DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “extends from the third surface of the electronic component, extends from the third surface of the electronic component” in lines 14-15 should be changed to “extends from the third surface of the electronic component”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 10, 13, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (KR 10-2022-0166101 cited in IDS dated 05/21/2025 with corresponding US 2024/0114662 A1 as English translation; hereinafter “Kim”).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches an electronic device comprising:
an electronic component (502) disposed on a printed circuit board (501) (Fig. 6A and paragraphs 119-121);
a shield can (510) disposed on the printed circuit board at least partially surrounding the electronic component, the shield can including: a first surface (a bottom surface of a lateral upper portion of 510) facing the electronic component, a second surface (a top surface of the lateral upper portion of 510) facing the first surface, and an opening (512) passing through the first surface and the second surface and aligned with the electronic component (Fig. 6A and paragraph 122);
a shielding sheet (550 shielding/covering underlying elements) disposed on the second surface of the shield can to cover the opening of the shield can (Fig. 6A and paragraph 118); and
a thermal interface material (TIM) (a combination of 540 and 560) configured to transfer heat generated from the electronic component to the shielding sheet (Figs. 6A-6B and paragraphs 121-122, 131-133, and 137-140),
wherein the TIM includes a phase change material (PCM) (paragraphs 132-133 and 137. For example, both 540 and 560 formed of TIM, wherein 540 including a phase changing material such as paraffin and 560 including a liquid material that solidifies as assembly of the electronic device is completed), contacts a third surface of the electronic component (502a) facing the first surface, extends from the third surface of the electronic component, extends from the third surface of the electronic component, through at least a portion of the opening, to the shielding sheet (the combination of 540 and 560 contacting 502a, extending from 502a, through 512, to 550 as shown in Fig. 6A reads on the claimed limitation), and at least partially penetrates into the shielding sheet (540 is partially penetrates into 550 having 550a and 550b as shown in Fig. 7D) (Fig. 7D and paragraph 149).
Regarding claim 3, Kim teaches wherein the thermal interface material at least partially penetrates into the shielding sheet, through a gap (a gap where 550a/550b is formed therein) between the thermal interface material and the shielding sheet (Fig. 7D and paragraph 149), based on being heat-compressed at a temperature higher than a glass transition temperature of the phase change material (“based on being heat-compressed at a temperature higher than a glass transition temperature of the phase change material” is a product-by process claim and therefore is treated according to MPEP 2113. Even through product-by process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method (i.e., heat-compressing) of production).
Regarding claim 4, Kim teaches wherein an area of the third surface in contact with the thermal interface material is greater than or equal to a specified ratio with respect to a total area of the third surface (“a specified ratio with respect to a total area of the third surface” is considered as less than or equal to an area of the top surface in contact with 560, which is similar to how Fig. 5A from the instant application is showing) (Fig. 6A).
Regarding claim 10, Kim teaches wherein the shielding sheet is attached to the second surface through an adhesive member comprising an adhesive (530) between the second surface and the shielding sheet (Fig. 6A and paragraph 125).
Regarding claim 13, Kim teaches wherein the electronic component includes at least one of a processor, a charging circuit, or a memory (paragraph 120).
Regarding claim 15, Kim teaches wherein the phase change material includes at least one of paraffin, salt hydrate, or polylactic acid (PLA)-based composite (paragraph 133, paraffin).
Regarding claim 16, Kim teaches an electronic device comprising:
a housing (310) including: a first plate (310A defined by 302), a second plate (310B defined by 311) opposite to the first plate, and a supporting member (326) comprising a support between the first plate and the second plate (Figs. 3A-3C and paragraphs 75-77 and 89);
a display (323) disposed between the supporting member and the first plate (Figs. 3A-3C and paragraph 89);
an electronic component (502) disposed on a printed circuit board (501 in Fig. 6A defined by 324 in Fig. 3C) disposed on a surface of the supporting member (a top surface of 326) facing the first plate (Figs. 3C and 6A and paragraphs 119-121);
a shield can (510) disposed on the printed circuit board at least partially surrounding the electronic component, the shield can including a first surface (a bottom surface of a lateral upper portion of 510) facing the electronic component, a second surface (a top surface of the lateral upper portion of 510) facing the first surface, and an opening (512) passing through the first surface and the second surface, wherein the opening is aligned with the electronic component (Fig. 6A and paragraph 122);
a shielding sheet (550 shielding/covering underlying elements) disposed on the second surface of the shield can and covering the opening of the shield can (Fig. 6A and paragraph 118); and
a thermal interface material (TIM) (a combination of 540 and 560) configured to transfer heat generated from the electronic component to the shielding sheet (Figs. 6A-6B and paragraphs 121-122, 131-133, and 137-140),
wherein the TIM includes a phase change material (PCM) (paragraphs 132-133 and 137. For example, both 540 and 560 formed of TIM, wherein 540 including a phase changing material such as paraffin and 560 including a liquid material that solidifies as assembly of the electronic device is completed), contacts a third surface of the electronic component (502a) facing the first surface, extends from the third surface, through at least a portion of the opening, to the shielding sheet (the combination of 540 and 560 contacting 502a, extending from 502a, through 512, to 550 as shown in Fig. 6A reads on the claimed limitation), and at least partially penetrates into the shielding sheet (540 is partially penetrates into 550 having 550a and 550b as shown in Fig. 7D) (Fig. 7D and paragraph 149), such that the TIM forms a heat dissipation path from the electronic component to the shielding sheet (Fig. 6B and paragraph 139).
Regarding claim 17, Kim teaches wherein the thermal interface material at least partially penetrates into the shielding sheet, through a gap (a gap where 550b is formed therein) between the thermal interface material and the shielding sheet (Fig. 7 and paragraph 149), based on being heat-compressed at a temperature higher than a glass transition temperature of the phase change material (“based on being heat-compressed at a temperature higher than a glass transition temperature of the phase change material” is a product-by process claim and therefore is treated according to MPEP 2113. Even through product-by process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production).
Regarding claim 18, Kim teaches wherein an area of the third surface in contact with the thermal interface material is greater than or equal to a specified ratio with respect to a total area of the third surface (“a specified ratio with respect to a total area of the third surface” is considered as less than or equal to an area of the top surface in contact with 560, which is similar to how Fig. 5A from the instant application is showing) (Fig. 6A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-9, 11-12, 14, 16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US 2021/0161039 A1; hereinafter “Jung”) in view of Park et al. (US 2021/0041926 A1; hereinafter “Park”).
Regarding claim 1, Jung teaches an electronic device comprising:
an electronic component (511) disposed on a printed circuit board (340) (Fig. 6 and paragraphs 67-68 and 74-76);
a shield can (570) disposed on the printed circuit board at least partially surrounding the electronic component, the shield can including: a first surface (a bottom surface of 571 of 570) facing the electronic component, a second surface (a top surface of 571 of 570) facing the first surface, and an opening (573) passing through the first surface and the second surface and aligned with the electronic component (Fig. 6 and paragraphs 77-78);
a shielding sheet (530) disposed on the second surface of the shield can to cover the opening of the shield can (Fig. 6 and paragraphs 79-81); and
a thermal interface material (TIM) (521 of 520) configured to transfer heat generated from the electronic component to the shielding sheet (Fig. 6 and paragraphs 84-86),
wherein the TIM contacts a third surface of the electronic component facing the first surface, extends from the third surface of the electronic component, extends from the third surface of the electronic component, through at least a portion of the opening, to the shielding sheet (521 contacting a top surface of 511, extending from the top surface of 511, through 573, to 530 as shown in Fig. 6 reads on the claimed limitation), and at least partially penetrates into the shielding sheet (521 is partially penetrates into 530 from a first area S1 of 530 towards a second area S2 of 530 due to shape of 530 as shown in Fig. 6) (Fig. 6 and paragraph 80).
Jung does not teach that the TIM includes a phase change material (PCM). However, Jung is open to various heat radiating materials or members for transferring the heat generated from the electronic component (511) for the TIM (521) (paragraph 85). Park teaches an electronic device (Figs. 1B-2) comprising: a thermal interface material (TIM) (260a) configured to transfer heat generated from an electronic component (220), wherein the TIM includes a phase change material (PCM) for its high thermal conductivity (Fig. 4 and paragraphs 143 and 153-154). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Jung with that of Park in order to provide the heat transfer member 260a formed of the PCM as a readily available material choice with its high thermal conductivity.
Regarding claim 5, Jung teaches further comprising a housing (310) including a supporting member comprising a support (360) configured to support the printed circuit board and a plate (560) disposed on the shielding sheet (Figs. 2-4 and 6 and paragraphs 54, 67 and 74).
Regarding claim 6, Jung teaches wherein the thermal interface material is configured to be compressed by a fastening force between the supporting member and the plate (“the thermal interface material is configured to be compressed by a fastening force between the supporting member and the plate” is a product-by process claim and therefore is treated according to MPEP 2113. Even through product-by process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method (i.e., heat-compressing) of production).
Regarding claim 7, while Jung in view Park does not explicitly teaches that the thermal interface material further comprises rubber, with the teaching of Jung not limiting the material choice for the thermal interface material (521) (paragraph 85), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include rubber as the readily available material choice as a part of the thermal interface material in order to obtain the predictable result.
Regarding claim 8, Jung teaches wherein the thermal interface material is formed integrally with the shielding sheet (Figs. 13-14).
Regarding claim 9, Jung teaches further comprising: a second electronic component (512) spaced apart from the electronic component and at least partially surrounded by the shield can (Fig. 6 and paragraph 74-76); and a second thermal interface material (522) configured to transfer heat generated from the second electronic component to the shield can, the second thermal interface material being distinct from the thermal interface material (Fig. 6 and paragraphs 85-86), and wherein the second thermal interface material fills a space between the shield can and the second electronic component (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 11, Jung teaches wherein the shielding sheet includes: a first layer (530 including a shielding film, wherein the shielding film formed of a fiber film formed in a nano structure to shield electromagnetic waves) attached on the second surface through an adhesive member (530 including a conductive adhesive film) comprising an adhesive and comprising another thermal interface material (541 of 540) distinct from the thermal interface material (Fig. 6 and paragraphs 81-82 and 91), a second layer (530 is formed by stacking a plurality of layers, wherein the plurality of layers including the shielding film formed of a fiber, wherein the lower portion of the shielding film formed of fiber is considered as “a first film” and the upper portion of the shielding film formed of fiber is considered as “a second film”) disposed on the first layer and configured to diffuse heat transferred from the first layer, and a third layer (“a third layer” is considered of Cu plated portion on the fiber for the shielding film of the 530) disposed on the second layer and configured to radiate heat transferred from the second layer outside of the shielding sheet (paragraph 82).
Regarding claim 12, Jung teaches wherein the first layer and the second layer are configured to shield electromagnetic noise signals generated from the electronic component (paragraph 82).
Regarding claim 14, Jung in view Park does not teach a flexible display with a first housing and a second housing rotatably coupled to the first housing. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement the combined teaching of Jun in view of Park into the flexible display such as the foldable display with the first housing and the second housing rotatably coupled to the first housing for effectively transferring heat generated by the electronic component in the electronic device.
Regarding claim 16, Jung teaches an electronic device comprising:
a housing (310) including: a first plate (310A defined by 302), a second plate (310B defined by 311) opposite to the first plate (Figs. 2-3 and paragraphs 54-56), and a supporting member (360) comprising a support between the first plate and the second plate (Fig. 4 and paragraph 67);
a display (330) disposed between the supporting member and the first plate (Fig. 4 and paragraph 67);
an electronic component (511) disposed on a printed circuit board (340) disposed on a surface of the supporting member (a top surface of 360) facing the first plate (320) (Fig. 6 and paragraphs 67-68 and 74-76);
a shield can (570) disposed on the printed circuit board and at least partially surrounding the electronic component, the shield can including: a first surface (a bottom surface of 571 of 570) facing the electronic component, a second surface (a top surface of 571 of 570) facing the first surface, and an opening (573) passing through the first surface and the second surface, wherein the opening is aligned with the electronic component (Fig. 6 and paragraphs 77-78);
a shielding sheet (530) disposed on the second surface of the shield can and covering the opening of the shield can (Fig. 6 and paragraphs 79-81); and
a thermal interface material (TIM) (521 of 520) configured to transfer heat generated from the electronic component to the shielding sheet (Fig. 6 and paragraphs 84-86),
wherein the TIM contacts a third surface of the electronic component (a top surface of 511) facing the first surface, extends from the third surface, through at least a portion of the opening, to the shielding sheet (521 contacting a top surface of 511, extending from the top surface of 511, through 573, to 530 as shown in Fig. 6 reads on the claimed limitation), and at least partially penetrates into the shielding sheet (521 is partially penetrates into 530 from a first area S1 of 530 towards a second area S2 of 530 due to shape of 530 as shown in Fig. 6) (Fig. 6 and paragraph 80), such that the TIM forms a heat dissipation path from the electronic component to the shielding sheet (Fig. 5 and paragraphs 94).
Jung does not teach that the TIM includes a phase change material (PCM). However, Jung is open to various heat radiating materials or members for transferring the heat generated from the electronic component (511) for the TIM (521) (paragraph 85). Park teaches an electronic device (Figs. 1B-2) comprising: a thermal interface material (TIM) (260a) configured to transfer heat generated from an electronic component (220), wherein the TIM includes a phase change material (PCM) for its high thermal conductivity (Fig. 4 and paragraphs 143 and 153-154). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Jung with that of Park in order to provide the heat transfer member 260a formed of the PCM as a readily available material choice with its high thermal conductivity.
Regarding claim 19, while Jung in view Park does not explicitly teaches that the thermal interface material further comprises rubber, with the teaching of Jung not limiting the material choice for the thermal interface material (521) (paragraph 85), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include rubber as the readily available material choice as a part of the thermal interface material in order to obtain the predictable result.
Regarding claim 20, Jung in view Park does not teach a flexible display with a first housing and a second housing rotatably coupled to the first housing, wherein the flexible display includes first, second, and third display areas. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement the combined teaching of Jun in view of Park into the flexible display such as the foldable display having the first, second, and third display areas with the first housing and the second housing rotatably coupled to the first housing for effectively transferring heat generated by the electronic component in the electronic device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claims have been considered but are moot in view of new/different grounds of rejections with the previously cited prior arts as set forth above in this Office Action.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL WHALEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893