DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Fairlie et al (US 6,432,283 A).
Claim 9 is a product-by-process claim. See MPEP § 2113. Product-by-process claims are limited to only the recited structure and do not import any of the steps of the recited process steps. Thus, the scope of instant claim 9 is a vehicle incorporating hydrogen fuel regardless of how the hydrogen fuel was made or by which apparatus was used to generate the hydrogen fuel.
Fairlie et al teach (see abstrac9+t, fig. 1, col. 6, lines 7-22) a vehicle (120) using hydrogen gas generated by electrolysis as a fuel for the vehicle.
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 10-14, 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sajjad et al (WO 2023/172626 A1).
Sajjad et al teach (see abstract, figs. 1-5, paragraphs [0023]-[0033], and [0060]) a membrane electrode assembly useful for performing water electrolysis (i.e. “configured to use an electric current to split water molecules into hydrogen and oxygen gases”) comprising:
a cathode portion (202+208 or 302+312 or 402+412 or 502) disposed on one end;
an anode portion (204+210 or 304+314 or 404+414 or 504) disposed on the opposite end from the cathode portion; and
a proton exchange membrane (306+310 or 406+408+410 or 506+510) disposed between the cathode portion and the anode portion and including:
a cathode ionomer layer (306 or 506) disposed adjacent the cathode portion;
an anode ionomer layer (310 or 510) disposed adjacent the anode portion; and
a support layer (reinforcement layer not shown in figures, but see discussion of support layer at paragraph [0060]) between the cathode ionomer layer and the anode ionomer layer.
Sajjad et al further discuss (see paragraphs [0052]-[0053]) that there is a gas recombination catalyst present in the anode ionomer layer (310 or 510) in a graded dispersion such that the concentration of the recombination catalyst increases approaching the anode portion of the membrane electrode assembly (i.e. is higher at a portion of the anode ionomer layer disposed closer to the anode portion than at a portion of the anode ionomer layer disposed closer to the cathode portion).
Regarding claim 2, Sajjad et al teach (see paragraph [0034]) the recombination catalyst being in the form of (nano)particles.
Regarding claim 3, Sajjad et al teach (see paragraph [0034]) the recombination catalyst comprising platinum.
Regarding claim 5, Sajjad et al teach (see paragraph [0039]) that a pre-treatment may be applied to provide greater uniformity of particle sizes of the recombination catalyst. In the absence of the pre-treatment, the recombination catalyst would have possessed less uniformity of size meaning more than one size (i.e. “having varying sizes”) of catalyst particle was present.
Regarding claim 6, Sajjad et al teach (see fig. 4, paragraphs [0066]-[0067]) an alternative embodiment wherein an additional ionomer layer (408) was provided between the anode ionomer layer and the anode portion, where the additional ionomer layer was free of gas recombination catalyst.
Regarding claim 7, Sajjad et al teach (see fig. 5) an embodiment wherein the anode ionomer layer directly contacted the anode portion. Note that the separation layer (514) was taught (see paragraph [0072]) as being the porous transport layer or anode catalyst coating of the anode portion.
Regarding claim 8, Sajjad et al teach (see abstract, paragraph [0011]) constructing an electrolysis cell (i.e. “electrolyzer”) using the membrane electrode assembly as discussed with respect to claim 1 above, the electrolysis cell being configured to produce hydrogen gas.
Regarding claim 10, Sajjad et al teach (see abstract, figs. 1-5, paragraphs [0023]-[0033], and [0060]) a membrane electrode assembly useful for performing water electrolysis (i.e. “configured to use an electric current to split water molecules into hydrogen and oxygen gases”) comprising:
a cathode portion (202+208 or 302+312 or 402+412 or 502) disposed on one end;
an anode portion (204+210 or 304+314 or 404+414 or 504) disposed on the opposite end from the cathode portion; and
a proton exchange membrane (306+310 or 406+408+410 or 506+510) disposed between the cathode portion and the anode portion and including:
a cathode ionomer layer (306 or 506) disposed adjacent the cathode portion; and,
an anode ionomer layer (310 or 408+410 or 510) disposed adjacent the anode portion having a first portion (right-hand side of figures) disposed closer to the anode portion, a second portion (left-hand side of figures) disposed closer to the cathode portion, and a third portion disposed between the first portion and the second portion.
Sajjad et al further discuss (see paragraphs [0052]-[0053]) that there is a gas recombination catalyst present in the anode ionomer layer (310 or 410 or 510) in a graded dispersion such that the concentration of the recombination catalyst increases approaching the anode portion of the membrane electrode assembly (i.e. is higher at the first portion of the anode ionomer layer than at the third portion of the anode ionomer layer disposed.
Regarding claim 11, Sajjad et al discuss (see paragraph [0055]) forming the gradient of the recombination layer by forming multiple thin layers with increasing (or decreasing) concentrations of the recombination catalyst. The layer facing the cathode ionomer layer would have the lowest concentration of the recombination catalyst. Sajjad et al further teach (see paragraph [0056]) that an ionomer layer may be provided to separate the plurality of recombination catalyst layers. At least one of these interposed ionomer layers that did not contain recombination catalyst would constitute the second portion as claimed.
Regarding claim 12, Sajjad et al teach (see paragraph [0034]) the recombination catalyst being in the form of (nano)particles.
Regarding claim 13, Sajjad et al teach (see paragraph [0034]) the recombination catalyst comprising platinum.
Regarding claim 14, Sajjad et al teach (see paragraph [0039]) that a pre-treatment may be applied to provide greater uniformity of particle sizes of the recombination catalyst. In the absence of the pre-treatment, the recombination catalyst would have possessed less uniformity of size meaning more than one size (i.e. “having varying sizes”) of catalyst particle was present.
Regarding claim 16, Sajjad et al teach (see abstract, paragraph [0011]) constructing an electrolysis cell (i.e. “electrolyzer”) using the membrane electrode assembly as discussed with respect to claim 1 above, the electrolysis cell being configured to produce hydrogen gas.
Regarding claim 17, Sajjad et al teach (see abstract, figs. 1-5, paragraphs [0023]-[0033], and [0060]) a membrane useful for performing water electrolysis (i.e. “configured to use an electric current to split water molecules into hydrogen and oxygen gases”) comprising:
a cathode ionomer layer (306 or 506) disposed adjacent the cathode portion;
an anode ionomer layer (310 or 510) disposed adjacent the anode portion; and
a support layer (reinforcement layer not shown in figures, but see discussion of support layer at paragraph [0060]) between the cathode ionomer layer and the anode ionomer layer.
Sajjad et al further discuss (see paragraphs [0052]-[0053]) that there is a gas recombination catalyst present in the anode ionomer layer (310 or 510) in a graded dispersion such that the concentration of the recombination catalyst increases approaching the anode portion of the membrane electrode assembly (i.e. is higher at a portion of the anode ionomer layer disposed further from the cathode ionomer layer than at a portion of the anode ionomer layer disposed closer to the cathode ionomer layer).
Regarding claim 18, Sajjad et al teach (see paragraph [0034]) the recombination catalyst comprising platinum.
Regarding claim 19, Sajjad et al teach (see paragraph [0034]) the recombination catalyst being in the form of (nano)particles.
Regarding claim 20, Sajjad et al teach (see paragraph [0039]) that a pre-treatment may be applied to provide greater uniformity of particle sizes of the recombination catalyst. In the absence of the pre-treatment, the recombination catalyst would have possessed less uniformity of size meaning more than one size (i.e. “having varying sizes”) of catalyst particle was present.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sajjad et al (WO 2023/172626 A1) in view of Price et al (US 2020/0099061 A1).
Sajjad et al teach the recombination catalyst being platinum or a variation thereof.
Sajjad et al fail to teach the recombination catalyst being palladium.
Price et al teach (see abstract, paragraphs [0001]-[0010] and [0110]-[0115]) that the gas recombination catalyst present in a membrane layer of a membrane electrode assembly for water electrolysis could be a number of different materials, including platinum as disclosed by Sajjad et al as well as palladium. Thus, Price et al recognized platinum and palladium and functional equivalents of each other as recombination catalysts within membrane layers of a water electrolysis cell.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have substituted a palladium catalyst in place of the platinum catalyst of Sajjad et al because the platinum and palladium were recognized functional equivalents of each other. See MPEP § 2144.06.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Shane et al (US 5,342,494 A) provides an early disclosure of using a gas recombination catalyst inside the membrane of a water electrolysis cell to reduce the occurrence of hydrogen (or oxygen) crossover. Cipollini et al (US 2011/0198232 A1) provide for a gas recombination catalyst layer in a membrane of a water electrolysis cell, but the catalyst is only present on the cathode side of the membrane. Capuano et al (WO 2018/038986 A1) provides for a gas recombination catalyst layer nearer the anode portion than the cathode portion of a membrane of a water electrolysis cell, but does not disclose a gradient to the amount of recombination catalyst. Lewinski et al (US 2020/017980 A1) provide a multi-layered membrane for a water electrolysis cell (see fig. 2) wherein at least one of the layers comprises a catalyst, such as platinum, designed to reduce hydrogen crossover in the cell, but Lewinski et al fail to disclose a gradient to the amount of recombination catalyst. Yang et al (US 2022/0243344 A1) teach a layer of recombination catalyst inside the membrane of a water electrolysis cell, wherein the layer of catalyst was closer to the anode than the cathode, but Yang et al fail to disclose a gradient to the amount of recombination catalyst. Bartels et al (US 2024/0128477 A1) disclose providing a recombination catalyst inside a membrane of a water electrolysis cell, but fails to teach providing a gradient to the amount of recombination catalyst. Gu et al (US 2007/0275291 A1) has been cited by Sajjad et al in the corresponding US application (published as US 2025/0236964 A1) and is included here for completeness of the record. Gu et al relates to fuel cells not electrolyzers, although there is a discussion of providing recombination catalyst layers inside the membrane of the fuel cell, as well as a general suggestion that multiple layers may be used having a gradient of one of porosity, proton conductivity, electron conductivity, mechanical strength, and material composition. Thus, there is an implication in Gu et al that the recombination catalyst could be provided with a composition gradient, but there is no express disclosure of doing so. The Office has elected not to pursue rejection grounds using Gu et al, in combination with one or more of Capuano et al, Lewinski et al, Yang et al, or Bartels et al in favor of the clear and direct teaching of Sajjad et al.
/HARRY D WILKINS III/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794