DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: para [0050] line 2 refers to “Fig. 11” which should read “Fig. 1.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 8-9, and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oshikiri (US 2007/0253481 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Oshikiri teaches:
An audio signal encoding method, comprising:
receiving a current frame signal and a reconstructed previous frame signal (Fig. 15 element 205, para [0048], [0119], where the previous frame and current frame inputs are used);
generating a predicted current frame signal, based on the current frame signal and the reconstructed previous frame signal (Fig. 15 element 205, para [0048], [0055], [0119], where the predictive coefficients of the current frame are generated using the previous frame and current frame inputs with predictive coefficients); and
outputting a reconstructed residual signal, based on the current frame signal and the predicted current frame signal (Fig. 3, para [0056], where an error signal is generated by subtracting the two signals).
Regarding claim 2, Oshikiri teaches:
The audio signal encoding method of claim 1, wherein
the current frame signal comprises a time domain signal for a current frame (para [0041], where an input from a microphone is a time domain signal), and
the reconstructed previous frame signal comprises a reconstructed frequency domain signal for a previous frame (Fig. 15, para [0118-119], where the previous frame signal is a spectrum, which is a frequency domain signal).
Regarding claim 8, Oshikiri teaches:
An audio signal decoding method comprising:
receiving difference information between a current frame signal and a reconstructed previous frame signal (Fig. 6, para [0067], where the predictive coefficients are received);
generating a predicted current frame signal from the reconstructed previous frame signal using the difference information (Fig. 6 element 606, para [0070], where the predictive coefficients are used to predict a current frame); and
obtaining a reconstructed current frame signal from the predicted current frame signal based on a residual signal between the current frame signal and the predicted current frame signal (Fig. 6 element 607, para [0070], where the decoded spectrum is converted to the time domain, determined using the predictive coefficients).
Regarding claim 9, Oshikiri teaches:
The audio signal decoding method of claim 8, wherein the difference information comprises information on a difference between a frequency domain signal for a current frame and a reconstructed frequency domain signal for a previous frame (Fig. 3, para [0056], where an error signal is generated by subtracting the two signals corresponding to the frequency domain signals).
Regarding claim 12, Oshikiri teaches:
The audio signal decoding method of claim 9, wherein the generating of the predicted current frame signal comprises generating a predicted frequency domain signal for a current frame from the reconstructed frequency domain signal using the information (Fig. 6 element 606, para [0070], where the predictive coefficients are used to predict a spectrum of the current frame).
Regarding claim 13, Oshikiri teaches:
The audio signal decoding method of claim 12, wherein the obtaining of the reconstructed current frame signal comprises obtaining a reconstructed frequency domain signal for a current frame by synthesizing the predicted frequency domain signal with a reconstructed signal of the residual signal (Fig. 6 element 607, para [0070], where the decoded spectrum is converted to the time domain, determined using the predictive coefficients).
Regarding claim 14, Oshikiri teaches:
An apparatus for encoding an audio signal, the apparatus comprising:
a memory configured to store instructions (para [0129], where memory is used); and
a processor electrically connected to the memory and configured to execute the instructions (para [0132], where processor is used),
wherein, when the instructions are executed by the processor, the processor is configured to control a plurality of operations (para [0129], where the instructions in memory are executed using an information processing means), and
wherein the plurality of operations comprises:
receiving a current frame signal and a reconstructed previous frame signal (Fig. 15 element 205, para [0048], [0119], where the previous frame and current frame inputs are used);
generating a predicted current frame signal, based on the current frame signal and the reconstructed previous frame signal (Fig. 15 element 205, para [0048], [0055], [0119], where the predictive coefficients of the current frame are generated using the previous frame and current frame inputs with predictive coefficients); and
outputting a reconstructed residual signal, based on the current frame signal and the predicted current frame signal (Fig. 3, para [0056], where an error signal is generated by subtracting the two signals).
Regarding claim 15, Oshikiri teaches:
The apparatus of claim 14, wherein:
the current frame signal comprises a time domain signal for a current frame (para [0041], where an input from a microphone is a time domain signal), and
the reconstructed previous frame signal comprises a reconstructed frequency domain signal for a previous frame (Fig. 15, para [0118-119], where the previous frame signal is a spectrum, which is a frequency domain signal).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oshikiri, in view of Sung et al. (US 2013/0030795 A1), hereinafter referred to as Sung.
Regarding claim 6, Oshikiri teaches:
The audio signal encoding method of claim 1, wherein the outputting of the reconstructed residual signal comprises:
calculating a residual signal by using the current frame signal and the predicted current frame signal (Fig. 3, para [0056], where an error signal is generated by subtracting the two signals);
quantizing the residual signal (para [0077], Claim 5, where vector quantization of the predictive coefficients is performed); and
Oshikiri does not teach:
outputting the reconstructed residual signal by dequantizing a quantized residual signal.
Sung teaches:
outputting the reconstructed residual signal by dequantizing a quantized residual signal (Fig. 4 elements 412, 415, para [0074], where a residual signal is passed through MDCT, quantized, then dequantized by the encoder).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Oshikiri by using the dequantization of Sung (Sung para [0074]) on the quantized signal of Oshikiri (Oshikiri para [0077]), in order to effectively compensate for a quantization error (Sung para [0006-7]).
Regarding claim 19, Oshikiri teaches:
The apparatus of claim 14, wherein the outputting of the reconstructed residual signal comprises:
calculating a residual signal by using the current frame signal and the predicted current frame signal (Fig. 3, para [0056], where an error signal is generated by subtracting the two signals);
quantizing the residual signal (para [0077], Claim 5, where vector quantization of the predictive coefficients is performed); and
Oshikiri does not teach:
outputting the reconstructed residual signal by dequantizing a quantized residual signal.
Sung teaches:
outputting the reconstructed residual signal by dequantizing a quantized residual signal (Fig. 4 elements 412, 415, para [0074], where a residual signal is passed through MDCT, quantized, then dequantized by the encoder).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Oshikiri by using the dequantization of Sung (Sung para [0074]) on the quantized signal of Oshikiri (Oshikiri para [0077]), in order to effectively compensate for a quantization error (Sung para [0006-7]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 7, 10-11, 16-18, and 20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the closest prior art of Oshikiri and Sung do not teach the limitations of the claims. Specifically, none of the cited prior art teaches that the generation of the predicted current frame signal includes calculating a phase and gain difference between the frequency domain signals corresponding to the current frame and the reconstructed previous frame signals, in combination with the other limitations of the claims. Hence, none of the cited prior art, either alone or in combination thereof, teaches the combination of limitations found in the cited claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2008/0189118 A1 Fig. 3 element 360, para [0056] teaches calculating a phase difference between successive frames of an audio signal.
/BRYAN S BLANKENAGEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2658