DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “highly” in claims 12 and 19 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “highly” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
In the instant specification, applicants disclose that the polyethylene chains may be highly crosslinked, and may have any suitable degree of crosslinking. This is not an explicit definition of the relative term “highly”; therefore, the scope of the term is indefinite.
It is noted that since claims 13-18 and 20-21 ultimately or directly depend from claim 12, they are rejected along with claim 12 because they incorporate all of the limitations of claim 12, including those that are indefinite.
In claim 18, applicants claim a Markush grouping of crosslinking agents as follows:
“…wherein the crosslinking agent includes at least one of…”
A list of specified alternatives is defined as a Markush group. A Markush group is a closed group of alternatives, i.e., the selection is made from a group “consisting of” (rather than “comprising” or “including”) the alternative members. If a Markush grouping requires a material selected from an open list of alternatives (e.g., selected from the group comprising” or the recited alternatives), the claim should generally be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as indefinite because it is unclear what other alternatives are intended to be encompassed by the claim. If a claim is intended to encompass combinations or mixtures of the alternatives set forth in the Markush grouping, the claim may include qualifying language preceding the recited alternatives (such as “at least one member” selected from the group), or within the list of alternatives (such as “or mixtures thereof”). See MPEP 2173.05(h).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-16 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 47625 in view of GB 1476479, and further in view of US 2,919,473, as evidenced by Affatato (Ageing of Composites: Chapter 13: Aging of polyethylene composite implants in medical devices. 2008, pp. 357-374).
EP ‘625 exemplifies irradiating pellets of polyethylene resin containing 2 wt% carbon black with gamma (γ) irradiation (p. 7, Example I), which is known in the art to crosslink polyethylene, as evidenced by Affatato (p. 366), which inherently results in a plurality of chemical crosslinks that covalently bond a given polyethylene chain to another polyethylene chain.
EP ‘625 does not teach or suggest how to make the pellets of polyethylene containing carbon black, but does mention CA 1017496 regarding the preferred polyethylene for use (p. 3).
GB 1476479 is part of the family of CA 1017496.
GB ‘479 teaches that compositions of ethylene polymer and carbon black may be of significantly higher density than the density of the ethylene polymer in the composition (p. 3, ll. 20-28), which meets the claim limitation of the filler, carbon black, being property-modifying, as it modifies the density.
GB ‘479 teaches that carbon black may be blended into ethylene polymers by known techniques, for example, a pellet blend of the ethylene polymer and a concentrate of polyethylene containing carbon black, may be fed to the mixing section of a compounding extruder (pp. 3-4).
EP ‘625 requires the use of pellets of the polyethylene resin containing carbon black; therefore, compounding by way of an extruder followed by granulation (severing of an extrudate) to form pellets is inherently necessary, in view of the teachings of EP ‘625.
EP ‘625 nor GB ‘479 teach the size of the pellets; however, EP ‘625 mentions US 2,919,473 in the background section for methods of known irradiation processes, where US ‘473 teaches that the polyethylene which is subjected to irradiation may be of any size or physical state, for example, in the finely divided state with an average particle size of 50-400 microns, or pellets of varying state, exemplified as ¼” to 3/8” (about 6-10 mm).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used pellets having a size of 50 microns to 10 mm for irradiation and compounding in EP ‘625, as US ‘473 teaches that these sizes are suitable for gamma ray irradiation.
EP ‘625 in view of GB ‘479 and US ‘473 is prima facie obvious over instant claims 12-16 and 19-20.
As to claim 21, EP ‘625 teaches that the granules can be irradiation with electron irradiation (p. 4, ll. 14-20).
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 47625 in view of GB 1476479 and US 2,919,473, as applied above to claims 12-16 and 19-21, and further in view of Guenther (US 2007/0232716).
EP 47625 in view of GB 1476479 and US 2,919,473 is prima facie obvious over instant claims 1-16 and 1-21, as described above and applied herein as such, as EP ‘625 teaches irradiating pellets containing polyethylene and carbon black, where GB ‘479 teaches the method of making the pellets to be irradiated and US ‘473 teaches the size of pellets suitable for irradiation.
EP ‘625 does not teach or suggest the inclusion of a crosslinking agent, as claimed.
Guenther teaches that polyethylene resins produced with Ziegler-Natta catalysts can be modified through the use of cross-linking agents such as peroxides, to improve the polymer properties and increase efficiency of treatment with electron beams (p. 2, [0015]), particularly teaching that the use of peroxides to improve or increase the rheological breadth (p. 4, [0032]), where the peroxides are taught to include 2,5-dimethyl-2,5-di(t-butylperoxy)hexane (p. 2, [0019]).
GB ‘479 teaches the method of preparing the polyethylene to include coordination catalysts, such as titanium tetrachloride and aluminum diethyl, also known in the art as Ziegler Natta catalysts (p. 3, ll. 57-99).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have incorporated a crosslinking agent with the carbon black and polyethylene pellet, prior to granulation and further irradiation, as Guenther teaches that the use of peroxide crosslinking and irradiation crosslinking results in a polymer with an improved rheological breadth.
EP ‘625 in view of EP ‘479 and US ‘473, and further in view of Guenther is prima facie obvious over instant claims 17-18.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 3,130,139 teaches irradiating polyethylene pellets with ionizing radiation and subsequently admixing with carbon black. The instant invention requires mixing before irradiation.
/Brieann R Johnston/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766