DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Oath/Declaration
The applicant’s oath/declaration has been reviewed by the examiner and is found to conform to the requirements prescribed in 37 C.F.R. 1.63.
Priority
This application has a provisional application number 63/445,593 filed on 02/14/2023.
Drawings
The applicant’s drawings submitted are acceptable for examination purposes.
Information Disclosure Statement
As required by M.P.E.P. 609(C), the applicant’s submissions of the Information Disclosure Statements dated 02/07/2024 and 08/07/2024 are acknowledged by the examiner and the cited references have been considered in the examination of the claims now pending. As required by M.P.E.P 609 C(2), a copy of the PTOL-1449 initialed.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-8, 10-16 and 18-20 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2 line 1 recites “Claim 1” with upper case “C” suggests change to lower case “c” for grammatically purpose. Similar issue exists in claims 3-8, 10-16 and 18-20.
Claim 19 line 1 recites “LP-WUS” suggests amend to “low power wakeup signal (LP-WUS)” for clarity purpose. LP-WUS only discloses in the dependent claim 18 instead of independent claim 17.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Niu et al. (US 2025/0126563 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Niu teaches a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (Apparatus 205 is a UE device or a wireless communication device see Niu: Fig.8; ¶[0133]), the UE comprising:
a transceiver configured to receive, from a base station (BS) of a serving cell, a first signal and a second signal (UE 205 include transceiver electronic 215 (see Fig.8) receiving LP-WUS 401 corresponding first signal and SSB corresponding to second signal (see Fig.4) see Niu: ¶[0091-0092]; ¶[0095]), and
a processor operably coupled to the transceiver (processor 210 coupled to transceiver 215 see Niu: Fig.8),
the processor configured to:
perform a measurement operation on the first signal of the serving cell (performing a relaxed measurement in the serving cell where in the relaxed measurement include a LP-WUS measurement “wherein the wireless communication further comprising: determining a condition of the wireless communication device in the serving cell according to the configuration; performing a relaxed measurement in the serving cell” see Niu: ¶[0097]; Fig.5 step 504),
determine whether a measurement result of the first signal meets a first threshold, based on a determination that the measurement result of the first signal meets the first threshold, skip the measurement operation on the second signal of the serving cell (determine a result of LP-WUS measurement to be starting condition when higher than first threshold and stopping condition (corresponding to skip) when relaxed measurement lower than the second threshold “wherein the condition of the wireless communication device is determined to be a stopping condition to stop the relaxed measurement in the serving cell; wherein the stopping condition in the serving cell includes one of the following: a result of LP-WUS measurement in the serving cell is lower than a threshold, a result of SSB measurement in the serving cell is lower than a threshold, a variation of the relaxed measurement results of the SSB in the serving cell is higher than a threshold” see Niu: ¶[0034]; Claims 3-4), and
based on a determination that the measurement result of the first signal does not meet the first threshold (determine whether the result of relaxed measurement (LP-WUS) is lower than the threshold see Niu: ¶[0034]):
perform a measurement operation on the second signal of the serving cell, determine whether a measurement result of the second signal meets a second threshold (a starting condition of the relaxed measurement is that the measurement result of SSB is higher than a threshold, and when the measurement result of SSB is higher than the threshold, UE starts to perform the relaxed measurement in serving cell) see Niu: ¶[0027-0029], and
based on a determination that the measurement result of the second signal of the serving cell meets the second threshold, skip a measurement operation on a signal of a neighboring cell (When the measurement result of SSB is higher than the threshold (e.g., X), UE would not start the neighboring cell measurement see Niu: ¶[0030]).
Regarding claim 2, Niu teaches the UE of Claim 1 as described hereinabove. Niu further teaches wherein: the first signal of the serving cell is a low power-wake-up-signal (LP-WUS); the second signal of the serving cell is a synchronization signal/physical broadcasting channel block (SSB); and the signal of the neighboring cell is the SSB (first signal WUS 101; second signal is SSB and the signal of the neighbor cell of WUS is SSB see Niu: Fig.1-Fig.4; ¶0095]).
Regarding claim 3, Niu teaches the UE of Claim 1 as described hereinabove. Niu further teaches wherein the transceiver is further configured to receive, from the BS, system information including the first threshold for the first signal and the second threshold for the second signal (first threshold (corresponding at threshold x) an second threshold (threshold at an offset+x) to start and stop the relaxed measurement in the serving cell see Niu: Claim 3-4; ¶0040]).
Regarding claim 4, Niu teaches the UE of Claim 1 as described hereinabove. Niu further teaches wherein, when the measurement operation on the second signal of the serving cell is initiated, the processor is further configured to: perform the measurement operation on the first and second signals of the serving cell; or perform the measurement operation on the second signal of the serving cell (UE first measures SSB in serving cell. When UE satisfies the starting condition of relaxed measurement in serving cell, UE could perform the relaxed measurement in serving cell see Niu: ¶[0025]).
Regarding claim 5, Niu teaches the UE of Claim 1 as described hereinabove. Niu further teaches wherein: the transceiver is further configured to receive system information including a third threshold (When the measurement result of SSB is higher than the value of an offset1 plus the threshold of the starting conditions of the neighboring cell measurement (e.g., a, offset1+Y), and lower than an offset2 plus the threshold of the starting conditions of the relaxed neighboring cell measurement (e.g., an offset2+X), UE starts the relaxed measurement in serving cell. gNB could broadcast the offset1 and offset2 for relaxed serving cell measurement in SIB see Niu: ¶[0032]) see Niu: ¶[0041]); and when a measurement result of the second signal of the serving cell meets the third threshold, the processor is further configured to switch from the measurement operation on the second signal of the serving cell to the measurement operation on the first signal of the serving cell (When the measurement result of SSB is higher than the value of the offset plus the threshold of the starting conditions of the relaxed neighboring cell measurement (e.g., an offset+X), UE starts the relaxed measurement in serving cell. gNB could broadcast the offset for relaxed serving cell measurement in SIB. If UE does not start a neighboring cell measurement, UE could perform a relaxed measurement in serving cell see Niu: ¶[0031-0032]).
Regarding claim 6, Niu teaches the UE of Claim 1 as described hereinabove. Niu further teaches wherein the transceiver is further configured to receive, from the BS, system information including a first timer and a second timer for the measurement operation (when UE starts the relaxed measurement, UE starts a timer. When the timer is running, UE performs the relaxed measurement for each LP-WUS and SSB see
Niu: ¶[0039]).
Regarding claim 7, Niu teaches the UE of Claim 6 as described hereinabove. Niu further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: perform the measurement operation on the first signal of the serving cell until the first timer expires; and initiate the measurement operation on the second signal of the serving cell after the first timer expires (when UE starts the relaxed measurement, UE starts a timer. When the timer is running, UE performs the relaxed measurement. When the timer isn't running, UE measures SSB. When the timer expires, UE starts to measure SSB see Niu: ¶[0039]).
Regarding claim 8, Niu teaches the UE of Claim 6 as described hereinabove. Niu further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: perform the measurement operation on the second signal of the serving cell until the second timer expires; and initiate the measurement operation on the first signal of the serving cell after the second timer expires (UE start a timer when perform relaxed measurement, where the relaxed measurement include LP-WUS (first signal) and SSB (second signal), and when the timer expires, UE starts to measure SSB “when UE starts the relaxed measurement, UE starts a timer. When the timer is running, UE performs the relaxed measurement” see Niu: ¶[0039]).
Regarding claims 9-16, they are rejected for the same reason as the user equipment (UE) of claims 1-8 as set forth hereinabove. Claims 9-16, they discloses a method that perform the same functionalities as the UE of claims 1-8 as described hereinabove.
Regarding claim 17, Niu teaches a base station (BS) in a wireless communication system (Apparatus 205 is a base station see Niu: Fig.8; ¶[0133], the BS comprising:
a processor; and a transceiver operably coupled to the processor the transceiver configured to transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a first signal and a second signal (base station 205 include transceiver electronic 215 (see Fig.8) transmit LP-WUS 401 corresponding first signal and SSB corresponding to second signal (see Fig.4) see Niu: ¶[0091-0092]; ¶[0095]),
wherein:
a measurement operation is performed on the first signal of a serving cell including the BS (performing a relaxed measurement in the serving cell where in the relaxed measurement include a LP-WUS measurement “wherein the wireless communication further comprising: determining a condition of the wireless communication device in the serving cell according to the configuration; performing a relaxed measurement in the serving cell” see Niu: ¶[0097]; Fig.5 step 504),
whether a measurement result of the first signal meets a first threshold is determined, based on a determination that the measurement result of the first signal meets the first threshold, the measurement operation is skipped on the second signal of the serving cell (determine a result of LP-WUS measurement to be starting condition when higher than first threshold and stopping condition (corresponding to skip) when relaxed measurement lower than the second threshold “wherein the condition of the wireless communication device is determined to be a stopping condition to stop the relaxed measurement in the serving cell; wherein the stopping condition in the serving cell includes one of the following: a result of LP-WUS measurement in the serving cell is lower than a threshold, a result of SSB measurement in the serving cell is lower than a threshold, a variation of the relaxed measurement results of the SSB in the serving cell is higher than a threshold” see Niu: ¶[0034]; Claims 3-4), and
based on a determination that the measurement result of the first signal does not meet the first threshold (determine whether the result of relaxed measurement (LP-WUS) is lower than the threshold see Niu: ¶[0034]):
a measurement operation is performed on the second signal of the serving cell, whether a measurement result of the second signal meets a second threshold is determined (a starting condition of the relaxed measurement is that the measurement result of SSB is higher than a threshold, and when the measurement result of SSB is higher than the threshold, UE starts to perform the relaxed measurement in serving cell) see Niu: ¶[0027-0029]), and
based on a determination that the measurement result of the second signal of the serving cell meets the second threshold, a measurement operation is skipped on a signal of a neighboring cell (When the measurement result of SSB is higher than the threshold (e.g., X), UE would not start the neighboring cell measurement see Niu: ¶[0030]).
Conclusion
GUANG W. LI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2478
May 2, 2026
/GUANG W LI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478