DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-3, 6-7, 10-13, 16-17 and 20 in the reply filed on 01/31/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the claim groups are all relevant to each other, which would not impose a serious burden on the Examiner. This is not found persuasive because of different embodiment implementations where the species or groupings of patentably indistinct species require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-7, 10-13, 16-17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN111784973) in view of Burton (US2004/0044293).
To claim 1, Wang teach a human-eye state detection device, comprising:
an image capturing device, continuously capturing a plurality of frames of facial images of a user (paragraph 0011, acquire facial video of target driver); and
a processor, determining an eye area from the plurality of frames of facial images and calculating an average eye-opening value based on the eye area; wherein the processor repeatedly updates an eye-opening threshold value based on the average eye-opening value (paragraph 0033, the eye opening threshold can be dynamically adjusted according to the driver’s eye size; paragraph 0034, the average of the effective eye-opening values is calculated and multiplied by a certain proportion, which is used as the threshold for eye-opening; wherein obviously eye opening sizes are averaged);
wherein in response to the average eye-opening value being less than the eye-opening threshold value, the processor determines that the user is in an eye-closing state (paragraph 0012, if the eye size threshold of two consecutive frames is less than the eye opening threshold, the time interval between these two frames is included in the temporary eye-closing cumulative time; wherein obviously eye opening sizes are averaged).
In furthering said obviousness, Burton teach comparing mean of eye opening area to eye opening threshold (88 of Fig. 8; paragraph 0278).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Burton into the apparatus of Wang, in order to further implementation detail by design preference.
To claim 11, Wang and Burton teach a human-eye state detection method adapted to a human-eye state detection device (as explained in response to claim 1 above, wherein Wang teach real-time operations in paragraphs 0015, 0027; Burton teach real-time operations in paragraphs 0120, 0352, 0384).
To claims 2 and 12, Wang and Burton teach claims 1 and 11.
Wang and Burton teach wherein in response to the processor determining that an execution condition has been met (Wang, paragraph 0010, vehicle real-time movement speed reaches the movement speed threshold), the processor calculates an eye-opening value from the eye area of each frame and generates the average eye-opening value by averaging the eye-opening values of a specific amount of frames at a first point of time (Wang, paragraph 0012, two consecutive frames); wherein the average eye-opening value generated at the first point of time is a first average eye-opening value; wherein the processor multiplies the first average eye-opening value by a ratio to generate an initial eye-opening threshold value and takes the initial eye-opening threshold value as the eye-opening threshold value (Wang, paragraph 0034, the average of the effective eye-opening values is calculated and multiplied by a certain proportion).
To claims 3 and 13, Wang and Burton teach claims 2 and 12.
Wang and Burton teach wherein after the processor takes the initial eye-opening threshold value as the eye-opening threshold value, the processor uses an average of the eye-opening values of the specific amount of frames at a second point of time to generate a real-time average eye-opening value, thereby updating the average eye-opening value to a second average eye-opening value (Wang, paragraphs 0025-0026, continuously monitoring every two consecutive frames, wherein second point of time resides); wherein the eye-opening threshold value is the second average eye-opening value multiplied by the ratio; wherein the second average eye-opening value is an average of the first average eye-opening value and the real-time average eye-opening value (Wang, paragraph 0034, since said monitoring is continuously on consecutive frames, it makes a running mean or cumulative average an obvious implementation and well-known practice in the art, which would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date to apply by design preference, hence Official Notice is taken).
To claims 6 and 16, Wang and Burton teach claims 3 and 13.
Wang and Burton teach wherein the processor further determines whether the second average eye-opening value is less than the initial eye-opening threshold value (Wang, paragraphs 0025-0026, continuously monitoring every two consecutive frames to check whether temporary eye closure status remain); wherein in response to the second average eye-opening value being less than the initial eye-opening threshold value, the processor adjusts the average eye-opening value to the average of the first average eye-opening value and the second average eye-opening value (Wang, paragraph 0033, eye opening threshold is dynamically adjusted; paragraph 0034, since said monitoring is continuously on consecutive frames, it makes a running mean or cumulative average an obvious implementation and well-known practice in the art, which would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date to apply by design preference, hence Official Notice is taken).
To claims 7 and 17, Wang and Burton teach claims 6 and 16.
Wang and Burton teach wherein in response to the second average eye-opening value not being less than the initial eye-opening value (Wang, paragraph 0024, the eye size threshold of the current frame is greater than the eye opening threshold), the processor further determines whether the eye-opening threshold value exceeds the first average eye-opening value (Wang, paragraphs 0025-0026, continuously monitoring every two consecutive frames to check); wherein in response to the eye-opening threshold exceeding the first average eye-opening value, the processor adjusts the average eye-opening value to the average of the first average eye-opening value and the second average eye-opening value; wherein in response to the eye-opening threshold not exceeding the first average eye-opening value, the processor repeatedly updates the average eye-opening value in real-time; wherein the eye-opening threshold value varies with the average eye-opening value (Wang, paragraph 0033, eye opening threshold is dynamically adjusted; paragraph 0034, since said monitoring is continuously on consecutive frames, it makes a running mean or cumulative average an obvious implementation and well-known practice in the art, which would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date to apply by design preference, hence Official Notice is taken).
To claims 10 and 20, Wang and Burton teach claims 1 and 11.
Wang and Burton teach wherein the processor further determines a left eye area and a right eye area from the eye area and generates the average eye-opening values and the eye-opening threshold values corresponding to the left eye area and the right eye area based on the left eye area and the right eye area respectively; wherein in response to the processor determining that the average eye-opening value of the left eye area and the average eye-opening value of the right eye area are both less than the corresponding eye-opening threshold values, the processor determines that the user is in the eye-closing state (Burton, paragraph 0015, sensors/techniques may be adapted for monitoring the left eye only or the right eye only or both eyes; paragraph 0278, mean of eye opening area; which obviously show that mean of eye opening area to be for respective eye or both eyes, as comparing to respective eye-opening threshold).
Conclusion
ZHIYU . LU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2669
/ZHIYU LU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2665 February 17, 2026