaces of the structural members as taught in claim 16, a distance between said interior surfaces of said offset portions will correspond to a dimension of said external surface when the fasteners are fully tightened).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
/KEVIN J BAYNES/Examiner, Art Unit 3678