DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS), submitted on 04/15/2024, 07/17/2024, and 12/06/2025, have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. The claim, which depends directly from claim 13, does not recite any additional limitations which are not already recited in claim 13. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 12-18, and 20, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Macoviak et al. (USPN 6,508,777).
[Claims 1, 2, and 12] Macoviak teaches a method of extracorporeal blood oxygenation (figure 38; column 37, lines 53-64), comprising:
inserting a drainage cannula (figure 38, items 3899/3897) into a first site of a vasculature of a patient (figure 38; column 38, lines 25-31);
inserting an infusion cannula (figure 38, items 3802/3820) into a second site of the vasculature of the patient (figure 38; column 37, lines 65-67; column 38, lines 1-24), the infusion cannula comprising:
a main tube (figure 38, item 3820) having a proximal end, a distal end, and a tubular sidewall extending between the proximal end and the distal end (figure 38; column 37, lines 65-67; column 38, lines 1-24); and
an expandable balloon (figures 36/38; item 3608 or 3808) (the examiner notes figures 36-38 are taught as the same embodiment; column 36, lines 24-28) disposed on a portion of the tubular sidewall (figure 37), wherein the expandable balloon (figures 36/38; item 3608 or 3808) is configured to expand radially outward from the tubular sidewall to an expanded configuration (as best shown in figures 36 and 37);
expanding the expandable balloon (figures 36/38; item 3608 or 3808) radially outward from the tubular sidewall to engage an inner wall of the vasculature of the patient (figure 38; column 37, lines 65-67; column 38, lines 1-12);
wherein when the expandable balloon (figures 36/38; item 3608 or 3808) is engaged with the inner wall of the patient’s vasculature in the expanded configuration (figure 38), blood within the patient’s vasculature is permitted to flow from proximal of the expandable balloon (figures 36/38; item 3608 or 3808) to distal of the expandable balloon (figures 36/38; item 3608 or 3808) (via conduit 3612/3812; column 38, lines 46-51);
draining blood through the drainage cannula (figure 38, items 3899/3897) to a blood pump (figure 38, item 3857; column 38, lines 25-46);
pumping, via the blood pump (figure 38, item 3857), drained blood through an oxygenator (figure 38; “oxygenator”) to oxygenate the drained blood (figure 38; column 38, lines 25-46); and
returning oxygenated blood to the vasculature of the patient through the infusion cannula (figure 38, items 3802/3820) (figure 38; column 38, lines 25-46).
[Claims 3, 13, and 14] Macoviak teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 12, upon which claims 3, 13, and 14, depend. In addition, Macoviak discloses when the expandable balloon (figures 36/38; item 3608 or 3808) is engaged with the inner wall of the patient’s vasculature (figure 38), blood within the patient’s vasculature is permitted to flow around (the examiner notes flowing through the center of the balloon meets the limitation of “around”) the expandable balloon (figures 36/38; item 3608 or 3808) from proximal of the expandable balloon (figures 36/38; item 3608 or 3808) to distal of the expandable balloon (figures 36/38; item 3608 or 3808) externally of the main tube (figure 38, item 3820) (via conduit 3612/3812; column 38, lines 46-51).
[Claims 4, 15, and 16] Macoviak teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 12, upon which claims 4, 15, and 16, depend. Macoviak further discloses the infusion cannula (figure 38, items 3802/3820) comprises an aperture (figures 36-38, items 3626/3826), proximate the expandable balloon (figures 36/38; item 3608 or 3808) (as shown in figures 36-38), extending through the tubular sidewall at a location disposed between the proximal end of the tubular sidewall and the distal end of the tubular sidewall (figures 36-38; column 36, lines 63-67; column 37, line 1).
[Claim 17] Macoviak teaches the limitations of claim 16, upon which claim 17 depends. Macoviak also teaches expanding the expandable balloon (figures 36/38; item 3608 or 3808) radially outward from the tubular sidewall to engage the inner wall of the vasculature of the patient increases a spacing between the aperture (figures 36-38, items 3626/3826) and the inner wall of the vasculature of the patient (figures 36-38) (the examiner notes that inflation of the balloon would increase spacing from the wall of the vasculature which is diametrically opposed from the apertures).
[Claims 5 and 18] Macoviak teaches the limitations of claims 4 and 17, upon which claims 5 and 18 depend. In addition, Macoviak discloses when the expandable balloon (figures 36/38; item 3608 or 3808) is engaged with the inner wall of the patient’s vasculature in the expanded configuration (figure 38), infused blood is permitted to flow from within the infusion cannula (figure 38, items 3802/3820) outward through the aperture (figures 36-38, items 3626/3826) (figure 38; column 38, lines 19-24).
[Claims 6-8] Macoviak teaches the limitations of claim 1, upon which claims 6-8 depend. Macoviak further teaches the infusion cannula (figure 38, items 3802/3820) comprises an inflator tube (lumen) (figure 38, item 3888) in fluid communication with the expandable balloon (figures 36/38; item 3608 or 3808) and extending along at least a portion of the tubular sidewall (figure 38; column 38, lines 7-12); wherein the inflator tube (figure 38, item 3888) is configured to supply liquid or gas to the expandable balloon (figures 36/38; item 3608 or 3808) to cause expansion of the expandable balloon (figures 36/38; item 3608 or 3808) (figure 38; column 38, lines 7-12), wherein the liquid or gas is at least one of air, helium, or saline (although teaching “a syringe or balloon inflation device” (column 37, lines 29-33) the examiner notes the “liquid or gas” is only functionally recited and is not a positively recited claim method step; as such, the structure taught by Macoviak is fully capable of delivering “at least one of air, helium, or saline).
[Claim 20] Macoviak teaches the limitations of claim 1, upon which claim 20 depends. Macoviak also discloses an entirety of the expandable balloon (figures 36/38; item 3608 or 3808) extends only partially around a circumference of the tubular sidewall (figure 37; the balloon is not in full contact with the entire circumference of the tubular sidewall).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Macoviak et al. (USPN 6,508,777), in view of Legum et al. (PGPub 2020/0360670).
[Claims 9-11] Macoviak teaches the limitations of claim 1, upon which claims 9-11 depend. Macoviak does not specifically disclose an absorbent material at least partially filling the expandable balloon.
However, Legum teaches a catheter system utilizing an expandable balloon (“inflatable plug”) (figure 10b, item 54) which comprises an absorbent material (salt) (sodium salt-graft-poly(ethylene oxide)) (paragraph [0160]) at least partially filling the expandable balloon, wherein the absorbent material is configured to absorb water from an environment surrounding the expandable balloon (semipermeable membrane) (“the plug is made from a hydrogel or expandable material that grows when exposed to a hydrating environment. In some embodiments, the expandable material is a water swellable polymer or a superexpandable polymer”) (paragraph [0160]) to cause expansion of the expandable balloon (paragraphs [0154], [0160], [0161]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the expandable balloon taught by Macoviak, with the use of an absorbent material for balloon expansion, as taught by Legum, in order to provide an alternative, yet equivalent means, for expanding the balloon radially outward from the sidewall of the cannula. Furthermore, such a feature would allow for an automated means of expansion, as would occur upon exposure with the vasculature.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 and 12-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,931,496. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the elements of the recited instant application claims are found in the recited patent claims. For example, all of the elements of claim 1 of the instant application can be found in claim 17 of the patent. The difference between claim 1 of the instant application and claim 17 of the patent lies in the fact that the patent claim includes more elements and is thus more specific. Thus, the invention of claim 17 of the patent is in effect a “species” of the "generic” invention of claim 1 of the instant application. It has been held that the generic invention is anticipated by the species. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since claim 1 of the instant application is anticipated by claim 17 of the patent, it is not patentably distinct from claim 17 of the patent.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JASON E FLICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783 07/19/2026