DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
In response to the election requirement, Applicant has elected Species A without traverse in the reply filed on 02/20/2026. Claims 5-20 are withdrawn from further consideration.
Claims 1-4 are pending and under examination.
Drawings
The drawings submitted on 02/07/2024 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-3 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 9, the term may be amended as “[[the]]a structural integrity”.
In claims 2 and 3, lines 1-2, the phrase may be amended as “wherein the each flexible material layer of the at least two flexible material layers”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 2 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 2 of copending Application No. 18/512937 in view of Korean Patent No. 102575862B1.
Claims 1 and 2 of Application No. 18/512937 recite all limitations of claims 1 and 2 of the subject application except that “wherein a flexible material layer of the at least two flexible material layers comprises a cleaning agent”.
However, Korean Patent No. 102575862B1 discloses in fig. 1, a scrubber comprises two layers of fibrous scrubber [correspond to the recited at least two flexible material layers] and one scrubber layer comprises a soap layer [corresponds to the recited cleaning agent].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the renewable cleaning device of Application No. 18/512937 to provide the cleaning agent as taught by Korean Patent No. 102575862B1. A conventional scrubber requires applying detergent repeatedly so that it often requires excessive amount of the cleaning agent which results in increase of sewage contamination. The scrubber with a soap layer does not result in such water contamination (Lee English translation p. 2:10-24).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim 1 of the Subject Application
Claim 1 of Application No. 18/512937
A renewable cleaning device, the device comprising:
A renewable cleaning device, the device comprising:
a body having at least two flexible material layers, wherein each flexible material layer of the at least two flexible material layers comprises a water absorbing material,
a body having at least two flexible material layers, wherein each flexible material layer of the at least two flexible material layers comprises a synthetic sponge material,
wherein the at least two flexible material layers are coupled together via compressing the at least two flexible material layers together,
wherein the at least two flexible material layers are coupled together via compressing the at least two flexible material layers together,
wherein the at least two flexible material layers are removably coupled to each other so that the at least two flexible material layers may be mechanically separated from each other without damaging the structural integrity of the at least two flexible material layers.
wherein the at least two flexible material layers are removably coupled to each other so that the at least two flexible material layers may be mechanically separated from each other without damaging the structural integrity of the at least two flexible material layers.
Claim 2 of the Subject Application
Claim 2 of Application No. 18/512937
wherein each flexible material layer of the at least two flexible material layers comprises microfiber fabric impregnated with polyvinyl alcohol.
wherein each flexible material layer of the at least two flexible material layers comprises polyvinyl alcohol sponge.
As shown in the table above, claims 1 and 2 of the subject application claims subject matter that is different, but not patentably distinct, from the subject matter of claims 1 and 2 of copending Application No. 18/512937 in view of Korean Patent No. 102575862B1.
Thus, claims 1 and 2 are anticipated by claims 1 and 2 of Application No. 18/512937 and a patent to claims 1 and 2 would, provisionally, extend the right to exclude granted by Application No. 18/512937.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 102575862B1).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses, in fig. 1, a renewable cleaning device (soap scrubber), the device comprising:
a body having at least two flexible material layers, wherein each flexible material layer of the at least two flexible material layers comprises a water absorbing material (Lee English translation, p. 3:15-33, the scrubber comprises two layers of scrubber layer 10. The scrubber layer is composed of fibers such as cotton or hemp, or artificial fibers, thus it is flexible. The scrubber layer has excellent adsorption power so that washing water quickly penetrates),
wherein a flexible material layer of the at least two flexible material layers comprises a cleaning agent (Lee English translation, p. 3:15-4:6, a solidified soap layer 20 [corresponds to the recited cleaning agent] is disposed between the two scrubber layers 10. As shown in annotated Lee fig. 1 below, one scrubber layer 10 and one soap layer 20 can be considered as one flexible material layer of the two flexible material layers),
wherein the at least two flexible material layers are removably coupled to each other so that the at least two flexible material layers may be mechanically separated from each other without damaging the structural integrity of the at least two flexible material layers (fig. 1, the scrubber of Lee comprises at least two scrubber layers, thus they are removable. Each scrubber layer may not be damaged when the layer is removed because there is the soap layer 20 between the scrubber layers 10. Examiner notes that claim recites at least two flexible material layers may be mechanically separated from each other without damaging … (emphasis added). The flexible material layers can be separated with or without damage to the structural integrity of the flexible material layers).
But Lee does not disclose explicitly the at least two flexible material layers are coupled together via compressing the at least two flexible material layers together.
Lee discloses the scrubber layers 10 and the soap layer 20 are bound without adhesive (Lee English translation, p. 4:16-17). But Lee does not disclose the layers are coupled together via compressing the at least two scrubber layers together.
However, the recitation “the at least two flexible material layers are coupled together via compressing the at least two flexible material layers together” is considered to be a product by process limitation. MPEP 2113 clearly states "Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different processes." In this instance, the product taught by the Lee reference is the same as or makes the product claimed obvious, meeting the limitation of the claim.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning device of Lee to make it by compressing the at least two flexible material layers together. The scrubber of Lee is made without using adhesive. It allows less complicated manufacturing process and less production cost (Lee English translation, p. 4:16-18).
Annotated Lee Fig. 1
Regarding claim 3, Lee teaches the device as in the rejection of claim 1, but does not disclose each flexible material layer of the at least two flexible material layers comprises the cleaning agent.
The scrubber of Lee is configured to have a first scrubber layer with the soap layer and a second scrubber layer without the soap layer. Thus, it can be considered one flexible material layer comprises the cleaning agent (see annotated Lee fig. 1 above). However, the scrubber layer with the soap layer can be duplicated so that there can be a plurality of scrubber layers and each scrubber layer comprises the soap layer [corresponds to the recited cleaning agent].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning device of Lee to provide each flexible material layer comprising the cleaning agent. It would provide cleaning material/soap continuously during repeated cleaning jobs for a long time. It has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B).
Regarding claim 4, Lee teaches the device as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the cleaning agent is soluble in water (fig. 1 and Lee English translation, p. 3:15-17, the soap layer 20 of the scrubber is the recited cleaning agent. The soap is water soluble).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Martin Rivera (CN 101384206A, hereinafter Martin).
Regarding claim 2, Lee teaches the device as in the rejection of claim 1, but does not disclose each flexible material layer of the at least two flexible material layers comprises microfiber fabric impregnated with polyvinyl alcohol.
Martin teaches, in an analogous cleaning device field of endeavor, each flexible material layer of the at least two flexible material layers comprises microfiber fabric impregnated with polyvinyl alcohol (Martin English translation, abstract and p. 4:10-35, a moisture-absorbing wipe comprises fibers. The fibers can be mixture of polyvinyl alcohol fibers and microfibers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the flexible material layers to provide the microfiber fabric impregnated with polyvinyl alcohol as taught by Martin in order to reduce cost and enhance the wear resistance of the non-woven material (Martin English translation, p. 4:30-34).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Schmeling et al. (DE 102020215685A1) discloses a dishwashing sponge comprising capsules containing detergent composition.
/SUKWOO JAMES CHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3723