DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 2-5, 7-15 and 17-22 are currently pending in the present application. Claims 1, 6 and 16 are canceled; claims 2-5, 7-13 and 19-22 are currently amended; and claims 14-15, 17-18 and 19-22 are previously presented. The amendment dated January 9, 2026 has been entered into the record.
Claims 2-5 and 7-12 were previously objected to because of the informalities, claims 2-5, 7-15 and 17-22 were previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and claims 7-8 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) were previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). The objections and rejections are now withdrawn as the applicant has amended the claims and the specification.
Response to Arguments
The applicant generally argues Tomaru and Whitehead fail to disclose “a switchable light transmission module including a light-permeable cover; a substrate having a first surface defining an enclosed volume between the light-permeable cover and the substrate; a porous structured polymer foam layer including a plurality of interconnected voids therein, the porous structured polymer foam layer disposed on the first surface and in fluid communication with the enclosed volume; a reservoir in fluid communication with the enclosed volume via one or more conduits; and a fluid, wherein the reservoir is configured to supply the fluid to and withdraw the fluid from the enclosed volume to reversibly wet the porous structured polymer foam layer, and wherein the fluid has a refractive index that is within about 30% of the refractive index of the porous structured polymer foam layer” [the emphasis added by the examiner] (Remarks, Pages 10-24).
Because the specification in the present application does not identify or disclose the term “interconnected” and the applicant is completely silent on this newly added term, the examiner considers “a plurality of interconnected voids” as “a plurality of voids where voids are joined together” based on Figure 2A. Based on this interpretation, the applicant's arguments with respect to at least claim 2 have been fully considered, but are not persuasive by the following reasons:
(1) The applicant argues that “the structure of the metal oxide fine hole body and the fine holes disposed therein are not equivalent to the structure of the porous structured polymer foam layer including a plurality of interconnected voids therein” (Remarks, Page 11).
The examiner notes that Tomaru teaches a porous structured layer including a plurality of interconnected voids therein (20 include fine holes 21; Paragraph [0048] “light transmissive fine hole body 20 has a plurality of fine holes 21”) and Whitehead further teaches a known porous structured layer includes a porous structured polymer layer (216 in Figure 6; Paragraph [0035] “a porous continuous membrane 216”).
(2) The applicant further argues that “Tomaru does not teach or suggest a fluid can be used to reversibly wet the porous structured polymer foam layer. Instead, Tomaru merely teaches that the light transmissive fine hole body can be changed over between an empty state and a filled state by filling and discharging the light transmissive substance from the fine holes” (Remarks, Page 12) .
The examiner notes that Tomaru teaches a fluid can be used to reversibly wet the porous structured polymer foam layer (Paragraphs [0049] “the light transmissive substance 22 should preferably be selected from fluidal substances, i.e. liquids” and [0078] “22 is capable of being introduced into the fine holes 21, 21, . . . and is capable of being discharged from the fine holes 21, 21”).
(3) The applicant argues that “e.g., Whitehead at [0035]. There is no teaching or suggestion that membrane 216 can be a polymer foam layer, nor that apertures 224 are structurally similar to the claimed interconnected” (Remarks, Page 12).
The examiner notes that Whitehead teaches a polymer foam layer (see Paragraph [0035] teaching polytetrafluoroethylene for the porous layer. The examiner notes that Polytetrafluoroethylene is a polymer).
(4) The applicant further argues that “Additionally, there is no teaching or suggestion that the membrane of Whitehead, taught to be suitable merely for the purpose of facilitate transport of light absorbing particles from one side thereof to the other, would be suitable for use in Tomaru as the fine hole body” (Remarks, Page 13).
The examiner notes that both Tomaru and Whitehead teach a light transmissive substance can be liquids such as water (Tomaru: Paragraph [0049], Whitehead: Paragraph [0034]).
(5) The applicant’s arguments regarding claim 13 in Pages 13-16 are essentially same as the arguments already stated regarding claim 2 in Pages 10-13. Please see the examiner’s responses in (1) through (4) above.
(6) The applicant’s arguments regarding claim 3, 5, 8-9, 11, 13, 15 and 19-21 in Pages 16-24 essentially same as the arguments already stated in the Remarks dated 09/29/2025 in Pages 11-19 and the Remarks dated 04/30/2025 in Pages 13-21. Please see the examiner’s responses in the Office action dated 05/29/2025, at least Pages 3-4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4, 7, 10, 12-14, 17 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomaru (US 2006/0281018), of record, in view of Whitehead (US 2016/0139478).
Regarding claim 2, Tomaru discloses a switchable light transmission module (Figure 3B; Paragraph [0041]), comprising:
a light-permeable cover (51; Paragraph [0082]);
a substrate (52) having a first surface defining an enclosed volume between the light-permeable cover and the substrate (Figure 3B, see the surface on 52 defining a volume between 51 and 52);
a porous structured layer (20; Paragraph [0048] “light transmissive fine hole body 20 has a plurality of fine holes 21”) including a plurality of interconnected voids (fine holes 21) therein, the porous structured layer disposed on the first surface and in fluid communication with the enclosed volume (Paragraph [0078] “22 is capable of being introduced into the fine holes 21, 21, . . . of the light transmissive fine hole body 20 from the side of the first reflecting body 10 and/or the side of the second reflecting body 30 and is capable of being discharged from the fine holes 21, 21”);
a reservoir (53, 54, 55, 56; Paragraph [0090]) in fluid communication with the enclosed volume via one or more conduits (see channels formed between reservoir(s) and 20 in Figure 3B); and
a fluid (22; Paragraph [0049]);
the reservoir being configured to supply the fluid to and withdraw the fluid from the enclosed volume to reversibly wet the porous structured layer (Paragraph [0078] “22 is capable of being introduced into the fine holes 21, 21 … is capable of being discharged from the fine holes 21, 21 … is capable of being altered easily”).
Tomaru does not necessarily disclose the porous structured layer being a porous structured polymer foam layer, wherein the fluid has a refractive index that is within about 30% of the refractive index of the porous structured polymer foam layer.
However, Whitehead teaches a known porous structured layer includes a porous structured polymer layer (216 in Figure 6; Paragraph [0035] “a porous continuous membrane 216”), wherein the fluid has a refractive index that is within about 30% of the refractive index of the porous structured polymer foam layer (see Paragraphs [0034]-[0035] teaching using water for the fluid and using polytetrafluoroethylene for the porous layer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the refractive index of the fluid as disclosed by Tomaru with the teachings of Whitehead, to have the porous structured layer being a porous structured polymer foam layer, wherein the fluid has a refractive index that is within about 30% of the refractive index of the porous structured polymer foam layer, for the purpose of using a known porous layer to alter optical properties (Whitehead: Paragraph [0021]).
Regarding claim 4, Tomaru as modified by Whitehead discloses the limitations of claim 2 above.
Tomaru does not necessarily disclose the fluid has a refractive index that is within about 15% of the refractive index of the porous structured polymer foam layer.
However, Whitehead teaches a known porous structured layer includes a porous structured polymer layer (216 in Figure 6; Paragraph [0035] “a porous continuous membrane 216”), wherein the fluid has a refractive index that is within about 15% of the refractive index of the porous structured polymer foam layer (see Paragraphs [0034]-[0035] teaching using water for the fluid and using polytetrafluoroethylene for the porous layer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the refractive index of the fluid as disclosed by Tomaru with the teachings of Whitehead, to have the fluid has a refractive index that is within about 15% of the refractive index of the porous structured polymer foam layer, for the purpose of using a known porous layer to alter optical properties (Whitehead: Paragraph [0021]).
Regarding claim 7, Tomaru as modified by Whitehead and Nakano discloses the limitations of claim 2 above (see 112(b) rejections above), and Tomaru further discloses the plurality of interconnected voids having cross-sectional dimensions of less than 2 micrometers (Paragraph [0053]).
Regarding claim 10, Tomaru as modified by Whitehead discloses the limitations of claim 2 above, and Tomaru further discloses wherein the substrate is light-permeable (Paragraph [0082]).
Regarding claim 12, Tomaru as modified by Whitehead discloses the limitations of claim 2 above, and Tomaru further discloses wherein the fluid is an alcohol, ethanol, isopropanol, glycerol, water, salt solution, or combinations thereof (Paragraph [0049]).
Regarding claim 13, Tomaru discloses a method for controlling the transmission of light (Figure 3B; Paragraph [0041]) to a substrate (52), the method comprising:
providing a switchable light transmission module (Figure 3B) including:
a substrate (52) having a first surface defining at least part of an enclosed volume (Figure 3B, see the surface on 52 defining a volume between 51 and 52);
a porous structured layer (20; Paragraph [0048] “light transmissive fine hole body 20 has a plurality of fine holes 21”) including a plurality of interconnected voids (fine holes 21) therein, disposed on the first surface; and
a reservoir (53, 54, 55, 56; Paragraph [0090]) in fluid communication with the enclosed volume via one or more conduits (see channels formed between reservoir(s) and 20 in Figure 3B), the reservoir being configured to supply fluid to the enclosed volume such that the fluid wets the porous structured layer and withdraw the fluid from the enclosed volume to dry the porous structured layer (Paragraph [0078] “22 is capable of being introduced into the fine holes 21, 21 … is capable of being discharged from the fine holes 21, 21 … is capable of being altered easily”),
providing a fluid (22; Paragraph [0049]);
wetting the porous structured layer with the fluid (Paragraph [0078]); and
withdrawing the fluid from the enclosed volume to the reservoir (Paragraph [0078]).
Tomaru does not necessarily disclose the porous structured layer being a porous structured polymer foam layer, and the fluid having a refractive index that is within about 30% of the refractive index of the porous structured polymer foam layer.
However, Whitehead teaches a known porous structured layer includes a porous structured polymer layer (216 in Figure 6; Paragraph [0035] “a porous continuous membrane 216”), wherein the fluid has a refractive index that is within about 30% of the refractive index of the porous structured polymer foam layer (see Paragraphs [0034]-[0035] teaching using water for the fluid and using polytetrafluoroethylene for the porous layer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the refractive index of the fluid as disclosed by Tomaru with the teachings of Whitehead, to have the porous structured layer being a porous structured polymer foam layer, and the fluid having a refractive index that is within about 30% of the refractive index of the porous structured polymer foam layer, for the purpose of using a known porous layer to alter optical properties (Whitehead: Paragraph [0021])
Regarding claim 14, Tomaru as modified by Whitehead discloses the limitations of claim 13 above.
Tomaru does not necessarily disclose the fluid has a refractive index that is within about 15% of the refractive index of the porous structured polymer foam layer.
However, Whitehead teaches a known porous structured layer includes a porous structured polymer layer (216 in Figure 6; Paragraph [0035] “a porous continuous membrane 216”), wherein the fluid has a refractive index that is within about 15% of the refractive index of the porous structured polymer foam layer (see Paragraphs [0034]-[0035] teaching using water for the fluid and using polytetrafluoroethylene for the porous layer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the refractive index of the fluid as disclosed by Tomaru with the teachings of Whitehead, to have the fluid has a refractive index that is within about 15% of the refractive index of the porous structured polymer foam layer, for the purpose of using a known porous layer to alter optical properties (Whitehead: Paragraph [0021]).
Regarding claim 17, Tomaru as modified by Whitehead discloses the limitations of claim 13 above, and Tomaru further discloses wherein the fluid is an alcohol, ethanol, isopropanol, glycerol, water, salt solution, or combinations thereof (Paragraph [0049]).
Regarding claim 22, Tomaru as modified by Whitehead discloses the limitations of claim 2 above, and Tomaru further discloses wherein the porous structured polymer foam layer is a film (Paragraph [0058]) (see Paragraphs [0034]-[0035] of Whitehead above, regarding the porous structured polymer foam layer).
Claims 3, 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomaru in view of Whitehead, and in further view of Coleman (US 2018/0059690), of record.
Regarding claim 3, Tomaru as modified by Whitehead discloses the limitations of claim 2 above.
Tomaru does not discloses the substrate, the light-permeable cover, or combination thereof, is flexible.
However, Coleman teaches supporting members of a light modulating module are flexible (Paragraph [0162]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the switchable light transmission module as disclosed by Tomaru with the teachings of Coleman, wherein the substrate, the cover, or combination thereof, is flexible, for the purpose of providing support for maintaining separation between two or more surfaces sufficient to enable fluid flow between the surfaces or within a channel, in which fluid pressure can be increased (Coleman: Paragraphs [0117], [0161]).
Regarding claim 9, Tomaru as modified by Whitehead discloses the limitations of claim 2 above.
Tomaru does not explicitly disclose the substrate includes building materials, glass, plastic, metal, textile, a window, a skylight, siding, roofing, decking, or combinations thereof.
However, Coleman further teaches placing a fluid transfer component between two glass sheets (Paragraph [0118]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the substrate as disclosed by Tomaru with the teachings of Coleman, wherein the substrate includes building materials, glass, plastic, metal, textile, a window, a skylight, siding, roofing, decking, or combinations thereof, for the purpose of considering a thermal transfer component exposed to the outer ambient environment (Coleman: (Paragraph [0118]).
Regarding claim 18, Tomaru as modified by Whitehead discloses the limitations of claim 13 above.
Tomaru does not explicitly disclose the substrate includes building materials, glass, plastic, metal, textile, a window, a skylight, siding, roofing, decking, or combinations thereof.
However, Coleman further teaches placing a fluid transfer component between two glass sheets (Paragraph [0118]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the substrate as disclosed by Tomaru with the teachings of Coleman, wherein the substrate includes building materials, glass, plastic, metal, textile, a window, a skylight, siding, roofing, decking, or combinations thereof, for the purpose of considering a thermal transfer component exposed to the outer ambient environment (Coleman: (Paragraph [0118]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomaru in view of Whitehead, and in further view of Drogan (US 2007/0071971), of record.
Regarding claim 5, Tomaru as modified by Whitehead discloses the limitations of claim 2 above.
Tomaru does not discloses the substrate has a color that is darker than the color of the porous layer.
However, Drogan teaches providing highlighting film substances made of darker colored material and applying them to areas around portions of a substrate (Paragraph [0029] “provide highlighting film substances made from light-absorbing and/or darker colored materials and applying them to areas around the portions of a substrate needing accent or emphasis”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the substrate as disclosed by Tomaru with the teachings of Drogan, to have the substrate has a color that is darker than the color of the porous layer, for the purpose of blocking out underlying portions of a substrate as needed (Drogan: Paragraph [0029], Claim 2).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomaru in view of Whitehead, and in further view of Nakano (US 2007/0029256), of record.
Regarding claim 8, Tomaru as modified by Whitehead discloses the limitations of claim 6 above.
Tomaru does not necessarily discloses the plurality of interconnected voids having cross-sectional dimensions between 3 micrometers to 20 micrometers.
However, Nakano teaches a value of an average pore diameter D (μm) is preferably 0.8≦D≦10 (Paragraph [0091]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the porous layer as disclosed by Tomaru with the teachings of Nakano, wherein the plurality of interconnected voids have cross-sectional dimensions of less than 2 micrometers, for the purpose of effectively separating different cells from each other (Nakano: Paragraph [0092]).
Claims 11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomaru in view of Whitehead, and in further view of Chandrasekhar (US 2014/0268283), of record.
Regarding claim 11, Tomaru as modified by Whitehead discloses the limitations of claim 2 above.
Tomaru does not discloses the porous structured polymer foam layer has a hemispherical reflectance of from 50% to 99% for radiation having a wavelength from 0.35 to 2.5 micrometers, a hemispherical thermal emittance of at least 75% for radiation having a wavelength from about 8 to about 13 micrometers, or combinations thereof.
However, Chandrasekhar teaches a switchable electrochromic device (Figures 1-3; Paragraphs [0034]-[0036]), and a total hemispherical reflectance of from about 50% to 95% having a wavelength from 0.25 to 2.5 micrometers (Figure 3 and Paragraph [0036]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the porous layer as disclosed by Tomaru with the teachings of Chandrasekhar, wherein the porous layer has a hemispherical reflectance of from 50% to 99% for radiation having a wavelength from 0.35 to 2.5 micrometers, a hemispherical thermal emittance of at least 75% for radiation having a wavelength from about 8 to about 13 micrometers, or combinations thereof, for the purpose of modulating light in both the Visible and IR regions (Chandrasekhar: Paragraphs [0005]-[0006]).
Regarding claim 15, Tomaru as modified by Whitehead discloses the limitations of claim 13 above.
Tomaru does not discloses the porous structured polymer foam layer has a hemispherical reflectance of from 50% to 99% for radiation having a wavelength from 0.35 to 2.5 micrometers, a hemispherical thermal emittance of at least 75% for radiation having a wavelength from about 8 to about 13 micrometers, or combinations thereof.
However, Chandrasekhar teaches a switchable electrochromic device (Figures 1-3; Paragraphs [0034]-[0036]), and a total hemispherical reflectance of from about 50% to 95% having a wavelength from 0.25 to 2.5 micrometers (Figure 3 and Paragraph [0036]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the porous layer as disclosed by Tomaru with the teachings of Chandrasekhar, wherein the porous structured polymer layer has a hemispherical reflectance of from 50% to 99% for radiation having a wavelength from 0.35 to 2.5 micrometers, a hemispherical thermal emittance of at least 75% for radiation having a wavelength from about 8 to about 13 micrometers, or combinations thereof, for the purpose of modulating light in both the Visible and IR regions (Chandrasekhar: Paragraphs [0005]-[0006]).
Claims 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coleman in view of Whitehead.
Regarding claim 19, Coleman discloses a fluid heating and cooling system (Figures 9-10; see Paragraph [0309] “FIGS. 9 and 10 are perspective views of portions of an embodiment of a fluid transfer system comprising a fluid transfer component 903 a and 903 b in two different optical states”; see also Paragraph [0118] teaching a fluid transfer component comprising a light reflective porous material) comprising:
a substrate (903a, 903b; Paragraphs [0309] “a fluid transfer component 903 a and 903 b”, [0113] “the fluid transfer component comprises a polymeric film substrate having a first major surface and a second major surface”) having a first light-permeable surface (Paragraph [0118] “the outer light receiving surface of a fluid transfer component”) defining at least part of an enclosed volume (see the enclosed volume created by 903a and 903b);
a porous structured layer (20; Paragraphs [0048] “light transmissive fine hole body 20 has a plurality of fine holes 21”, [0118] “a light reflective porous material is positioned between the opposite major surface of the fluid transfer component (the surface opposite the light receiving surface) and the interior fluid flow channels”) including a plurality of interconnected voids (fine holes 21), the porous structured layer disposed on the first light-permeable surface and in fluid communication with the enclosed volume;
a reservoir (901; Paragraph [0309] “901 to supply and receive a fluid from a fluid transfer component 903 a and 903 b”) in fluid communication with the enclosed volume (903a has an enclosed volume) and including a first fluid (Paragraph [0309] “a light reflecting liquid may be transferred”), the reservoir being configured to supply the first fluid to and withdraw the first fluid from the enclosed volume to reversibly wet the porous structured layer (Paragraph [0309] “901 to supply and receive a fluid from a fluid transfer component 903 a and 903 b”); and
a source (901; Paragraph [0309] “901 to supply and receive a fluid from a fluid transfer component 903 a and 903 b”) of a second fluid (Paragraph [0309] “a light absorbing fluid that is transferred by the flow source 901”) in fluid communication with a cooling conduit and a heating conduit (the outer surface of 903a being a cooling conduit and the inner surface of 903b being a heating conduit; see Paragraph [0309] “On hot days, the fluid transfer component 903 a is in a light reflecting optical state such that it reflects solar radiation 904 as shown in FIG. 9 to help keep the house cool. On cold days, the fluid transfer component 903 b is in a light absorbing state such that it absorbs solar radiation 904 as shown in FIG. 10”); the cooling conduit is proximate to the porous structured layer (see the outer surface of 903a and Paragraph [0118] “a light reflective porous material is positioned between the opposite major surface of the fluid transfer component (the surface opposite the light receiving surface) and the interior fluid flow channels”), and the heating conduit is positioned to receive light transmitted through the substrate (see the inner surface of 903b in Figure 10, in which 904 is transmitted through 903b).
Coleman does not necessarily disclose the porous structured layer being a porous structured polymer foam layer, wherein the fluid has a refractive index that is within about 30% of the refractive index of the porous structured polymer foam layer.
However, Whitehead teaches a known porous structured layer includes a porous structured polymer layer (216 in Figure 6; Paragraph [0035] “a porous continuous membrane 216”), wherein the fluid has a refractive index that is within about 30% of the refractive index of the porous structured polymer foam layer (see Paragraphs [0034]-[0035] teaching using water for the fluid and using polytetrafluoroethylene for the porous layer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the refractive index of the fluid as disclosed by Coleman with the teachings of Whitehead, to have the porous structured layer being a porous structured polymer foam layer, wherein the fluid has a refractive index that is within about 30% of the refractive index of the porous structured polymer foam layer, for the purpose of using a known porous layer to alter optical properties (Whitehead: Paragraph [0021]).
Regarding claim 20, Coleman as modified by Whitehead discloses the limitations of claim 19 above, and Coleman further discloses wherein the porous structured polymer foam layer is not in electrical communication with one or more electrodes (Paragraph [0218] “This electrode-less optical control of the Marangoni effect provides reconfigurable manipulations of fluid flow … Examples of fluid flow control by the Marangoni effect are disclosed in U.S. Pat. No. 7,939,811, the contents of which are incorporated by reference herein”).
Regarding claim 21, Coleman as modified by Whitehead discloses the limitations of claim 19 above, and Coleman further discloses wherein fluid volume in the enclosed volume is reduced when the fluid is in the reservoir (Paragraphs [0309] “901 to supply and receive a fluid from a fluid transfer component 903 a and 903 b” and [0224] “In one embodiment, the fluid transfer component comprises one or more reservoirs that comprise one or more transfer fluids in one or more optical states, thermal states ... In one embodiment, more than one fluid is stored in the same reservoir” teaching 901 of a fluid transfer system can add or reduce a fluid in 903 a and 903 b).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Yang et al. (US 2018/0244876) teach a robust smart film for reversibly switching from high transparency to structural color display by wetting the film.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN Y JUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871