DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
1. This is in response to application filed on 2/7/2024 in which claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Conrad et al., (US 2016/0036814), (hereinafter, Conrad).
Regarding claim 8, Conrad discloses a mobile device, comprising: one or more memories configured to, individually or in combination, store instructions; and one or more processors communicatively coupled with the one or more memories, wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the mobile device to:
detect a signal broadcasted by a remote field device, wherein the signal includes a unique identifier of the remote field device (= lock may detect the presence of a nearby user and begin an interaction process; the lock may broadcast its model and serial number or other unique lock ID and wait for a response from the mobile device, see [0057]);
transmit, to the remote field device and based on the unique identifier, a connection request including credentials related to performing a manufacturer control function on the remote field device (= any of the data communicated between the mobile device and lock is encrypted using the access key, see [0060]; and user device receives and confirms the lock’s ID; if a profile is found for the lock, the user device may then transmits an unlock request, see [0061]; in some embodiments, upon connection, the mobile device receives an initial sequence number from the lock and the lock verifies that subsequently received messages contain the initial number, see [0062]); and
based on a response to the connection request from the remote field device, establish a connection with the remote field device to allow initiating, by the mobile device, the manufacturer control function on the remote field device (= if the response and decrypted profile are each verified, then the lock may comply with the request; in this example, the lock can unlock its shackle as requested, see [0063]).
Regarding claim 9, as mentioned in claim 8, Conrad discloses the mobile device wherein the manufacturer control function comprises transmitting, to the remote field device and over the connection, an updated firmware package (= in some embodiment, instead of transmitting a “key change request,” the mobile device may transmits a “firmware update request”, see [0065]).
Regarding claim 10, as mentioned in claim 8, Conrad discloses the mobile device wherein the connection request is transmitted using one of a Bluetooth or near field communication (NFC) technology (see, [0060]).
Regarding claim 11, as mentioned in claim 8, Conrad discloses the mobile device wherein an application that transmits the connection request stores, in the one or more memories, the credentials related to performing the manufacturer control function on the remote field device, and stores, in the one or more memories, owner credentials for accessing additional functions of a second remote field device (see, [0068 and 0072]).
Regarding claim 12, as mentioned in claim 11, Conrad disclose the mobile device wherein the establishing the connection includes establishing, with the remote field device, an encrypted secure channel on a subnetwork that is different from a second encrypted secure channel on a second subnetwork that the mobile device establishes with the second remote field mobile device for accessing the additional functions of the second remote field device(see, [0068-69 and 0072]).
Regarding claim 13, as mentioned in claim 11, Conrad discloses the mobile device wherein the credentials correspond to a manufacturer of the remote field device and of the application, and wherein the owner credentials correspond to an entity that subscribes to a service provided by the manufacturer to operate the second remote field device (see, [0068-69 and 0072]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, 14-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Conrad in view of Holt et al., (US 12,520,149), (hereinafter, Holt).
Regarding claims 1 and 14, Conrad discloses a remote field device (= device 400 may comprise an electronic locking device, see [0068, 0040 and 0042]), comprising:
one or more memories configured to, individually or in combination, store instructions; and one or more processors communicatively coupled with the one or more memories, wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination
(= device 400 includes at least one processor 402 coupled to memory 404, see [0069]), configured to execute the instructions to cause the remote field device to:
receive, from a mobile device, a connection request including credentials related to performing a manufacturer control function the remote field device (= data communication between the mobile device and the lock is encrypted using the access key, see [0060]; and user device may then transmit a request to the lock, see [0061]);
verify the credentials with stored manufacturer credentials that are stored in the one or more memories for performing the manufacturer control function (= lock generates a challenge and transmits the challenge to the user device, see [0062]; as the lock stores the secret key and access key, it may use these keys to authenticate the data received from the mobile device; the lock uses the access key to verify that the response to the challenge is correct and verify the MAC, see [0063]); and
based on verifying the credentials, establish a connection with the mobile device to allow initiating, by the mobile device, the manufacturer control function on the remote field device (= if the response and decrypted profile are each verified, then the lock may comply with the request of the mobile device and initiate a corresponding action; the lock can unlock its shackle as requested, see [0063]).
Conrad explicitly fails to disclose the claimed limitations of:
“wherein the stored manufacturer credentials are different from stored owner credentials stored in the one or more memories for accessing other functions of the remote field device”.
However, Holt, which is an analogous art equivalently disclose the claimed limitations of:
“wherein the stored manufacturer credentials are different from stored owner credentials stored in the one or more memories for accessing other functions of the remote field device” (= credential 106 may be embodied as virtual credential stored on the mobile device 114, see col. 4, lines 41-43; and gateway device 110 compares the credential information/data to a gateway credential list of the gateway device 110, see col. 16, lines 31-49).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Holt with Conrad for the benefit of achieving a communication system that ensures that access control devices maintain complete and accurate access control data.
Regarding claims 2 and 15, as mentioned in claims 1 and 14, Conrad further disclose the remote field device/method, wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the remote field device to broadcast a unique identifier of the remote field device, wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the remote field device to receive the connection request in response to the broadcasting of the unique identifier (see, [0060]).
Regarding claims 3 and 16, as mentioned in claims 1 and 14, Conrad further discloses the remote field device/method, wherein the manufacturer control function comprises: receiving, from the mobile device and over the connection, an updated firmware package; and executing the updated firmware package to update firmware of the remote field device (see, [0006]).
Regarding claims 4 and 17, as mentioned in claims 1 and 14, Conrad further discloses the remote field device/method wherein the connection request is received using one of a Bluetooth or near field communication (NFC) technology (see, [0060]).
Regarding claims 5 and 18, as mentioned in claims 1 and 14, Conrad further discloses the remote field device/method wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the remote field device to verify the credentials based on determining that the credentials received from the mobile device are not verified with the stored owner credentials (see, [0061]).
Regarding claims 7 and 20, as mentioned in claims 1 and 14, Conrad explicitly fails to disclose the remote field device/method wherein the credentials and the stored manufacturer credentials correspond to a manufacturer of the remote field device and of an application executing on the mobile device, and wherein the stored owner credentials correspond to an entity that subscribes to a service provided by the manufacturer to operate the remote field device.
However, Holt, which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the remote field device/method wherein the credentials and the stored manufacturer credentials correspond to a manufacturer of the remote field device and of an application executing on the mobile device (= gateway device 110 compares the credential information/data to a gateway credential list of the gateway device 110, see col. 16, lines 31-49), and wherein the stored owner credentials correspond to an entity that subscribes to a service provided by the manufacturer to operate the remote field device. (= credential 106 may be embodied as virtual credential stored on the mobile device 114, see col. 4, lines 41-43).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Holt with Conrad for the benefit of achieving a communication system that ensures that access control devices maintain complete and accurate access control data.
5. Claims 6 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Conrad and Holt in view of Coode et al., (US 2018/0248704), (hereinafter, Coode).
Regarding claims 6 and 19, as mentioned in claims 1 and 14, the combination of Conrad and Holt explicitly fails to disclose the remote field device/method wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the remote field device to establish the connection with the mobile device as an encrypted secure channel on a subnetwork that is different from a second encrypted secure channel on a second subnetwork that the remote field device establishes with another mobile device that is authorized for accessing the other functions of the remote field device.
However, Coode, which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the remote field device/method, wherein the one or more processors are, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the remote field device to establish the connection with the mobile device as an encrypted secure channel on a subnetwork that is different from a second encrypted secure channel on a second subnetwork that the remote field device establishes with another mobile device that is authorized for accessing the other functions of the remote field device (= when mobile device enters the vicinity of a lock controller…, see [0006]; and assigning unique cryptographic keys to different electronic locks, so that encrypted and authenticated channels can be established with mobile devices of users having access permission to gain access to physical resources protected by the electronic locks, see [0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Coode with Conrad and Holt for the benefit of achieving a locking mechanic system that uses an encrypting protocol for communication between communication devices thereby maintaining security in the system.
CONCLUSION
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
a. DeYoung et al., (US 2017/0103239) teaches identification of industrial equipment using micro-location services.
b. Scheja et al., (US 2017/0069149) teaches method and apparatus for increasing reliability in monitoring system.
c. DeYoung et al., (US 2017/0277920) teaches identification of industrial equipment using micro-location services.
/Kwasi Karikari/
Primary Examiner: Art Unit 2641.