DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
First, the term “a temperature difference in the water sprayed by the sprayer is within 10 % of a maximum temperature of the sprayed water” in claim 2, it is confusing as to how there is a (temperature) difference between the “water sprayed” and the “sprayed water”.
Second, if the claim is trying to indicate that there is a difference between the actual temperature of the sprayed water and a possible maximum temperature of the sprayed water, it is still indefinite because the limitation of a maximum temperature, per the spec, is a relative term. The specification states “[t]he maximum temperature of the heater 250 may be 200 °C or less”. Therefrom the term “maximum temperature” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 8-11, 13, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Aekyung WO 2023/008835
Re claims 1 and 15, Aekyung teaches a cleaner [fig. 1] comprising:
a mop brush head 100 [figs. 2-3] including:
a head body 112, a mop 150 attachable to the mop brush head so as to be disposed below the head body to contact a surface to be cleaned, and being detachable from the mop brush head,
a sprayer 137 configured to spray water toward the surface [towards the mop would als be towards the surface] to be cleaned,
a water tank 120 in the head body 112 and configured to store water,
a hot water tank [200, 210] having an inlet through which water stored in the water tank flows into the hot water tank [“the water supply unit 130 includes a water tank connection unit 131 for introducing water from the water tank 120 into the module housing 110, and a water pump 133 for supplying water introduced into the water tank connection unit 131 to the module housing 110. a water inlet pipe 132 for supplying water from the water pump 133 to a T-shaped connector, and a guide pipe 134 for supplying water from the water pump 133 to the steam generator 200”], an outlet 137b through which water in the hot water tank 200 flows to the sprayer 137, and a channel structure 210 [figs. 10-12] having a plurality of channels inside the hot water tank so that water in the hot water tank moves along a preset path through the plurality of channels from the inlet to the outlet, and
a heater 220 configured to heat the water in the hot water tank.
Re claim 3, Aekyung further teaches wherein the plurality of channels are parallel with each other, and adjacent channels of the plurality of channels are connected to each other [fig. 12].
Re claim 4, Aekyung further teaches wherein a width of each channel of the plurality of channels is smaller than a width of the hot water tank [fig. 12].
Re claim 5, Aekyung further teaches wherein the channel structure includes a channel wall extending in a vertical direction, and a lower end of the channel wall is spaced apart from the heater [fig. 14, the lower end of the channel is spaced apart by the bottom wall thickness].
Re claim 6, Aekyung further teaches wherein an upper surface of the channel structure has a varying height in order to induce gas movement inside the hot water tank [fig. 14].
Re claim 8, Aekyung further teaches wherein the mop brush head further includes: a lower case 230 supporting the heater 220, an upper case 250 coupled to the lower case 230, with the heater 220 and the hot water tank 210 therebetween, and a gasket [240, 260, 270] between the lower case 230 and the upper case 250 to provide a seal between the lower case and the upper case.
Re claim 9, Aekyung further teaches wherein the heater 220 has a flat upper surface [fig. 10].
Re claim 10, Aekyung further teaches wherein the mop brush head further includes at least one of a temperature sensor configured to measure a temperature of water in the hot water tank, a water level sensor configured to measure a level of water in the hot water tank, and a power cutoff portion configured to selectively adjust power supplied to the heater according to temperature of the heater [temperature detector 290, overheat circuit breaker 280].
Re claim 11, Aekyung further teaches a main body 500; a battery 600 in the main body; an extension tube 180 configured to connect the main body 500 and the mop brush head 100 to each other; and a wire having at least a portion disposed in the extension tube and configured to transmit power of the battery to the mop brush head to power the heater [“wires may be embedded in the first connector and the second connector, and wires embedded in the first connector and the second connector may be electrically connected to each other”].
Re claim 13, Aekyung further teaches a pump 133 configured to provide pressure to move water from the water tank to the sprayer, wherein the cleaner is configured to operate the pump and the heater at different times [“a wet mop module of a vacuum cleaner capable of adjusting the temperature and phase of moisture supplied to the mop by measuring the temperature through the temperature detector and controlling the heater according to selection.. the module housing 110 may further include a first control unit 191 for adjusting the amount of water discharged from the water tank 120 . For example, the first manipulation unit 191 may be located on the rear side of the module housing 110. The first manipulation unit 191 can be operated by a user, and by manipulating the first manipulation unit 191, water can be discharged from the water tank 120 or not discharged”].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aekyung WO 2023/008835
Re claim 2, Aekyung teaches the invention as discussed above for claim 1. Aekyung further teaches wherein the hot water tank, the channel structure, and the heater are configured so that water in the hot water tank is heated by the heater as the water moves along the preset path through the plurality of channels of the channel structure, as well as controlling the temperature in the hot water tank [Abstract]. Aekyung does not specifically teach a temperature difference in the water sprayed by the sprayer is within 10 % of a maximum temperature. However, it has been held that "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.". In this case, discovering the optimum percentage of 10% of a maximum temperature is not inventive and therefore, obvious.
Re claim 12, Aekyung further teaches the invention as discussed above for claim 11 but fails to teach wherein the extension tube has a length-adjustable structure, and the wire has an allowable current of 5 A (ampere) or less. As discussed above for claim 2, the general conditions are disclosed, i.e., a tube between the battery and the heater; and a heater allows current to heat the water in the hot water tank. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the extension tube to have a length-adjustable structure or the wire to have a 5 A current as claimed, since it has been held that "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.".
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aekyung WO 2023/008835 in view of KR 200341549 Y1 (‘549)
Re claim 14, Aekyung teaches the invention as discussed above for claim 1 but fail to teach wherein the mop brush head further includes: a filter structure inside the hot water tank and configured to block foreign substances generated during heating of water in the hot water tank from moving to the outlet.
However, ‘549 teaches a filter structure 124 inside the hot water tank 120 and configured to block foreign substances generated during heating of water in the hot water tank from moving to the outlet.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the filter of ‘549 with the mop brush head of Aekyung in order to yield the predictable result of filtering foreign matter from moving through the nozzles.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record does not show or fairly render obvious the combination set forth in the claims. In particular, the prior art does not show wherein heights of upper surfaces of the plurality of channels respectively increase along at least a portion a flow path through which water moves in the hot water tank from the inlet to the outlet in combination with the other claim limitations. One of the best prior arts (other than the ones used in the rejections above) of KR 101408733 B1 discloses an inclined channel [fig. 1], however the prior art fail to teach heights of upper surface of the channels as claimed.
Correspondence
C. A. R.
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/C. A. RIVERA/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723