DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 12 and 14-32 are currently pending in this application.
Claims 1-11 and 13 have been cancelled.
Claims 14-32 have been added.
Response to Amendments
The applicant amended independent claim 12 and added independent Claims 24 and 32 to recite features similar to
“determining, based on gaze tracking data, a region of a display screen gazed upon by a user;
selecting, from among a plurality of different computational processes, one or more particular computational processes to perform on one or more different regions of the display screen based on the determined region of the display screen gazed upon by the user; and
executing, the one or more particular computational processes on the one or more different regions of the display screen.”
The applicant cancelled claims 1-11 and the interpretation of claim 1 with invoke of 35 USC 112(f) has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on November 25, 2025 have been fully considered but they are directed toward newly amended claims and are believed to be answered and therefore not persuasive in view of the new ground(s) of rejection presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 12, 14, 16, 19, 24-25, 27, 30 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (2021/0035264) in view of Selker et al. (2018/0299953; IDS).
Regarding claim 12, Li teaches a method (e.g., The present invention provides a method and device for adjusting resolution of a Head-Mounted Display (HMD) apparatus. Li: Abstract L.1-3) comprising:
determining, based on gaze tracking data, a region of a display screen gazed upon by a user (e.g., determining, according to a gaze direction of user eyes and/or working condition of user eyes, and in combination with the saliency information, the importance level of each display content in the multimedia information. Li: [0032]; when displaying in a single-eye visual model, displaying, according to the adjusted resolution corresponding to each display content in the multimedia information, the multimedia information both in a left-eye display region and a right-eye display region of an HMD apparatus. Li: [0052]; when displaying in a stereo visual model, displaying, according to the adjusted resolution corresponding to each display content in the multimedia information, the first type of multimedia information in a left-eye display region and the second type of multimedia information in a right-eye display region, respectively; Li: [0056]. It is obvious multimedia information with different resolution is displayed at different display regions. See 12_1 below);
selecting, from among a plurality of different computational processes, one or more particular computational processes to perform on one or more different regions of the display screen based on the determined region of the display screen gazed upon by the user (e.g., As a preferred scheme, as shown in FIG. 5, when two neighbor display contents after adjusting resolution have different resolution, a resolution transition region, defined as a first transition region, is provided between the two neighbor display contents. The first transition region comprises a plurality of resolution values arranged according to a preset trend, for example, displaying a picture with resolution of 500 ppi (ppi is an abbreviation of pixels per inch, which is also called pixel density and represents pixel amount per inch, so the higher the value of ppi is, the higher resolution can be used by a display screen to display). In a neighbor display region of this display region, a picture is displayed with resolution of 300 ppi; in order to enable a video picture to be more smooth and not appear abrupt layered, there is a resolution transition region, with a certain width, between the above two neighbor regions; in this transition region, the resolution is transitioned, with 50 ppi as a resolution difference, from 500 ppi to 300 ppi, that is, a region of 450 ppi is directly adjacent to a region of 500 ppi, then a region of 400 ppi is adjacent to a region of 450 ppi, finally a region of 350 ppi is adjacent to a region of 400 ppi, thus the resolution is transitioned to the region of 300 ppi. Other values such as 20 ppi or 100 ppi can also selected as a preset trend, and adjustment may not be performed according to a uniform and disciplinary resolution difference, for example, during the above transition from 500 ppi to 300 ppi, these resolution differences of 50 ppi, 20 ppi or 30 ppi can be used in combination. The specific resolution transition display effect can be seen from a picture example in FIG. 6. Li: [0137] and Figs. 5 and 6; reproduced below for reference.
); and
executing, the one or more particular computational processes on the one or more different regions of the display screen (e.g., when displaying in a single-eye visual model, displaying, according to the adjusted resolution corresponding to each display content in the multimedia information, the multimedia information both in a left-eye display region and a right-eye display region of an HMD apparatus. Li: [0052]; when displaying in a stereo visual model, displaying, according to the adjusted resolution corresponding to each display content in the multimedia information, the first type of multimedia information in a left-eye display region and the second type of multimedia information in a right-eye display region, respectively; Li: [0056]).
While Li does not explicitly teach, Selker teaches:
(12_1). based on gaze tracking data (e.g., Accordingly, in an example system that is configured to apply image processing to the output of an optical sensor, such as an eye tracking camera, the system may be configured to perform the image processing in response to a determination that the output of an EOG sensor has changed by a sufficiently large amount (e.g., at stage 318B). In some examples, a system including an eye tracking camera can be configured to capture an image, and perform image processing on that image (e.g., to determine eye gaze) in response to a determination that the output of an EOG sensor has changed by a sufficiently large amount. Selker: [0041] L.9-19. Therefore, the images of eye tracking camera is taken as the data to determine the eye gaze);
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Selker into the teaching of Li so that the gaze is determined from the images captured by the eye tracking camera.
Regarding claim 14, the combined teaching of Li and Selker teaches the method of claim 12, wherein executing the one or more particular computational processes on the one or more different regions of the display screen comprises generating adjustments to a resolution to the one or more different regions of the display screen (e.g., when displaying in a mixed visual model, displaying, according to the adjusted resolution corresponding to each display content in the multimedia information, the first type of multimedia information in a part region of a left-eye display region of an HMD apparatus and the second type of multimedia information in the residual region of the left-eye display region of the HMD apparatus, and simultaneity displaying the second type of multimedia information in a right-eye display region of the HMD apparatus. Li: [0057]).
Regarding claim 16, the combined teaching of Li and Selker teaches the method of claim 12, wherein executing the one or more particular computational processes on the one or more different regions of the display screen comprises at least one of (i) adding a mesh of at least a part of a virtual element to image content on the one or more different regions of the display screen, (ii) removing a mesh of at least a part of a virtual element from the image content on the one or more different regions of the display screen, (iii) modifying at least one of a mesh or texture associated with at least a part of the virtual element within the image content, or (iv) modifying a location of a virtual element within the image content (e.g., In examples in which the display presents a 3D environment, such as in a virtual reality or augmented reality system, a virtual object may appear at the precise location in the 3D environment at which the user is currently looking, enhancing a user's sense of immersion or control. Selker: [0046] L.14-19. In examples in which the display presents a 3D environment, such as in a virtual reality or augmented reality system, it may be desirable for virtual objects to inconspicuously enter or exit the environment, or to change a state of a virtual object (such as the resolution of an asset used to render the object) without the user noticing. Selker: [0047] L.7-13).
Regarding claim 19, the combined teaching of Li and Selker teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the one or more particular computational processes comprises at least one of generating a draw call (e.g., The graphics module 428 can include various known software components for rendering, animating and displaying graphical objects on one or more display surfaces. Selker: [0072] L.1-4. a VR rendering engine reads these information and distributes computation resources during the process of rendering; for example, in a video model, such as on each geometry primitive (for example, 3D point or triangular patch) for storage, the semantic saliency information of the geometry primitive is added. Li: [0145] L.16-21. The rendering implicitly generating sequence of draw calls), loading at least one of a mesh or texture, performing a garbage collection process, or performing a frame rate synchronization.
Regarding claims 24-25, 27 and 30, the claims are system claims of method claims 12, 14, 16 and 19 respectively. The claims are similar in scope to claims 12, 14, 16 and 19 respectively and they are rejected under similar rationale as claims 12, 14, 16 and 19 respectively.
Li teaches that “The present invention relates to the technical field of three-dimensional display, and in particular to a method for adjusting resolution of a Head-Mounted Display (HMD) apparatus, an HMD apparatus for resolution adjustment and a device for adjusting resolution of an HMD apparatus.” (Li: [0001]) and “A device for adjusting resolution of a Head-Mounted Display (HMD) apparatus, comprising: a communication module; and a processing module configured to: acquire multimedia information to be displayed in an HMD apparatus, determine saliency information of display contents in multimedia information, adjust, according to the saliency information, resolution corresponding to each display content in the multimedia information, and transmit the resolution-adjusted multimedia information to the HMD apparatus.” (Li: Claim 21).
Regarding claim 32, the claim is a one or more non-transitory computer storage media claim of method claim 12. The claim is similar in scope to claim 12 and it is rejected under similar rationale as claim 12.
Selker further teaches that “Example system 400 includes one or more computer-readable mediums 401, processing system 404, I/O subsystem 406, wireless communications circuitry (e.g., RF circuitry) 408, audio devices (e.g., speaker, microphone) 410, and sensors 411. These components may be coupled by one or more communication buses or signal lines 403.” (Selker: [0064] L.18-24).
Claim(s) 15 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Selker as applied to claim 12 (24) and further in view of LaFayette et al. (2021/0358216; IDS).
Regarding claim 15, Li teaches the method of claim 12, wherein executing the one or more particular computational processes on the one or more different regions of the display screen (when displaying in a single-eye visual model, displaying, according to the adjusted resolution corresponding to each display content in the multimedia information, the multimedia information both in a left-eye display region and a right-eye display region of an HMD apparatus. Li: [0052]; when displaying in a stereo visual model, displaying, according to the adjusted resolution corresponding to each display content in the multimedia information, the first type of multimedia information in a left-eye display region and the second type of multimedia information in a right-eye display region, respectively; Li: [0056]) comprises adapting a level of detail of at least a part of a mesh of a virtual element within the one or more different regions of the display screen (see 15_1 below).
While the combined teaching of Li and Selker does not explicitly teach, LaFayette teaches:
(15_1). comprises adapting a level of detail of at least a part of a mesh of a virtual element within the one or more different regions of the display screen (e.g., In particular embodiments, an object's position relative to the user's foveal focus point may determine the level of detail that is appropriate for representing the object. For example, since the person's 410 torso is within the foveal focus point 401, the level of the detail of the mesh geometry used to represent the person's 410 torso. Since the person's 410 head and lower legs are in the second-farthest region 402 from the center of the foveal focus point 401, they may be represented using more simplified mesh geometry. The dog 420 and cat 430 may be represented with even more simplified mesh geometry since they are in the farthest region 403. LaFayette: [0034]. Therefore, the level of details of objects is highest at the foveal focus point 401 and lesser for objects in second-farthest region 402 and the least in the farthest region 403. In particular embodiments, the screen coverage size of the object may be additionally used with either or both the approaches described above (i.e., foveal focus point or lens characteristics) to determine the geometry simplification level of the object. For example, in FIG. 4, the screen coverage of the dog 420 is greater than the screen coverage of the cat 430 since more pixels would be needed to display the dog 420. However, if the dog 420 were to walk farther away from the camera or viewer, then the dog 420 will appear smaller and would need fewer pixels on the screen. In particular embodiments, the rendering system may set a threshold screen pixel size. If the dog 420 continues to walk farther away and eventually has a screen-coverage size that is less than the threshold, the rendering system may selectively reduce the mesh geometry of the dog 420 since any degradation in the level of detail would not be observable given how small the dog 420 would appear. LaFayette: [0036] and Fig. 4; reproduced below for reference.
Therefore, as the dog walked farther away from the camera or viewer, it appears smaller and need fewer pixels on the screen and hence lower resolution to render the reduced mesh geometry of the dog).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of LaFayette into the combined teaching of Li and Selker so that objects at the foveal region are displayed with higher resolution and with higher level of details as compared to objects displayed in the second-farther region and farthest region.
Regarding claim 26, the claim is a system claim of method claim 15. The claim is similar in scope to claim 15 and it is rejected under similar rationale as claim 15.
Claim(s) 17-18 and 28-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Selker as applied to claim 12 and further in view of Marwecki et al. (“Mise-Unseen: Using Eye-Tracking to Hide Virtual Reality Scene Changes in Plain Sight”, User Interface Software and Technology, p. 777-789, October 17, 2019; IDS).
Regarding claim 17, the combined teaching of Li and Selker teaches the method of claim 12, wherein executing the one or more particular computational processes on the one or more different regions of the display screen comprises adjusting a frame rate of image content on the one or more different regions of the display screen (see 17_1 below).
While the combined teaching of Li and Selker does not explicitly teach, Marwecki teaches:
(17_1). executing the one or more particular computational processes on the one or more different regions of the display screen comprises adjusting a frame rate of image content on the one or more different regions of the display screen (e.g., Figure 7 shows and describes this application (video contained in auxiliary material). In contrast to the black masks that are commonly used to eliminate motion in the peripheral vision, we maintain a full field of view. We remove peripheral motion by reducing the frame rate outside the fovea to 1Hz and blending the renderings of foveated and peripheral areas together. We hide the reduced frame rate in the peripheral area by interpolating between frames, feathering the edge to the foveated area, and adding a motion blur. Marwecki: p. 782 c.2 para. 2 and Figure 7; reproduced below for reference.
The different regions are the foveated and peripheral areas).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Marwecki into the combined teaching of Li and Selker so that instead of masking out peripheral motion, a reduced frame rate in the peripheral vision to 1 Hz is used to blur the outside of the user’s fovea.
Regarding claim 18, the combined teaching of Li and Selker teaches the method of claim 12, wherein executing the one or more particular computational processes is based on whether at least a part of the determined region of the display screen falls within a predefined region of the display screen (see 18_1 below).
While the combined teaching of Li and Selker does not explicitly teach, Marwecki teaches:
(18_1). at least a part of the determined region of the display screen falls within a predefined region of the display screen (e.g., Figure 8 shows and describes a demonstration. Past work has demonstrated how to change a presentation or personalize an experience using gaze [11,62]. The gallery builds on this idea and hides the changes. This illustrates how adaptive content benefits from our approach as obvious and unbelievable transitions can reduce immersion. Marwecki: p. 783 c.1 para. 3 and Figure 8; reproduced below for reference.
It can be seen that the determined region (the painting on the left in b) is changed to impressionist painting (in c) and the painting on the left of d)) in accordance with the modern art paintings (Interest-driven content)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Marwecki into the combined teaching of Li and Selker so that predefined region of the original painting can be changed to different painting of different style.
Regarding claims 28-29, the claims are system claims of method claims 17-18 respectively. The claims are similar in scope to claims 17-18 respectively and they are rejected under similar rationale as claims 17-18 respectively.
Claim(s) 20-23 and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Selker as applied to claim 12 and further in view of Publicover et al. (EP3140719; IDS) and Young (2017/0285736; IDS).
Regarding claim 20, the combined teaching of Li and Selker teaches the method of claim 12, comprising:
predicting, based on the gaze tracking data, a future time the user is likely to blink (see 20_1 below); and
in response to predicting the future time, executing the one or more particular computational processes within a time period of the future time during which the user is likely to blink (see 20_2 below).
While the combined teaching of Li and Selker does not explicitly teach, Publicover teaches:
(20_1). predicting, based on the gaze tracking data, a future time the user is likely to blink (e.g., movement of the eye lids and/or eye lashes can be used to anticipate that a blink is about to occur. As a blink is initiated, the system can anticipate that the user will be functionally blind for the duration of a blink (normally from 0.3 to 0.4 seconds). During this time, power can be conserved by reducing frame rate and/or interactables and/or other objects can introduced in a manner that does not attract attention. Furthermore, the functional ability to select or activate within the eye-signal language can be placed on "pause." This mode can be used to adjust timing considerations for certain operations. Publicover: [0466] L.1-6);
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Publicover into the combined teaching of Li and Selker so that any movement of the eye lids can be taken as starting of a blink.
While the combined teaching of Li, Selker and Publicover does not explicitly teach, Young teaches:
(20_2). in response to predicting the future time, executing the one or more particular computational processes within a time period of the future time during which the user is likely to blink (e.g., FIG. 2 shows an example method 200 wherein a system could adjust the compression or transmission of graphics transmitted to a user in ways that take into account saccades and/or blinks by a viewer. In this example, gaze tracking data 202 is obtained as discussed with respect to FIGS. 1A-1B. The eye tracking data may then be analyzed to detect a saccade and/or blink, as indicated at 204. If, at 206 no saccade or blink is detected normal transmission of image data to the display may take place, as indicated at 210A followed by presentation of images, as indicated at 212. The normal transmission takes place with normal transmission parameters and/or data compression parameters. If instead, a saccade and/or blink is detected at 206 the transmission of image data may be disabled at 210B for a period that accounts for the nature of the saccade/blink, which may potentially include determining the duration of the saccade blink at 208 through analysis of the gaze tracking data. Determining the saccade/blink duration at 208 may also include predicting when the saccade/blink will end by utilizing historical gaze tracking data of the user. When the system determines that the saccade/blink is ending, normal compression/transmission of the image data resumes, and the resulting images may then be presented at 212. Young: [0040]. Therefore, during the blink/saccade period, the normal compression/transmission of the image data is disabled).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Young into the combined teaching of Li, Selker and Publicover so that during the blinking or saccade period, the normal compression/transmission is disabled and processing power can be saved for other operations.
Regarding claim 21, the combined teaching of Li, Selker, Publicover and Young teaches the method of claim 20, wherein predicting the future time the user is likely to blink based on an average elapsed time between occurrences of the user blinking (e.g., Determining the saccade/blink duration at 208 may also include predicting when the saccade/blink will end by utilizing historical gaze tracking data of the user. When the system determines that the saccade/blink is ending, normal compression/transmission of the image data resumes, and the resulting images may then be presented at 212. Young: [0040] L.18-24).
Regarding claim 22, the combined teaching of Li, Selker, Publicover and Young teaches the method of claim 20, wherein predicting the future time the user is likely to blink based on one or more contractions of one or more facial muscles of the user prior to blinking (e.g., Blinks take even longer periods of time, 20 requiring a complex series of muscle contractions. The minimum time for a blink is about 0.3 to 0.4 seconds. Publicover: [0191] L.6-7. movement of the eye lids and/or eye lashes can be used to anticipate that a blink is about to occur. As a blink is initiated, the system can anticipate that the user will be functionally blind for the duration of a blink (normally from 0.3 to 0.4 seconds). Publicover: [0466] L.1-3. It is obvious that movements of eye lids and lashes involves contractions of series of muscles).
Regarding claim 23, the combined teaching of Li, Selker, Publicover and Young teaches the method of claim 20, wherein predicting the future time the user is likely to
blink based on one or more stimuli associated with image content displayed on the region of the display screen (e.g., interactables that are the target of smooth pursuit eye movements must first be perceived before a motion can be initiated and subsequently maintained at velocities well below maximum values (30° per second) for
physiological smooth pursuit. Pursuit objects that initially appear within a region of perception can avoid intervening saccadic movement(s) when placed sufficiently close to (e.g., well within the foveal view region of 1 ° to 3°) or even within the structure of a target interactable (see FIG. 13). A saccade (taking up unnecessary time) may be forced to take place if, for instance, a pursuit object has moved some distance (e.g., outside the foveal view region of 1 ° to 3°) away from the selected interactable prior to perception. Thus, the timing of initial display(s), any delays before movement begins,
and the rate(s) of movement are all critical for eye signal control using smooth pursuit mechanisms. Timing must take into account the physiology of anticipated eye movements and optimally include self-adaptive components the can be tuned to each device user including as experience is gained. Publicover: [0245] L.1-10).
Regarding claim 31, the claim is a system claim of method claim 20. The claim is similar in scope to claim 20 and it is rejected under similar rationale as claim 20.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SING-WAI WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611