DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 22-29 in the reply filed on February 02, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 30-42 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on February 02, 2026.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive in view of the Restriction/Election. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Double Patenting
Claims 22-29 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 15-21 of U.S. Patent No. 11,920,298 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the differences are obvious, i.e., while the current application recites, in the preamble, a System for controlling a temperature of a foamed suspension of fiber for forming a web, instead of a system for forming a web, the dependent claims of the current application evidences that a web is formed, see claim 23. The independent claim of the current application while reciting a heat-exchanger, does not recite the details of it as recited in the US patent; however claim 24 of the current application recites such details and thus the scope of claim 24 overlaps the one of the US Patent or at the very least the use of heat exchanger as claimed in the US patent would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, since it is known as evidenced by claim 24.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 22-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swails et al., (hereinafter Swails), US Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0161915 A1 in view of Wang et al., (hereinafter Wang) in “ Effect of Temperature on Foaming Ability and Foam Stability of Typical Surfactants Used for Foaming Agent,” and Nanbu et al., (hereinafter Nanbu), JP-H1177725 A (Machine Translation Used for This Office Action).
With regard to claims 22-23, Swails teaches a foam forming system and process of making a foamed web/paper, in which fibers, a surfactant(s) and a liquid/water is added into a tank and mixed to form a foamed suspension of fibers which is then added to a formed surface to form a web; see abstract, figure 1 and ¶-[0007]-[0009]. Swails does not teach the recirculation of at least part of the foamed fibers and the use of a heat exchanger as claimed in claim 22. However, Wang teaches that foams decrease stability with the increasing of temperature; see abstract on page 615 and Section: “Effect of Foaming Temperature on FS” (FS= Foam Stability), starting on page 620 through page 621, and it is well-known that the temperature of foam increases during the mixing/agitation process1. Therefore, maintaining the temperature of the foam, by cooling the foam, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of the way to this, i.e., the cooling of the foam in the mixing tank to maintain the foam at desired temperature level is disclosed by Nanbu, which teaches that recirculating a foam, including a pump and using a heat exchanger as claimed; see abstract, figures and ¶-[0006]-[0008]. Therefore, recirculating at least part of the foam to maintain the foam temperature of the primary reference using a recirculating device suggested by Nanbu would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in order to maintain the stability of the foam, i.e., preventing the decrease of foam half-live by the increase of the temperature, as demonstrated/taught by Wang.
Regarding to claims 24-26, Nanbu teaches the heat-exchanger in communication with a cooling fluid; see ¶-[0009]. Moreover, that this is how heat exchangers work exchanging temperature with another fluid and if the temperature of the foam is going to be reduced, then it is obvious that a fluid with a lower temperature has to be used, i.e., a cooling fluid. Note also that claim 25 recites two types of conventional heat-exchangers2, i.e. working in counter-current/flow, where the fluids path are in the opposite direction and co-current/parallel flow, where the fluids path are in the same direction and thus this is implicit to the Nanbu’s heat-exchanger or at the very least using one of said common heat-exchanger would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, since he/she would have reasonable expectation of success if one of those were used. As to claim 26, shell and tube heat-exchanger are very well-known in the art3 and the use of such device(s) would be considered obvious, absent a showing of unexpected results.
With regard to claims 27 and 29, Nanbu teaches the use of sensors and controllers to generate temperature information and control the heat-exchanger as claimed; see ¶-[0012].
Regarding to claim 28, while Nanbu is silent with regard to the tube diameter, however, choosing a heat exchanger with desired diameter is and obvious design choice to control the temperature difference between desired range.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure in eth art of “Process and System for Controlling Temperature of a Circulating Foamed Fluid.”
/JOSE A FORTUNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748
JAF
1 This is evidenced by applicants in the background of the art section, see lines 15-21 on page 1 of the specification.
2 Type of Heat-Exchanger by the Flow Direction
Heat exchangers are classified by the direction of fluid flow within the exchanger. The main types based on flow direction are:
Parallel Flow: Both fluids move in the same direction, which is simpler to design but less efficient due to a decrease in temperature difference as they move forward.
6
Counter-Flow: Fluids move in opposite directions, maintaining a higher temperature difference and improving efficiency. This configuration is widely used in industrial applications where high efficiency is required.
6
Cross-Flow: Fluids move perpendicular to each other, providing moderate efficiency and allowing easier construction in limited spaces.
6
Each flow arrangement has its own set of advantages and disadvantages, and the choice of flow direction should be based on the specific requirements of the heat exchange process.
3 A shell-and-tube heat exchanger is a class of heat exchanger designs.[1][2] It is the most common type of heat exchanger in oil refineries and other large chemical processes, and is suited for higher-pressure applications. As its name implies, this type of heat exchanger consists of a shell (a large pressure vessel) with a bundle of tubes inside it. One fluid runs through the tubes, and another fluid flows over the tubes (through the shell) to transfer heat between the two fluids. The set of tubes is called a tube bundle, and may be composed of several types of tubes: plain, longitudinally finned, etc. Shell-and-tube heat exchanger - Wikipedia.