DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the amendment filed 08/07/2026. As directed by the amendment - claim 1 is amended. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every rejection previously set forth in the final office action mailed 03/12/2026. However, a new rejection is made over Hartman et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6,202,983) and Scaramucci (U.S. Patent No. 3,601,364).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 08/07/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of the claim(s) under 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive, due to the amendments. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Hartman et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6,202,983) and Scaramucci (U.S. Patent No. 3,601,364).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hartman et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6,202,983).
Annotated Figure 3 from Hartman.
Regarding claim 1, Hartman discloses:
A disc valve (10) comprising:
a valve body 12 (Col. 4, lines 31-38)
a compressible seat ring (70) positioned seated in the valve body 12 (Col. 5, line 61-Col. 6, line 36)
a disc (14) positioned in the valve body (12), the disc (14) rotatable within the valve body (12) to define an open configuration and a closed configuration, the disc (14) comprising: (Col. 4, lines 31-38)
a lip (34), wherein the lip (34) interacts with the seat ring (70) in the closed configuration to form a fluid tight seal (Col. 5, lines 4-28; Col. 6, lines 16-24)
an arcuate convex first surface (see annotated figure above)
an arcuate concave second surface (see annotated figure above)
wherein the first surface (see annotated figure above) is opposed to the second surface (see annotated figure above)
Regarding claim 2, Hartman discloses:
wherein when the disc (14) is in the open configuration of the valve body (12) the first surface (see annotated figure above) is closer to a sidewall of the valve body (12) than the second surface (see annotated figure above)
Regarding claim 3, Hartman discloses:
wherein the disc valve (10) further defines a centerline (52) and wherein the first surface (see annotated figure above) restricts a fluid flow through the disc valve (10) at the centerline 52 (see Figure 3)
Regarding claim 6, Hartman discloses:
the disc (10) further comprises a first ear (36) and a second ear (36) disposed on the second surface (see annotated figure above)
Claim(s) 1-5, 9, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Scaramucci (U.S. Patent No. 3,601,364).
Annotated Figure 1 from Scaramucci.
Regarding claim 1, Scaramucci discloses:
A disc valve (10) comprising:
a valve body 12, 102 (Col. 2, lines 10-14)
a compressible seat ring (126) positioned seated in the valve body 12, 102 (Col. 4, lines 9-26)
a disc (14) positioned in the valve body (12, 102), the disc (14) rotatable within the valve body (12, 102) to define an open configuration and a closed configuration, the disc (14) comprising:
a lip (22), wherein the lip (22) interacts with the seat ring (126) in the closed configuration to form a fluid tight seal (Col. 4, lines 17-26)
an arcuate convex first surface 16 (see Figure 1)
an arcuate concave second surface (see annotated figure above)
wherein the first surface (16) is opposed to the second surface (see annotated figure above)
Regarding claim 2, Scaramucci discloses:
wherein when the disc (14) is in the open configuration of the valve body (12, 102) the first surface (16) is closer to a sidewall of the valve body (12, 102) than the second surface (see annotated figure above)
Regarding claim 3, Scaramucci discloses:
wherein the disc valve (10) further defines a centerline and wherein the first surface (16) restricts a fluid flow through the disc valve (14) at the centerline (see Figure 1)
Regarding claim 4, Scaramucci discloses:
wherein the disc valve (10) further comprises a stem (28) and a stub (36) coupled to the disc (14) such that neither the stem (28) nor the stub (36) enter a flow channel of the disc valve 10 (see Figure 1; Col. 2, lines 20-40)
Regarding claim 5, Scaramucci discloses:
wherein the seat ring (126) is between the valve body (12, 102) and an endcap 42 (see Figure 1)
Regarding claim 9, Scaramucci discloses:
wherein when the disc (14) is in an open configuration, the disc (14) divides a flow channel into a first channel adjacent the first surface (16) and a second channel adjacent the second surface (see annotated figure above), and wherein the first channel has a greater cross- sectional area than the second channel
Regarding claim 10, Scaramucci discloses:
wherein: an average velocity of fluid in the first channel is greater than an average velocity of fluid in the second channel
an average pressure of fluid in the first channel is less than an average pressure of fluid in the second channel
Further regarding this claim, since the first channel is less restricted and larger, it will have a greater average velocity, but lower average pressure than the second channel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 5, 7, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartman in view of Kamiyama et al. (U.S. Patent No. 5,046,703).
Annotated Figure 4 from Kamiyama.
Regarding claims 4 and 7, Hartman discloses the invention as essentially claimed, but fails to disclose wherein the disc valve further comprises a stem and a stub coupled to the disc such that neither the stem nor the stub enter a flow channel of the disc valve; a stem coupled to a first ear of the disc and a stub coupled to a second ear of the disc opposite the stem.
Kamiyama teaches a butterfly valve wherein a disc valve further comprises a stem (see annotated figure above) and a stub (see annotated figure above) coupled to a disc (1) such that neither the stem (see annotated figure above) nor the stub (see annotated figure above) enter a flow channel of the disc valve; a stem (see annotated figure above) coupled to a first ear (see annotated figure above) of a disc (1) and a stub (see annotated figure above) coupled to a second ear (see annotated figure above) of the disc (1) opposite the stem (see annotated figure above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified Hartman to provide wherein the disc valve further comprises a stem and a stub coupled to the disc such that neither the stem nor the stub enter a flow channel of the disc valve; a stem coupled to a first ear of the disc and a stub coupled to a second ear of the disc opposite the stem, as taught by Kamiyama. Doing so would increase stability during rotation, since the stem and stub would be of the same material interacting with the housing.
Regarding claim 5, Hartman discloses the invention as essentially claimed, but fails to disclose wherein the seat ring is between the valve body and an endcap.
Kamiyama teaches a butterfly valve wherein a seat ring (2) is between a valve body (5) and an endcap (see Figure 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified Hartman to provide wherein the seat ring is between the valve body and an endcap, as taught by Kamiyama. Doing so would make it easy to remove a worn seal ring.
Regarding claim 8, Hartman as modified, teaches the invention as essentially claimed, and further teaches wherein an offset (see annotated figure above) in the first surface (see annotated figure above) extends into a centerline of the valve body (12) extending between the stem and the stub (see Figure 3).
Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scaramucci in view of Kamiyama.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Scaramucci discloses the invention as essentially claimed, but fails to disclose wherein the disc further comprises a first ear and a second ear disposed on the second surface; a stem coupled to a first ear of the disc and a stub coupled to a second ear of the disc opposite the stem.
Kamiyama teaches a butterfly valve wherein a first ear (see annotated figure above) and a second ear (see annotated figure above) disposed on a second surface; a stem (see annotated figure above) coupled to a first ear (see annotated figure above) of a disc (1) and a stub (see annotated figure above) coupled to a second ear (see annotated figure above) of the disc (1) opposite the stem (see annotated figure above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified Scaramucci to provide a first ear and a second ear disposed on the second surface; a stem coupled to a first ear of the disc and a stub coupled to a second ear of the disc opposite the stem, as taught by Kamiyama. Doing so would allow just the valve disc to be removed in the event of wear, which would be a cheaper replacement.
Regarding claim 8, Scaramucci as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed and the combination further teaches wherein an offset in the first surface (16) extends into a centerline of the valve body (12, 102) extending between the stem and the stub (see Figure 1; the stem, stub, and ears would be located at element 24).
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartman in view of Kamiyama, in further view of Torii et al. (U.S. 2007/0063164).
Regarding claim 8, Hartman as modified, teaches the invention as essentially claimed, but fails to teach wherein the stem is coupled to the first ear of the disc through a rectangular hole, and wherein the stub is coupled to the second ear of the disc opposite the stem through a second rectangular hole.
Torii teaches a butterfly valve wherein a stem is coupled a disc through a rectangular hole (see paragraph 0008).
The combination of Hartman, Kamiyama, and Torri therefore teaches wherein the stem is coupled to the first ear of the disc through a rectangular hole, and wherein the stub is coupled to the second ear of the disc opposite the stem through a second rectangular hole.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified Hartman to provide wherein the stem is coupled to the first ear of the disc through a rectangular hole, and wherein the stub is coupled to the second ear of the disc opposite the stem through a second rectangular hole, as taught by Torii. Doing so would provide an increase of torque.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scaramucci in view of Kamiyama, in further view of Torii et al. (U.S. 2007/0063164).
Regarding claim 8, Scaramucci as modified, teaches the invention as essentially claimed, but fails to teach wherein the stem is coupled to the first ear of the disc through a rectangular hole, and wherein the stub is coupled to the second ear of the disc opposite the stem through a second rectangular hole.
Torii teaches a butterfly valve wherein a stem is coupled a disc through a rectangular hole (see paragraph 0008).
The combination of Scaramucci, Kamiyama, and Torri therefore teaches wherein the stem is coupled to the first ear of the disc through a rectangular hole, and wherein the stub is coupled to the second ear of the disc opposite the stem through a second rectangular hole.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified Scaramucci to provide wherein the stem is coupled to the first ear of the disc through a rectangular hole, and wherein the stub is coupled to the second ear of the disc opposite the stem through a second rectangular hole, as taught by Torii. Doing so would provide an increase of torque.
Conclusion
/KELSEY E CARY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753