DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-22 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/07/2024, 03/14/2024 and 09/22/2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-22 of this application is patentably indistinct from claims 1-4, 8-12, 14-21 of Application No. 18/435617. Pursuant to 37 CFR 1.78(f), when two or more applications filed by the same applicant or assignee contain patentably indistinct claims, elimination of such claims from all but one application may be required in the absence of good and sufficient reason for their retention during pendency in more than one application. Applicant is required to either cancel the patentably indistinct claims from all but one application or maintain a clear line of demarcation between the applications. See MPEP § 822.
Pending Application
Co-pending Application 18/435617
Claim 1. A terminal apparatus, comprising:
one or more processors; and
one or more memories that store a computer-readable instruction for causing, when executed by the one or more processors, the one or more processors to function as:
an obtaining unit configured to obtain, from a first base station apparatus that belongs to a first communication system that uses a first frequency band, setting information indicating setting of measurement in a second frequency band that is different from the first frequency band and is used for a second communication system,
a measurement unit configured to perform measurement of a predetermined signal transmitted from a second base station apparatus that belongs to the second communication system, based on the setting information,
a notification unit configured to notify the first base station apparatus of a result of the measurement, and
a communication unit configured to communicate with the first base station apparatus in accordance with scheduling performed by the first base station apparatus based on the result of the measurement.
Claim 1. A terminal apparatus that belongs to a first communication system that uses a first frequency band, comprising:
one or more processors; and
one or more memories that store a computer-readable instruction for causing, when executed by the one or more processors, the one or more processors to function as:
an obtaining unit configured to obtain, from a base station apparatus that belongs to the first communication system, setting information indicating setting of measurement in a second frequency band that is different from the first frequency band and is used for a second communication system that is different from the first communication system,
a measurement unit configure to perform measurement of a predetermined signal transmitted from another terminal apparatus that belongs to the second communication system, based on the setting information,
a notification unit configured to notify the base station apparatus of a result of the measurement, and
a communication unit configured to communicate with the base station apparatus in accordance with scheduling performed by the base station apparatus based on the result of the measurement.
Claim 2. The terminal apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the obtaining unit obtains the setting information from an information element in a radio resource control (RRC) message for when the terminal apparatus is connected to the first base station apparatus.
Claim 2. The terminal apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the obtaining unit obtains the setting information from a radio resource control (RRC) message transmitted from the base station apparatus.
Claim 3. The terminal apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the information element includes at least one of MeasObjectNR, MeasObjectCLI, and MeasReport.
Claim 2. The terminal apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the obtaining unit obtains the setting information from a radio resource control (RRC) message transmitted from the base station apparatus.
Claim 4. The terminal apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the setting information includes at least one of information indicating the second frequency band, information indicating a predetermined frequency that is a measurement target in the second frequency band, information indicating a bandwidth of the second frequency band, and information for specifying the predetermined signal.
Claim 3. The terminal apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the setting information includes at least one of information indicating a frequency at which the predetermined signal is transmitted and information indicating a timing when the predetermined signal is transmitted.
Claim 5. The terminal apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the predetermined signal is a signal set to be periodically transmitted from the second base station apparatus using predetermined frequency resources and time resources.
Claim 3. The terminal apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the setting information includes at least one of information indicating a frequency at which the predetermined signal is transmitted and information indicating a timing when the predetermined signal is transmitted.
Claim 4. The terminal apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the communication unit is further configured to transmit a second predetermined signal in the first frequency band, for measurement that is performed by another terminal apparatus that belongs to a wireless communication system different from the first communication system.
Claim 6. The terminal apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the predetermined signal includes a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (SSB) or a non cell-defined (NCD)-SSB.
Claim 1. … a predetermined signal transmitted from another terminal apparatus that belongs to the second communication system.
Claim 7. The terminal apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the obtaining unit further obtains information indicating a condition for notifying the first base station apparatus of the result of the measurement, and the notification unit notifies the first base station apparatus of the result of the measurement when the condition is satisfied.
Claim 8. The terminal apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the obtaining unit further obtains information indicating a condition for notifying the base station apparatus of the result of the measurement, and the notification unit notifies the base station apparatus of the result of the measurement when the condition is satisfied.
Claim 8. The terminal apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the condition includes the predetermined signal having been detected with predetermined power or lower.
Claim 9. The terminal apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the condition includes the predetermined signal having been detected with predetermined power or higher.
Claim 9. The terminal apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the notification unit notifies the first base station apparatus of at least one of information indicating receiving power of the predetermined signal and information regarding a frequency related to the predetermined signal, as the result of the measurement.
Claim 10. The terminal apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the notification unit notifies the base station apparatus of at least one of information indicating receiving power of the predetermined signal and information regarding a frequency related to the predetermined signal, as the result of the measurement.
Claim 10. A base station apparatus that belongs to a first communication system that uses a first frequency band, comprising:
one or more processors; and
one or more memories that store a computer-readable instruction for causing, when executed by the one or more processors, the one or more processors to function as:
a notification unit configured to notify a terminal apparatus of setting information indicating setting of measurement in a second frequency band that is different from the first frequency band and is used for a second communication system,
a receiving unit configured to receive a result of measurement on a predetermined signal transmitted from another base station apparatus that belongs to the second communication system, the measurement having been performed by the terminal apparatus based on the setting information, and
a scheduling unit configured to determine, based on the result of the measurement, whether or not to allow the terminal apparatus to transmit a signal using predetermined time resources and predetermined frequency resources included in the first frequency band, and perform scheduling of communication with the terminal apparatus based on the determination.
Claim 11. A base station apparatus that belongs to a first communication system that uses a first frequency band, comprising:
one or more processors; and
one or more memories that store a computer-readable instruction for causing, when executed by the one or more processors, the one or more processors to function as:
a notification unit configured to notify a first terminal apparatus, which belongs to the first communication system, of setting information indicating setting of measurement in a second frequency band that is different from the first frequency band and is used for a second communication system,
a receiving unit configured to receive a result of measurement on a predetermined signal transmitted from a second terminal apparatus that belongs to the second communication system, the measurement having been performed by the first terminal apparatus based on the setting information, and
a scheduling unit configured to perform, based on the result of the measurement, determination of whether or not to allow the first terminal apparatus to transmit a signal using predetermined time resources and predetermined frequency resources included in the first frequency band, and perform scheduling of communication with the first terminal apparatus based on the determination.
Claim 11. The base station apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the notification unit performs notification of the setting information using an information element in a radio resource control (RRC) message for when the terminal apparatus is connected to the base station apparatus.
Claim 12. The base station apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the notification unit performs notification of the setting information using a radio resource control (RRC) message for when the first terminal apparatus is connected to the base station apparatus.
Claim 12. The base station apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the information element includes at least one of MeasObjectNR, MeasObjectCLI, and MeasReport.
Claim 12. The base station apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the notification unit performs notification of the setting information using a radio resource control (RRC) message for when the first terminal apparatus is connected to the base station apparatus.
Claim 13. The base station apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the setting information includes at least one of information indicating the second frequency band, information indicating a predetermined frequency that is a measurement target in the second frequency band, information indicating a bandwidth of the second frequency band, and information for specifying the predetermined signal.
Claim 14. The base station apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the setting information includes at least one of information indicating a frequency at which the predetermined signal is transmitted, and information indicating a timing when the predetermined signal is transmitted.
Claim 14. The base station apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the predetermined signal is a signal set to be periodically transmitted from another base station apparatus that belongs to the second communication system, using predetermined frequency resources and time resources.
Claim 3. The terminal apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the setting information includes at least one of information indicating a frequency at which the predetermined signal is transmitted and information indicating a timing when the predetermined signal is transmitted.
Claim 4. The terminal apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the communication unit is further configured to transmit a second predetermined signal in the first frequency band, for measurement that is performed by another terminal apparatus that belongs to a wireless communication system different from the first communication system.
Claim 15. The base station apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the predetermined signal includes a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (SSB) or a non cell-defined (NCD)-SSB.
Claim 11. … a predetermined signal transmitted from a second terminal apparatus that belongs to the second communication system.
Claim 16. The base station apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the notification unit further performs notification of information indicating a condition for the terminal apparatus to notify the base station apparatus of the result of the measurement.
Claim 15. The base station apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the notification unit further performs notification of information indicating a condition for the first terminal apparatus to perform notification of the result of the measurement.
Claim 17. The base station apparatus according to claim 16, wherein the condition includes the predetermined signal having been detected with predetermined power or lower.
Claim 16. The base station apparatus according to claim 15, wherein the condition includes the predetermined signal having been detected with predetermined power or lower.
Claim 18. The base station apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the result of the measurement includes at least one of information indicating receiving power of the predetermined signal and information regarding a frequency related to the predetermined signal.
Claim 17. The base station apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the result of the measurement includes at least one of information indicating receiving power of the predetermined signal and information regarding a frequency related to the predetermined signal.
Claim 19. A control method that is executed by a terminal apparatus, comprising:
obtaining, from a first base station apparatus that belongs to a first communication system that uses a first frequency band, setting information indicating setting of measurement in a second frequency band that is different from the first frequency band and is used for a second communication system;
performing measurement of a predetermined signal transmitted from a second base station apparatus that belongs to the second communication system, based on the setting information;
notifying the first base station apparatus of a result of the measurement; and communicating with the first base station apparatus in accordance with scheduling performed by the first base station apparatus based on the result of the measurement.
Claim 18. A control method that is executed by a terminal apparatus that belongs to a first communication system that uses a first frequency band, comprising:
obtaining, from a base station apparatus that belongs to the first communication system, setting information indicating setting of measurement in a second frequency band that is different from the first frequency band and is used for a second communication system that is different from the first communication system;
performing measurement of a predetermined signal transmitted from another base station apparatus that belongs to the second communication system, based on the setting information;
notifying the base station apparatus of a result of the measurement; and communicating with the base station apparatus in accordance with scheduling performed by the base station apparatus based on the result of the measurement.
Claim 20. A control method that is executed by a base station apparatus that belongs to a first communication system that uses a first frequency band, comprising:
notifying a terminal apparatus of setting information indicating setting of measurement in a second frequency band that is different from the first frequency band and is used for a second communication system;
receiving a result of measurement on a predetermined signal transmitted from another base station apparatus that belongs to the second communication system, the measurement having been performed by the terminal apparatus based on the setting information; and
determining, based on the result of the measurement, whether or not to allow the terminal apparatus to transmit a signal using predetermined time resources and predetermined frequency resources included in the first frequency band, and performing scheduling of communication with the terminal apparatus based on the determination.
Claim 19. A control method that is executed by a base station apparatus that belongs to a first communication system that uses a first frequency band, comprising:
notifying a first terminal apparatus that belongs to the first communication system of setting information indicating setting of measurement in a second frequency band that is different from the first frequency band and is used for a second communication system;
receiving a result of measurement on a predetermined signal transmitted from a second terminal apparatus that belongs to the second communication system, the measurement having been performed by the first terminal apparatus based on the setting information; and
determining, based on the measurement result, whether or not to allow the first terminal apparatus to transmit a signal using predetermined time resources and predetermined frequency resources included in the first frequency band, and performing scheduling of communication with the first terminal apparatus based on the determination.
Claim 21. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium that stores a program for causing a computer included in a terminal apparatus to execute a control method, wherein the control method comprises:
obtaining, from a first base station apparatus that belongs to a first communication system that uses a first frequency band, setting information indicating setting of measurement in a second frequency band that is different from the first frequency band and is used for a second communication system;
performing measurement of a predetermined signal transmitted from a second base station apparatus that belongs to the second communication system, based on the setting information;
notifying the first base station apparatus of a result of the measurement; and
communicating with the first base station apparatus in accordance with scheduling performed by the first base station apparatus based on the result of the measurement.
Claim 20. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium that stores a program for causing a computer included in a terminal apparatus that belongs to a first communication system that uses a first frequency band to execute a control method, wherein the control method comprises:
obtaining, from a base station apparatus that belongs to the first communication system, setting information indicating setting of measurement in a second frequency band that is different from the first frequency band and is used for a second communication system that is different from the first communication system;
performing measurement of a predetermined signal transmitted from another base station apparatus that belongs to the second communication system, based on the setting information;
notifying the base station apparatus of a result of the measurement; and
communicating with the base station apparatus in accordance with scheduling performed by the base station apparatus based on the result of the measurement.
Claim 22. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium that stores a program for causing a computer included in a base station apparatus that belongs to a first communication system that uses a first frequency band to execute a control method, wherein the control method comprises:
notifying a terminal apparatus of setting information indicating setting of measurement in a second frequency band that is different from the first frequency band and is used for a second communication system;
receiving a result of measurement on a predetermined signal transmitted from another base station apparatus that belongs to the second communication system, the measurement having been performed by the terminal apparatus based on the setting information; and
determining, based on the result of the measurement, whether or not to allow the terminal apparatus to transmit a signal using predetermined time resources and predetermined frequency resources included in the first frequency band, and performing scheduling of communication with the terminal apparatus based on the determination.
Claim 21. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium that stores a program for causing a computer included in a base station apparatus that belongs to a first communication system that uses a first frequency band to execute a control method, wherein the control method comprises:
notifying a first terminal apparatus that belongs to the first communication system of setting information indicating setting of measurement in a second frequency band that is different from the first frequency band and is used for a second communication system;
receiving a result of measurement on a predetermined signal transmitted from a second terminal apparatus that belongs to the second communication system, the measurement having been performed by the first terminal apparatus based on the setting information; and
determining, based on the measurement result, whether or not to allow the first terminal apparatus to transmit a signal using predetermined time resources and predetermined frequency resources included in the first frequency band, and performing scheduling of communication with the first terminal apparatus based on the determination.
Rationales:
The subject matter claimed in the pending application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the application are claiming common subject matter. There are differences between the claims depicted in the bolded words and the underlined words. Pertaining the difference depicted in the bolded words, it appears to be using different wording but meaning is the same. It is therefore deemed obvious to those skilled in the art of claim drafting to draft claim in a later-filed patent application using different wording but same meaning from reading claims in an early-filed patent application issued into a patent. A reason for doing so is to seek a well-rounded protection for a disclose invention. Moreover and pertaining the difference depicted in the underlined words, it appears to be broadening claim by omitting limitations. Nevertheless, it has been held that the omission of an element and its function is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before. In re Karlson, 186 USPQ 184(CCPA). Also note Ex Parte Rainu, 168 USPQ 375 (Bd. App. 1969); omission of a reference whose function is not needed would be an obvious variation.
Claim Interpretation
The claims 1-2, 7, 9-11 and 16 in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an obtaining unit”, :a measurement unit”, “a notification unit”, “a communication unit”, “a receiving unit” and “ a scheduling unit” in claims 1-2, 7, 9-11 and 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-10 and 13-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cao et al. (US 20240243821, Cao hereinafter).
As to claim 1: Cao discloses a terminal apparatus, comprising:
one or more processors (see at least Fig. 3, processor); and
one or more memories (see at least Fig. 3, memory) that store a computer-readable instruction for causing, when executed by the one or more processors, the one or more processors to function as:
an obtaining unit configured to obtain, from a first base station apparatus that belongs to a first communication system that uses a first frequency band, setting information indicating setting of measurement in a second frequency band that is different from the first frequency band and is used for a second communication system (see at least paragraphs [0071]-[0085] and Figs. 7-8, the UE may obtain a reference signal configuration (interpreted as setting information) for a plurality of reference signals from a serving base station in a serving cell. The reference signal configuration(s) 708 may indicate information pertaining to reference signals 710 from the neighbor base station(s) 706. For example, reference signal configuration 708 may be or include one or more measurement objects indicating time-frequency resources, subcarrier spacing, or other information of SSBs 712, CSI-RS 714, CRS 716, or other reference signals from the neighbor base station(s) 706. different frequency bands are used (see at least paragraphs [0036]-[0037] and Fig. 1.)),
a measurement unit configured to perform measurement of a predetermined signal transmitted from a second base station apparatus that belongs to the second communication system, based on the setting information (see at least paragraphs [0071]-[0085] and Figs. 7-8, Upon receiving each of the reference signals 710 from one or more of the neighbor base station(s) 706, at block 724, the UE 702 may measure a signal strength 726 associated with each of the reference signals based on the plurality of reference signals received from each of the at least one neighbor base station based on the configuration, where each of the reference signals is obtained in a different beam, and where each of the at least one neighbor base station is in a different neighbor cell.),
a notification unit configured to notify the first base station apparatus of a result of the measurement (see at least paragraphs [0071]-[0085] and Figs. 7-8, the UE may provide a measurement report to the serving base station, where the measurement report includes beam information associated with each of the indicated one or more of the reference signals.), and
a communication unit configured to communicate with the first base station apparatus in accordance with scheduling performed by the first base station apparatus based on the result of the measurement (see at least paragraphs [0071]-[0085] and Figs. 7-8, in response to obtaining indication 734 from UE 702, the serving base station 704 may provide a grant 754 to the UE 702 modifying a time-frequency resource 756 (e.g., one or more RB(s), symbol(s), or slot(s)) for subsequent data transmissions. For instance, the grant 754 may be a PDSCH grant assigning time-frequency resources for downlink data or a PUSCH grant assigning time-frequency resources for uplink data, and the time-frequency resources may be different than the resources assigned to the UE prior to providing indication 734. Such time-frequency resources may also be mutually exclusive with other resources in which the UE 702 may receive data from neighbor base station(s) 706 in order to reduce neighbor interference from those neighbor base stations. In another example, in response to indication 734 from UE, the neighbor base station(s) may reduce a transmission power applied to subsequent data communications, or the serving base station may increase a transmission power applied to subsequent data communications, in order to reduce neighbor interference in response to indication 734 from UE 702.).
As to claim 4: Cao discloses the terminal apparatus according to claim 1. Cao further discloses wherein the setting information includes at least one of information indicating the second frequency band, information indicating a predetermined frequency that is a measurement target in the second frequency band, information indicating a bandwidth of the second frequency band, and information for specifying the predetermined signal (see at least paragraph [0074], at block 728, whether the measured signal strength for each reference signal 710 exceeds a threshold RSRP 730. If the UE determines any of the reference signals 710 received over reception beams 722 exceeds the threshold RSRP 730, the UE 702 may identify these reference signals 732 or reception beams (and corresponding transmission beams) of high signal strength as being associated with strong neighbor interference, and the UE send an indication 734 of these reference signals 732 to the serving base station 704 accordingly.).
As to claim 5: Cao discloses the terminal apparatus according to claim 1. Cao further discloses wherein the predetermined signal is a signal set to be periodically transmitted from the second base station apparatus using predetermined frequency resources and time resources (see at least paragraphs [0071]-[0085] and Figs. 7-8, the neighbor base station(s) 706 may send reference signals 710 (e.g., SSBs 712, CSI-RS 714, CRS 716, etc.) to UE 702. Each of the neighbor base station(s) 706 may send reference signals 710 to the UE 702 respectively in different transmission beams 720, and the UE may obtain the reference signals from the neighbor base station(s) respectively in different reception beams 722.).
As to claim 6: Cao discloses the terminal apparatus according to claim 1. Cao further discloses wherein the predetermined signal includes a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (SSB) or a non cell-defined (NCD)-SSB (see at least paragraphs [0071]-[0085] and Figs. 7-8, the neighbor base station(s) 706 may send reference signals 710 (e.g., SSBs 712, CSI-RS 714, CRS 716, etc.) to UE 702. Each of the neighbor base station(s) 706 may send reference signals 710 to the UE 702 respectively in different transmission beams 720, and the UE may obtain the reference signals from the neighbor base station(s) respectively in different reception beams 722.).
As to claim 7: Cao discloses the terminal apparatus according to claim 1. Cao further discloses wherein the obtaining unit further obtains information indicating a condition for notifying the first base station apparatus of the result of the measurement, and the notification unit notifies the first base station apparatus of the result of the measurement when the condition is satisfied (see at least paragraph [0074], The UE 702 may also check, at block 728, whether the measured signal strength for each reference signal 710 exceeds a threshold RSRP 730. If the UE determines any of the reference signals 710 received over reception beams 722 exceeds the threshold RSRP 730, the UE 702 may identify these reference signals 732 or reception beams (and corresponding transmission beams) of high signal strength as being associated with strong neighbor interference, and the UE send an indication 734 of these reference signals 732 to the serving base station 704 accordingly.).
As to claim 8: Cao discloses the terminal apparatus according to claim 7. Cao further discloses wherein the condition includes the predetermined signal having been detected with predetermined power or lower (see at least paragraph [0074], The UE 702 may also check, at block 728, whether the measured signal strength for each reference signal 710 exceeds a threshold RSRP 730. If the UE determines any of the reference signals 710 received over reception beams 722 exceeds the threshold RSRP 730, the UE 702 may identify these reference signals 732 or reception beams (and corresponding transmission beams) of high signal strength as being associated with strong neighbor interference, and the UE send an indication 734 of these reference signals 732 to the serving base station 704 accordingly.).
As to claim 9: Cao discloses the terminal apparatus according to claim 1. Cao further discloses wherein the notification unit notifies the first base station apparatus of at least one of information indicating receiving power of the predetermined signal and information regarding a frequency related to the predetermined signal, as the result of the measurement (see at least paragraph [0074], The UE 702 may also check, at block 728, whether the measured signal strength for each reference signal 710 exceeds a threshold RSRP 730. If the UE determines any of the reference signals 710 received over reception beams 722 exceeds the threshold RSRP 730, the UE 702 may identify these reference signals 732 or reception beams (and corresponding transmission beams) of high signal strength as being associated with strong neighbor interference, and the UE send an indication 734 of these reference signals 732 to the serving base station 704 accordingly.).
As to claim 10: Cao discloses a base station apparatus that belongs to a first communication system that uses a first frequency band, comprising:
one or more processors (see at least Fig. 3, processor); and
one or more memories (see at least Fig. 3, memory) that store a computer-readable instruction for causing, when executed by the one or more processors, the one or more processors to function as:
a notification unit configured to notify a terminal apparatus of setting information indicating setting of measurement in a second frequency band that is different from the first frequency band and is used for a second communication system (see at least paragraphs [0071]-[0085] and Figs. 7-8, the UE may obtain a reference signal configuration (interpreted as setting information) for a plurality of reference signals from a serving base station in a serving cell. The reference signal configuration(s) 708 may indicate information pertaining to reference signals 710 from the neighbor base station(s) 706. For example, reference signal configuration 708 may be or include one or more measurement objects indicating time-frequency resources, subcarrier spacing, or other information of SSBs 712, CSI-RS 714, CRS 716, or other reference signals from the neighbor base station(s) 706. different frequency bands are used (see at least paragraphs [0036]-[0037] and Fig. 1.)),
a receiving unit configured to receive a result of measurement on a predetermined signal transmitted from another base station apparatus that belongs to the second communication system, the measurement having been performed by the terminal apparatus based on the setting information (see at least paragraphs [0071]-[0085] and Figs. 7-8, the UE may provide a measurement report to the serving base station, where the measurement report includes beam information associated with each of the indicated one or more of the reference signals. The UE 702 may measure a signal strength 726 associated with each of the reference signals based on the plurality of reference signals received from each of the at least one neighbor base station based on the configuration, where each of the reference signals is obtained in a different beam, and where each of the at least one neighbor base station is in a different neighbor cell.), and
a scheduling unit configured to determine, based on the result of the measurement, whether or not to allow the terminal apparatus to transmit a signal using predetermined time resources and predetermined frequency resources included in the first frequency band, and perform scheduling of communication with the terminal apparatus based on the determination (see at least paragraphs [0077]-[0078], when coordinating with the neighbor base station(s), the serving base station may modify one or more of the transmission parameters 744 in response to the information in indication 734, and the serving base station may inform the neighbor base station(s) of the modified transmission parameters for the neighbor base station(s) to consider in subsequent communications with the UE 702. The transmission parameters 744 modified by the serving or neighbor base station(s) may include, for example, a transmission power 746, a beam direction 748, a precoding indicator 750, a slot format configuration 752, or other parameters (e.g., a time-frequency resources). In response to obtaining indication 734 from UE 702, the serving base station 704 may provide a grant 754 to the UE 702 modifying a time-frequency resource 756 (e.g., one or more RB(s), symbol(s), or slot(s)) for subsequent data transmissions.).
As to claim 13: Cao discloses the base station apparatus according to claim 10. Cao further discloses wherein the setting information includes at least one of information indicating the second frequency band, information indicating a predetermined frequency that is a measurement target in the second frequency band, information indicating a bandwidth of the second frequency band, and information for specifying the predetermined signal (see at least paragraph [0074], at block 728, whether the measured signal strength for each reference signal 710 exceeds a threshold RSRP 730. If the UE determines any of the reference signals 710 received over reception beams 722 exceeds the threshold RSRP 730, the UE 702 may identify these reference signals 732 or reception beams (and corresponding transmission beams) of high signal strength as being associated with strong neighbor interference, and the UE send an indication 734 of these reference signals 732 to the serving base station 704 accordingly.).
As to claim 14: Cao discloses the base station apparatus according to claim 10. Cao further discloses wherein the predetermined signal is a signal set to be periodically transmitted from another base station apparatus that belongs to the second communication system, using predetermined frequency resources and time resources (see at least paragraphs [0071]-[0085] and Figs. 7-8, the neighbor base station(s) 706 may send reference signals 710 (e.g., SSBs 712, CSI-RS 714, CRS 716, etc.) to UE 702. Each of the neighbor base station(s) 706 may send reference signals 710 to the UE 702 respectively in different transmission beams 720, and the UE may obtain the reference signals from the neighbor base station(s) respectively in different reception beams 722.).
As to claim 15: Cao discloses the base station apparatus according to claim 10. Cao further discloses wherein the predetermined signal includes a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (SSB) or a non cell-defined (NCD)-SSB (see at least paragraphs [0071]-[0085] and Figs. 7-8, the neighbor base station(s) 706 may send reference signals 710 (e.g., SSBs 712, CSI-RS 714, CRS 716, etc.) to UE 702. Each of the neighbor base station(s) 706 may send reference signals 710 to the UE 702 respectively in different transmission beams 720, and the UE may obtain the reference signals from the neighbor base station(s) respectively in different reception beams 722.).
As to claim 16: Cao discloses the base station apparatus according to claim 10. Cao further discloses wherein the notification unit further performs notification of information indicating a condition for the terminal apparatus to notify the base station apparatus of the result of the measurement (see at least paragraph [0074], The UE 702 may also check, at block 728, whether the measured signal strength for each reference signal 710 exceeds a threshold RSRP 730. If the UE determines any of the reference signals 710 received over reception beams 722 exceeds the threshold RSRP 730, the UE 702 may identify these reference signals 732 or reception beams (and corresponding transmission beams) of high signal strength as being associated with strong neighbor interference, and the UE send an indication 734 of these reference signals 732 to the serving base station 704 accordingly.).
As to claim 17: Cao discloses the base station apparatus according to claim 16. Cao further discloses wherein the condition includes the predetermined signal having been detected with predetermined power or lower (see at least paragraph [0074], The UE 702 may also check, at block 728, whether the measured signal strength for each reference signal 710 exceeds a threshold RSRP 730. If the UE determines any of the reference signals 710 received over reception beams 722 exceeds the threshold RSRP 730, the UE 702 may identify these reference signals 732 or reception beams (and corresponding transmission beams) of high signal strength as being associated with strong neighbor interference, and the UE send an indication 734 of these reference signals 732 to the serving base station 704 accordingly.).
As to claim 18: Cao discloses the base station apparatus according to claim 10. Cao further discloses wherein the result of the measurement includes at least one of information indicating receiving power of the predetermined signal and information regarding a frequency related to the predetermined signal (see at least paragraph [0074], The UE 702 may also check, at block 728, whether the measured signal strength for each reference signal 710 exceeds a threshold RSRP 730. If the UE determines any of the reference signals 710 received over reception beams 722 exceeds the threshold RSRP 730, the UE 702 may identify these reference signals 732 or reception beams (and corresponding transmission beams) of high signal strength as being associated with strong neighbor interference, and the UE send an indication 734 of these reference signals 732 to the serving base station 704 accordingly.).
As to claim 19: Cao discloses a control method that is executed by a terminal apparatus, comprising: obtaining, from a first base station apparatus that belongs to a first communication system that uses a first frequency band, setting information indicating setting of measurement in a second frequency band that is different from the first frequency band and is used for a second communication system (see at least paragraphs [0071]-[0085] and Figs. 7-8, the UE may obtain a reference signal configuration (interpreted as setting information) for a plurality of reference signals from a serving base station in a serving cell. The reference signal configuration(s) 708 may indicate information pertaining to reference signals 710 from the neighbor base station(s) 706. For example, reference signal configuration 708 may be or include one or more measurement objects indicating time-frequency resources, subcarrier spacing, or other information of SSBs 712, CSI-RS 714, CRS 716, or other reference signals from the neighbor base station(s) 706. different frequency bands are used (see at least paragraphs [0036]-[0037] and Fig. 1.));
performing measurement of a predetermined signal transmitted from a second base station apparatus that belongs to the second communication system, based on the setting information (see at least paragraphs [0071]-[0085] and Figs. 7-8, Upon receiving each of the reference signals 710 from one or more of the neighbor base station(s) 706, at block 724, the UE 702 may measure a signal strength 726 associated with each of the reference signals based on the plurality of reference signals received from each of the at least one neighbor base station based on the configuration, where each of the reference signals is obtained in a different beam, and where each of the at least one neighbor base station is in a different neighbor cell.);
notifying the first base station apparatus of a result of the measurement (see at least paragraphs [0071]-[0085] and Figs. 7-8, the UE may provide a measurement report to the serving base station, where the measurement report includes beam information associated with each of the indicated one or more of the reference signals.); and
communicating with the first base station apparatus in accordance with scheduling performed by the first base station apparatus based on the result of the measurement (see at least paragraphs [0071]-[0085] and Figs. 7-8, in response to obtaining indication 734 from UE 702, the serving base station 704 may provide a grant 754 to the UE 702 modifying a time-frequency resource 756 (e.g., one or more RB(s), symbol(s), or slot(s)) for subsequent data transmissions. For instance, the grant 754 may be a PDSCH grant assigning time-frequency resources for downlink data or a PUSCH grant assigning time-frequency resources for uplink data, and the time-frequency resources may be different than the resources assigned to the UE prior to providing indication 734. Such time-frequency resources may also be mutually exclusive with other resources in which the UE 702 may receive data from neighbor base station(s) 706 in order to reduce neighbor interference from those neighbor base stations. In another example, in response to indication 734 from UE, the neighbor base station(s) may reduce a transmission power applied to subsequent data communications, or the serving base station may increase a transmission power applied to subsequent data communications, in order to reduce neighbor interference in response to indication 734 from UE 702.).
As to claim 20: Cao discloses a control method that is executed by a base station apparatus that belongs to a first communication system that uses a first frequency band, comprising: notifying a terminal apparatus of setting information indicating setting of measurement in a second frequency band that is different from the first frequency band and is used for a second communication system (see at least paragraphs [0071]-[0085] and Figs. 7-8, the UE may obtain a reference signal configuration (interpreted as setting information) for a plurality of reference signals from a serving base station in a serving cell. The reference signal configuration(s) 708 may indicate information pertaining to reference signals 710 from the neighbor base station(s) 706. For example, reference signal configuration 708 may be or include one or more measurement objects indicating time-frequency resources, subcarrier spacing, or other information of SSBs 712, CSI-RS 714, CRS 716, or other reference signals from the neighbor base station(s) 706. different frequency bands are used (see at least paragraphs [0036]-[0037] and Fig. 1.));
receiving a result of measurement on a predetermined signal transmitted from another base station apparatus that belongs to the second communication system, the measurement having been performed by the terminal apparatus based on the setting information (see at least paragraphs [0071]-[0085] and Figs. 7-8, the UE may provide a measurement report to the serving base station, where the measurement report includes beam information associated with each of the indicated one or more of the reference signals. The UE 702 may measure a signal strength 726 associated with each of the reference signals based on the plurality of reference signals received from each of the at least one neighbor base station based on the configuration, where each of the reference signals is obtained in a different beam, and where each of the at least one neighbor base station is in a different neighbor cell.); and
determining, based on the result of the measurement, whether or not to allow the terminal apparatus to transmit a signal using predetermined time resources and predetermined frequency resources included in the first frequency band, and performing scheduling of communication with the terminal apparatus based on the determination (see at least paragraphs [0077]-[0078], when coordinating with the neighbor base station(s), the serving base station may modify one or more of the transmission parameters 744 in response to the information in indication 734, and the serving base station may inform the neighbor base station(s) of the modified transmission parameters for the neighbor base station(s) to consider in subsequent communications with the UE 702. The transmission parameters 744 modified by the serving or neighbor base station(s) may include, for example, a transmission power 746, a beam direction 748, a precoding indicator 750, a slot format configuration 752, or other parameters (e.g., a time-frequency resources). In response to obtaining indication 734 from UE 702, the serving base station 704 may provide a grant 754 to the UE 702 modifying a time-frequency resource 756 (e.g., one or more RB(s), symbol(s), or slot(s)) for subsequent data transmissions.).
As to claim 21: Cao discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium that stores a program for causing a computer included in a terminal apparatus to execute a control method, wherein the control method comprises:
obtaining, from a first base station apparatus that belongs to a first communication system that uses a first frequency band, setting information indicating setting of measurement in a second frequency band that is different from the first frequency band and is used for a second communication system (see at least paragraphs [0071]-[0085] and Figs. 7-8, the UE may obtain a reference signal configuration (interpreted as setting information) for a plurality of reference signals from a serving base station in a serving cell. The reference signal configuration(s) 708 may indicate information pertaining to reference signals 710 from the neighbor base station(s) 706. For example, reference signal configuration 708 may be or include one or more measurement objects indicating time-frequency resources, subcarrier spacing, or other information of SSBs 712, CSI-RS 714, CRS 716, or other reference signals from the neighbor base station(s) 706. different frequency bands are used (see at least paragraphs [0036]-[0037] and Fig. 1.));
performing measurement of a predetermined signal transmitted from a second base station apparatus that belongs to the second communication system, based on the setting information (see at least paragraphs [0071]-[0085] and Figs. 7-8, Upon receiving each of the reference signals 710 from one or more of the neighbor base station(s) 706, at block 724, the UE 702 may measure a signal strength 726 associated with each of the reference signals based on the plurality of reference signals received from each of the at least one neighbor base station based on the configuration, where each of the reference signals is obtained in a different beam, and where each of the at least one neighbor base station is in a different neighbor cell.);
notifying the first base station apparatus of a result of the measurement (see at least paragraphs [0071]-[0085] and Figs. 7-8, the UE may provide a measurement report to the serving base station, where the measurement report includes beam information associated with each of the indicated one or more of the reference signals.); and
communicating with the first base station apparatus in accordance with scheduling performed by the first base station apparatus based on the result of the measurement (see at least paragraphs [0071]-[0085] and Figs. 7-8, in response to obtaining indication 734 from UE 702, the serving base station 704 may provide a grant 754 to the UE 702 modifying a time-frequency resource 756 (e.g., one or more RB(s), symbol(s), or slot(s)) for subsequent data transmissions. For instance, the grant 754 may be a PDSCH grant assigning time-frequency resources for downlink data or a PUSCH grant assigning time-frequency resources for uplink data, and the time-frequency resources may be different than the resources assigned to the UE prior to providing indication 734. Such time-frequency resources may also be mutually exclusive with other resources in which the UE 702 may receive data from neighbor base station(s) 706 in order to reduce neighbor interference from those neighbor base stations. In another example, in response to indication 734 from UE, the neighbor base station(s) may reduce a transmission power applied to subsequent data communications, or the serving base station may increase a transmission power applied to subsequent data communications, in order to reduce neighbor interference in response to indication 734 from UE 702.).
As to claim 22: Cao discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium that stores a program for causing a computer included in a base station apparatus that belongs to a first communication system that uses a first frequency band to execute a control method, wherein the control method comprises:
notifying a terminal apparatus of setting information indicating setting of measurement in a second frequency band that is different from the first frequency band and is used for a second communication system (see at least paragraphs [0071]-[0085] and Figs. 7-8, the UE may obtain a reference signal configuration (interpreted as setting information) for a plurality of reference signals from a serving base station in a serving cell. The reference signal configuration(s) 708 may indicate information pertaining to reference signals 710 from the neighbor base station(s) 706. For example, reference signal configuration 708 may be or include one or more measurement objects indicating time-frequency resources, subcarrier spacing, or other information of SSBs 712, CSI-RS 714, CRS 716, or other reference signals from the neighbor base station(s) 706. different frequency bands are used (see at least paragraphs [0036]-[0037] and Fig. 1.));
receiving a result of measurement on a predetermined signal transmitted from another base station apparatus that belongs to the second communication system, the measurement having been performed by the terminal apparatus based on the setting information (see at least paragraphs [0071]-[0085] and Figs. 7-8, the UE may provide a measurement report to the serving base station, where the measurement report includes beam information associated with each of the indicated one or more of the reference signals. The UE 702 may measure a signal strength 726 associated with each of the reference signals based on the plurality of reference signals received from each of the at least one neighbor base station based on the configuration, where each of the reference signals is obtained in a different beam, and where each of the at least one neighbor base station is in a different neighbor cell.); and
determining, based on the result of the measurement, whether or not to allow the terminal apparatus to transmit a signal using predetermined time resources and predetermined frequency resources included in the first frequency band, and performing scheduling of communication with the terminal apparatus based on the determination (see at least paragraphs [0077]-[0078], when coordinating with the neighbor base station(s), the serving base station may modify one or more of the transmission parameters 744 in response to the information in indication 734, and the serving base station may inform the neighbor base station(s) of the modified transmission parameters for the neighbor base station(s) to consider in subsequent communications with the UE 702. The transmission parameters 744 modified by the serving or neighbor base station(s) may include, for example, a transmission power 746, a beam direction 748, a precoding indicator 750, a slot format configuration 752, or other parameters (e.g., a time-frequency resources). In response to obtaining indication 734 from UE 702, the serving base station 704 may provide a grant 754 to the UE 702 modifying a time-frequency resource 756 (e.g., one or more RB(s), symbol(s), or slot(s)) for subsequent data transmissions.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao et al. (US 20240243821, Cao hereinafter) in view of Grant et al. (US 20240064669, Grant hereinafter).
As to claim 2: Cao discloses the terminal apparatus according to claim 1. Cao does not explicitly disclose wherein the obtaining unit obtains the setting information from an information element in a radio resource control (RRC) message for when the terminal apparatus is connected to the first base station apparatus.
However Grant discloses wherein the obtaining unit obtains the setting information from an information element in a radio resource control (RRC) message for when the terminal apparatus is connected to the first base station apparatus (see at least paragraph [0074], measurement configuration information is conveyed to the UE in RRCReconfiguration messages (i.e., dedicated RRC signaling) using the umbrella information element (IE) “MeasConfig” (which may contain multiple measurement identities, measurement objects and reporting configurations).)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement RRC signaling for measurement configuration, as taught by Grant, into the invention of Cao in order to reduce collisions (see Grant, paragraph [0116]).
As to claim 3: Cao discloses the terminal apparatus according to claim 2. Cao does not explicitly disclose wherein the information element includes at least one of MeasObjectNR, MeasObjectCLI, and MeasReport.
However Grant discloses wherein the information element includes at least one of MeasObjectNR, MeasObjectCLI, and MeasReport (see at least paragraph [0074], measurement configuration consists of measurement objects (“measObjectNR”).).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement RRC signaling for measurement configuration, as taught by Grant, into the invention of Cao in order to reduce collisions (see Grant, paragraph [0116]).
As to claim 11: Cao discloses the base station apparatus according to claim 10. Cao does not explicitly disclose wherein the notification unit performs notification of the setting information using an information element in a radio resource control (RRC) message for when the terminal apparatus is connected to the base station apparatus.
However Grant discloses wherein the notification unit performs notification of the setting information using an information element in a radio resource control (RRC) message for when the terminal apparatus is connected to the base station apparatus (see at least paragraph [0074], measurement configuration information is conveyed to the UE in RRCReconfiguration messages (i.e., dedicated RRC signaling) using the umbrella information element (IE) “MeasConfig” (which may contain multiple measurement identities, measurement objects and reporting configurations).)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement RRC signaling for measurement configuration, as taught by Grant, into the invention of Cao in order to reduce collisions (see Grant, paragraph [0116]).
As to claim 12: Cao discloses the base station apparatus according to claim 11. Cao does not explicitly disclose wherein the information element includes at least one of MeasObjectNR, MeasObjectCLI, and MeasReport.
However Grant discloses wherein the information element includes at least one of MeasObjectNR, MeasObjectCLI, and MeasReport (see at least paragraph [0074], measurement configuration consists of measurement objects (“measObjectNR”).).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement RRC signaling for measurement configuration, as taught by Grant, into the invention of Cao in order to reduce collisions (see Grant, paragraph [0116]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Raghavan et al. (US 20230269638) discloses Neighbor Cell Measurements.
Harada et al. (US 20160242061) discloses Radio Base Station, User Terminal And Communication Control Method.
Fehrenbach et al. (US 20220095192) discloses Techniques For Signalling, e.g., For New Radio Unlicensed (NR-U).
/K. J./
Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/RICKY Q NGO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2464