DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The IDS filed 2/07/2024 is considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 3, 10, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3, 10, and 18 recite the limitation "the one or more selections of the device component information and the functionalities". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. Claims 3, 10, and 18 depend from independent claims 1, 8, and 16, respectively. The independent claims recite “one or more selections of the first and second pluralities of selectors for a medical device asset”. While the independent claims further recite “a first plurality of selectors for enabling device component information in the remote management system; and a second plurality of selectors for enabling functionalities in the remote management system;” there is no limitations that requires selections of the device component information and the functionalities and therefore it is unclear whether the recited limitation in claims 3, 10, and 18 is referring back to the recited “one or more selections of the first and second pluralities of selectors for a medical device asset” or is referring to additional selections of device component information and functionalities. Accordingly, the claim is indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. If the limitation is meant to refer back to the previous limitation, the claims could recite “…the one or more selections of the first and second pluralities of selectors…” to overcome this rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-9, 11-17, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Durrant et al. (US 2016/0294951 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Durrant discloses an apparatus for configuring a remote management system that is used for remotely managing a plurality of medical device assets, the apparatus comprising: at least one processing device; and a memory device storing instructions which, when executed by the at least one processing device, cause the at least one processing device to (Fig. 2 and Paragraphs 0079-0087):
display a user interface including: a first plurality of selectors for enabling device component information in the remote management system; and a second plurality of selectors for enabling functionalities in the remote management system (Paragraph 0070, Paragraph 0098, Paragraph 0099, Paragraph 0104, Paragraph 0105, TABLE 1, TABLE 2, Paragraph 0106, and Paragraph 0130: display of a GUI including a plurality of selectable options for configuring medical device options including information and functionalities);
receive from the user interface one or more selections of the first and second pluralities of selectors for a medical device asset (Paragraph 0104: receive user input via the GUI to configure various configuration options of the medical device);
and configure the remote management system to remotely manage the medical device asset based on the one or more selections of the first and second pluralities of selectors for the medical device asset (Paragraph 104: the configured options are provided to the medical device which causes the medical device to be configured according to the configured options).
In regard to claim 2, Durrant discloses wherein the medical device asset is a patient support system, a vital signs monitoring device, or an eye imaging device (Paragraph 0072: medical devices including medical devices to monitor physiological parameters).
In regard to claim 4, Durrant discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processing device, further cause the at least one processing device to: configure the remote management system to enable a third-party user to interface with the medical device asset (Paragraph 0107: customer registration wizard providing creation of login credentials for a second service or entity).
In regard to claim 5, Durrant discloses wherein the first plurality of selectors for the device component information enables configuration in the remote management system of the device component information for the medical device asset, the device component information including data relevant to one or more components of the medical device asset (Paragraph 0070, Paragraph 0105, TABLE 1, and TABLE 2).
In regard to claim 6, Durrant discloses wherein the second plurality of selectors for the functionalities are selectable to enable in the remote management system functions including at least one of log file request and retrieval, preventative maintenance tracking, access point location tracking, firmware updates, and configuration updates for the medical device asset (Paragraph 0105, TABLE 1, TABLE 2, and Paragraph 0106).
In regard to claim 7, Durrant discloses wherein the user interface further includes a third plurality of selectors for customizing reports in the remote management system for the medical device asset (Paragraph 0100 and TABLE 2).
In regard to claims 8, 9, 11, and 12, method claims 8, 9, 11, and 12 correspond generally to apparatus claims 1, 2, 4, and 5, respectively, and recite similar features in method form, and therefore are rejected under the same rationale.
In regard to claim 13, Durrant discloses further comprising: configuring preventative maintenance information for the medical device asset in the remote management system based on a selection of the first plurality of selectors (Paragraph 0100, TABLE 2, and Paragraph 0130).
In regard to claims 14 and 15, method claims 14 and 15 correspond generally to apparatus claims 6 and 7, respectively, and recite similar features in method form, and therefore are rejected under the same rationale.
In regard to claims 16, 17, and 19, medium claims 16, 17, and 19 correspond generally to apparatus claims 1, 2, and 4, respectively, and recite similar features in medium form, and therefore are rejected under the same rationale.
In regard to claim 20, Durrant discloses wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the at least one computing device to:
configure the device component information relevant to at least one component of the medical device asset based on one or more selections of the first plurality of selectors (Paragraph 0070, Paragraph 0105, TABLE 1, and TABLE 2);
configure preventative maintenance for the medical device asset in the remote management system based on one or more selections of the first plurality of selectors (Paragraph 0100, TABLE 2, and Paragraph 0130);
and enable in the remote management system functionalities for the medical device asset based on one or more selections of the second plurality of selectors, the functionalities including one or more of log file request and retrieval, preventative maintenance tracking, access point location tracking, firmware updates, and configuration updates (Paragraph 0105, TABLE 1, TABLE 2, and Paragraph 0106).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 3, 10, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Durrant et al. (US 2016/0294951 A1) and further in view of Alvarez et al. (US 2022/0096852 A1).
In regard to claim 3, while Durrant teaches the one or more selections, they fail to show the wherein the one or more selections of the device component information and the functionalities configure the remote management system to communicate with an internet of things network for remote management of the medical device asset, as recited in the claims. Alvarez teaches a remote monitoring of a medical device similar to that of Durrant. In addition, Alvarez further teaches
one or more selections of the device component information and the functionalities to configure a remote management system to communicate with an internet of things network for remote management of a medical device asset (Paragraph 0095: selection to pair remote monitoring device that is connected to IOT network with medical device in order to remotely monitor the medical device over an IOT network).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Durrant and Alvarez before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the one or more selections taught by Durrant to include the one or more selections of the device component information and the functionalities to configure a remote management system to communicate with an internet of things network for remote management of a medical device asset of Alvarez, in order to obtain wherein the one or more selections of the device component information and the functionalities configure the remote management system to communicate with an internet of things network for remote management of the medical device asset. It would have been advantageous for one to utilize such a combination as enabling enhanced remote monitoring and management of a medical device would have been obtained, as suggested by Alvarez (Paragraphs 0005-0006).
In regard to claim 10, method claim 10 corresponds generally to apparatus claim 3 and recites similar features in method form and therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
In regard to claim 18, medium claim 18 corresponds generally to apparatus claim 3 and recites similar features in medium form and therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Juergens et al. (US 2024/0203581 A1), see at least the abstract.
Arrizza et al. (US 11996188 B2), see at least the abstract and Fig. 20.
Davenport (US 2023/0238121 A1), see at least the abstract, Fig. 3, and Paragraph 0030.
Ranjbar et al. (Design of an Iot-Based System for Smart Maintenance of Medical Equipment, IEEE, 2019).
/Nicholas Ulrich/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2179