DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I (Claims 1-6 and 8-16) in the reply filed on 07/06/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Claims 7 and 17-20 are withdrawn. Claims 1-6 and 8-16 are examined herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 and 8-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “stress corrosion cracking resistant” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “stress corrosion cracking resistant” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Please also define the meaning of “LT” and “ST”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4 recites a formula. It’s unclear why
needs to be determined because it’s not an actual aging time. Claim 4 has already recites the first aging time and temperature, which are actual aging time and temperature that determine the alloy properties. The relevance of
to the first aging conditions needs to be clarified. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 16 recites 2x39 alloy. Please define the meaning of “2x39” to improve claim clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6 and 8-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ollat (US 2024/0035137).
Regarding claims 1-2 and 15-16, Ollat discloses a method of making an aluminum alloy, comprising: first aging a AA2139 aluminum alloy at a first temperature of 160 ºC (i.e. 320 ºF) for 36 hours and second aging the AA2139 aluminum alloy at a second temperature of 120 ºC (i.e. 248 ºF) for 20 hours ([0109]; Table 9, B6), wherein the second temperature is 72°F lower than the first temperature. The aging temperature and time disclosed by Ollat meets the processing temperature and time recited in claim 1.
Table 7 of Ollat shows that the alloy contains 0.05 wt.% Si, 0.09 wt.% Fe, 4.9 wt.% Cu, 0.3 wt.% Mn, 0.5 wt.% Mg, 0.09 wt.% Ti, 0.32 wt.% Ag, <0.05 wt.% Zr and the alloy does not contain Li, Zn and Cr ([0109]). Ollat discloses that the content of impurities for each element is ≤0.05 wt. % (Abstract), which meets the limitation that the aluminum alloy comprises less than 0.05 wt. % Li as recited in claim 1. The alloy disclosed by Ollat meets the composition limitation recited in claims 15 and 16.
Ollat discloses that the alloy has improved resistance to corrosion under stress ([0111]), which meets the limitation recited in claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, Ollat discloses after the first aging step, cooling the aluminum alloy to room temperature; and reheating the aluminum alloy from room temperature to the second temperature of the second aging step ([0095]; Fig. 2), which meets the limitation recited in claim 6.
Regarding claim 8, Ollat discloses a method of making the alloy, comprising: preparing a wrought 2139 aluminum alloy by hot rolling; and then solution heat treating and then quenching the aluminum alloy; and then completing the first aging step and the second aging step ([0109] to [0111]), which meets the limitation recited in claim 8.
Regarding claim 9, Ollat discloses casting the 2139 aluminum alloy as a billet, hot rolling the billet to a final thickness of 120 mm ([0063]; [0064]; [0109]), which meets the limitation recited in claim 9.
Regarding claim 10, Ollat discloses the working further comprises cold working ([0067]), which meets the limitation recited in claim 10.
Regarding claims 11-14, Ollat does not disclose the property limitations recited in claims 11-14. However, the corrosion resistant properties under stress are determined by the alloy composition and a method of making the alloy. In view of the fact that Ollat teaches an alloy having composition that meets the recited composition in claim 15 and a method of making the alloy that meets the recited method in claim 1, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect that the alloy disclosed by Ollat to have the recited properties in claim 11-14. “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.” In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01 I.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ollat (US 2024,0035137).
Regarding claim 3, Ollat discloses a method of making an aluminum alloy, comprising: first aging a AA2139 aluminum alloy at a first temperature of 160 ºC (i.e. 320 ºF) for 36 hours and second aging the AA2139 aluminum alloy at a second temperature of 120 ºC (i.e. 248 ºF) for 20 hours ([0109]; Table 9, B6), which is close to the recited temperature in claim 3. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP 2144.05 I. Thus, claim 3 is obvious over Ollat.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Ollat discloses a method of making an aluminum alloy, comprising: first aging a AA2139 aluminum alloy at a first temperature of 160 ºC (i.e. 320 ºF) for 36 hours and second aging the AA2139 aluminum alloy at a second temperature of 120 ºC (i.e. 248 ºF) for 20 hours ([0109]; Table 9, B6), which meets the recited temperature and time in claim 4. Ollat discloses the recited formula in claim 4 but 160 ºC (i.e. 320 ºF) (see [0071]). Note °C = (°F − 32) x 5/9. Since Ollat teaches the recited temperature and time for the first aging that meet the recited temperature and time in claim 4, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect that the calculated
based on the formula would meet the recited range in claim 5.
Conclusion
/XIAOWEI SU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733