DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 06/24/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waters et al. (US 20130162477, hereinafter “Waters”) and further in view of Marti Canales (US 20240027505, hereinafter “Marti”).
Regarding claim 1, Waters discloses,
A method for tuning an access point (The antennas could also have different characteristics such as polarization. For example one antenna could be right-hand circularly polarized, and the other could be left-hand circularly polarized, and another could be a linear antenna. The different antennas may also be directional and designed to enhance signals in a different direction, [0029]) comprising:
receiving, by an antenna of the access point, a circularly polarized signal (a GNSS receiver processes signals from one or more satellite systems such as GPS, Galileo, GLONASS, Iridium, Beidou, QZSS, or SBAS, [0027]; the GNSS receiver 120, and the switch controller 150. The GNSS receiver 120 comprising an RF chain 130 and baseband circuitry 140. Two antennas 105 and 107 are shown for simplicity but more than two may be used. Many GNSS receiver implementations separate a measurement engine (ME) from a position engine (PE) [0032]);
identifying a signal having a largest signal power based on a comparison comprising the first and second polarized components (In order to detect when one antenna is better than another antenna, the receiver may periodically (or upon a certain event) toggle the switch and check a metric (such as the signal level, C/No) for all or a subset of the satellites being tracked. The different times or ways a receiver can switch from one antenna to the other [0045]-[0048]; . Antenna selection is performed at 870, in other words the best antenna is selected, another index k is equal to the index of the best antenna according to a decision metric described below. At 880, if i is equal to k, then the process returns to 820. If i is not equal to k, antennas are switched and index i is made equal to k 890 [0070]-[0072]);
obtaining geographic coordinates for the access points from the identified signal (if the GNSS receiver 120 outputs an updated position every 1 sec, then 100 ms could be considered short which is more than sufficient time for a switch to change from one antenna to another [0035]; C/No or SNR or Noise Variance: A GNSS receiver typically requires 4 satellites to get a position fix though less than 4 can be used to propagate a position. One metric is to check if there are at least X-satellites which have C/No or SNR or Noise Variance greater than or less than a predefined threshold [0049]).
However, Waters does not explicitly disclose, the method comprising obtaining a first linearly polarized component of the circularly polarized signal and a second linearly polarized component of the circularly polarized signal and connecting to a network based on the obtained geographic coordinates.
In the same field of endeavor, Marti discloses, the method comprising obtaining a first linearly polarized component of the circularly polarized signal and a second linearly polarized component of the circularly polarized signal and connecting to a network based on the obtained geographic coordinates (the method comprising obtaining a first linearly polarized component of the circularly polarized signal and a second linearly polarized component of the circularly polarized signal and connecting to a network based on the obtained geographic coordinates, [0029]-[0032]; with reference to FIG. 4, two ports that are arranged to produce two linearly polarized signals that are orthogonal [0044]-[0045]; the antenna 210 enables the first GNSS receiver chain 212 to receive (e.g., via the first port 220) a linearly polarized signal (e.g., a horizontally polarized signal) originating from a GNSS satellite that includes a set of direct and reflected components (Block 304). In some applications, a single linearly polarized signal (e.g., either a horizontally polarized signal or vertically polarized signal) may be used to obtain information about the environment. So, in some embodiments, the sensor 208 may only include a single receiver chain. But other applications require information obtained from two linearly polarized signals (that are orthogonal), and as a consequence, the antenna 210 may provide a second linearly polarized signal (e.g., via the second port 222) originating from the GNSS satellite where the second linearly polarized signal is orthogonal to the linearly polarized signal (Block 306), [0053]) and connecting to a network based on the obtained geographic coordinates (The data may be processed to provide time-stamped and geo-localized current and forecast information that is delivered, e.g., via dashboards and/or APIs. In addition, reporting and warning/alarms may be provided [0026]-[0027]; this information is delivered to the CPU 216 at a rate of, for example, 1 Hz and the CPU 216 may packetizing the parsed power values to produce packetized values for storage or transmission (e.g., to a cloud based server) [0065]-[0066]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Waters by specifically providing the method comprising obtaining a first linearly polarized component of the circularly polarized signal and a second linearly polarized component of the circularly polarized signal and connecting to a network based on the obtained geographic coordinates, as taught by Marti for the purpose of providing a substantially continuous, large area, low latency sensing technology that is relatively low cost to deploy [0009].
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Waters and Marti discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Waters discloses,
wherein the circular polarized signal is a right-handed circularly polarized signal (one antenna could be right-hand circularly polarized [0029]; [0094]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Waters and Marti discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 2), further Waters discloses,
wherein the circular polarized signal is a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) signal (a GNSS receiver processes signals from one or more satellite systems such as GPS, Galileo, GLONASS, Iridium, Beidou, QZSS, or SBAS, [0027]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Waters and Marti discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), in addition Marti discloses,
wherein the first linearly polarized component is orthogonal to the second linearly polarized component ( the antenna 210 may provide a second linearly polarized signal (e.g., via the second port 222) originating from the GNSS satellite where the second linearly polarized signal is orthogonal to the linearly polarized signal (Block 306), [0053]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Waters and Marti discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Waters discloses,
determining a first signal power of the first polarized component is larger than a second signal power of the second polarized component by comparing the first signal power to the second signal power, wherein the identified signal is the first polarized component (In order to detect when one antenna is better than another antenna, the receiver may periodically (or upon a certain event) toggle the switch and check a metric (such as the signal level, C/No) for all or a subset of the satellites being tracked. The different times or ways a receiver can switch from one antenna to the other [0045]-[0048]; . Antenna selection is performed at 870, in other words the best antenna is selected, another index k is equal to the index of the best antenna according to a decision metric described below. At 880, if i is equal to k, then the process returns to 820. If i is not equal to k, antennas are switched and index i is made equal to k 890 [0070]-[0072]).
However, Waters does not explicitly disclose, the method comprising obtaining a first linearly polarized component of the circularly polarized signal and a second linearly polarized component of the circularly polarized signal.
In the same field of endeavor, Marti discloses, the method comprising obtaining a first linearly polarized component of the circularly polarized signal and a second linearly polarized component of the circularly polarized signal (the method comprising obtaining a first linearly polarized component of the circularly polarized signal and a second linearly polarized component of the circularly polarized signal and connecting to a network based on the obtained geographic coordinates, [0029]-[0032]; with reference to FIG. 4, two ports that are arranged to produce two linearly polarized signals that are orthogonal [0044]-[0045]; the antenna 210 enables the first GNSS receiver chain 212 to receive (e.g., via the first port 220) a linearly polarized signal (e.g., a horizontally polarized signal) originating from a GNSS satellite that includes a set of direct and reflected components (Block 304). In some applications, a single linearly polarized signal (e.g., either a horizontally polarized signal or vertically polarized signal) may be used to obtain information about the environment. So, in some embodiments, the sensor 208 may only include a single receiver chain. But other applications require information obtained from two linearly polarized signals (that are orthogonal), and as a consequence, the antenna 210 may provide a second linearly polarized signal (e.g., via the second port 222) originating from the GNSS satellite where the second linearly polarized signal is orthogonal to the linearly polarized signal (Block 306), [0053]) and connecting to a network based on the obtained geographic coordinates (The data may be processed to provide time-stamped and geo-localized current and forecast information that is delivered, e.g., via dashboards and/or APIs. In addition, reporting and warning/alarms may be provided [0026]-[0027]; this information is delivered to the CPU 216 at a rate of, for example, 1 Hz and the CPU 216 may packetizing the parsed power values to produce packetized values for storage or transmission (e.g., to a cloud based server) [0065]-[0066]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Waters by specifically providing the method comprising obtaining a first linearly polarized component of the circularly polarized signal and a second linearly polarized component of the circularly polarized signal and connecting to a network based on the obtained geographic coordinates, as taught by Marti for the purpose of providing a substantially continuous, large area, low latency sensing technology that is relatively low cost to deploy [0009].
Regarding claim 10, Waters discloses,
An access point (The antennas could also have different characteristics such as polarization. For example one antenna could be right-hand circularly polarized, and the other could be left-hand circularly polarized, and another could be a linear antenna. The different antennas may also be directional and designed to enhance signals in a different direction, [0029]) comprising:
an antenna (Fig. 1; 105, 107);
a memory storing instructions; and at least one processor communicatively coupled to the antenna and the memory and configured to execute the instructions (memory and processor are inherent feature for an access point) to:
receive, by an antenna of the access point, a position signal from a positioning system (a GNSS receiver processes signals from one or more satellite systems such as GPS, Galileo, GLONASS, Iridium, Beidou, QZSS, or SBAS, [0027]; the GNSS receiver 120, and the switch controller 150. The GNSS receiver 120 comprising an RF chain 130 and baseband circuitry 140. Two antennas 105 and 107 are shown for simplicity but more than two may be used. Many GNSS receiver implementations separate a measurement engine (ME) from a position engine (PE) [0032]), the positioning signal comprising a right-hand circularly polarized signal (one antenna could be right-hand circularly polarized [0029]; [0094]);
select a signal having a largest signal power based on a comparison comprising the first and second polarized components (In order to detect when one antenna is better than another antenna, the receiver may periodically (or upon a certain event) toggle the switch and check a metric (such as the signal level, C/No) for all or a subset of the satellites being tracked. The different times or ways a receiver can switch from one antenna to the other [0045]-[0048]; . Antenna selection is performed at 870, in other words the best antenna is selected, another index k is equal to the index of the best antenna according to a decision metric described below. At 880, if i is equal to k, then the process returns to 820. If i is not equal to k, antennas are switched and index i is made equal to k 890 [0070]-[0072]);
determine geographic coordinates for the access points based on the signal (if the GNSS receiver 120 outputs an updated position every 1 sec, then 100 ms could be considered short which is more than sufficient time for a switch to change from one antenna to another [0035]; C/No or SNR or Noise Variance: A GNSS receiver typically requires 4 satellites to get a position fix though less than 4 can be used to propagate a position. One metric is to check if there are at least X-satellites which have C/No or SNR or Noise Variance greater than or less than a predefined threshold [0049]).
However, Waters does not explicitly disclose, the device comprising obtain a first linearly polarized component of the circularly polarized signal and a second linearly polarized component of the circularly polarized signal and render network service based on the obtained geographic coordinates.
In the same field of endeavor, Marti discloses, the device comprising obtain a first linearly polarized component of the circularly polarized signal and a second linearly polarized component of the circularly polarized signal (the method comprising obtaining a first linearly polarized component of the circularly polarized signal and a second linearly polarized component of the circularly polarized signal and connecting to a network based on the obtained geographic coordinates, [0029]-[0032]; with reference to FIG. 4, two ports that are arranged to produce two linearly polarized signals that are orthogonal [0044]-[0045]; the antenna 210 enables the first GNSS receiver chain 212 to receive (e.g., via the first port 220) a linearly polarized signal (e.g., a horizontally polarized signal) originating from a GNSS satellite that includes a set of direct and reflected components (Block 304). In some applications, a single linearly polarized signal (e.g., either a horizontally polarized signal or vertically polarized signal) may be used to obtain information about the environment. So, in some embodiments, the sensor 208 may only include a single receiver chain. But other applications require information obtained from two linearly polarized signals (that are orthogonal), and as a consequence, the antenna 210 may provide a second linearly polarized signal (e.g., via the second port 222) originating from the GNSS satellite where the second linearly polarized signal is orthogonal to the linearly polarized signal (Block 306), [0053]) and render network service based on the obtained geographic coordinates (The data may be processed to provide time-stamped and geo-localized current and forecast information that is delivered, e.g., via dashboards and/or APIs. In addition, reporting and warning/alarms may be provided [0026]-[0027]; this information is delivered to the CPU 216 at a rate of, for example, 1 Hz and the CPU 216 may packetizing the parsed power values to produce packetized values for storage or transmission (e.g., to a cloud based server) [0065]-[0066]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Waters by specifically providing the device comprising obtain a first linearly polarized component of the circularly polarized signal and a second linearly polarized component of the circularly polarized signal and render network service based on the obtained geographic coordinates, as taught by Marti for the purpose of providing a substantially continuous, large area, low latency sensing technology that is relatively low cost to deploy [0009].
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Waters and Marti discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 10), in addition Marti discloses,
wherein the antenna is a dual-polarized antenna ( FIG. 4, two ports that are arranged to produce two linearly polarized signals that are orthogonal [0044]-[0045]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Waters and Marti discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 10), further Waters discloses,
wherein the positioning signal is a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) signal (a GNSS receiver processes signals from one or more satellite systems such as GPS, Galileo, GLONASS, Iridium, Beidou, QZSS, or SBAS, [0027]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Waters and Marti discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 10), in addition Marti discloses,
wherein the first linearly polarized component is orthogonal to the second linearly polarized component ( the antenna 210 may provide a second linearly polarized signal (e.g., via the second port 222) originating from the GNSS satellite where the second linearly polarized signal is orthogonal to the linearly polarized signal (Block 306), [0053]).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Waters and Marti discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 10), further Waters discloses,
determining a first signal power of the first polarized component is larger than a second signal power of the second polarized component by comparing the first signal power to the second signal power, wherein the identified signal is the first polarized component (In order to detect when one antenna is better than another antenna, the receiver may periodically (or upon a certain event) toggle the switch and check a metric (such as the signal level, C/No) for all or a subset of the satellites being tracked. The different times or ways a receiver can switch from one antenna to the other [0045]-[0048]; . Antenna selection is performed at 870, in other words the best antenna is selected, another index k is equal to the index of the best antenna according to a decision metric described below. At 880, if i is equal to k, then the process returns to 820. If i is not equal to k, antennas are switched and index i is made equal to k 890 [0070]-[0072]).
However, Waters does not explicitly disclose, the method comprising obtaining a first linearly polarized component of the circularly polarized signal and a second linearly polarized component of the circularly polarized signal.
In the same field of endeavor, Marti discloses, the method comprising obtaining a first linearly polarized component of the circularly polarized signal and a second linearly polarized component of the circularly polarized signal (the method comprising obtaining a first linearly polarized component of the circularly polarized signal and a second linearly polarized component of the circularly polarized signal and connecting to a network based on the obtained geographic coordinates, [0029]-[0032]; with reference to FIG. 4, two ports that are arranged to produce two linearly polarized signals that are orthogonal [0044]-[0045]; the antenna 210 enables the first GNSS receiver chain 212 to receive (e.g., via the first port 220) a linearly polarized signal (e.g., a horizontally polarized signal) originating from a GNSS satellite that includes a set of direct and reflected components (Block 304). In some applications, a single linearly polarized signal (e.g., either a horizontally polarized signal or vertically polarized signal) may be used to obtain information about the environment. So, in some embodiments, the sensor 208 may only include a single receiver chain. But other applications require information obtained from two linearly polarized signals (that are orthogonal), and as a consequence, the antenna 210 may provide a second linearly polarized signal (e.g., via the second port 222) originating from the GNSS satellite where the second linearly polarized signal is orthogonal to the linearly polarized signal (Block 306), [0053]) and connecting to a network based on the obtained geographic coordinates (The data may be processed to provide time-stamped and geo-localized current and forecast information that is delivered, e.g., via dashboards and/or APIs. In addition, reporting and warning/alarms may be provided [0026]-[0027]; this information is delivered to the CPU 216 at a rate of, for example, 1 Hz and the CPU 216 may packetizing the parsed power values to produce packetized values for storage or transmission (e.g., to a cloud based server) [0065]-[0066]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Waters by specifically providing the method comprising obtaining a first linearly polarized component of the circularly polarized signal and a second linearly polarized component of the circularly polarized signal and connecting to a network based on the obtained geographic coordinates, as taught by Marti for the purpose of providing a substantially continuous, large area, low latency sensing technology that is relatively low cost to deploy [0009].
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waters, in view of Marti and further in view of Runyon et al. (US 20150381265, hereinafter “Runyon”).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Waters and Marti discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 10), however the combination of Waters and Marti does not disclose, a phase calibration mechanism connected to the antenna; and a combiner connected to the phase calibration mechanism.
In the same field of endeavor, Runyon discloses, a phase calibration mechanism connected to the antenna; and a combiner connected to the phase calibration mechanism (The amplifier outputs may be routed to digitally programmable phase shifters and hybrid combiners to perform the above described relative phase shifts and recombination [0041]; The amplifier outputs may be routed to digitally programmable phase shifters and hybrid combiners to perform the above described relative phase shifts and recombination. The amplified first signal component from the first LNA 250 may be sent to the first receive signal component phase shifter 254. The phase shifted first signal component from the first receiver phase shifter 254 may be sent to the hybrid 258. Similarly, the second diplexer 205b may send the second signal component to the second LNA 252 to be amplified. The amplified second signal component from the second LNA 252 may be sent to the second receive signal component phase shifter 256 [0052]-[0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Waters and Marti by specifically providing a phase calibration mechanism connected to the antenna; and a combiner connected to the phase calibration mechanism, as taught by Runyon for the purpose of controlling wave polarization, specifically to controlling linear polarization with multiple polarization components [0003].
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waters, in view of Marti and further in view of McMilin et al. (US 20180224557, hereinafter “Mcmilin”).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Waters and Marti discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 10), however the combination of Waters and Marti does not disclose, a switch comprising a first input and a second input connected to the antenna; and a circular polarization combiner having a first input connected to a first output of the switch and a second input connected to a second output of the switch.
In the same field of endeavor, Mcmilin discloses a switch comprising a first input and a second input connected to the antenna; and a circular polarization combiner having a first input connected to a first output of the switch and a second input connected to a second output of the switch (The 90 degree hybrid coupler introduces a 90 degree phase shift to the x-axis input signal 111B or the y-axis signal 111A. The output signal 112A corresponds to a left hand circular polarized (LHCP) signal, while output signal 112B corresponds to a right hand circular polarized (RHCP) signal [0049]-[0050]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Waters and Marti by specifically providing a switch comprising a first input and a second input connected to the antenna; and a circular polarization combiner having a first input connected to a first output of the switch and a second input connected to a second output of the switch, as taught by Mcmilin for the purpose of detecting whether a signal at an antenna, such as a GPS antenna and/or the like, is a spoofing signal and/or steering a null to enable mitigating the effects of a jamming or other unwanted signal [0005].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-9, 16 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 6, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the closest prior arts, Waters and Marti, does not teach the following novel feature:
“the method comprising iteratively applying a plurality of phase delays to the first linearly polarized component; for each phase delay of the plurality of phase delays, combining the phase delayed first linearly polarized component with the second linearly polarized component to generate a combined signal, and determining a signal power of the combined signal; and identifying a combined signal of the plurality of phase delays having the largest signal power, wherein the identified signal is the identified combined signal”, in combination with the other limitations in claim 1.
Claim 7 is allowed as those inherit the allowable subject matter from claim 6.
Regarding claim 8, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the closest prior arts, Waters and Marti, does not teach the following novel feature:
“the method comprising iteratively applying a plurality of phase delays to the first linearly polarized component; for each phase delay of the plurality of phase delays, combining the phase delayed first linearly polarized component with the second linearly polarized component to generate a combined signal, and determining a signal power of the combined signal; and identifying a combined signal of the plurality of phase delays having the largest signal power, wherein the identified signal is the identified combined signal”, in combination with the other limitations in claim 1.
Claim 9 is allowed as those inherit the allowable subject matter from claim 8.
Regarding claim 16, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the closest prior arts, Waters, Marti and Runyon, does not teach the following novel feature:
“the device comprising wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: iteratively apply, by the phase calibration mechanism, a plurality of phase delays to the first linearly polarized component; for each phase delay of the plurality of phase delays, combine, by the combiner, the phase delayed first linearly polarized component with the second linearly polarized component to generate a combined signal, and determine a signal power of the combined signal; and identify a combined signal of the plurality of phase delays having the largest signal power, wherein the selected signal is the identified combined signal”, in combination with the other limitations in claims 10 and 15.
Regarding claim 18, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the closest prior arts, Waters, Marti and Runyon, does not teach the following novel feature:
“the device comprising wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: configure the switch in a first configuration, wherein, when in the first configuration, the first linearly polarized component is passed into the first input of the switch and the second linearly polarized component is passed into the second input of the switch in the first configuration; output a first combined circularly polarized signal from the circular polarization combiner when the switch is in the first configuration; configure the switch in a second configuration, wherein, when in the second configuration, the first linearly polarized component is passed into the second input of the switch and the second linearly polarized component is passed into the first input of the switch; output a second combined circularly polarized signal from the circular polarization combiner when the switch is in the second configuration; and determine a first signal power of the first combined circularly polarized signal is larger than a second signal power of the second combined circularly polarized signal by comparing the first signal power to the second signal power, wherein the selected signal is the first combined circularly polarized signal”, in combination with the other limitations in claims 10 and 17.
Prior Art of the Record:
The prior art made of record not relied upon and considered pertinent to
Applicant’s disclosure:
US 12644993: Systems and methods for a global positioning system using Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) signals and Stokes Parameters in accordance with embodiments of the invention are illustrated. One embodiment includes a GNSS. The GNSS includes at least four satellites and a receiver. Each satellite includes at least one pair of antennas, and a transmitter configured to transmit GNSS positioning signals to a receiver.
US 20230335914: Provided is an apparatus for transmitting a circularly polarized signal by linearly polarized antennas. A horizontally polarized antenna and a vertically polarized antenna of the apparatus receives a first circularly polarized signal transmitted based on a transmitted baseband signal vector. Based on the first circularly polarized signal, a radio frequency (RF) module of the apparatus generates a received baseband signal vector including a product of the transmitted baseband signal vector.
US 20230268649: Examples are disclosed that relate to handling a circularly polarized signal via a plurality of linearly polarized antennas. One example provides a mobile device comprising an inertial measurement unit (IMU) and an antenna system configured for communication using a circularly polarized signal. The antenna system comprises a first linearly polarized antenna, a second linearly polarized antenna, a third linearly polarized antenna, and a processing stage.
Conclusion
/GOLAM SOROWAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641