DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “reception unit”, “execution unit,” “obtainment unit,” “determination unit,” “storage unit,” and “notification unit,” in claims 1-12.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre- AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
reception unit – paragraph 31, wherein the reception unit is a communication unit, which is structure, paragraph 30
obtainment unit – paragraph 35
determination unit – paragraph 57
storage unit – paragraph 47
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim(s) 1-12 contain(s) the limitation “execution unit” and “notification unit” however, the specification does not mention the term “execution unit” and “notification unit” in terms of structure. Although there is support for the steps and processes of execution and notification, there is a lack of support for each of their respective units. Therefore, one cannot determine the further features of the units besides what is described in the claims. As a result of a 112(f) identification in regards to the units, there needs to be more information to identify what the units comprise of and actions they perform.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claims 6-9 make reference to the reference time being the middle of the time period. In particular, claims 6 and 8 state that the reference time is the middle of the time period and that the print job should be scheduled in relation to the middle of the time period, as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 10, and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Indei (US 2009/0094607).
Regarding Claim 1, Indei teaches a printer (Element 30) comprising:
a reception unit configured to receive a print job in which an execution time period for executing printing is designated (Paragraphs 71 and 86, wherein the job is received and the time period is determined);
an execution unit configured to execute the print job (Paragraph 84, wherein the job is generated);
an obtainment unit configured to obtain a required time required for execution of the print job (Paragraphs 72 and 86, wherein the processing time is determined); and
a determination unit configured to determine an execution timing of the print job within a printable time period in which the print job is executable by the execution unit based on the execution time period and the required time, in a case where the printable time period overlaps the execution time period (Paragraph 87, wherein it is determined if the job can be processed).
Regarding Claim 2, Indei further teaches wherein the determination unit determines the execution timing of the print job so that a start time at which the print job starts will fall within the printable time period and the execution time period (Paragraphs 87-89, wherein the time zone is determined to be acceptable based on current jobs).
Regarding Claim 3, Indei further teaches wherein the determination unit determines the execution timing of the print job so that an end time at which the print job ends will fall within the printable time period and the execution time period (Paragraphs 87-89, wherein the time zone is determined to be acceptable based on current jobs).
Regarding Claim 4, Indei further teaches wherein the reception unit receives print jobs of which execution time periods overlap (Paragraphs 87-89, wherein the time zone is determined to be acceptable based on current jobs and shifting can be done), and
wherein the determination unit determines execution timings of the print jobs so that executions of the print jobs will not overlap in the printable time period (Paragraphs 87-89, wherein the time zone is determined to be acceptable based on current jobs and shifting can be done).
Regarding Claim 5, Indei further teaches wherein the determination unit determines the execution timings of the print jobs in order of reception of the print jobs by the reception unit (Paragraphs 87-89, wherein the shifting is done based on the jobs that are received first).
Regarding Claim 10, Indei further teaches wherein the reception unit receives print jobs of which execution time periods overlap (Paragraphs 87-89, wherein the time zone is determined to be acceptable based on current jobs and shifting can be done), and
wherein the determination unit determines execution timings of print jobs that are adjacent to each other and are executed within the printable time period so that an end time at which a preceding print job ends will overlap a start time at which a subsequent print job starts among the print jobs (Paragraphs 87-89, wherein the time zone is determined to be acceptable based on current jobs and shifting can be done).
Regarding Claim 12, Indei further teaches a notification unit configured to give notification, in a case where the determination unit cannot determine the execution timing of the print job, about such a fact (Paragraph 92, wherein if the job cannot be processed in the designated time period, a notification can be sent).
Regarding Claim 13, the limitations are similar to those treated in and are met by the references as discussed in claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 14, the limitations are similar to those treated in and are met by the references as discussed in claim 1 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Indei (US 2009/0094607) in view of Matoba (US 2006/0227373).
Regarding Claim 11, Indei does not teach a storage unit configured to store the printable time period,
wherein the storage unit stores printable time periods in advance, and
wherein the printable time periods have time periods that do not overlap at least partially.
Matoba does teach a storage unit configured to store the printable time period (Paragraph 63, wherein there is a storage of the time periods for business and outside business hours),
wherein the storage unit stores printable time periods in advance (Paragraph 63, wherein there is a storage of the time periods for business and outside business hours), and
wherein the printable time periods have time periods that do not overlap at least partially (Paragraph 63, wherein there is a storage of the time periods for business and outside business hours).
Indei and Matoba are combinable because they both deal with scheduling print jobs.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Indei with the teachings of Matoba for the purpose of ensuring proper processing of a job within a designated larger time set (Matoba: Paragraph 11).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additional cited reference of US 5940582 relates to scheduling jobs to ensure proper completion based on designated end times. US 2023/0297306 relates to prioritizing scheduled job start times for submitted print jobs. US 2007/0091344 relates to designating start or end times of print jobs when submitted.
/NICHOLAS PACHOL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2699