DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in present Application filed on March 27, 2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed February 07, 2024 have been submitted for consideration by the Office. It has been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered.
Applicants must continue to share prior art references throughout the patent application process. A supplemental IDS must be submitted if prior art is discovered through a foreign patent application or an International Patent Search, or a related application before a prosecution closes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Rejection of claim 4, the limitation “first and second metal wirings disposed on the upper surface and the lower surface of the insulating layer, respectively, and connected to each other through the metal via” is being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter.
See claim 1,3 and 5, wherein metal via is metal filling in though hole (claim 1) wherein metal via comprises the first and second seed layers and the first and second metal layers (claim 3); also, first and second metal wirings are the first and second seed layers and the first and second metal layers (claim 5).
Therefore, in claim 4, metal via, and first and second metal wirings are defining same structure. Therefore, proper relation between first and second metal wirings and metal via as well as first and second metal wirings and the first and second layers and the first and second metal layers should be established in claim 4.
It appears to be claim 4 should be clarify as the metal via comprises first metal wiring and second metal wirings disposed on the upper surface and the lower surface of the insulating layer, respectively, and connected to each other through the metal ball; the first metal wiring comprises the first seed metal layer disposed on the upper surface of the insulating layer, and the first metal layer disposed on the first seed metal layer; the second metal wiring comprises the second seed metal layer disposed on the lower surface of the insulating layer, and the second metal layer disposed on the second seed metal layer.
Therefore, proper clarification is required.
Rejection of claims 5-6, claims 5-6 are dependent on claim 4, therefore, rejected by the same reason applied rejection of claim 4 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7, 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.102(a)(1) or (a)(2) (whichever apply) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US20220022316, herein referred as Chen).
Rejection of claim 1, Chen discloses a printed circuit board (fig. 2 or fig. 3B of Chen) comprising:
an insulating layer (an insulating film 20-120);
a through-hole penetrating through the insulating layer from an upper surface to a lower surface of the insulating layer and having an inclined wall surface (see inclined surface in the insulating layer in figure 5D or figure 10) ;
a metal ball (110 which includes 112,114, and 116) disposed within the through-hole on the inclined wall surface ; and a metal via filling the through-hole and surrounding on a surface of the metal ball (130 filling though hole and surrounding of metal ball 110).
Rejection of claim 7, Chen discloses the printed circuit board according to claim 1, wherein the through-hole has a tapered shape so that a width of an upper end of the through-hole is wider than a width of a lower end of the through-hole on a cross-section (see figures of Chen).
Rejection of claim 10, Chen discloses the printed circuit board according to claim 1, wherein the metal ball includes a copper ball (110 which includes 112 having copper).
Rejection of claim 11, Chen discloses the printed circuit board according to claim 10, wherein the metal ball further comprises a nickel layer covering a surface of the copper ball (110 which includes 114 made of a nickel).
Rejection of claim 12, Chen discloses the printed circuit board according to claim 11, wherein the metal ball further includes a solder layer covering a surface of the nickel layer (110 which includes 116 is solder material).
Claims 1-2, 7-8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.102(a)(1) or (a)(2) (whichever apply) as being anticipated by Fukase et al. (US20090095520, herein referred to as Fukase).
Rejection of claim 1, Fukase discloses a printed circuit board (fig. 5D or fig. 10 of Fukase) comprising:
an insulating layer (12a-b fig. 5D or 12a or 12a-b in figure 10);
a through-hole penetrating through the insulating layer from an upper surface to a lower surface of the insulating layer and having an inclined wall surface (see inclined surface in the insulating layer in figure 5D or figure 10) ;
a metal ball (the conductor ball 22a has a conductive surface (copper surface) and an insulating member 22 b made of an insulating resin) disposed on the through-hole on the inclined wall surface and in contact with the inclined wall surface (see figures); and
a metal via filling the through-hole and surrounding on a surface of the metal ball (12C filling though hole and surrounding of metal ball 22a).
Rejection of claim 2, Fukase discloses the printed circuit board according to claim 1, wherein the through-hole is divided into an upper region and a lower region by the metal ball, and a cross-section area of the upper region and a cross-section area of the lower region are different (see figure 10 of Fukase).
Rejection of claim 7, Fukase discloses the printed circuit board according to claim 1, wherein the through-hole has a tapered shape so that a width of an upper end of the through-hole is wider than a width of a lower end of the through-hole on a cross-section (see figure 10 of Fukase).
Rejection of claim 8, Fukase discloses the printed circuit board according to claim 1, wherein the through-hole has a shape so that a width of each of an upper end and a lower end of the through-hole is wider than a width of a section between the upper end and the lower end thereof on a cross-section (see figure 5d of Fukase).
Rejection of claim 10, Fukase discloses the printed circuit board according to claim 1, The printed circuit board according to claim 1, wherein the metal ball includes a copper ball (Fukase has ball 22a includes copper ball).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Fukase.
Rejection of claim 2, Fukase discloses the printed circuit board according to claim 1 (see figure 5D of Fukase), but fail to disclose wherein the through-hole is divided into an upper region and a lower region by the metal ball, and a cross-section area of the upper region and a cross-section area of the lower region are different.
It would have been obvious design choice that slight difference in a cross-section area of the upper region and a cross-section area of the lower region in order to adjust current capacity or current flow from passing through from one side to other side to the insulating layer or substrate. Since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claims 3-6 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Fukase in view of Takano et al. (US20110056740, herein referred to as Takano).
Rejection of claim 3, Fukase discloses the printed circuit board according to claim 2 (see figure 5D of Fukase), wherein the metal via comprises: a first seed metal layer (first 12C at top of the 12a-b) disposed on the inclined wall surface in the upper region and also cover an upper portion of the metal ball; a second seed metal layer (first 12C at bottom of the 12a-b) disposed on the inclined wall surface in the lower region and also cover a lower portion of the metal ball;
Fukase further discloses the two seed layers, a first copper seed layer 12C having a first recess portion in an upper region of the through-hole, and a second copper seed layer 12C having a second recess portion in a lower region of the through-hole in figures 5D of Fukase and see specification.
Fukase fails to disclose a first metal layer disposed on the first seed metal layer to fill an exposed portion of the through-hole in the upper region; and a second metal layer disposed on the second seed metal layer to fill another portion of the through-hole in the lower region.
Takano discloses a first metal layer made of copper disposed on the first seed metal layer made of copper and filling a first recess portion of the first seed layer; and a second metal layer disposed on the second seed metal layer and filling a second recess portion of the second seed layer in figure 2 of Takano and see paragraph 0006 of Takano.
It would have been obvious to ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the printed circuit board of Fukase to have copper metal layer in the copper seed layer as taught Takano so that it would provide flat pad or land portion on the through hole to connect other devices or components with high conductivity.
Rejection of claims 4-5, Fukase in view of Takano disclose the printed circuit board according to claim 3, further comprising: the metal via comprises first and second metal wirings disposed on the upper surface and the lower surface of the insulating layer, respectively, and connected to each other through the metal ball (see metal via having first metal wiring as first seed layer and first metal layer as explained in the rejection of claim 3, and see second metal wiring as second seed layer and first metal layer and metal ball as explained in the rejection of claim 3).
Rejection of claims 6, Fukase in view of Takano disclose the printed circuit board according to claim 5, wherein each of the first and second seed metal layers includes copper, and each of the first and second metal layers includes copper (see seed layers and metal layers as explained in the rejection of claim 3 above).
Rejection of claim 13, Fukase discloses a printed circuit board (figure 5D of Fukase) comprising:
an insulating layer (12a-b) having a through-hole (a though hole in 12a-b);
a metal ball (22a) disposed within the through-hole;
a first seed metal layer (one of 12c) disposed on an upper surface of the insulating layer (12c on an upper surface of 12a-b) , an inner wall surface of the through-hole connected to the upper surface of the insulating layer (12c on inner wall of the through hole), and an upper portion of the metal ball ( 12c on an upper portion of 22a);
a second seed metal layer (another of 12c) disposed on a lower surface of the insulating layer (12c on a lower surface of 12a-b), an inner wall surface of the through-hole connected to the lower surface of the insulating layer (12c on inner wall of the through hole), and a lower portion of the metal ball (12c on a lower portion of 22a);
Fukase further discloses the two seed layers, a first copper seed layer 12C having a first recess portion in an upper region of the through-hole, and a second copper seed layer 12C having a second recess portion in a lower region of the through-hole in figures 5D of Fukase and see specification.
Fukase fails to disclose a first metal layer disposed on the first seed metal layer and filling a portion of the through-hole in an upper region of the through-hole; and
a second metal layer disposed on the second seed metal layer and filling another portion of the through-hole in a lower region of the through-hole.
Takano discloses a first metal layer made of copper disposed on the first seed metal layer made of copper and filling a first recess portion of the first seed layer; and a second metal layer disposed on the second seed metal layer and filling a second recess portion of the second seed layer in figure 2 of Takano and see paragraph 0006 of Takano.
It would have been obvious to ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the printed circuit board of Fukase to have copper metal layer in the copper seed layer as taught Takano so that it would provide flat pad or land portion on the through hole to connect other devices or components with high conductivity.
Rejection of claim 14, Fukase in view of Takano disclose the printed circuit board according to claim 13, wherein at least a portion of the wall surface of the through-hole has an inclined shape, and the metal ball is in contact with an inclined portion of the wall surface of the through-hole (see figure 5B wherein inclined wall of 12a-b in figure 5D contact with the conductor ball 22a has a conductive surface (copper surface) and an insulating member 22 b made of an insulating resin or see figure 10 wherein inclined wall of 12a-b in figure 5D contact with the conductor ball 22a has a conductive surface (copper surface) and an insulating member 22 b made of an insulating resin).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpateable over Chen or Fukase in view of Fushie et al. (US20130075146, herein referred to as Fushie).
Rejection of claims 9, Chen or Fukase discloses the printed circuit board according to claim 1, but fails to disclose the insulating layer includes a glass layer.
Fushie discloses the insulating layer includes a glass layer (glass substrate 2 in figures of Fushie).
It would have been obvious to ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the printed circuit board of Fukase or Chen to have the insulating layer includes a glass layer as taught by Fushie because the glass substrate has good properties such as smoothness, hardness, insulation and workability; thus being suitable for a core substrate of the wiring substrate (paragraph 0041 of Fushie).
Claim15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpateable over Fukase, Takano, and further in view of Fushie et al. (US20130075146, herein referred to as Fushie).
Rejection of claim 15, Fukase in view of Takano disclose the printed circuit board according to claim 13, , the metal ball includes copper ball (Fukase discloses “a conductor ball 22 a (spherical copper particle)”), each of the first and second seed metal layers includes copper, and each of the first and second metal layers includes copper (see the in rejection of claim 13 wherein seed and metal layers includes copper).
Fukase in view of Takano fail to disclose the insulating layer includes a glass layer.
Fushie discloses the insulating layer includes a glass layer (glass substrate 2 in figures of Fushie).
It would have been obvious to ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the printed circuit board of Fukase to have the insulating layer includes a glass layer as taught by Fushie because the glass substrate has good properties such as smoothness, hardness, insulation and workability; thus being suitable for a core substrate of the wiring substrate (paragraph 0041 of Fushie).
Pertinent Prior Arts
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please refer to the enclosed PTO-892 form for the citation of pertinent art in the present case, all of which disclose various circuit boards.
Communication
/PARESH PAGHADAL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847