DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the amendment filed 01/07/2026. As directed by the amendment: claims 1 and 5 are amended; claims 11-20 are canceled; claim 21 is added. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every rejection previously set forth in the non-final office action mailed 10/15/2025. However, a new rejection is made over Oostveen (U.S. Patent No. 9,783,347).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 01/07/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) claims 1-10 under 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive, due to the amendments. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Oostveen (U.S. Patent No. 9,783,347).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 6, 9, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oostveen (U.S. Patent No. 9,783,347).
Regarding claim 1, Oostveen discloses:
A disc valve (10) comprising: (Col. 5, lines 6-19)
a valve body 14 (Col. 5, lines 6-19)
a seat ring (58) positioned in the valve body 14 (Col. 6, line 64 - Col. 7, line 11; see Figure 6)
a disc (16) positioned in the valve body (14), the disc (16) rotatable within the valve body (14) to define an open configuration and a closed configuration
the disc (16) comprising (Col. 5, lines 6-19)
a lip (118), wherein the lip (118) interacts with the seat ring (94) in the closed configuration to form a fluid tight seal (see Figure 3; Col. 7, lines 40-67)
an arcuate convex first surface 132 (see Figure 9; Col. 8, lines 31-42)
an arcuate concave second surface 130 (see Figure 9; Col. 8, lines 31-42)
wherein the first surface (132) is opposed to the second surface 130 (see Figure 9)
Regarding claim 2, Oostveen discloses:
wherein when the disc (16) is in the open configuration of the valve body (14) the first surface (132) is closer to a sidewall of the valve body (16) than the second surface 130
Regarding claim 3, Oostveen discloses:
wherein the disc valve (10) further defines a centerline and wherein the first surface (132) restricts a fluid flow through the disc valve (10) at the centerline (see Figure 14)
Regarding claim 5, Oostveen discloses:
wherein the seat ring (58) is between the valve body (14) and an endcap 12 (see Figure 14)
Regarding claim 6, Oostveen discloses:
wherein the disc (16) further comprises a first ear (113) and a second ear (126) disposed on the second surface 130
Regarding claim 9, Oostveen discloses:
wherein when the disc (16) is in an open configuration, the disc (16) divides a flow channel into a first channel adjacent the first surface (132) and a second channel adjacent the second surface (130), and wherein the first channel has a greater cross- sectional area than the second channel (see Figure 9)
Regarding claim 10, Oostveen discloses:
wherein an average velocity of fluid in the first channel is greater than an average velocity of fluid in the second channel
an average pressure of fluid in the first channel is less than an average pressure of fluid in the second channel
Further regarding this claim, since the first channel is less restricted and larger, it will have a greater average velocity, but a lower average pressure than the second channel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 7, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oostveen in view of Kamiyama et al. (U.S. Patent No. 5,046,703).
Annotated Figure 4 from Kamiyama.
Regarding claims 4 and 7, Oostveen discloses the invention as essentially claimed, but fails to disclose wherein the disc valve further comprises a stem and a stub coupled to the disc such that neither the stem nor the stub enter a flow channel of the disc valve; a stem coupled to a first ear of the disc and a stub coupled to a second ear of the disc opposite the stem.
Kamiyama discloses a butterfly valve wherein a disc valve further comprises a stem (see annotated figure above) and a stub (see annotated figure above) coupled to a disc (1) such that neither the stem (see annotated figure above) nor the stub (see annotated figure above) enter a flow channel of the disc valve; a stem (see annotated figure above) coupled to a first ear (see annotated figure above) of a disc (1) and a stub (see annotated figure above) coupled to a second ear (see annotated figure above) of the disc (1) opposite the stem (see annotated figure above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified Oostveen to provide wherein the disc valve further comprises a stem and a stub coupled to the disc such that neither the stem nor the stub enter a flow channel of the disc valve; a stem coupled to a first ear of the disc and a stub coupled to a second ear of the disc opposite the stem, as taught by Kamiyama. Doing so would increase stability during rotation, since the stem and stub would be of the same material interacting with the housing.
Regarding claim 8, Oostveen as modified, teaches the invention as essentially claimed, and further teaches wherein an offset (110) in the first surface (132) extends into a centerline of the valve body (14) extending between the stem and the stub (see Figure 9).
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oostveen in view of Kamiyama, in further view of Torii et al. (U.S. 2007/0063164).
Regarding claim 8, Oostveen as modified, teaches the invention as essentially claimed, but fails to teach wherein the stem is coupled to the first ear of the disc through a rectangular hole, and wherein the stub is coupled to the second ear of the disc opposite the stem through a second rectangular hole.
Torii teaches a butterfly valve wherein a stem is coupled a disc through a rectangular hole (see paragraph 0008).
The combination of Oostveen, Kamiyama, and Torri therefore teaches wherein the stem is coupled to the first ear of the disc through a rectangular hole, and wherein the stub is coupled to the second ear of the disc opposite the stem through a second rectangular hole.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified Oostveen to provide wherein the stem is coupled to the first ear of the disc through a rectangular hole, and wherein the stub is coupled to the second ear of the disc opposite the stem through a second rectangular hole, as taught by Torii. Doing so would provide an increase of torque.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KELSEY E CARY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753