DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species I in the reply filed on 12/5/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there would not be an undue burden on the Examiner. This is not found persuasive because the species are directed to different positioning of the first printing head, upstream or downstream, in regards to the second printing head in a conveyance direction. This leads to a structural difference, in particular wherein the first liquid is a processing liquid that insolubilizes the ink upon coming into contact with the ink, the first liquid would be either a pre-treatment liquid or a post-treatment liquid requiring a serious search and/or examination burden requiring a different search strategy.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 11-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 12/5/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sekiguchi et al (U.S. Pub. 2020/0101782) in view of Gompertz (U.S. Pub. 2003/0222939)
Regarding claim 1, a printing apparatus comprising: a conveyance unit configured to convey a printing medium in a conveyance direction (Figures 2-3; Paragraph 0035)
A first printing head (11) configured to eject a first liquid (pretreatment) onto the printing medium conveyed by the conveyance unit in a state where a distance between a first ejection surface where ejection ports are formed and the printing medium corresponds to a first distance (Figures 3, 13; Paragraphs 0033, 0037)
A second print head (12) configured to eject a second liquid (inks), which reacts upon coming into contact with the first liquid [pretreatment liquid includes a flocculant of polyvalent metal salt which is known to interact to thicken or insolubilize coloring ink; Paragraph 0067], onto the printing medium conveyed by the conveyance unit in a state where a distance between a second ejection surface where ejection ports are formed and the printing medium corresponds to a second distance smaller than the first distance (Figure 13; Paragraphs 0046, 0057, 0121)
Wherein the first printing head (11) is provided upstream of the plurality of second printing heads (12) in the conveyance direction (Figures 2-3, 13; Paragraph 0046)
Sekiguchi does not expressly disclose a plurality of second printing heads, however Gompertz discloses it is known in the art for a printhead carrier or carriage to comprise a plurality of print heads (Figure 3; elements 130 and 350; Paragraphs 0034, 0053)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a plurality of printing heads as taught by Gompertz into the device of Sekiguchi, for the purpose of ejecting a plurality of colors and increasing throughput.
Regarding claim 2, wherein the first distance is larger than the second distance of any of the plurality of second printing heads (Figure 13)
Regarding claim 3, wherein the second liquid is an ink for forming an image, and the first liquid is a processing liquid that insolubilizes the ink upon coming into contact with the ink (Paragraph 0046) [pretreatment liquid includes a flocculant of polyvalent metal salt which is known to interact to thicken or insolubilize coloring ink; Paragraph 0067]
Claim(s) 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sekiguchi et al (U.S. Pub. 2020/0101782) in view of Hamano et al (U.S. Pub. 2017/0341387)
Regarding claim 4, Hamano discloses an ejection surface which includes a guard member (33) provided to be protruding relative to the ejection ports (Figures 2, 7; Paragraphs 0121-0123)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Hamano into the device of Sekiguchi, for the purpose of preventing ink from entering the inside of the ink jet head
Regarding claim 5, Hamano discloses an ejection surface which includes a guard member (33) provided to be protruding relative to the ejection ports (Figures 2, 7; Paragraphs 0121-0123)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Hamano into the device of Sekiguchi, for the purpose of preventing ink from entering the inside of the ink jet head
Regarding claim 6, Hamano discloses a guard member (33) which includes an opening through which the ejection ports are exposed (Figures 2, 7; Paragraphs 0121-0123)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Hamano into the device of Sekiguchi, for the purpose of preventing ink from entering the inside of the ink jet head
Claim(s) 7-9, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sekiguchi et al (U.S. Pub. 2020/0101782) in view of Nakashima et al (U.S. Pub. 2004/0263602)
Regarding claim 7, Sekiguchi discloses a printing apparatus comprising: a first printing head (11) configured to eject a first liquid (pretreatment); and a second printing head configured to eject a second liquid that reacts upon coming into contact with the first liquid [pretreatment liquid includes a flocculant of polyvalent metal salt which is known to interact to thicken or insolubilize coloring ink; Paragraph 0067] (Figure 13; Paragraphs 0046, 0057, 0121)
Wherein the first distance of the first printing head to the printing medium is larger than the second distance of the second printing head to the printing medium (Figure 13)
Sekiguchi discloses a maintenance unit (18) for the printing heads (Figures 2-3; Paragraph 0037). Nakashima discloses moving the heads vertically to a first position or a second position for maintenance. Therefore, Nakashima discloses wherein the first printing head and the second printing head are configured to be movable to a first position and a second position (Paragraphs 0092-0095)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Nakashima into the device of Sekiguchi, for the purpose of moving the print heads into proper position to perform maintenance
Regarding claim 8, wherein the second liquid is an ink for forming an image, and the first liquid is a processing liquid that insolubilizes the ink upon coming into contact with the ink (Paragraph 0046) [pretreatment liquid includes a flocculant of polyvalent metal salt which is known to interact to thicken or insolubilize coloring ink; Paragraph 0067]
Regarding claim 9, wherein the first printing head is provided upstream of the second printing head in a conveyance direction of a printing medium (Figures 2-3)
Regarding claim 16, Sekiguchi discloses a control method for a printing apparatus equipped with a first printing head (11) for ejecting a first liquid (pretreatment) and a second printing head (12) for ejecting a second liquid that reacts upon coming into contact with the first liquid [pretreatment liquid includes a flocculant of polyvalent metal salt which is known to interact to thicken or insolubilize coloring ink; Paragraph 0067] (Figure 13; Paragraphs 0046, 0057, 0121)
Wherein the first distance of the first printing head to the printing medium is larger than the second distance of the second printing head to the printing medium (Figure 13)
Sekiguchi discloses a maintenance unit (18) for the printing heads (Figures 2-3; Paragraph 0037). Nakashima discloses moving the heads vertically to a first position or a second position for maintenance. Therefore, Nakashima discloses wherein the first printing head and the second printing head are configured to be movable to a first position and a second position (Paragraphs 0092-0095)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Nakashima into the device of Sekiguchi, for the purpose of moving the print heads into proper position to perform maintenance
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sekiguchi et al (U.S. Pub. 2020/0101782) as modified by Nakashima et al (U.S. Pub. 2004/0263602) and further in view of Gompertz (U.S. Pub. 2003/0222939)
Regarding claim 10, Sekiguchi discloses wherein the first printing head (11) is provided upstream of the second print head in the conveyance direction (Figures 2-3)
Sekiguchi does not expressly disclose a plurality of second printing heads, however Gompertz discloses it is known in the art for a printhead carrier or carriage to comprise a plurality of print heads (Figure 3; elements 130 and 350; Paragraphs 0034, 0053)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate a plurality of printing heads as taught by Gompertz into the device of Sekiguchi, for the purpose of ejecting a plurality of colors and increasing throughput
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sekiguchi et al (U.S. Pub. 2020/0101782) as modified by Nakashima et al (U.S. Pub. 2004/0263602) and further in view of Hamano et al (U.S. Pub. 2017/0341387)
Regarding claim 13, Hamano discloses an ejection surface which includes a guard member (33) provided to be protruding relative to the ejection ports (Figures 2, 7; Paragraphs 0121-0123)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Hamano into the device of Sekiguchi, for the purpose of preventing ink from entering the inside of the ink jet head
Regarding claim 14, Hamano discloses an ejection surface which includes a guard member (33) provided to be protruding relative to the ejection ports (Figures 2, 7; Paragraphs 0121-0123)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Hamano into the device of Sekiguchi, for the purpose of preventing ink from entering the inside of the ink jet head
Regarding claim 15, Hamano discloses a guard member (33) which includes an opening through which the ejection ports are exposed (Figures 2, 7; Paragraphs 0121-0123)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Hamano into the device of Sekiguchi, for the purpose of preventing ink from entering the inside of the ink jet head
Conclusion
/JASON S UHLENHAKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853 January 7, 2026