DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 21 and 25, for example, see claim 21, line 2, the claims recite a second message. However, the claim does not mention a first message. The manner in which a second message is received prior to a reception or transmission of a first message is unclear from the context of the claim. Appropriate clarification and correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 6, 8, 10, 11, 13, 14, 16-19, and 21-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baek et al. (US 2024/0048946 A1), hereinafter referred to as D1, in view of 3rd Generation Partnership Project, Architectural Enhancements for 5G Multicast-Broadcast Services, Stage 2, Release 17, 3GPP TS 23.247, V1.0.0, June 7, 2021, pp. 1-81, (applicant admitted prior art) hereinafter referred to as D2, in further view of Kim et al. (US 2023/0209446 A1), hereinafter referred to as D3.
Regarding claims 1, 8, 14, 21, and 25, D1 discloses a method and device for terminal to join multicast service, which comprises:
receiving, by a first session management function network element, a first message from a terminal device, wherein the first message comprises a multicast address, and the first message indicates that the terminal device requests to join a multicast session corresponding to the multicast address (Referring to Figures 1, 2, and 6, the MBS session join request message, comprising MBS session ID (first message, requests to join a multicast session corresponding to the multicast address), from the UE (e.g., the UE 102) (terminal device) may be received by the SMF (e.g., the SMF 116) (first session management function network element) as in operation 204 of FIG. 2. See paragraph 0093.);
sending, by the first session management function network element, a second message to a network registration function network element, wherein the second message comprises the multicast address, and the second message is used to query for a session management function network element that establishes a multicast session for a multicast service corresponding to the multicast address (Referring to Figures 1, 2, and 6, in operation 614, the SMF may transmit a discovery request message (e.g., Nnrf_NFDiscovery request message) to the NRF (network registration function network element). The discovery request message (second message, by definition, used to query for a session management function network element that establishes a multicast session for a multicast service corresponding to the multicast address) may include information about at least one of the multicast group ID, the multicast session ID (e.g., the MBS session ID) (multicast address), or the TMGI related to the multicast session to be requested. See paragraph 0094.);
receiving, by the first session management function network element, a third message from the network registration function network element, wherein the third message indicates that the session management function network element that establishes the multicast session for the multicast service corresponding to the multicast address (Referring to Figures 1, 2, and 6, In operation 615, in response to the discovery request message (third message), the NRF may send, to the SMF (first session management function network element), a discovery response message (e.g., an Nnrf_NFDiscovery response message) including information (e.g., SMF ID) about the MB-SMF that maps to at least one of the multicast group ID, MBS session ID, or TMGI registered in operation 613 (third message indicates that the session management function network element that establishes the multicast session for the multicast service corresponding to the multicast address). In an embodiment, the SMF may perform operations 207 and 208 based on the obtained MB-SMF ID. See paragraph 0094.)
D1 does not disclose the third message indicates that the SMF that establishes the MBS for the multicast service corresponding to the multicast address is not found.
D2 teaches, per the standard referring to Figure 7.2.1.3-1, page 45, the Nnrf_NFDiscovery request/response. Based on the MBS session ID and other information for query, the NRF decides whether an MB-SMF serving the MBS session exists. If so, the NRF provides in the Nnrf_NFDiscovery Response the information of the MB-SMF currently serving the MBS session. See page 43, last paragraph. If no MB-SMF is assigned for the multicast session ID, the SMF may select an MB-SMF and request it configure the multicast session or the SMF may request the join request. See paragraph 46, second paragraph. Thereby, when no MB-SMF is assigned, an empty result is returned in the NFDiscovery Response, per the standard, as an empty array is returned when the search filter criteria does not match a NF instance in registered status (not found).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the standard request/response messaging of D2 in the system of D1. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to do so to comply with well-known standards and improve system operability when an NRF decides whether an MB_SMF serving the MBS session exists.
D1 does not disclose sending, by the first session management function network element, a fourth message to the terminal device, wherein the fourth message indicates that the terminal device is rejected to join the multicast session corresponding to the multicast address.
D3 teaches the SMF may decide to reject the PDI; Session establishment (or establishment) request. Accordingly, the SMF (first session management function network element) may transmit a PDU Session Establishment Reject message (fourth message, indicates that the terminal device is rejected to join the multicast session corresponding to the multicast address) to the UE (terminal device). The PDU Session Establishment Reject message may include service area information (e.g., Cell ID list and/or TAI list) of the multicast session for which the Join request is rejected. The SMF may include information (e.g. the UE is outside the service area) related to the indication/list and/or reason indicating that the SMF rejects the Join request for the multicast session requested by the UE in the PDU Session Establishment Reject message. The SMF may include information(e.g., joining multicast session(s) is impossible/rejected) related to the reason why the PDU Session creation (or establishment) was rejected for the PDU Session itself in the PDU Session Establishment Reject message. See paragraph 0250 and Figure 8.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the multicast-related communication of D3 in the system of D1 and D2. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to do so to manage communication when a local multicast communication service cannot be effectively supported, as taught by D3. See paragraph 0006.
Regarding claims 3, 10, 16, 22, and 26, D1 does not disclose wherein the third message comprises an empty session management function network element list.
D2 teaches, per the standard referring to Figure 7.2.1.3-1, page 45, the Nnrf_NFDiscovery request/response. Based on the MBS session ID and other information for query, the NRF decides whether an MB-SMF serving the MBS session exists. If so, the NRF provides in the Nnrf_NFDiscovery Response the information of the MB-SMF currently serving the MBS session. See page 43, last paragraph. If no MB-SMF is assigned for the multicast session ID, the SMF may select an MB-SMF and request it configure the multicast session or the SMF may request the join request. See paragraph 46, second paragraph. Thereby, when no MB-SMF is assigned, an empty result is returned in the NFDiscovery Response, per the standard, as an empty array is returned when the search filter criteria does not match a NF instance in registered status (not found).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the standard request/response messaging of D2 in the system of D1. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to do so to comply with well-known standards and improve system operability when an NRF decides whether an MB_SMF serving the MBS session exists.
Regarding claims 4, 11, and 17, the primary reference further teaches wherein the first message comprises a multicast/broadcast service (MBS) session join request (Referring to Figures 1, 2, and 6, the MBS session join request message, comprising MBS session ID (first message, requests to join a multicast session corresponding to the multicast address), from the UE (e.g., the UE 102) (terminal device) may be received by the SMF (e.g., the SMF 116) (first session management function network element) as in operation 204 of FIG. 2. See paragraph 0093.)
Regarding claims 6, 13, and 20, the primary reference further teaches wherein the first session management function network element is a unicast session management function network element, and the session management function network element that establishes the multicast session for the multicast service corresponding to the multicast address is a multicast/broadcast session management function network element (Referring to Figures 1, 2, and 6, the MBMS-GW-C service may be provided by the MB-SMF 114 that manages unicast PDU sessions (unicast session management function network element) and has an MBS session control function (a multicast/broadcast session management function network element), or other NFs (e.g., SMF 116 or a new NF). The MB-SMF 114 may support the MBMS-GW-C service and may have the functions of an existing SMF (e.g., the SMF 116). See paragraphs 0041-0045.)
Regarding claims 18, 23, and 27, D1 does not disclose wherein when an allowed multicast address of the session management function network element that supports establishment of the multicast session for the multicast service does not comprise the multicast address, send the third message to the first session management function network element.
D2 teaches, per the standard referring to Figure 7.2.1.3-1, page 45, the Nnrf_NFDiscovery request/response. Based on the MBS session ID and other information for query, the NRF decides whether an MB-SMF serving the MBS session exists. If so, the NRF provides in the Nnrf_NFDiscovery Response the information of the MB-SMF currently serving the MBS session. See page 43, last paragraph. If no MB-SMF is assigned for the multicast session ID, the SMF may select an MB-SMF and request it configure the multicast session or the SMF may request the join request. See paragraph 46, second paragraph. Thereby, when no MB-SMF is assigned, an empty result is returned in the NFDiscovery Response, per the standard, as an empty array is returned when the search filter criteria does not match a NF instance in registered status (not found).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the standard request/response messaging of D2 in the system of D1. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to do so to comply with well-known standards and improve system operability when an NRF decides whether an MB_SMF serving the MBS session exists.
Regarding claim 19, 24, and 28, D1 does not disclose wherein the allowed multicast address of the session management function network element is preconfigured by an operator for the session management function network element.
D3 teaches if the UE can join a multicast session, for direct discovery, based on locally configured data (interpreted as preconfigured by an operator) or the corresponding SMF function stored in NRF, the AMF may select an SMF capable of handling the multicast session, and may indicate to the SMF the capability of the UE to receive multicast data over the air. See paragraphs 0214-0216.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the multicast-related communication of D3 in the system of D1 and D2. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to do so to manage communication when a local multicast communication service cannot be effectively supported, as taught by D3. See paragraph 0006.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 22 May 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 10 of the remarks, regarding claim 1, the Applicant argues D1 and D2 do not teach disclose receiving, by the first session a management function network element, a third message from the network registration function network element, wherein the third message indicates that the session management function network element that establishes the multicast session for the multicast service corresponding to the multicast address is not found. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. D2 teaches, per the standard referring to Figure 7.2.1.3-1, page 45, the Nnrf_NFDiscovery request/response. Based on the MBS session ID and other information for query, the NRF decides whether an MB-SMF serving the MBS session exists. If so, the NRF provides in the Nnrf_NFDiscovery Response the information of the MB-SMF currently serving the MBS session. See page 43, last paragraph. If no MB-SMF is assigned for the multicast session ID, the SMF may select an MB-SMF and request it configure the multicast session or the SMF may request the join request. See paragraph 46, second paragraph. Thereby, when no MB-SMF is assigned, an empty result is returned in the NFDiscovery Response, per the standard, as an empty array is returned when the search filter criteria does not match a NF instance in registered status (not found). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the standard request/response messaging of D2 in the system of D1. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to do so to comply with well-known standards and improve system operability when an NRF decides whether an MB_SMF serving the MBS session exists. Furthermore, the Applicant argues that if the no MBS session exists, the NRF provides MB-SMF profiles. It is noted that D2 teaches the NRF decides that if a MBS session exists, the NRF indicates information of the MB-SMF, if no MBS session exists, the NRF provides MB-SMF profiles. When no MBS session exists, the NRF provides MB-SMF profiles, which would comprise a “third message indicates . . .”. The claim merely requires that the third message “indicate” that the “multicast service corresponding to the multicast address is not found”. In this manner, the NRF provides MB-SMF profiles when no MBS session exists; thereby, receiving the claimed “indication” per the Applicant’s citation. Therefore, under the Applicant’s rationale, the claim limitation is taught. The Examiner suggests amending the claim to more explicitly recite the elements of the third message to overcome the prior art of record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jeong et al. (US 2024/0049357 A1) - identifying, by the first SMF, triggering of an SMF change operation; transmitting, to an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF), a message indicating a change in a status of a Packet Data Unit (PDU) session of the UE so as to request a procedure of changing an SMF; receiving a context request message requesting a context of the UE from a second SMF that is a target SMF; and transmitting a context request response message to the second SMF.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DONALD L. MILLS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2462
/Donald L Mills/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462