DETAILED ACTION
2. This Office Action is sent in response to Applicant’s Communication received on 05/14/2025 for application number 18/435,568.
Response to Amendments
3. The Amendment filed 05/14/2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 19, and 20 have been amended. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Argument 1, Applicant argues that Hoffert teaches menu or interface display changes, not video playback control. Paragraph [0073] of Hoffert for example is limited to "displaying" and "moving" media items between different interface positions. Specifically, Hoffert only teaches that "the device moves Media Item A from a central region of touchscreen 400 and displays Media Item B in the central region of touchscreen 400." Notably, Hoffert makes no mention of starting or stopping actual video playback, controlling media content playback, much less terminating video playback based on a positional change of a tile as recited in the presently amended independent claims. Instead, Hoffert's teachings are confined to moving and displaying interface elements and menus, without any disclosure of controlling actual video playback based on such movement.
Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that this interpretation does not fully consider the disclosures in paragraphs [0007], [0084]-[0091], which describe automatic media transitions and playback termination upon tile movement. Contrary to the Applicant’s position, paragraph [0007] describes not only tile movement but also playback control, “… ceases to play the initially-displayed media item in the respective region of the display and plays a first media item in the respective region of the display.” This indicates playback of the first media item terminates automatically when the tile moves and the second media item begins playing, without requiring manual user input to stop the first media item. Further, paragraphs [0087]-[0091] reinforce playback termination based specifically on positional movement of the tile, “In response to detecting the media-change input, in accordance with a determination that the media-change input corresponds to movement (710) in a first direction, the device ceases (712) to play the initially-displayed media item in the respective (e.g., central) region of the display (e.g., sliding a video tile that corresponds to the respective media item off of the display in accordance with the media-change input) and plays (714) (e.g., starts to play) a first media item in the respective (e.g., central) region of the display.” This confirms termination is tied directly to tile movement rather than just interface update, contradicting the Applicant’s assertion that Hoffert only teaches menu transitions without playback control. Additionally, paragraph [0091] describes termination mechanism, “ceasing to play the initially-displayed media item in the respective (e.g., central) region of the display and playing (e.g., starting to play) a third media item in the respective (e.g., central) region of the display.” This disclosure further demonstrates automatic playback termination based on positional changes, directly teaching the claim limitation. Therefore, Hoffert is directly applicable to the rejection of the presently amended independent claims.
Argument 2, Applicant argues that the claims have been amended to recite "terminating playback of the video that is displayed in the given tile" in response to determining that "the given tile has made a positional change to the second display position from the first display position." In contrast, Hoffert's system moves displayed content based on detection of a swipe direction (leftward or rightward) or detection of a finger contact liftoff without any teaching of terminating playback based on positional changes of a tile presenting video playback, as claimed. Accordingly, even assuming arguendo that Hoffert inherently implies a termination of playback by dint of a media menu or interface being moved (which is not conceded), such termination would still be based on the detection of a command (a swipe or finger contact liftoff) that triggers switching between menus and user interfaces, and not based on tile positional changes as claimed. The Examiner is kindly reminded that inherency of a claim element "requires that the missing descriptive material is 'necessarily present,' not merely probably or possibly present, in the prior art." "The mere fact that a certain thing may result from a given set of circumstances is not sufficient."
Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that this interpretation does not fully consider the disclosures in paragraphs [0007], [0084]-[0091], which describe automatic media transitions and playback termination upon tile movement. Contrary to the Applicant’s position, paragraph [0007] describes not only tile movement but also playback control, “… ceases to play the initially-displayed media item in the respective region of the display and plays a first media item in the respective region of the display.” This indicates playback of the first media item terminates automatically when the tile moves and the second media item begins playing, without requiring manual user input to stop the first media item. Further, paragraphs [0087]-[0091] reinforce playback termination based specifically on positional movement of the tile, “In response to detecting the media-change input, in accordance with a determination that the media-change input corresponds to movement (710) in a first direction, the device ceases (712) to play the initially-displayed media item in the respective (e.g., central) region of the display (e.g., sliding a video tile that corresponds to the respective media item off of the display in accordance with the media-change input) and plays (714) (e.g., starts to play) a first media item in the respective (e.g., central) region of the display.” This confirms termination is tied directly to tile movement rather than just interface update, contradicting the Applicant’s assertion that Hoffert only teaches menu transitions without playback control. Additionally, paragraph [0091] describes termination mechanism, “ceasing to play the initially-displayed media item in the respective (e.g., central) region of the display and playing (e.g., starting to play) a third media item in the respective (e.g., central) region of the display.” This disclosure further demonstrates automatic playback termination based on positional changes, directly teaching the claim limitation. Therefore, Hoffert is directly applicable to the rejection of the presently amended independent claims.
It is further noted that in Hoffert, the playback termination is necessary present because every time a tile moves, its corresponding video ceases (as proven by paragraphs [0007], [0087]-[0091]). The cessation of playback is intrinsic to Hoffert’s system, rather than a mere possibility. The mechanism described in Hoffert operates exactly as claimed, rendering the Applicant’s argument regarding inherency insufficient.
Argument 3, Applicant argues that the claimed subject matter recites "automatically presenting the video in place of the cover art displayed in the given tile." In contrast, Hoffert's disclosure relates merely to interface elements and menus that can be moved around the display. While Hoffert may define a "tile" as "corresponding to a media item", the Hoffert tiles do not constitute "tiles" as claimed that include a display of actual video content, much less tiles that display actual video content with automatic replacement of cover art with video. This further distinguishes from Hoffert which does not teach or suggest terminating video playback. The amended claims are therefore allowable over the cited references.
Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that this interpretation does not fully consider the disclosures in paragraphs [0007], [0084]-[0091], which describe automatic media transitions and playback termination upon tile movement. Contrary to the Applicant’s position, paragraph [0007] describes not only tile movement but also playback control, “… ceases to play the initially-displayed media item in the respective region of the display and plays a first media item in the respective region of the display.” This indicates playback of the first media item terminates automatically when the tile moves and the second media item begins playing, without requiring manual user input to stop the first media item. Further, paragraphs [0087]-[0091] reinforce playback termination based specifically on positional movement of the tile, “In response to detecting the media-change input, in accordance with a determination that the media-change input corresponds to movement (710) in a first direction, the device ceases (712) to play the initially-displayed media item in the respective (e.g., central) region of the display (e.g., sliding a video tile that corresponds to the respective media item off of the display in accordance with the media-change input) and plays (714) (e.g., starts to play) a first media item in the respective (e.g., central) region of the display.” This confirms termination is tied directly to tile movement rather than just interface update, contradicting the Applicant’s assertion that Hoffert only teaches menu transitions without playback control. Additionally, paragraph [0091] describes termination mechanism, “ceasing to play the initially-displayed media item in the respective (e.g., central) region of the display and playing (e.g., starting to play) a third media item in the respective (e.g., central) region of the display.” This disclosure further demonstrates automatic playback termination based on positional changes, directly teaching the claim limitation. Therefore, Hoffert teaches both automatic presentation of video in place of covert art and termination of playback due to tile positional change, as evidenced by paragraphs [0007], [0084]-[0091].
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,962,547 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following mapping below. Each corresponding limitation is either identical or does not have a patentable, nonobvious distinction unless otherwise noted.
Instant Application 18/435,568
Patent No.: US 11,962,547 B2
Claim 1
Claim 1
Claim 2
Claim 2
Claim 3
Claim 3
Claim 4
Claim 4
Claim 5
Claim 5
Claim 6
Claim 6
Claim 7
Claim 7
Claim 8
Claim 8
Claim 9
Claim 9
Claim 10
Claim 10
Claim 11
Claim 11
Claim 12
Claim 12
Claim 13
Claim 13
Claim 14
Claim 14
Claim 15
Claim 15
Claim 16
Claim 16
Claim 17
Claim 17
Claim 18
Claim 18
Claim 19
Claim 19
Claim 20
Claim 20
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wall et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. US 20130262564 A1) in view of Hoffert et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. US 20150113407 A1).
Claim 1: Wall teaches a method comprising:
displaying, by one or more processors (i.e. processor; para. [0076]), cover art in a given tile of a plurality of tiles (i.e. fig. 3, the user can review the audio/video clip and associated thumbnails and pick the thumbnail that the user wants to use as the representative thumbnail. In exemplary embodiments, the user can also customize the thumbnails in various ways. In exemplary embodiments, the entire audio/video clip can also be customized via the interactive multi-media application 22. As such, the user can select a custom background, embed text, change the lighting, add effects, and the like; para. [0044, 0051]);
detecting input that causes the given tile to move to a first display position (i.e. fig. 3, The interface 300 further includes an inactive thumbnail position “carousel” (i.e., a module frame) in which previously recorded video clips 310, 365 are stored and can be scrolled. For example, the module frame can be displayed as a 50% opacity representation hover state. If the user clicks on a thumbnail in the module frame, the selected thumbnail and respective video is loaded into the center of module frame; para. [0050, 0052]);
generating a video responsive to the detected input causing the given tile to move to the first display position (i.e. fig. 3, The interface 300 further includes a playback button 315 for an inactive video clip in the module frame, a back button 320 for loading an previous inactive video clip into the center position of the module frame, a forward button 360 for loading a future inactive video clip into the center position of the module frame; para. [0052]);
in response to determining that the given tile has been moved to the first display position, and without further user input or navigation, automatically presenting the video in place of the cover art displayed in the given tile (i.e. fig. 3, If the user clicks on a thumbnail in the module frame, the selected thumbnail and respective video is loaded into the center of module frame; para. [0050]);
while the video is being played back in the given tile, determining that the given tile has made a positional change to a second display position from the first display position (i.e. The interface 300 further includes an inactive thumbnail position “carousel” (i.e., a module frame) in which previously recorded video clips 310, 365 are stored and can be scrolled. For example, the module frame can be displayed as a 50% opacity representation hover state. If the user clicks on a thumbnail in the module frame, the selected thumbnail and respective video is loaded into the center of module frame; para. [0050]); and
in response to determining that the given tile has made positional change to the second display position from the first display position (i.e. The interface 300 further includes an inactive thumbnail position “carousel” (i.e., a module frame) in which previously recorded video clips 310, 365 are stored and can be scrolled. For example, the module frame can be displayed as a 50% opacity representation hover state. If the user clicks on a thumbnail in the module frame, the selected thumbnail and respective video is loaded into the center of module frame; para. [0050]).
Wall does not explicitly teach terminating playback of the video that is displayed in the given tile, wherein the video playback termination is based on the positional change of the tile.
However, Hoffert teaches while the video is being played back in the given tile, determining that the given tile has made a positional change to a second display position from the first display position (i.e. In response to detecting the media-change input, in accordance with a determination that the media-change input corresponds to movement (710) in a first direction, the device ceases (712) to play the initially-displayed media item in the respective (e.g., central) region of the display (e.g., sliding a video tile that corresponds to the respective media item off of the display in accordance with the media-change input) and plays (714) (e.g., starts to play) a first media item in the respective (e.g., central) region of the display; para. [0007, 0084-0091]); and in response to determining that the given tile has made the positional change to the second display position from the first display position, terminating playback of the video that is displayed in the given tile (i.e. in response to detecting the media-change input, in accordance with a determination that the media-change input corresponds to movement in a third direction that is substantially opposite to the first direction, ceasing to play the initially-displayed media item in the respective (e.g., central) region of the display and playing (e.g., starting to play) a third media item in the respective (e.g., central) region of the display. The third media item is different from the initially-displayed media item, the first media item, and the second media item; para. [0091]), wherein the video playback termination is based on the positional change of the tile (i.e. While playing the initially-displayed media item in a respective region of the display, the electronic device detects a media-change input. In response to detecting the media-change input, in accordance with a determination that the media-change input corresponds to movement in a first direction, the electronic device ceases to play the initially-displayed media item in the respective region of the display and plays a first media item in the respective region of the display; para. [0007, 0087-0091]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wall to include the feature of Hoffert. One would have been motivated to make this modification because automatically playing or stopping the playback of the video allows the electronic device to control such playback without specific user input to do so, which enhances the operability of the device and makes the user-device interface more efficient (e.g., by requiring fewer user input to control the playback of the video), which, additionally, reduces power usage and improves battery life of the device by enabling the user to use the device more quickly and efficiently.
Claim 19: Wall teaches a system comprising:
one or more processors configured to execute instructions stored in memory for performing operations comprising (i.e. The processor 1505 is a hardware device for executing software, particularly that stored in memory 1510. The processor 1505 can be any custom made or commercially available processor, a central processing unit (CPU), an auxiliary processor among several processors associated with the computer 1501, a semiconductor based microprocessor (in the form of a microchip or chip set), a macroprocessor, or generally any device for executing software instructions; para. [0077]):
displaying, by one or more processors (i.e. processor; para. [0076]), cover art in a given tile of a plurality of tiles (i.e. fig. 3, the user can review the audio/video clip and associated thumbnails and pick the thumbnail that the user wants to use as the representative thumbnail. In exemplary embodiments, the user can also customize the thumbnails in various ways. In exemplary embodiments, the entire audio/video clip can also be customized via the interactive multi-media application 22. As such, the user can select a custom background, embed text, change the lighting, add effects, and the like; para. [0044, 0051]);
detecting input that causes the given tile to move to a first display position (i.e. fig. 3, The interface 300 further includes an inactive thumbnail position “carousel” (i.e., a module frame) in which previously recorded video clips 310, 365 are stored and can be scrolled. For example, the module frame can be displayed as a 50% opacity representation hover state. If the user clicks on a thumbnail in the module frame, the selected thumbnail and respective video is loaded into the center of module frame; para. [0050, 0052]);
generating a video responsive to the detected input causing the given tile to move to the first display position (i.e. fig. 3, The interface 300 further includes a playback button 315 for an inactive video clip in the module frame, a back button 320 for loading an previous inactive video clip into the center position of the module frame, a forward button 360 for loading a future inactive video clip into the center position of the module frame; para. [0052]);
in response to determining that the given tile has been moved to the first display position, and without further user input or navigation, automatically presenting the video in place of the cover art displayed in the given tile (i.e. fig. 3, If the user clicks on a thumbnail in the module frame, the selected thumbnail and respective video is loaded into the center of module frame; para. [0050]);
while the video is being played back in the given tile, determining that the given tile has made a positional change to a second display position from the first display position (i.e. The interface 300 further includes an inactive thumbnail position “carousel” (i.e., a module frame) in which previously recorded video clips 310, 365 are stored and can be scrolled. For example, the module frame can be displayed as a 50% opacity representation hover state. If the user clicks on a thumbnail in the module frame, the selected thumbnail and respective video is loaded into the center of module frame; para. [0050]); and
in response to determining that the given tile has made the positional change to the second display position from the first display position (i.e. The interface 300 further includes an inactive thumbnail position “carousel” (i.e., a module frame) in which previously recorded video clips 310, 365 are stored and can be scrolled. For example, the module frame can be displayed as a 50% opacity representation hover state. If the user clicks on a thumbnail in the module frame, the selected thumbnail and respective video is loaded into the center of module frame; para. [0050]).
Wall does not explicitly teach terminating playback of the video that is displayed in the given tile, wherein the video playback termination is based on the positional change of the tile.
However, Hoffert teaches while the video is being played back in the given tile, determining that the given tile has made a positional change to a second display position from the first display position (i.e. In response to detecting the media-change input, in accordance with a determination that the media-change input corresponds to movement (710) in a first direction, the device ceases (712) to play the initially-displayed media item in the respective (e.g., central) region of the display (e.g., sliding a video tile that corresponds to the respective media item off of the display in accordance with the media-change input) and plays (714) (e.g., starts to play) a first media item in the respective (e.g., central) region of the display; para. [0007, 0084-0091]); and in response to determining that the given tile has made the positional change to the second display position from the first display position, terminating playback of the video that is displayed in the given tile (i.e. in response to detecting the media-change input, in accordance with a determination that the media-change input corresponds to movement in a third direction that is substantially opposite to the first direction, ceasing to play the initially-displayed media item in the respective (e.g., central) region of the display and playing (e.g., starting to play) a third media item in the respective (e.g., central) region of the display. The third media item is different from the initially-displayed media item, the first media item, and the second media item; para. [0091]), wherein the video playback termination is based on the positional change of the tile (i.e. While playing the initially-displayed media item in a respective region of the display, the electronic device detects a media-change input. In response to detecting the media-change input, in accordance with a determination that the media-change input corresponds to movement in a first direction, the electronic device ceases to play the initially-displayed media item in the respective region of the display and plays a first media item in the respective region of the display; para. [0007, 0087-0091]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wall to include the feature of Hoffert. One would have been motivated to make this modification because automatically playing or stopping the playback of the video allows the electronic device to control such playback without specific user input to do so, which enhances the operability of the device and makes the user-device interface more efficient (e.g., by requiring fewer user input to control the playback of the video), which, additionally, reduces power usage and improves battery life of the device by enabling the user to use the device more quickly and efficiently.
Claim 20: Wall teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising non-transitory computer-readable instructions that (i.e. a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions for causing a computer; para. [0006]), when executed by one or more processors, perform operations comprising (i.e. The processor 1505 is a hardware device for executing software, particularly that stored in memory 1510. The processor 1505 can be any custom made or commercially available processor, a central processing unit (CPU), an auxiliary processor among several processors associated with the computer 1501, a semiconductor based microprocessor (in the form of a microchip or chip set), a macroprocessor, or generally any device for executing software instructions; para. [0077]):
displaying, by one or more processors (i.e. processor; para. [0076]), cover art in a given tile of a plurality of tiles (i.e. fig. 3, the user can review the audio/video clip and associated thumbnails and pick the thumbnail that the user wants to use as the representative thumbnail. In exemplary embodiments, the user can also customize the thumbnails in various ways. In exemplary embodiments, the entire audio/video clip can also be customized via the interactive multi-media application 22. As such, the user can select a custom background, embed text, change the lighting, add effects, and the like; para. [0044, 0051]);
detecting input that causes the given tile to move to a first display position (i.e. fig. 3, The interface 300 further includes an inactive thumbnail position “carousel” (i.e., a module frame) in which previously recorded video clips 310, 365 are stored and can be scrolled. For example, the module frame can be displayed as a 50% opacity representation hover state. If the user clicks on a thumbnail in the module frame, the selected thumbnail and respective video is loaded into the center of module frame; para. [0050, 0052]);
generating a video responsive to the detected input causing the given tile to move to the first display position (i.e. fig. 3, The interface 300 further includes a playback button 315 for an inactive video clip in the module frame, a back button 320 for loading an previous inactive video clip into the center position of the module frame, a forward button 360 for loading a future inactive video clip into the center position of the module frame; para. [0052]);
in response to determining that the given tile has been moved to the first display position, and without further user input or navigation, automatically presenting the video in place of the cover art displayed in the given tile (i.e. fig. 3, If the user clicks on a thumbnail in the module frame, the selected thumbnail and respective video is loaded into the center of module frame; para. [0050]);
while the video is being played back in the given tile, determining that the given tile has made positional change to a second display position from the first display position (i.e. The interface 300 further includes an inactive thumbnail position “carousel” (i.e., a module frame) in which previously recorded video clips 310, 365 are stored and can be scrolled. For example, the module frame can be displayed as a 50% opacity representation hover state. If the user clicks on a thumbnail in the module frame, the selected thumbnail and respective video is loaded into the center of module frame; para. [0050]); and
in response to determining that the given tile has made the positional change to the second display position from the first display position (i.e. The interface 300 further includes an inactive thumbnail position “carousel” (i.e., a module frame) in which previously recorded video clips 310, 365 are stored and can be scrolled. For example, the module frame can be displayed as a 50% opacity representation hover state. If the user clicks on a thumbnail in the module frame, the selected thumbnail and respective video is loaded into the center of module frame; para. [0050]).
Wall does not explicitly teach terminating playback of the video that is displayed in the given tile, wherein the video playback termination is based on the positional change of the tile.
However, Hoffert teaches while the video is being played back in the given tile, determining that the given tile has made a positional change to a second display position from the first display position (i.e. In response to detecting the media-change input, in accordance with a determination that the media-change input corresponds to movement (710) in a first direction, the device ceases (712) to play the initially-displayed media item in the respective (e.g., central) region of the display (e.g., sliding a video tile that corresponds to the respective media item off of the display in accordance with the media-change input) and plays (714) (e.g., starts to play) a first media item in the respective (e.g., central) region of the display; para. [0007, 0084-0091]); and in response to determining that the given tile has made the positional change to the second display position from the first display position, terminating playback of the video that is displayed in the given tile (i.e. in response to detecting the media-change input, in accordance with a determination that the media-change input corresponds to movement in a third direction that is substantially opposite to the first direction, ceasing to play the initially-displayed media item in the respective (e.g., central) region of the display and playing (e.g., starting to play) a third media item in the respective (e.g., central) region of the display. The third media item is different from the initially-displayed media item, the first media item, and the second media item; para. [0091]), wherein the video playback termination is based on the positional change of the tile (i.e. While playing the initially-displayed media item in a respective region of the display, the electronic device detects a media-change input. In response to detecting the media-change input, in accordance with a determination that the media-change input corresponds to movement in a first direction, the electronic device ceases to play the initially-displayed media item in the respective region of the display and plays a first media item in the respective region of the display; para. [0007, 0087-0091]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wall to include the feature of Hoffert. One would have been motivated to make this modification because automatically playing or stopping the playback of the video allows the electronic device to control such playback without specific user input to do so, which enhances the operability of the device and makes the user-device interface more efficient (e.g., by requiring fewer user input to control the playback of the video), which, additionally, reduces power usage and improves battery life of the device by enabling the user to use the device more quickly and efficiently.
7. Claims 2, 3, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wall in view of Hoffert and further in view of Sakamoto (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. US 20120139932 A1).
Claim 2: Wall and Hoffert teach the method of claim 1. Wall further teaches further comprising: retrieving, by the one or more processors, a plurality of content items; determining a first category of a first content item in the plurality of content items (i.e. fig. 3, Several examples of interactive media distribution systems have been described herein. In other exemplary embodiments, an interactive media greeting card system and method are also contemplated. By implementing the interactive multi-media application 22 (of FIG. 1A), an interactive media greeting card can be generated. In exemplary embodiments, the interactive media greeting card system can include an audio/video player with recorder/review capabilities to display multiple videos simultaneously or individually. The interactive media greeting card system can include a group video message and individual messages. The interactive media greeting card system can also include an individual/group video recorded by a person/group, and/or a "celebrity" video previously recorded (stock video) by a person of celebrity (i.e., musician, politician, athlete, and the like). In exemplary embodiments, the interactive media greeting card can include one page or multi page "format" with various art work (personal or stock), text (personal or stock), and audio/video clips on each page or a selected page; para. [0070]); presenting the first content item to a user according to the selected first presentation arrangement, the first presentation arrangement comprising the plurality of tiles, the plurality of tiles displaying information representing the plurality of content items respectively (i.e. fig. 3, The interface 300 further includes an inactive thumbnail position “carousel” (i.e., a module frame) in which previously recorded video clips 310, 365 are stored and can be scrolled. For example, the module frame can be displayed as a 50% opacity representation hover state. If the user clicks on a thumbnail in the module frame, the selected thumbnail and respective video is loaded into the center of module frame; para. [0050, 0052]).
Wall does not explicitly teach further selecting a first presentation arrangement from a plurality of presentation arrangements based on the first category determined for the first content item; wherein each of the plurality of presentation arrangements presents content items with different levels of detail, wherein the first presentation arrangement presents content items with a first level of detail; and wherein a second presentation arrangement presents content items with a second level of detail lower than the first level of detail.
Hoffert further teaches further retrieving, a plurality of content items; determining a first category of a first content item in the plurality of content items; selecting a first presentation arrangement from a plurality of presentation arrangements based on the first category determined for the first content item; presenting the first content item to a user according to the selected first presentation arrangement, the first presentation arrangement comprising the plurality of tiles, the plurality of tiles displaying information representing the plurality of content items respectively (i.e. In FIGS. 5A-5B, device 110 displays a media item directory user interface that includes a plurality of tiles that each correspond to a media item (e.g., a real-time media stream, an on-demand media stream, a media file stored at the device, etc.) in a sequence of media items. In the media item directory user interface in FIGS. 5A-5B, the device displays tiles that correspond to a plurality of sequences of media items including a first sequence of media items 506, a second sequence of media items 504, and a third sequence of media items 508. In FIG. 5A, the device detects a gesture 510 that includes movement of a contact to the left on touchscreen 400 at a location that corresponds to the first sequence of media items 506. In response to detecting gesture 510, the device scrolls the first sequence of media items 506 to the left; para. [0070]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wall to include the feature of Hoffert. One would have been motivated to make this modification because it efficiently categorizes and presents content items, enhancing user navigation and experience.
Sakamoto teaches further retrieving, by the one or more processors (i.e. processor; para. [0108]), a plurality of content items (i.e. fig. 7, The User Interface 700 has an Embedded Player 702 for the selected Audio-Video Content 704 and the selected Audio-Video Content 704 is displayed with a Pivot 706 display type in the Related Content Section 708. The Pivot 706 display type is chosen by a partner with a display template, and Pivots A-C 710 and Related Partner Content Pivot D 712 are displayed on the user interface in accordance with the display template; para. [0102]); determining a first category of a first content item in the plurality of content items (i.e. The Content Categorization Component 110 may be used by the Content Integration Component 108 to categorize and/or organize related content. The Content Categorization Component 110 may use the metadata in the database(s) of Content Metadata 1 . . . N 106 to determine an organization for the content. The Content Categorization Component 110 may organize content by grouping related content to a selected content in “pivots” for display on the User Interface 114; para. [0035]); selecting a first presentation arrangement from a plurality of presentation arrangements based on the first category determined for the first content item (i.e. Any number of Display Template(s) 112 may be designated by the partner. For example, the partner may designate a default template, a template for a particular category, a template for a genre and/or a template for one or more pieces of content; para. [0087]); presenting the first content item to a user according to the selected first presentation arrangement (i.e. A determination may be made as to whether to include content from another partner (408). If content from another partner is to be included (408), then content from one or more partners is categorized in accordance with the metadata (410). The categories may then be displayed in accordance with the display template (414); para. [0096]), the first presentation arrangement comprising the plurality of tiles, the plurality of tiles displaying information representing the plurality of content items respectively (i.e. fig. 7, The User Interface 700 has an Embedded Player 702 for the selected Audio-Video Content 704 and the selected Audio-Video Content 704 is displayed with a Pivot 706 display type in the Related Content Section 708. The Pivot 706 display type is chosen by a partner with a display template, and Pivots A-C 710 and Related Partner Content Pivot D 712 are displayed on the user interface in accordance with the display template; para. [0102]); wherein each of the plurality of presentation arrangements presents content items with different levels of detail, wherein the first presentation arrangement presents content items with a first level of detail (i.e. The Pivot 706 display type is chosen by a partner with a display template, and Pivots A-C 710 and Related Partner Content Pivot D 712 are displayed on the user interface in accordance with the display template; para. [0102]); and wherein a second presentation arrangement presents content items with a second level of detail lower than the first level of detail (i.e. fig. 7, The Embedded Player 702 may display Video Information 714 such as the content title, date, partner name, and/or any other information about the selected Audio-Video Content 704. The Embedded Player 702 may have Player Controls 716 for the user to control display of the Audio-Video Content 704. The User Interface 700 may display a Partner Logo 718, a Title 720, and Thumbnails 722 for other content. The Thumbnails 722 may be an image that allows for the display of content represented by the image on the User Interface 700; para. [0102]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Wall and Hoffert to include the feature of Sakamoto. One would have been motivated to make this modification because it enhances the overall system’s functionality, offering a more refined and user-friendly way to display and interact with various content items.
Claim 3: Wall, Hoffert, and Sakamoto teach the method of claim 2. Wall does not explicitly teach determining a second category of a second content item in the plurality of content items; selecting a second presentation arrangement from the plurality of presentation arrangements based on the second category determined for the second content item; and presenting the second content item to the user according to the selected second presentation arrangement.
Hoffert further teaches determining a second category of a second content item in the plurality of content items; selecting a second presentation arrangement from the plurality of presentation arrangements based on the second category determined for the second content item; and presenting the second content item to the user according to the selected second presentation arrangement (i.e. In FIGS. 5A-5B, device 110 displays a media item directory user interface that includes a plurality of tiles that each correspond to a media item (e.g., a real-time media stream, an on-demand media stream, a media file stored at the device, etc.) in a sequence of media items. In the media item directory user interface in FIGS. 5A-5B, the device displays tiles that correspond to a plurality of sequences of media items including a first sequence of media items 506, a second sequence of media items 504, and a third sequence of media items 508. In FIG. 5A, the device detects a gesture 510 that includes movement of a contact to the left on touchscreen 400 at a location that corresponds to the first sequence of media items 506. In response to detecting gesture 510, the device scrolls the first sequence of media items 506 to the left; para. [0070]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wall to include the feature of Hoffert. One would have been motivated to make this modification because it efficiently categorizes and presents content items, enhancing user navigation and experience.
Sakamoto further teaches determining a second category of a second content item in the plurality of content items; selecting a second presentation arrangement from the plurality of presentation arrangements based on the second category determined for the second content item (i.e. The Content Categorization Component 110 may be used by the Content Integration Component 108 to categorize and/or organize related content. The Content Categorization Component 110 may use the metadata in the database(s) of Content Metadata 1 . . . N 106 to determine an organization for the content. The Content Categorization Component 110 may organize content by grouping related content to a selected content in “pivots” for display on the User Interface 114; para. [0035]); and presenting the second content item to the user according to the selected second presentation arrangement (i.e. A determination may be made as to whether to include content from another partner (408). If content from another partner is to be included (408), then content from one or more partners is categorized in accordance with the metadata (410). The categories may then be displayed in accordance with the display template (414); para. [0096]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Wall and Hoffert to include the feature of Sakamoto. One would have been motivated to make this modification because it enhances the overall system’s functionality, offering a more refined and user-friendly way to display and interact with various content items.
Claim 8: Wall, Hoffert, and Sakamoto teach the method of claim 2. Wall does not explicitly teach determining a current scroll position on a graphical user interface; and determining that the given tile has been moved to the display position by determining that the given tile has been scrolled to a center of the display, wherein playback of the video terminates when a second tile is scrolled to the first display position, wherein only one piece of content is automatically played at a time while presenting content items in the first and second presentation arrangements.
Hoffert further teaches wherein the input comprises a scrolling operation, further comprising: determining a current scroll position on a graphical user interface; and determining that the given tile has been moved to the display position by determining that the given tile has been scrolled to a center of the display, wherein playback of the video terminates when a second tile is scrolled to the first display position, wherein only one piece of content is automatically played at a time while presenting content items in the first and second presentation arrangements (i.e. While playing the initially-displayed media item in a respective region of the display, the electronic device detects a media-change input. In response to detecting the media-change input, in accordance with a determination that the media-change input corresponds to movement in a first direction, the electronic device ceases to play the initially-displayed media item in the respective region of the display and plays a first media item in the respective region of the display; para. [0007]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Sakamoto and Wall to include the feature of Hoffert. One would have been motivated to make this modification because automatically playing or stopping the playback of the video allows the electronic device to control such playback without specific user input to do so, which enhances the operability of the device and makes the user-device interface more efficient (e.g., by requiring fewer user input to control the playback of the video), which, additionally, reduces power usage and improves battery life of the device by enabling the user to use the device more quickly and efficiently.
8. Claims 4, 6, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wall in view of Hoffert in view of Sakamoto and further in view of Agnetta et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. US 20140337791 A1).
Claim 4: Wall, Hoffert, and Sakamoto teach the method of claim 3. Wall does not explicitly teach wherein the first presentation arrangement presents the first content item among a first set of content items in a vertical list of tiles; and wherein the second presentation arrangement presents the second content item among a second set of content items in a horizontal list of tiles.
Sakamoto further teaches wherein the first presentation arrangement presents the first content item among a first set of content items in a vertical list of tiles; and wherein the second presentation arrangement presents the second content item among a second set of content items in a list of tiles (i.e. fig. 7, The User Interface 700 has an Embedded Player 702 for the selected Audio-Video Content 704 and the selected Audio-Video Content 704 is displayed with a Pivot 706 display type in the Related Content Section 708. The Pivot 706 display type is chosen by a partner with a display template, and Pivots A-C 710 and Related Partner Content Pivot D 712 are displayed on the user interface in accordance with the display template; para. [0102]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Wall and Hoffert to include the feature of Sakamoto. One would have been motivated to make this modification because it enhances the overall system’s functionality, offering a more refined and user-friendly way to display and interact with various content items.
However, Agnetta teaches wherein the first presentation arrangement presents the first content item among a first set of content items in a vertical list of tiles; and wherein the second presentation arrangement presents the second content item among a second set of content items in a horizontal list of tiles (i.e. FIG. 11C illustrates that the user has again scrolled the carousel to the left, such that an icon 1104(3) corresponding to a photo-gallery application now has user-interface focus. As such, the lower portion presents additional items 1106(3) associated with the application having the user-interface focus; para. [0157]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Wall, Hoffert, and Sakamoto to include the feature of Agnetta. One would have been motivated to make this modification because it provides a more intuitive way for navigating contents on a mobile device.
Claim 6: Wall, Hoffert, Sakamoto, and Agnetta teach the method of claim 4. Wall does not explicitly teach wherein the first and second content items are presented simultaneously in their respective first and second presentation arrangements.
Sakamoto further teaches wherein the first and second content items are presented simultaneously in their respective first and second presentation arrangements (i.e. fig. 7, The Embedded Player 702 may display Video Information 714 such as the content title, date, partner name, and/or any other information about the selected Audio-Video Content 704. The Embedded Player 702 may have Player Controls 716 for the user to control display of the Audio-Video Content 704. The User Interface 700 may display a Partner Logo 718, a Title 720, and Thumbnails 722 for other content. The Thumbnails 722 may be an image that allows for the display of content represented by the image on the User Interface 700; para. [0102]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Wall and Hoffert to include the feature of Sakamoto. One would have been motivated to make this modification because it enhances the overall system’s functionality, offering a more refined and user-friendly way to display and interact with various content items.
However, Agnetta further teaches wherein the first and second content items are presented simultaneously in their respective first and second presentation arrangements (i.e. FIG. 11C illustrates that the user has again scrolled the carousel to the left, such that an icon 1104(3) corresponding to a photo-gallery application now has user-interface focus. As such, the lower portion presents additional items 1106(3) associated with the application having the user-interface focus; para. [0157]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Wall, Hoffert, and Sakamoto to include the feature of Agnetta. One would have been motivated to make this modification because it provides a more intuitive way for navigating contents on a mobile device.
Claim 7: Wall, Hoffert, Sakamoto, and Agnetta teach the method of claim 6. Wall does not explicitly teach receiving a first user input to view content items; presenting, on a graphical user interface of a messaging application, the first content item according to the first presentation arrangement in response to receiving the first user input; receiving a second user input to navigate through the content items while the first content item is presented; and navigating, within the graphical user interface of the messaging application, to present the second content item according to the second presentation arrangement in response to receiving the second user input.
Sakamoto further teaches comprising: receiving a first user input to view content items; presenting, on a graphical user interface of a messaging application, the first content item according to the first presentation arrangement in response to receiving the first user input (i.e. fig. 7, The User Interface 700 has an Embedded Player 702 for the selected Audio-Video Content 704 and the selected Audio-Video Content 704 is displayed with a Pivot 706 display type in the Related Content Section 708. The Pivot 706 display type is chosen by a partner with a display template, and Pivots A-C 710 and Related Partner Content Pivot D 712 are displayed on the user interface in accordance with the display template; para. [0102]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Wall and Hoffert to include the feature of Sakamoto. One would have been motivated to make this modification because it enhances the overall system’s functionality, offering a more refined and user-friendly way to display and interact with various content items.
However, Agnetta further teaches comprising: receiving a first user input to view content items; presenting, on a graphical user interface of a messaging application, the first content item according to the first presentation arrangement in response to receiving the first user input; receiving a second user input to navigate through the content items while the first content item is presented; and navigating, within the graphical user interface of the messaging application, to present the second content item according to the second presentation arrangement in response to receiving the second user input (i.e. FIG. 11A illustrates the carousel 1102 when an icon 1104(1) corresponding to an email application has user-interface focus. That is, the icon 1104(1) is centered and in front of each other icon in the carousel 1102 and, therefore, has the user-interface focus. As illustrated, the lower portion of the display includes additional items 1106(1) associated with the email application. In this instance, these items comprise email messages, such as the most recently received emails; para. [0155, 0156]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Wall, Hoffert, and Sakamoto to include the feature of Agnetta. One would have been motivated to make this modification because it provides a more intuitive way for navigating contents on a mobile device.
9. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wall in view of Hoffert in view of Sakamoto in view of Agnetta and further in view of Deets, JR. et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. US 20190138160 A1).
Claim 5: Wall, Hoffert, Sakamoto, and Agnetta teach the method of claim 4. Wall does not explicitly teach determining that the user exchanges messages that include videos or images in addition to text with a first friend in a list of friends; and ordering the plurality of tiles presented in the presentation arrangement based on determining that the user exchanges messages that include videos or images in addition to text with the first friend in the list of friends.
However, Deets teaches determining that the user exchanges messages that include videos or images in addition to text with a first friend in a list of friends; and ordering the plurality of tiles presented in the presentation arrangement based on determining that the user exchanges messages that include videos or images in addition to text with the first friend in the list of friends (i.e. FIG. 3B, the messaging application displays, within the group messaging thread 216, a horizontal scroll display 228 including the highlight excerpts 230a-230d. For example, in order to save space and reduce visual clutter within the messaging thread GUI 214, the messaging application does not include the full contents of each identified highlight message in the horizontal scroll display 228. Instead, after identifying one or more highlight messages among the electronic messages submitted to the group messaging thread 216 during the user's period of absence, the messaging application generates a highlight excerpt associated with each identified highlight message (e.g., a thumbnail of a digital image from a highlight message, a portion of the text from a highlight message); para. [0080]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Wall, Hoffert, Sakamoto, and Agnetta to include the feature of Deets. One would have been motivated to make this modification because the system makes it easier for users to access the most relevant content quickly.
10. Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wall in view of Hoffert in view of Sakamoto and further in view of Jain (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. US 20160085397 A1).
Claim 9: Wall, Hoffert, and Sakamoto teach the method of claim 2. Wall does not explicitly teach determining that the first content item is an episode of a season of a series that comprises a plurality of episodes; determining that the user has not viewed any of the plurality of episodes of the season of the series; and in response to determining that the user has not viewed any of the plurality of episodes of the season of the series, presenting, in a tile for the content item in the first presentation arrangement, a preview representing the season of the series.
Hoffert further teaches determining that the first content item is an episode of a season of a series that comprises a plurality of episodes (i.e. the plurality of sequences of media items optionally include a sequence of episodic media items (e.g., episodes of a television show) in episode order; para. [0082]); and presenting, in a tile for the content item in the first presentation arrangement, a preview representing the season of the series (i.e. the sequences of media items are optionally represented by tiles that include a visual representation of corresponding media items (e.g., as shown in FIG. 5A); para. [0081]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Sakamoto and Wall to include the feature of Hoffert. One would have been motivated to make this modification because automatically playing or stopping the playback of the video allows the electronic device to control such playback without specific user input to do so, which enhances the operability of the device and makes the user-device interface more efficient (e.g., by requiring fewer user input to control the playback of the video), which, additionally, reduces power usage and improves battery life of the device by enabling the user to use the device more quickly and efficiently.
However, Jain teaches determining that the first content item of a series; determining that the user has not viewed any of the series (i.e. fig. 2, the notification bar 202 serves as an indication that one or more notifications were received by the computing device; para. [0022]); and in response to determining that the user has not viewed any of the series, and in response to determining that the user has not viewed the series, presenting, in a tile for the content item in the first presentation arrangement, a preview representing the series (i.e. FIG. 3 illustrates a display when the computing device 100 recalls the temporarily dismissed notifications. The touchscreen display 102 may display a notification 302. The notification 302 may be displayed on substantially all of the touchscreen display 102; para. [0024]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Sakamoto, Wall, and Hoffert to include the feature of Jain. One would have been motivated to make this modification because it provides an intuitive way for navigating unread contents on a device.
Claim 10: Wall, Hoffert, and Sakamoto teach the method of claim 2. Wall does not explicitly teach comprising: determining that the first content item is an episode of a season of a series that comprises a plurality of episodes; determining that the user has viewed a given episode in the season of the series; determining a first episode number of the given episode; retrieving a preview of a second episode of the season of the series having a second episode number that sequentially follows the first episode number; and presenting, in the given tile for the content item in the first presentation arrangement, the retrieved preview.
Hoffert further teaches determining that the first content item is an episode of a season of a series that comprises a plurality of episodes (i.e. the plurality of sequences of media items optionally include a sequence of episodic media items (e.g., episodes of a television show) in episode order; para. [0082]); determining a first episode number of the given episode; retrieving a preview of a second episode of the season of the series having a second episode number that sequentially follows the first episode number; and presenting, in the given tile for the content item in the first presentation arrangement, the retrieved preview (i.e. the sequences of media items are optionally represented by tiles that include a visual representation of corresponding media items (e.g., as shown in FIG. 5A); para. [0081]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Sakamoto and Wall to include the feature of Hoffert. One would have been motivated to make this modification because automatically playing or stopping the playback of the video allows the electronic device to control such playback without specific user input to do so, which enhances the operability of the device and makes the user-device interface more efficient (e.g., by requiring fewer user input to control the playback of the video), which, additionally, reduces power usage and improves battery life of the device by enabling the user to use the device more quickly and efficiently.
However, Jain teaches comprising: determining that the first content item is a series that comprises a plurality of episodes; determining that the user has viewed the series; retrieving a preview the series having a second number that sequentially follows the first number; and presenting, in the given tile for the content item in the first presentation arrangement, the retrieved preview (i.e. figs. 4-6, when more than one notification is stored in memory, permanently dismissing a first notification (e.g., the notification 302) may reveal or cause to be displayed a second notification (e.g., a notification 404). In some embodiments, notifications may each be displayed on substantially all of the touchscreen display 102, and the processor of the computing device 100 may be configured to cause each notification to behave as if the notifications were a series of stacked images; para. [0027-0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Sakamoto, Wall, and Hoffert to include the feature of Jain. One would have been motivated to make this modification because it provides an intuitive way for navigating unread contents on a device.
11. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wall in view of Hoffert in view of Sakamoto and further in view of Orchard et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. US 20180292960 A1).
Claim 11: Wall, Hoffert, and Sakamoto teach the method of claim 2. Wall does not explicitly teach comprising: receiving a user input to navigate through content items on a graphical user interface; scrolling the content items based on the received user input to reveal a second content item; determining that a particular tile corresponding to the second content item has been brought into focus on a specified scroll position in the graphical user interface; and generating a haptic feedback response on a client device on which the graphical user interface is presented indicating that the particular tile corresponding to the second content item has been brought into focus.
However, Hoffert further teaches comprising: receiving a user input to navigate through content items on a graphical user interface; scrolling the content items based on the received user input to reveal a second content item; determining that a particular tile corresponding to the second content item has been brought into focus on a specified scroll position in the graphical user interface (i.e. In response to detecting the movement 518 of contact 514 in FIG. 5E, the device moves Media Item A from a central region of touchscreen 400 and displays Media Item B (an adjacent media item from the sequence of media items that includes Media Item A) in the central region of touchscreen 400, as shown in FIGS. 5F-5G; para. [0073]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Sakamoto and Wall to include the feature of Hoffert. One would have been motivated to make this modification because automatically playing or stopping the playback of the video allows the electronic device to control such playback without specific user input to do so, which enhances the operability of the device and makes the user-device interface more efficient (e.g., by requiring fewer user input to control the playback of the video), which, additionally, reduces power usage and improves battery life of the device by enabling the user to use the device more quickly and efficiently.
However, Orchard teaches generating a haptic feedback response on a client device on which the graphical user interface is presented indicating that the particular corresponding to the second content item has been brought into focus (i.e. FIG. 2C, the new emphasised content item is content item 200B. In addition to highlighting the emphasised content item 200B, the device 100 may also provide haptic feedback to the user to indicate that a new content item has been highlighted by scrolling; para. [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Sakamoto, Wall, and Hoffert to include the feature of Orchard. One would have been motivated to make this modification because it provides visual and/or haptic feedback that makes manipulation of user interface objects more efficient and intuitive for a user.
12. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wall in view of Hoffert in view of Sakamoto and further in view of Tseng (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. US 20150058758 A1).
Claim 12: Wall, Hoffert, and Sakamoto teach the method of claim 2. Wall does not explicitly teach determining that the given tile is configured to include a maximum number of avatars representing friends of the user; and selecting a first avatar from first and second avatars to be included in the maximum number of avatars representing the friends of the user in response to determining that a more recent interaction of the first friend with a particular content item than a second friend.
However, Tseng teaches selecting a first avatar from first and second avatars to be included in the avatars representing the friends of the user (i.e. fig. 3, programming guide entry 320. As a specific example, consider the example programming guide entry 320b of FIG. 3. In this example, the media content of programming guide entry 320b is a TV show called "Easy Street." Social-networking system 160 may query social graph 200 and determine that twenty six of the user's friends have "liked" the TV show "Easy Street." Social content 340a of programming guide entry 320b, which reads "FRIEND A and 25 other friends like this show" may then be generated and displayed proximate to media content image 330b for "Easy Street."; para. [0052]) in response to determining that a more recent interaction of the first friend with a particular content item than a second friend (i.e. fig. 3, facepile 340c may include, for example, images, icons, or avatars of other users (e.g., friends) of social-networking system 160 who have liked the media content of programming guide entry 320, as determined using social graph 200; para. [0052]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Sakamoto, Wall, and Hoffert to include the feature of Tseng. One would have been motivated to make this modification because it provides an enhanced user experience by providing information about the selected show, social information related to the selected show, and user-selectable options to, for example, watch the particular show, rate or like the particular show, or chat with others about the show.
13. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wall in view of Hoffert in view of Sakamoto and further in view of Lindholm et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. US 20200301575 A1).
Claim 13: Wall, Hoffert, and Sakamoto teach the method of claim 2. Wall does not explicitly teach selecting, to present a preview of the particular content item, between an episode preview clip and a series preview clip.
Sakamoto further teaches comprising selecting, to present the particular content item, between an episode and a series (i.e. Sometimes a user may encounter (and the user's cell phone may sample) a program seen before--such as a particular episode of a series, such as Friends or House. A software application on the cell phone that identifies the program may summon, from the Program Directory Database or elsewhere, a listing of all episodes in the sampled series, and present the listing (with program synopses) to the user; para. [0180]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Wall and Hoffert to include the feature of Sakamoto. One would have been motivated to make this modification because it enhances the overall system’s functionality, offering a more refined and user-friendly way to display and interact with various content items.
Hoffert further teaches selecting, to present a preview of the particular content item, between an episode preview clip and a series preview clip (i.e. The visual representation optionally includes one or more of: cover art or album art, a recent video still, a relevant or identifying video still (like a still from the episode that uniquely identifies it amongst episodes in the show or season); para. [0081]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Sakamoto and Wall to include the feature of Hoffert. One would have been motivated to make this modification because automatically playing or stopping the playback of the video allows the electronic device to control such playback without specific user input to do so, which enhances the operability of the device and makes the user-device interface more efficient (e.g., by requiring fewer user input to control the playback of the video), which, additionally, reduces power usage and improves battery life of the device by enabling the user to use the device more quickly and efficiently.
However, Lindholm teaches selecting, to present a preview of the particular content item, between an episode preview clip and a series preview clip (i.e. item C is a television series. In some embodiments, pagination marker 1216 is updated to reflect that the third item in the set of preview-able items is now being displayed. As shown in FIG. 12H, even though item C is a television series and the user interface is providing a preview of the television series, the system is able to determine the most appropriate episode to play based on the user's viewing history and the selectable option dynamically updates to reflect this. For example, in the embodiment shown in FIG. 12H, the user has already watched item C up to season 2 episode 4. Thus, the system provides the user with a quick way of accessing the next episode and selectable option 1220 is selectable to play the next episode; para. [0398]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Sakamoto, Wall, and Hoffert to include the feature of Lindholm. One would have been motivated to make this modification because it enhances the user's interactions with the device improves the user's experience with the device and decreases user interaction time
14. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wall in view of Hoffert in view of Sakamoto and further in view of Babenko et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. US 20160042249 A1).
Claim 14: Wall, Hoffert, and Sakamoto teach the method of claim 2. Wall does not explicitly teach presenting content items in the first presentation arrangement in a graphical user interface independent of a number of available content items in the first presentation arrangement; and determining whether to present content in a second presentation arrangement of the plurality of presentation arrangements based on a number of content items available in the second presentation arrangement.
However, Babenko teaches presenting content items in the first presentation arrangement in a graphical user interface independent of a number of available content items in the first presentation arrangement; and determining whether to present content in a second presentation arrangement of the plurality of presentation arrangements based on a number of content items available in the second presentation arrangement (i.e. fig. 4, different image layouts may be available based on the number of images associated with an event and/or based on the scores of all of the images associated with an event. For example, where several images are associated with scores greater than a threshold value, each of the images can be displayed, depending on the client device in use, a limited number of the images greater than the threshold can be displayed. For example, a smartphone can limit the displayed images to three, whereas a tablet computer having a larger screen can allow for five images to be displayed; para. [0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Sakamoto, Wall, and Hoffert to include the feature of Babenko. One would have been motivated to make this modification because it allows users to more easily navigate and manage their image (or other content item) library.
15. Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wall in view of Hoffert in view of Sakamoto and further in view of Jain et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. US 10310699 B1).
Claim 15: Wall, Hoffert, and Sakamoto teach the method of claim 2. Wall does not explicitly teach presenting content items in the first presentation arrangement in a graphical user interface at a dedicated position in the graphical user interface among other presentation arrangements; and dynamically positioning, based on a user profile, a second presentation arrangement of the plurality of presentation arrangements relative to the first presentation arrangement and a third presentation arrangement of the plurality of presentation arrangements.
Sakamoto further teaches presenting content items in the first presentation arrangement in a graphical user interface at a dedicated position in the graphical user interface among other presentation arrangements; and dynamically positioning, a second presentation arrangement of the plurality of presentation arrangements relative to the first presentation arrangement and a third presentation arrangement of the plurality of presentation arrangements (i.e. FIG. 7 illustrates an example of a user interface for an implementation of a software application utilizing a content integration development framework. The User Interface 700 has an Embedded Player 702 for the selected Audio-Video Content 704 and the selected Audio-Video Content 704 is displayed with a Pivot 706 display type in the Related Content Section 708. The Pivot 706 display type is chosen by a partner with a display template, and Pivots A-C 710 and Related Partner Content Pivot D 712 are displayed on the user interface in accordance with the display template; para. [0102]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Wall and Hoffert to include the feature of Sakamoto. One would have been motivated to make this modification because it enhances the overall system’s functionality, offering a more refined and user-friendly way to display and interact with various content items.
However, Jain teaches presenting content items in the first presentation arrangement in a graphical user interface at a dedicated position in the graphical user interface among other presentation arrangements; and dynamically positioning, based on a user profile, a second presentation arrangement of the plurality of presentation arrangements relative to the first presentation arrangement and a third presentation arrangement of the plurality of presentation arrangements (i.e. fig. 3, the layout of the page elements has been modified. Aggregated user preference data can indicate a preference for navigation options 305 in an upper page portion, and accordingly in the modified layout the navigation options 305 are positioned horizontally along the top of the page rather than in the original vertical configuration along the left side of the page. Aggregated user preference data can indicate a preference for advertisements 315 positioned after primary content on a page, and accordingly in the modified layout the primary text content 310 and audio content 320 are positioned below the navigation options 305 and above the advertisements 315; col. 11, lines 30-59).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Sakamoto, Wall, and Hoffert to include the feature of Jain. One would have been motivated to make this modification because the determined modified content layouts and browser configurations are based on user preferences for such modified presentations, users may wish to improve the organization of their pages or the features included in the browser for users visiting their pages in order to gain a competitive advantage, receive greater traffic, and thereby increase their sales and/or advertising revenue.
16. Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wall in view of Hoffert in view of Sakamoto and further in view of Ghadiyali et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. US 20170212664 A1).
Claim 16: Wall, Hoffert, and Sakamoto teach the method of claim 2. Wall does not explicitly teach wherein the first presentation arrangement indicates reactions from friends information for each of the content items presented in the first presentation arrangement; and wherein a second presentation arrangement excludes the reactions from friends.
However, Ghadiyali teaches wherein the first presentation arrangement indicates reactions from friends information for each of the content items presented in the first presentation arrangement; and wherein a second presentation arrangement excludes the reactions from friends (i.e. fig. 3, The content items posted on the page can include a photo, a video, a link, or an advertisement. Other users can post content 325 to the page as well using their corresponding user profile, and can interact with content items posted on the page. Interactions with a content item are displayed along with the posted content item 330; para. [0047]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Sakamoto, Wall, and Hoffert to include the feature of Ghadiyali. One would have been motivated to make this modification because it provides an intuitive user interface for presenting content in reaction to content generation in an online system, such as a social networking system.
17. Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wall in view of Hoffert in view of Sakamoto and further in view of Shaw et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. US 20160227291 A1).
Claim 17: Wall, Hoffert, and Sakamoto teach the method of claim 2. Wall does not explicitly teach ordering the plurality of tiles presented in the first presentation arrangement based on a user profile.
However, Shaw teaches ordering the plurality of tiles presented in the first presentation arrangement based on a user profile (i.e. wherein content types vary and each tile has a type identifier each tile has an ordering number identifying its order in the sequence each tile has one or more of the elements shown in FIG. 6, wherein the content item of each tile is displayed in a display zone associated with the ordering number of the tile, wherein the ordering of tiles in the recommendation message is based on a user profile or user sub profile; para. [0256-0270]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Sakamoto, Wall, and Hoffert to include the feature of Shaw. One would have been motivated to make this modification because it provides an intuitive user interface for presenting relevant content to the user.
18. Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wall in view of Hoffert in view of Sakamoto and further in view of Fakhouri (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. US 20180292955 A1).
Claim 18: Wall, Hoffert, and Sakamoto teach the method of claim 2. Wall does not explicitly teach presenting, on a graphical user interface of a messaging application, a plurality of content navigation options, a first of the plurality of content navigation options including a map option, a second of the plurality of content navigation options including a chat option, a third of the plurality of content navigation options including a camera option, a fourth of the plurality of content navigation options including a community content option, and a fifth of the plurality of content navigation options including a content browsing option; receiving a user selection of the fifth of the plurality of content navigation options; and presenting the first content item according to the selected first presentation arrangement in response to receiving the user selection of the fifth of the plurality of content navigation options.
Sakamoto further teaches presenting, on a graphical user interface of a messaging application (i.e. FIG. 7 illustrates an example of a user interface for an implementation of a software application utilizing a content integration development framework. The User Interface 700 has an Embedded Player 702 for the selected Audio-Video Content 704 and the selected Audio-Video Content 704 is displayed with a Pivot 706 display type in the Related Content Section 708; para. [0102]), a plurality of content navigation options (i.e. The Embedded Player 702 may have Player Controls 716 for the user to control display of the Audio-Video Content 704. The User Interface 700 may display a Partner Logo 718, a Title 720, and Thumbnails 722 for other content. The Thumbnails 722 may be an image that allows for the display of content represented by the image on the User Interface 700. The User Interface 700 may have a Description 724 of the selected Audio-Video Content 704. The Description 724 may be provided in the metadata supplied by the partner; para. [0102]), and a fifth of the plurality of content navigation options including a content browsing option; receiving a user selection of the fifth of the plurality of content navigation options; and presenting the first content item according to the selected first presentation arrangement in response to receiving the user selection of the fifth of the plurality of content navigation options (i.e. The display template may indicate how the one or more categories of related content may be displayed for further navigation of content by the user. The display template provides the partner with a great deal of flexibility in defining the navigation experience for the user with the integrated content; para. [0069]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Wall and Hoffert to include the feature of Sakamoto. One would have been motivated to make this modification because it enhances the overall system’s functionality, offering a more refined and user-friendly way to display and interact with various content items.
However, Fakhouri teaches presenting, on a graphical user interface of a messaging application (i.e. FIGS. 2A, 2B, 2C, and 2D illustrate exemplary GUIs for a Rekindle application, where each GUI shows various possible GUI interactions a user may engage in, in accordance with an embodiment of the invention; para. [0102]), a plurality of content navigation options, a first of the plurality of content navigation options including a map option (i.e. within mapping 274 a user may then be shown menu options 276. Menu items within 276 may allow the user to search in a predefined geographic radius leveraging a GPS-based geographical navigation platform within the social network application to see if friends or family are in town or close by; para. [0102]), a second of the plurality of content navigation options including a chat option, a third of the plurality of content navigation options including a camera option, a fourth of the plurality of content navigation options including a community content option, and a fifth of the plurality of content navigation options including a content browsing option; receiving a user selection of the fifth of the plurality of content navigation options; and presenting the first content item according to the selected first presentation arrangement in response to receiving the user selection of the fifth of the plurality of content navigation options (i.e. a button for call history list and tracking, a button chat/text history list and tracking, a button existing contacts, a button for notifications, a button to invite other contacts, a button for Favorite list (i.e. view, add, or manage), a button for Favorite Rekindle concept or act, a button for shopping cart, a button for promotions and marketing incentive, a button for account setting, a button to show suggested Shoppable videos or images, a button for images and video, a button for video facing call; para. [0102]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Sakamoto, Wall, and Hoffert to include the feature of Fakhouri. One would have been motivated to make this modification because it provides an intuitive user interface for presenting relevant content to the user.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
It is noted that any citation to specific pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 U.S.P.Q. 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 U.S.P.Q. 275, 277 (C.C.P.A. 1968)).
/TAN H TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2141