DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07 February 2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claim 1:
-replace “a nozzle plate” in the last line with --the nozzle plate--
In Claim 8:
-replace “a nozzle plate” in the last line with --the nozzle plate--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Craft et al (US 9,855,566).
Regarding claim 1, Craft et al disclose a method for improving adhesion of a nozzle plate to a flow feature layer of a fluid ejection head (Figures 9 and 10) comprising: providing a silicon substrate (12) having a device surface containing at least one array of fluid ejectors (14) thereon; spin-coating a photoresist material (40) onto the device surface of the silicon substrate (12); exposing the photoresist material (40) to actinic radiation through a mask (56) to provide the flow feature layer, wherein the mask (56) contains opaque areas (60) defining a plurality of fluid flow channels (20) and fluid chambers (22) in the photoresist material and masked areas adjacent to the plurality of fluid flow channels and fluid chambers, wherein the opaque geometric particles are effective to provide a roughened surface area in the masked areas adjacent to the plurality of fluid flow channels (20) and fluid chambers (22) for increased adhesion between the roughened surface area of the photoresist material and a nozzle plate (50) attached to the flow feature layer (Figures 9 and 10; column 6, lines 20-39).
Craft et al disclose the claimed invention except for reciting the mask used in the masked areas adjacent to the plurality of fluid flow channels and fluid chambers contains a plurality of opaque geometric particles having a size ranging from about 1 to about 5 microns. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a plurality of opaque geometric particles having a size ranging from about 1 to about 5 microns, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235. One would have been motivated to optimize a plurality of opaque geometric particles having a size ranging from about 1 to about 5 microns in order to obtain a better adhesion stability.
Regarding claim 2, Craft et al disclose the claimed invention except for reciting wherein the opaque geometric particles have a density in the mask that decreases an intensity of the actinic radiation by about 20 to about 50%. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the opaque geometric particles have a density in the mask that decreases an intensity of the actinic radiation by about 20 to about 50%, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235. One would have been motivated to optimize the opaque geometric particles have a density in the mask that decreases an intensity of the actinic radiation by about 20 to about 50% in order to obtain a better adhesion stability.
Regarding claim 3, Craft et al further disclose the opaque geometric particles cause concavities to be developed in the photoresist material that provide the roughened surface area adjacent to the plurality of fluid flow channels and fluid chambers (Figures 9 and 10; column 6, lines 20-39).
Regarding claim 4, Craft et al further disclose the opaque geometric particles cause geometric patterns selected from the group consisting of circles, triangles, rectangles, zig-zag lines, crosses, straight lines and spaces, dots, and combinations of two or more of the foregoing to be developed in the photoresist material to provide the roughened surface area of the flow feature layer (Figures 9 and 10).
Regarding claim 5, Craft et al further disclose wherein the photoresist material comprises a negative photoresist material (column 2, lines 41-49).
Regarding claim 6, Craft et al disclose the claimed invention except for reciting wherein the opaque geometric particles comprise chrome particles. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use Y, since it has been held to be within the ordinary skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). One would have been motivated to use chrome particles for the purpose of obtaining exceptional surface durability and wear resistance.
Regarding claim 7, Craft et al disclose the claimed invention except for reciting wherein the opaque geometric particles in the mask have a particle density ranging from about 1.2% to about 55% of a total area of the mask. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a particle density ranging from about 1.2% to about 55% of a total area of the mask, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235. One would have been motivated to optimize a particle density ranging from about 1.2% to about 55% of a total area of the mask in order to obtain a better adhesion stability.
Regarding claim 8, Craft et al disclose a method for making a fluid jet ejection head (Figures 9 and 10) comprising: providing a silicon substrate (12) having a device surface containing at least one array of fluid ejectors (14) thereon; laminating or spin-coating a photoresist material (40) onto the device surface of the silicon substrate; exposing the photoresist material (40) to actinic radiation through a mask (56) to provide a flow feature layer, wherein the mask contains opaque areas (60) defining a plurality of fluid flow channels (20) and fluid chambers (22) in the photoresist material and masked areas adjacent to the plurality of fluid flow channels (20) and fluid chambers (22), wherein the opaque geometric particles are effective to provide a roughened surface area in the masked areas adjacent to the plurality of fluid flow channels and fluid chambers for increased adhesion between a developed surface of the photoresist material and a nozzle plate (50) attached to the roughened surface area of the flow feature layer; etching a fluid supply via in the silicon substrate (column 3, lines 55-67); developing the photoresist material (40) to provide the plurality of fluid flow channels (20) and fluid chambers (22) therein and the roughened surface area that provides improved surface adhesion characteristics (column 5, lines 8-24); and attaching a nozzle plate (50) to the roughened surface area of the flow feature layer (Figures 9 and 10; column 6, lines 20-39).
Craft et al disclose the claimed invention except for reciting the mask used in the masked areas adjacent to the plurality of fluid flow channels and fluid chambers contains a plurality of opaque geometric particles having a size ranging from about 1 to about 5 microns. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a plurality of opaque geometric particles having a size ranging from about 1 to about 5 microns, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235. One would have been motivated to optimize a plurality of opaque geometric particles having a size ranging from about 1 to about 5 microns in order to obtain a better adhesion stability.
Regarding claim 9, Craft et al disclose the claimed invention except for reciting wherein the opaque geometric particles have a density in the mask that decreases an intensity of the actinic radiation by about 20 to about 50%. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the opaque geometric particles have a density in the mask that decreases an intensity of the actinic radiation by about 20 to about 50%, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235. One would have been motivated to optimize the opaque geometric particles have a density in the mask that decreases an intensity of the actinic radiation by about 20 to about 50% in order to obtain a better adhesion stability.
Regarding claim 10, Craft et al further disclose the opaque geometric particles cause concavities to be developed in the photoresist material that provide the roughened surface area adjacent to the plurality of fluid flow channels and fluid chambers (Figures 9 and 10; column 6, lines 20-39).
Regarding claim 11, Craft et al further disclose the opaque geometric particles cause geometric patterns selected from the group consisting of circles, triangles, rectangles, zig-zag lines, crosses, straight lines and spaces, dots, and combinations of two or more of the foregoing to be developed in the photoresist material to provide the roughened surface area of the flow feature layer (Figures 9 and 10).
Regarding claim 12, Craft et al further disclose wherein the photoresist material comprises a negative photoresist material (column 2, lines 41-49).
Regarding claim 13, Craft et al further disclose wherein the nozzle plate (50) is laminated to the surface of the flow feature layer in the absence of oxygen plasma treatment of roughened surface area of the flow feature layer (Figure 8; column 6, lines 9-19).
Regarding claim 14, Craft et al further disclose wherein the nozzle plate is laminated to the surface of the flow feature layer in the absence of silane coating the roughened surface area of the flow feature (Figure 8; column 6, lines 9-19).
Regarding claim 15, Craft et al disclose the claimed invention except for reciting wherein the opaque geometric particles comprise chrome particles. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use Y, since it has been held to be within the ordinary skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). One would have been motivated to use chrome particles for the purpose of obtaining exceptional surface durability and wear resistance.
Regarding claim 16, Craft et al disclose the claimed invention except for reciting wherein the opaque geometric particles in the mask have a particle density ranging from about 1.2% to about 55% of a total area of the mask. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a particle density ranging from about 1.2% to about 55% of a total area of the mask, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235. One would have been motivated to optimize a particle density ranging from about 1.2% to about 55% of a total area of the mask in order to obtain a better adhesion stability.
Contact Information
/AN H DO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853