DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SCHMITT et al. (U.S. Patent No. 4,212,962, hereinafter SCHMITT).
Regarding claims 1 and 6, SCHMITT teaches the preparation of isocyanates blocked with ε-caprolactam (Example 1 and Claim 1). The reaction product of the cycloaliphatic polyisocyanate and polyol contains at least 2 isocyanate groups (Col. 2, lines 22-29). Note: ε-caprolactam reads on a cyclic amine comprises at least one NH- group and from four to six carbon atoms.
Claims 1, 6, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2020/129939.
To further advance the prosecution of this invention, SUZUKI (U.S. Publication No. 2022/0073687, hereinafter SUZUKI) which is an English equivalent of WO 2020/129939 will be used in the rejection.
Regarding claims 1, 6, and 7, SUZUKI teaches an addition reaction product of a polyisocyanate compound and a blocking agent [0016]. Examples of polyisocyanate compounds include polyisocyanate such as tolylene diisocyanate, metaphenylene diisocyanate, diphenylmethane diisocyanate, hexamethylene diisocyanate, and etc. [0017]. The blocked polyisocyanate has two or more blocked isocyanate components per molecule [0019] (which reads on a polyisocyanate has at least two NCO groups per molecule as claimed). Examples of blocking agents include aromatic secondary amines such as dimethylpyrazole (also known as 3,5-dimethylpyrazole); lactams including caprolactam [0018] (which reads on cyclic amine comprises at least one NH- group and from four to six carbon atoms).
Claims 1 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by GURTLER et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2003/0236360, hereinafter GURTLER).
Regarding claims 1, 5, 6, and 7, GURTLER teaches the preparation of blocked polyisocyanates comprising amine blocking agents including ε-caprolactam [0010] and dimethylpyrazole (DMP) [0014 and 0056] and solvent including naphtha [0027], xylene [0035], and etc. The preparation is produced by a reaction of polyisocyanates with the amine (Abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CARPENTER et al. (U.S. Patent No. 4,946, 876, hereinafter CARPENTER) in view of GURTLER et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2003/0236360, hereinafter GURTLER).
Regarding claims 8 and 9, CARPENTER teaches polyurethane-forming foundry binders comprising in admixture: (a) a phenolic resole resin component; (b) a polyisocyanate hardener component; and (c) polyester polyol. The polyester is part of the phenolic resin component (Col. 1, lines 50-56; Col. 2, lines 9-53). The invention relates to foundry aggregates and shapes made with the foundry binders (Col. 1, lines 67-68). The isocyanate hardener component of the binder composition is a polyisocyanate having a functionality of two or more. These are formed by reacting excess polyisocyanates with compounds having two or more active hydrogen atoms (Col. 4, lines 44-65). The binder composition comprises solvents including xylene (Col. 5, lines 7-32).
However, CARPENTER does not teach a polyurethane binder system comprising the isocyanate component of claim 1.
In the same field of endeavor of polyurethane binder [0015 and 0032] comprising polyester polyol [0041], GURTLER teaches the preparation of blocked polyisocyanates comprising amine blocking agents including ε-caprolactam [0010] and dimethylpyrazole (DMP) [0014 and 0056] and solvent including naphtha [0027], xylene [0035], and etc. The preparation is produced by a reaction of polyisocyanates with the amine (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have provided the reaction product of polyisocyanate and blocking agents (i.e., ε-caprolactam and dimethylpyrazole) of GURTLER with the polyurethane foundry binders of CARPENTER for the benefit of obtaining desired properties.
It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose, see In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846,850,205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980).
Pertinent Art
GEOFFREY (U.S. Patent No. 5,981,622) fails to teach the isocyanate component comprising a reaction product of at least one polyisocyanate and at least one cyclic amine wherein each cyclic amine comprises at least one NH- group and from four to six carbon atoms.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
DEVE V. HALL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1763
/DEVE V HALL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763